Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nine strangers--all tenants of a New York high rise apartment--escape a nuclear attack by hiding out in the building's bunker-like basement. Trapped for days underground with no hope for rescue, and only unspeakable horrors awaiting them on the other side of the bunker door, the group begins to descend into madness, each turning on the one another with physical and psycho-sexual torment. As supplies dwindle, and tensions flare, and they grow increasingly unhinged by their close quarters and hopelessness, each act against one another becomes more depraved than the next. While everyone in the bunker allows themselves to be overcome by the desperation and lose their humanity, one survivor holds onto a thin chance to escape even with no promise of salvation on the outside. (Anchor Bay Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jan 14, 2012
    83
    The Divide manages to transcend its numerous flaws while indulging them: No matter where it falters, the underlying purpose stays put.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jan 11, 2012
    42
    Better performances might have sold The Divide, but aside from Arquette's fine work as a single mother driven to self-degradation, the cast amplifies the impression of a canned, one-act theater piece.
  3. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 10, 2012
    40
    Unintentionally true to its title, The Divide first goes for a similar bleakness (it barely registers as entertainment), then lurches into a rousing, vengeful finale; both sides of the equation add up to less than zero.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 7, 2012
    30
    Plodding and repetitive in its efforts to maintain pressure-cooker intensity, The Divide resembles nothing so much as an extended "Twilight Zone" episode as it brings a sci-fi twist to a familiar scenario about stressed characters who bring out the worst in each other while trapped in close quarters.
  5. Reviewed by: David DeWitt
    Jan 12, 2012
    30
    We wait, from one cringe-inducing, hide-your-face-from-the-screen act after another, to see how much worse the behavior will become.
  6. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jan 11, 2012
    20
    The cynic in me notes that the whole, dismal enterprise is just a cheap steal from Roger Corman's 1955 film "Day the World Ended." At least that single set-bound cheapie had a three-eyed mutant to enliven the otherwise stagy proceedings.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 10, 2012
    0
    Expect the dregs for weeks to come, but I can safely say with absolutely no trepidation that it is unlikely to get worse than a lurid, lewd and loathsome shockfest called The Divide.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't understand all the negativity towards this movie, yes it's brutal and hard to watch, but try to imagine the feeling of being trapped in a basement after a nuclear war, knowing all your friends and loved ones have died, the feeling of helplessness that you're going to die of starvation or worse, and knowing it will take a few hundred years for the radiation to subside, the way certain characters descend into madness is portrayed very well, may i suggest all the haters of the film stick to romcoms in future. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic nail biting apocalypse film. Lauren German and Michael Biehn are both fantastic in the way they portray innocent morality driven people put in one of the most desperate situations imaginable. Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Just what the doctor ordered - when feeling down & wanting some survival horror movie - this one hits the spot with the slow descent into madness. Each step in this journey makes you wake up to be aware of just how far they have come - there maybe just a few minutes between one scene & the next - but the movie makes you acutely aware how much time must have passed. Some of the plot towards the end isn't exactly what I would have written, but it gets it through rather quick to a satisfyingly desolate ending. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    4
    I really enjoyed the first 30 to 40 minutes of this movie. It kept me intrested and wondered in what will happen next. But after the 40 mins into the movie, the movie became very boring and pointless. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2013
    3
    The Divide starts out interesting albeit a little psychotic. We've got the basic premise of a bunch of survivors holed up in a dark place with limited supplies after a nuclear attack and we get to see them as they go on about their daily lives and slowly loose their minds (insofar they hadn't done so before entering the fallout shelter) There are some unexpected moments which make you believe there is more to the storyline than there really is and all of a sudden, about halfway through the movie, the torture-porn creeps in. At first it's just insinuation, then there's some bloodshed and finally we've got a full-blown torture-movie and the movie takes on a different tone where the director seems to have fallen in love with the skills of his camera, sound and lighting crew. Yes, some of the scenes are very well shot but that doesn't make up for the storyline that seems to have been written by someone with a sudden bout of pyschosis halfway through. The characters aren't very like-able and the only ones you may connect to disappear for long amounts of time from the screen or end up being killed in unimaginary ways that always make you wonder why no one steps up and acts like a human being. There are some serious loose ends to the movie that would have made for great sci-fi action and genuine horror/action but these ends are never wrapped up let alone explored. Instead we are served with what can only be described as reality TV by professional actors. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers. Right off the bat the movie got under my skin. I'm a big nuclear junkie, Obsessed with the cold war and nuclear anything, anyway, It had Eva staring at the mushroom cloud from her apartment building, the flash is enough to blind a person from many miles away and at Eva's distance she would have had severe burns all over her body not to mention glass and whatever **** the blast would throw right at her. Nitpicking the details aside though, This movie had good potential. I understand why it appeals to some, this is probably a pretty good portrait of what this kind of survival situation would deteriorate into, but it's a movie for **** sake. Micky was a good dynamic character, sort of a curmudgeon, kind of like house. They had some nice personality clashing going on and then the military or what the **** ever bust in, and take the kid for no obvious reason. Why they don't kill everyone else or weld the door shut right away, who knows, for some reason they see fit to build a totally realistic plastic tunnel that leads to their evil child lab. The movie turns to **** soon after. Black guy gets killed and then they cut off Micky's finger for the panic room combo and then we see none of him for pretty much the whole movie while we get treated to alot of rape and Eva, Sam and that other guy act like **** Because it would be so hard to bash the 2 evil guy's heads in while they sleep with some piece of junk in the basement. Anyway, after **** picks up again and Sam gets the Luger (I gotta admit I did enjoy everyone yelling and Sam eventually shooting the one good guy because he liked his girlfriend) Eva helps Micky out of the chair and Micky caps the remaining evildoer in the chest like the bad ass mother****er that he is, and what does Eve do but LOCK THEM IN THE ****ING BASEMENT WHILE SHE ESCAPES. WHAT THE **** THAT **** That's really what the movie left me with was a feeling of wanting to punch Eva in the ovaries.
    Was certainly interesting to watch but in the end it was not a good movie.
    Collapse
  7. Oct 9, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the worst movie ever made
    The characters are completely insane and as dumb as it can get. Then there's your common hostage situation and some rape because uhhh it must be this way when people get locked up.
    Then you have the "uhh the good guy has the gun now" and guess what, he shoots another good guy and gets beaten up by the bad guys again. It's just dumb and based on some weird "humans bad" philosophy.
    Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Trailers