Miramax Films | Release Date: November 30, 2007
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 200 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
171
Mixed:
17
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Iky009Mar 11, 2017
Breathtaking Visual and Dynamic Performance The Scaper and Butterfly is a powerful biographical film .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeMay 4, 2016
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly brings a real-time experience for those who has ever wanted to join in the many adventures of this film and has ever wanted to know how much it takes for them to work on something based on something brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
smartmartSep 18, 2015
A visually spectacular powerhouse of a true story. One of the best films of the 21st century so far, although the very artistic the style isn't for a lot of tastes, people who are fine with the film's style will certainly have a great time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
jhepAug 9, 2015
I agree with the other negative reviews (of which there are far too few).....this is a very mediocre film about a very unusual tragedy that happened to a rather dull and very successful bourgeois who edits a slick fashion magazine......yes-I agree with the other negative reviews (of which there are far too few).....this is a very mediocre film about a very unusual tragedy that happened to a rather dull and very successful bourgeois who edits a slick fashion magazine......yes- he was very determined to fight back against his cruel illness....but where is the drama or the interest beyond this point ?......the film runs out of steam very early and director Schnabel really has no idea of what to do with the material.....also Dumas' "The Count of Monte Cristo" isn't really a jaw-dropping masterpiece as Bauby and the film and implies. Martin Pistorius had a similar condition and wrote a far more interesting book about it called "Ghost Boy". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 24, 2014
In "The Diving Bell And The Butterfly," the pairing of Julian Schnabel's clever directorial skills and Mathieu Amalric's stellar acting chops results in a truly memorable and brave film with rich thematic threads.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
usherd369Mar 31, 2014
The cinematography is so beautiful, you just wish that the plot went deeper into the questions about life it raises. The storytelling's simplicity does not mirror the visuals' ambiguity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BKMMay 30, 2013
Right from the very first scene when Jean-Do awakes from a coma to learn that he is paralyzed and unable to speak, we are pulled right into the fear, grief and loneliness that he is enduring. But as he refuses to be a victim locked in hisRight from the very first scene when Jean-Do awakes from a coma to learn that he is paralyzed and unable to speak, we are pulled right into the fear, grief and loneliness that he is enduring. But as he refuses to be a victim locked in his own body, we also share in his joy, love and hope and get a first hand account of his memories and imagination. A truly resonant film that takes you on a journey into one man's unbreakable spirit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 17, 2012
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly offers up a kind of harmonic tranquility that's just too good to resist. Watching it is like taking that hot shower after a long, debilitating day, and having that numbing ecstasy wash through your bones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
The French drama film provides an exceptionally powerful message that nothing is as precious as our consciousness through a miraculous and inspirational story of a guy who lost almost all of his physical senses except for only one, hisThe French drama film provides an exceptionally powerful message that nothing is as precious as our consciousness through a miraculous and inspirational story of a guy who lost almost all of his physical senses except for only one, his consciousness. Despite how naturally the story progressed, the movie evokes such powerful inner subject of life that it is difficult not to be aware and realize the fact of how blessed we are to be born and be well at present time. An immensely inspirational film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TipsyMcBeeNov 26, 2011
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly paints a pretty picture that can be brought into a full length film. This inspirational feature is based on a true story about a man who becomes a vegetable for the rest of his life and somehow later canThe Diving Bell and the Butterfly paints a pretty picture that can be brought into a full length film. This inspirational feature is based on a true story about a man who becomes a vegetable for the rest of his life and somehow later can communicate by only blinking one eye, which leads him to pursue his imagination in writing a story. The motifs and symbolism in the film keeps you thinking at first, but once you analyze those motifs, you will understand perfectly as to why those themes are there, including to add the things from the title of the film to the actual plot itself. The use of the camera movement and spaces are natural and unique compared to a typical Hollywood flick, though beware of many extreme-close ups and canted angles in this film if you have a fear of claustrophobic spaces. However those chosen spaces and shots are used for a reasonable purpose. For artistic filmmakers alike, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly is a must recommend feature to view. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alzslo08Jun 13, 2011
Definitely one of the best films of the year. This film is very beautiful and moving. An idea is fresh and stunning. "Let your imagination set you free".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RyanGeeSep 29, 2010
The Diving Bell and The Butterfly is seriously one of the best films I have ever seen, and I am just going to disregard anything anyone is going to say about it. I have never felt so emotional when watching a movie, it is truly beautifullyThe Diving Bell and The Butterfly is seriously one of the best films I have ever seen, and I am just going to disregard anything anyone is going to say about it. I have never felt so emotional when watching a movie, it is truly beautifully miserable; Not to mention that the acting crew is brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ArminRJul 2, 2009
The highly rated Diving Bell and the Butterfly deserved more in Cannes film festival and Oscar Academy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bdaMay 2, 2009
Schnabel nailed it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CindyA.Feb 25, 2009
I rented this 3 times and always talked myself out of watching it because I didn't want to be depressed. I am so glad I experienced this. I didn't feel depression. I'm not quite sure what I felt. But i saw and felt things I I rented this 3 times and always talked myself out of watching it because I didn't want to be depressed. I am so glad I experienced this. I didn't feel depression. I'm not quite sure what I felt. But i saw and felt things I never have before. During the movie I found my body to be still and my breathing barely audible. It just does something to you. The direction, camera work, the script...all amazing. Absolutely stunning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmySDec 22, 2008
Jean-Dominique Bauby (Mathieu Amalric) has given us Julian Schnabel
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyMNov 15, 2008
Utterly stunning. The Diving Bell and the Butterfly is a beautiful and powerful experience that should not be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanD.Jun 28, 2008
The perfect film. visually stunning and perfectly acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryRJun 10, 2008
Filmaking at its best...you feel as if you are inside of the main character experiencing all of his suffering. The scene where the doctor sews his bad eye shut is so unnerving that you want to look away but cannot. This film should have been Filmaking at its best...you feel as if you are inside of the main character experiencing all of his suffering. The scene where the doctor sews his bad eye shut is so unnerving that you want to look away but cannot. This film should have been nominated for best picture...it's that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ASJun 9, 2008
A moving story, a good movie. Not exceptional anyway.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryHMay 12, 2008
If I was able to score 20 for the movie I would. It is quite simply the best movie ever made. It will leave you shattered, in love and thrilled to be alive. The performance of the father is worth the price of entrance ticket alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattFMay 7, 2008
This was not only the best film of 2007 but one of the best film of the century - no, of all time. It was beautiful, engaging, heartbreaking, uplifting, and funny. I loved this movie. It meant more to me than anything else released last This was not only the best film of 2007 but one of the best film of the century - no, of all time. It was beautiful, engaging, heartbreaking, uplifting, and funny. I loved this movie. It meant more to me than anything else released last year, and said a lot more about life, death, and what keeps us going. Because of this film, I now hate "Million Dollar Baby," with its dehumanizing depiction of paralyzed people. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LicardioMay 4, 2008
This movie is beautiful. This story makes you appreciate life more and as you see it, you cannot help but wonder if you are really taking full advantage of your own life. When you see someone in the state that the main character is in, you This movie is beautiful. This story makes you appreciate life more and as you see it, you cannot help but wonder if you are really taking full advantage of your own life. When you see someone in the state that the main character is in, you then realize that life is very fragile and that love, imagination, friends and family is all that really matters. Go see this movie and then take a look at your life for a minute and wonder what can be acheived with it starting tommorow. This flick is the best I have seen in a long time, I certainly hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I hope it can create a possitive change in your life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JFMay 4, 2008
Brilliant on every level. One of the most effective and affecting films I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Apr 27, 2008
Wow, what a powerful and moving film. Excellent direction and performances, beautiful photography. It's not a film that you would easily forget. Very well edited. Exceptional.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Apr 8, 2008
Wow, I was blown away by this movie. The Diving Bell and the Butterfly truly is an experience. The visuals are simply stunning. The characters presented are so real and humanistic. The material here IS depressing but you are immediately Wow, I was blown away by this movie. The Diving Bell and the Butterfly truly is an experience. The visuals are simply stunning. The characters presented are so real and humanistic. The material here IS depressing but you are immediately thrown into the mind of Bauby, who never asks for sympathy, yet never ignores the struggles he goes through. We got the rare opportunity to experience the real human that is in every one of us. Schnabel convinces us we ARE Bauby by using the camera in unique ways. It's interesting. a camera is essentially one eye on set and we are able to see through that one eye, the same one being Bauby's. The camera IS Bauby's eye, the only one he can see through. Absolutely fantastic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MelN.Apr 4, 2008
While many men might like to imagine that should they find themselves "locked in" they would be able to command a troupe of beautiful women who would devote their lives to selflessy caring for them and crying over them, the scenario While many men might like to imagine that should they find themselves "locked in" they would be able to command a troupe of beautiful women who would devote their lives to selflessy caring for them and crying over them, the scenario doesn't come across as realistic. It comes across as sentimental, sexist drivel. I haven't read the book but would be surprised if the scene where the wife "translates" his message for the lover without a word of complaint (but lots of silent tears) actually took place. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulMar 20, 2008
I dont like many films. They bore me. I want real stories. The art is in the story-telling not the action. A good story is not one whose content is WOW. It's one which is well told. A good story teller can captivate you with tales of I dont like many films. They bore me. I want real stories. The art is in the story-telling not the action. A good story is not one whose content is WOW. It's one which is well told. A good story teller can captivate you with tales of how he does his grocery shopping. The plot of this film is simple. Man enters coma. Man tries to get better. Man writes book. The End. No guns. No fighting. No sex. Beautifully told. The French have a nack for producing films with a strong artistic bent. Beautifully shot. Dripping with philosophyical weight. This is one such movie. Every 5 minutes a new seed for thought is planted, allowed to flourish and cut down. I implore you to watch this film if you have a concentration span of more than 5 minutes. Typical of criticisms are responses like those ushered by the Time magazine reviewer where he "began to hear a subversive voice whispering in my ear, and what it was saying was, "Could you blink a little faster, pal?" " I cant help but notice the irony when the film questions our "want it all, now" culture by contrasting his life as the editor of a superficial magazine with one where he is forced to think. Indeed it is in this contrast that much character development lies. In subtleties rather than plotlines reminiscent of epic Shakesperean tragedies. Go see it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KaseyS.Mar 16, 2008
How did this movie not get nominated for Best Picture? Incredible. Cinematography like you've never seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AshlyG.Mar 2, 2008
For a story that is this unfilmable, Shnabel should be applauded at keeping the audience watching the entire time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful