Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jan 19, 2012
    38
    Valuable life lessons always come at a steep price, and this one is no exception. Sorry, but you'll have to shell out for The Divide and then suffer through its nearly two hours of bloody inanities. Weigh the balance, make your choice.
  2. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jan 12, 2012
    38
    It's doom that we're meant to feel here. And repulsion. I hate to say, but I shrugged.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Jan 8, 2012
    38
    In Xavier Gens's The Divide, the revolution will not be televised, only the degradation of human civility--and in a mire of clich├ęs more toxic to the mind than the radioactive dust that causes everyone's hair to fall out in the wake of a nuclear explosion.
  4. Reviewed by: David DeWitt
    Jan 12, 2012
    30
    We wait, from one cringe-inducing, hide-your-face-from-the-screen act after another, to see how much worse the behavior will become.
  5. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Jan 10, 2012
    30
    Neither intellectually nor viscerally engaging, what The Divide finally offers audiences is the not-terribly-edifying, stagnant experience of being locked in a basement with a pack of assholes.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 7, 2012
    30
    Plodding and repetitive in its efforts to maintain pressure-cooker intensity, The Divide resembles nothing so much as an extended "Twilight Zone" episode as it brings a sci-fi twist to a familiar scenario about stressed characters who bring out the worst in each other while trapped in close quarters.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Jan 24, 2012
    25
    As the loosely aligned band of survivors turns into a pack of sociopathic loners, the only reasonable conclusion is that they were all pretty rotten to begin with.
  8. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jan 11, 2012
    20
    The cynic in me notes that the whole, dismal enterprise is just a cheap steal from Roger Corman's 1955 film "Day the World Ended." At least that single set-bound cheapie had a three-eyed mutant to enliven the otherwise stagy proceedings.
  9. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jan 11, 2012
    20
    Relentlessly unpleasant and nihilistic in its approach and execution, The Divide is best appreciated as a virtual instruction manual on how not to behave during a crisis.
  10. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jan 19, 2012
    12
    As it is, The Divide is simply noxious for noxiousness's sake. French director Xavier Gens and writers Karl Mueller and Eron Sheean almost seem to take a kind of perverse pride in seeing how far they can go.
  11. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jan 13, 2012
    12
    The only possible relief from director Xavier Gens' abusively bleak survivalist scenario is how implausible it is.
  12. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 10, 2012
    0
    Expect the dregs for weeks to come, but I can safely say with absolutely no trepidation that it is unlikely to get worse than a lurid, lewd and loathsome shockfest called The Divide.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Right off the bat the movie got under my skin. I'm a big nuclear junkie, Obsessed with the cold war and nuclear anything, anyway, It had Eva staring at the mushroom cloud from her apartment building, the flash is enough to blind a person from many miles away and at Eva's distance she would have had severe burns all over her body not to mention glass and whatever **** the blast would throw right at her. Nitpicking the details aside though, This movie had good potential. I understand why it appeals to some, this is probably a pretty good portrait of what this kind of survival situation would deteriorate into, but it's a movie for **** sake. Micky was a good dynamic character, sort of a curmudgeon, kind of like house. They had some nice personality clashing going on and then the military or what the **** ever bust in, and take the kid for no obvious reason. Why they don't kill everyone else or weld the door shut right away, who knows, for some reason they see fit to build a totally realistic plastic tunnel that leads to their evil child lab. The movie turns to **** soon after. Black guy gets killed and then they cut off Micky's finger for the panic room combo and then we see none of him for pretty much the whole movie while we get treated to alot of rape and Eva, Sam and that other guy act like **** Because it would be so hard to bash the 2 evil guy's heads in while they sleep with some piece of junk in the basement. Anyway, after **** picks up again and Sam gets the Luger (I gotta admit I did enjoy everyone yelling and Sam eventually shooting the one good guy because he liked his girlfriend) Eva helps Micky out of the chair and Micky caps the remaining evildoer in the chest like the bad ass mother****er that he is, and what does Eve do but LOCK THEM IN THE ****ING BASEMENT WHILE SHE ESCAPES. WHAT THE **** THAT **** That's really what the movie left me with was a feeling of wanting to punch Eva in the ovaries.
    Was certainly interesting to watch but in the end it was not a good movie.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I can't understand all the negativity towards this movie, yes it's brutal and hard to watch, but try to imagine the feeling of being trapped in a basement after a nuclear war, knowing all your friends and loved ones have died, the feeling of helplessness that you're going to die of starvation or worse, and knowing it will take a few hundred years for the radiation to subside, the way certain characters descend into madness is portrayed very well, may i suggest all the haters of the film stick to romcoms in future. Full Review »
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    4
    I really enjoyed the first 30 to 40 minutes of this movie. It kept me intrested and wondered in what will happen next. But after the 40 mins into the movie, the movie became very boring and pointless. Full Review »