User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Right off the bat the movie got under my skin. I'm a big nuclear junkie, Obsessed with the cold war and nuclear anything, anyway, It had Eva staring at the mushroom cloud from her apartment building, the flash is enough to blind a person from many miles away and at Eva's distance she would have had severe burns all over her body not to mention glass and whatever **** the blast would throw right at her. Nitpicking the details aside though, This movie had good potential. I understand why it appeals to some, this is probably a pretty good portrait of what this kind of survival situation would deteriorate into, but it's a movie for **** sake. Micky was a good dynamic character, sort of a curmudgeon, kind of like house. They had some nice personality clashing going on and then the military or what the **** ever bust in, and take the kid for no obvious reason. Why they don't kill everyone else or weld the door shut right away, who knows, for some reason they see fit to build a totally realistic plastic tunnel that leads to their evil child lab. The movie turns to **** soon after. Black guy gets killed and then they cut off Micky's finger for the panic room combo and then we see none of him for pretty much the whole movie while we get treated to alot of rape and Eva, Sam and that other guy act like **** Because it would be so hard to bash the 2 evil guy's heads in while they sleep with some piece of junk in the basement. Anyway, after **** picks up again and Sam gets the Luger (I gotta admit I did enjoy everyone yelling and Sam eventually shooting the one good guy because he liked his girlfriend) Eva helps Micky out of the chair and Micky caps the remaining evildoer in the chest like the bad ass mother****er that he is, and what does Eve do but LOCK THEM IN THE ****ING BASEMENT WHILE SHE ESCAPES. WHAT THE **** THAT **** That's really what the movie left me with was a feeling of wanting to punch Eva in the ovaries.
    Was certainly interesting to watch but in the end it was not a good movie.
    Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2012
    1
    Michael Biehn attended the screening of The Divide tonight, and openly mocked the movie in front of the producer, writer, and everyone who had just paid to see the film. Good for him. This is a painfully dull, stupid movie. Plots and themes arise and then are promptly dropped, never to be addressed again. Torture, homophobia, and racism are practically endorsed by this film. Oh, and rape. Did I mention the rape? Because if you like rape, this movie is filled with rape. Watching this film, I felt like I was trapped in a room with 8 untalented over-actors, all trying their best to impress me with how edgy they could be. The result was offensive, stupid, and worst of all, BORING. Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2012
    0
    What the hell did I just watch? This is one of those movies that depicts "mankind's descent into madness in the face of desperate situations". I am by no means a squeamish move-goer but there is a right way and a stupid way to do these sorts of movies. The "character development" in this movie is so unbelievable, you'll find yourself shaking your head at the idiocy of what you're seeing on screen. Every part of the plot depends on the **** character acting like more of an **** or the weak willed pansy screwing up a plan because of his own fear. Or the kind-hearted female protagonist who acts as the moral compass of the group until she's pushed too far and then at the end emerges as a kickass heroine-but not before everything went to hell. We have seen these cardboard types so often in films that we almost know exactly what's going to happen throughout the film. Just once I want to see a movie about some intelligent, tough protagonist who puts a bullet in the heads of all these morons and then leads the group to salvation through ingenuity and team-work. Please Hollywood, surprise me just once. Expand
  4. May 8, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Film is Indicative of the downward trend in american cinema.Rape ;torture ;racism;dismemberment-its all here .Put a load of people in a room and think of all the nasty things they could do to each-thats about it .The performance of Michael Biehn was the only positive thing about it .There are obviously a lot of actors out there desperate for work . Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    4
    I really enjoyed the first 30 to 40 minutes of this movie. It kept me intrested and wondered in what will happen next. But after the 40 mins into the movie, the movie became very boring and pointless.
  6. Jan 25, 2013
    3
    The Divide starts out interesting albeit a little psychotic. We've got the basic premise of a bunch of survivors holed up in a dark place with limited supplies after a nuclear attack and we get to see them as they go on about their daily lives and slowly loose their minds (insofar they hadn't done so before entering the fallout shelter) There are some unexpected moments which make you believe there is more to the storyline than there really is and all of a sudden, about halfway through the movie, the torture-porn creeps in. At first it's just insinuation, then there's some bloodshed and finally we've got a full-blown torture-movie and the movie takes on a different tone where the director seems to have fallen in love with the skills of his camera, sound and lighting crew. Yes, some of the scenes are very well shot but that doesn't make up for the storyline that seems to have been written by someone with a sudden bout of pyschosis halfway through. The characters aren't very like-able and the only ones you may connect to disappear for long amounts of time from the screen or end up being killed in unimaginary ways that always make you wonder why no one steps up and acts like a human being. There are some serious loose ends to the movie that would have made for great sci-fi action and genuine horror/action but these ends are never wrapped up let alone explored. Instead we are served with what can only be described as reality TV by professional actors. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the worst movie ever made
    The characters are completely insane and as dumb as it can get. Then there's your common hostage situation and some rape because uhhh it must be this way when people get locked up.
    Then you have the "uhh the good guy has the gun now" and guess what, he shoots another good guy and gets beaten up by the bad guys again. It's just dumb and based on some weird "humans bad" philosophy.
    Expand
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Jan 24, 2012
    25
    As the loosely aligned band of survivors turns into a pack of sociopathic loners, the only reasonable conclusion is that they were all pretty rotten to begin with.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jan 19, 2012
    38
    Valuable life lessons always come at a steep price, and this one is no exception. Sorry, but you'll have to shell out for The Divide and then suffer through its nearly two hours of bloody inanities. Weigh the balance, make your choice.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jan 19, 2012
    12
    As it is, The Divide is simply noxious for noxiousness's sake. French director Xavier Gens and writers Karl Mueller and Eron Sheean almost seem to take a kind of perverse pride in seeing how far they can go.