Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 16, 2012
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 456 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
258
Mixed:
127
Negative:
71
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
iVaughtTVJul 17, 2012
I was very disappointed that Cohen didn't do another mockumentary, but I was even more disappointed that his first time away from that style didn't yield satisfying results. Most of the funny parts are in the trailer, the characters are sillyI was very disappointed that Cohen didn't do another mockumentary, but I was even more disappointed that his first time away from that style didn't yield satisfying results. Most of the funny parts are in the trailer, the characters are silly and uninteresting, and even though the film is very short, it still tends to drag on. In the end, it settles for too little. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GoodfellaSep 12, 2012
Funny Movie. Not as funny as the first half of Borat, but that movie lost its way badly in the second half. This is more consistent throughout, (although still funnier at the beginning). Its also a surprise to see a regular mainstream kindaFunny Movie. Not as funny as the first half of Borat, but that movie lost its way badly in the second half. This is more consistent throughout, (although still funnier at the beginning). Its also a surprise to see a regular mainstream kinda movie from cohen, rather than the episodic feel of his other films. Its most similar in structure to Ali G in da house. Cohen cleverly makes fun of every stereotype known to man, from the cliche'd way we in the west view dictators in the east, to vice versa, with sexism, racism, and just about every other 'ism' thrown in along the way. Probably not one to watch at a family gathering, but then not overly offensive either, its easily the funniest mainstream hollywood film for a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GarianAug 19, 2012
Even while very grim, bizarre and out of this world, The Dictator had me laughing throughout. To enjoy the film you had to be someone who can relax and not take everything so seriously, which some critics and reviewers simply cannot do. NotEven while very grim, bizarre and out of this world, The Dictator had me laughing throughout. To enjoy the film you had to be someone who can relax and not take everything so seriously, which some critics and reviewers simply cannot do. Not the best comedy film I have ever seen, but i'd say its definitely in my top 5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AVTRlover4Aug 26, 2012
This was not a great movie. I didn't think the humor was all that funny. I laughed at like 3 jokes. I found Cohen's humor offensive. He usually is except in Madagascar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
danbolivarAug 20, 2012
I enjoyed it. Sure it's not a movie you remember, talk about for weeks, buy, rent, or keep when someone re-gifts it to you for Christmas, but it wasn't THAT deplorable as many seem to think.
Personally I have nothing against bearded, middle
I enjoyed it. Sure it's not a movie you remember, talk about for weeks, buy, rent, or keep when someone re-gifts it to you for Christmas, but it wasn't THAT deplorable as many seem to think.
Personally I have nothing against bearded, middle eastern, murderous, penile-challenged dictators___so I may not be as biased as everyone who still remembers Osama Bin Laden and has fallen prey to the programming which thwarts their notions of the word «funny» when it comes to certain subjects or stereotypes.

Come on people... the jokes were OK.. get over Osama wait for it to be on Stars and watch it again.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SeriosityNov 4, 2012
When it is funny, it is really funny. Unfortunately, it tries to be a movie and have an actual plot and you buy none of it. It completely falls apart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FSJ_973Nov 21, 2012
It has some funny moments and innovations and Sacha Baron Cohen is a really good actor here, but The Dictator is still a stupid film; a blockbuster just made to win money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
worleyjamersDec 5, 2012
Did I like it? Yes. Is it a great film? Hell no. It has some humorous moments, but overall the film isn't that funny. The best jokes are all in the trailer. Very short. Incredibly inconsistent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MrKiwiKGJan 31, 2013
I have just watched this film and I thought it was very funny, with all the racist and sexist comments although may want to consider watching this if sensitive to sexist or racist comments. One of the best films I have watched in 2012/13
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonFeb 17, 2013
Funny, Restless, Offensive and full of Banned Jokes about US The Dictator is killer funny. This is definitely not a documentary but its a good comedy. Sacha Baron Cohen nailed it as the role of Aladeen! But the parents won't be happy becauseFunny, Restless, Offensive and full of Banned Jokes about US The Dictator is killer funny. This is definitely not a documentary but its a good comedy. Sacha Baron Cohen nailed it as the role of Aladeen! But the parents won't be happy because this film is TOTALLY INAPPROPRIATE. Larry Charles has made Bruno which was also inappropriate but for adults it's okay. And even though its 14A it's very inappropriate. Well 7/10 for me! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TrilobiteGDec 22, 2015
It's a silly racist fairytale of a movie by Sacha and co, but amidst the disastrously rushed first act, there are moments of touching sweetness along with brilliant political commentary with mysteriously warming laughs alongside AladeensIt's a silly racist fairytale of a movie by Sacha and co, but amidst the disastrously rushed first act, there are moments of touching sweetness along with brilliant political commentary with mysteriously warming laughs alongside Aladeens quest for resurgence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MBond1810Apr 11, 2013
It's not profound, but for the first time in Baron Cohen movies, it has a plot. It's also the funniest movie of the year, and that was its target. If you want to laugh, go and see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KivaJun 19, 2013
The dictator is a funny film. It makes you laugh a lot and the time passes really quick. It's not a quality film but it's entertaining though if you like this kind of comedies
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kingdomofominsJun 30, 2013
such a comedy movie better some other comedies today lots of funny and memorable scenes if you have netflix or a dvd player watch it with your friends because its not a family movie but its still good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
Haters can hate on Sacha Baren Cohen and this movie all they want, but they have to admit that at times, it is very funny.

Although sometimes being stupid, that doesn't take away from the humor. Cohn is the master of creating comical
Haters can hate on Sacha Baren Cohen and this movie all they want, but they have to admit that at times, it is very funny.

Although sometimes being stupid, that doesn't take away from the humor. Cohn is the master of creating comical situations, and The Dictator is just that: an 83 minute compilation of comical scenes and sight gags. But, for what it is, that's all that's needed to make this movie funny.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lukechristianscMar 15, 2014
dictator was okay . Sacha Baron Cohen was great this film then his other films like bruno and borat . Sacha did his finest work but everyone has high expectations for Cohen's offensive humor . some of his humor i did not get in this butdictator was okay . Sacha Baron Cohen was great this film then his other films like bruno and borat . Sacha did his finest work but everyone has high expectations for Cohen's offensive humor . some of his humor i did not get in this but this movie was bettter then borat . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CherryxldDec 14, 2014
The Dictator es una película de comedia negra que nos ofrece una historia de un lado más retórico (por así decirlo) y que nos da una buena dosis de diversión.

Esta película resulta entretenida y totalmente disfrutable, ya que logra formar
The Dictator es una película de comedia negra que nos ofrece una historia de un lado más retórico (por así decirlo) y que nos da una buena dosis de diversión.

Esta película resulta entretenida y totalmente disfrutable, ya que logra formar unos buenos momentos de risa con algunas irregularidades que se pueden considerar atractivas e ingeniosas, además, contiene un guión con una buena carisma que le da a este largometraje un toque más animado (no en el sentido de películas de animación) y fluyente. Este film, en general, exagera algunos momento de la trama, y que, para suerte de esta película, esas exageraciones resultan eficaces y logran mantenerse en una buena atmósfera sin desembarcarse en un ángulo desfavorable., y, por tanto, le dan a este metraje más humor y lo hacen más variado.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alexsantini1988Mar 16, 2014
Is one of best comedy of all time! What is wrong with you people?! Have you problems with your brains?????????????????????????????????????????????????
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ydnar4Nov 22, 2014
The Dictator is simply just wastes 83 minutes of your life. This film is nothing more than a money grab after the success of Borat and Bruno. Don't bother.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
mririshfoxDec 10, 2014
Hey look everyone, it's Sacha Baron Cohen offensively portraying a minority that most people do not understand and over blowing the stereotype to make those ignorant people laugh.

let's face it, while Sacha might have been bring up some
Hey look everyone, it's Sacha Baron Cohen offensively portraying a minority that most people do not understand and over blowing the stereotype to make those ignorant people laugh.

let's face it, while Sacha might have been bring up some intelligent dialogue about cultural indifference, most of that dialogue was spent in Borat, leaving this movie only partially funny.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews