Miramax Films | Release Date: November 30, 2007
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 184 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
157
Mixed:
15
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LicardioMay 4, 2008
This movie is beautiful. This story makes you appreciate life more and as you see it, you cannot help but wonder if you are really taking full advantage of your own life. When you see someone in the state that the main character is in, you This movie is beautiful. This story makes you appreciate life more and as you see it, you cannot help but wonder if you are really taking full advantage of your own life. When you see someone in the state that the main character is in, you then realize that life is very fragile and that love, imagination, friends and family is all that really matters. Go see this movie and then take a look at your life for a minute and wonder what can be acheived with it starting tommorow. This flick is the best I have seen in a long time, I certainly hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I hope it can create a possitive change in your life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArminRJul 2, 2009
The highly rated Diving Bell and the Butterfly deserved more in Cannes film festival and Oscar Academy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
danielwNov 29, 2007
I am quite convinced that this is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. It does things that only movies can, and constitutes, above and beyond its other very many great virtues, an argument for the irreplaceability of this particular I am quite convinced that this is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. It does things that only movies can, and constitutes, above and beyond its other very many great virtues, an argument for the irreplaceability of this particular art form. It is in the best sense an interpretation of Bauby's book, rather than simply an illustration. I left this movie with my mind in a swim and my emotions unleashed, rather than, as one might have expected given the theme of this movie, manipulated. Everything about this movie, every risk and every novel move, works. I doubt that I will see anything this good this decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdK.Nov 30, 2007
Moving account of a man who only working body parts his is brain and left eye .told from his point of view. Remarkable acting from the entire cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinL.Dec 26, 2007
this was a well-crafted movie with a lot of heart -- but does anyone else find the main character a bit of a chauvinist? He's one of those supposedly "suave" Frenchmen who are given licence to treat beautiful women like trash this was a well-crafted movie with a lot of heart -- but does anyone else find the main character a bit of a chauvinist? He's one of those supposedly "suave" Frenchmen who are given licence to treat beautiful women like trash because...he's French?!? And some women just seem to swoon for this type of guy. It's beyond me. But, in the end, I do like this guy's imagination, his relationship with his father is very touching, and he obviously loves his son. It's a great movie, I just wouldn't wish this creep on any woman I know. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Dec 31, 2007
The cinematography is striking, especially at first. the story unfolds slowly, but by the end, i was captivated and surprised that this was based on a true story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
krJan 28, 2008
Visually stunning movie that will leave you breathless. It's like watching a dream come to life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeffJ.Feb 16, 2008
While the story is moving and genuinely tragic, I found the movie plodding. Watching it did make me think of what I would want should the same fate find me. I'm not sure why he was so admired and loved by the hospital staff; the film While the story is moving and genuinely tragic, I found the movie plodding. Watching it did make me think of what I would want should the same fate find me. I'm not sure why he was so admired and loved by the hospital staff; the film did not make that clear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DamienA.Feb 27, 2008
The good in this film is outstanding and then there is the average direction and writing: when I say writing I mean the script. It just lacks development when it comes to the characters including the main one. Who is this guy? Okay he edits The good in this film is outstanding and then there is the average direction and writing: when I say writing I mean the script. It just lacks development when it comes to the characters including the main one. Who is this guy? Okay he edits a major magazine but show us more than that.. or at least show some depth to it.. and his lovers remain pretty oblique and 2 dimensional... When I first saw it I was blown away but in retrospect it was the story itself that got to me and Schnabel has done a mostly great job of depicting it.. Compared to most contemporary films it is pure gold.. No Country For Old Men? Give me a break! I don't know I just think it could have been so much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanD.Jun 28, 2008
The perfect film. visually stunning and perfectly acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
reillykateDec 19, 2007
I wasn't wild about either Basquiat or Before Night Falls, so I was worried this film would disappoint, as well. Instead, it is an absolute masterpiece. If anyone out there is skeptical based on Schnabel's past work, don't be. I wasn't wild about either Basquiat or Before Night Falls, so I was worried this film would disappoint, as well. Instead, it is an absolute masterpiece. If anyone out there is skeptical based on Schnabel's past work, don't be. It's a beautiful film, and one that should be seen on the big screen. Go see it as soon as you can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
patsDec 23, 2007
What surprised me about the film was that my response to it was primarily intellectual rather than emotional. It kept me thinking throughout, but strangely, except in a few places, it did not have me feeling as much as I would have expected. What surprised me about the film was that my response to it was primarily intellectual rather than emotional. It kept me thinking throughout, but strangely, except in a few places, it did not have me feeling as much as I would have expected. I think I was so amazed at the artistry that could get so creatively into the locked presence of the protagonist that admiration kept me from initiation. My reaction has puzzled me. There was just a distance that I can't describe or understand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mathewb.Dec 29, 2007
perfect, one of the best films about the human condition that I ever seen. The best preformance of the year belongs to Amalric.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BKMMay 30, 2013
Right from the very first scene when Jean-Do awakes from a coma to learn that he is paralyzed and unable to speak, we are pulled right into the fear, grief and loneliness that he is enduring. But as he refuses to be a victim locked in hisRight from the very first scene when Jean-Do awakes from a coma to learn that he is paralyzed and unable to speak, we are pulled right into the fear, grief and loneliness that he is enduring. But as he refuses to be a victim locked in his own body, we also share in his joy, love and hope and get a first hand account of his memories and imagination. A truly resonant film that takes you on a journey into one man's unbreakable spirit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RyanGeeSep 29, 2010
The Diving Bell and The Butterfly is seriously one of the best films I have ever seen, and I am just going to disregard anything anyone is going to say about it. I have never felt so emotional when watching a movie, it is truly beautifullyThe Diving Bell and The Butterfly is seriously one of the best films I have ever seen, and I am just going to disregard anything anyone is going to say about it. I have never felt so emotional when watching a movie, it is truly beautifully miserable; Not to mention that the acting crew is brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
jhepAug 9, 2015
I agree with the other negative reviews (of which there are far too few).....this is a very mediocre film about a very unusual tragedy that happened to a rather dull and very successful bourgeois who edits a slick fashion magazine......yes-I agree with the other negative reviews (of which there are far too few).....this is a very mediocre film about a very unusual tragedy that happened to a rather dull and very successful bourgeois who edits a slick fashion magazine......yes- he was very determined to fight back against his cruel illness....but where is the drama or the interest beyond this point ?......the film runs out of steam very early and director Schnabel really has no idea of what to do with the material.....also Dumas' "The Count of Monte Cristo" isn't really a jaw-dropping masterpiece as Bauby and the film and implies. Martin Pistorius had a similar condition and wrote a far more interesting book about it called "Ghost Boy". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alzslo08Jun 13, 2011
Definitely one of the best films of the year. This film is very beautiful and moving. An idea is fresh and stunning. "Let your imagination set you free".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TipsyMcBeeNov 26, 2011
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly paints a pretty picture that can be brought into a full length film. This inspirational feature is based on a true story about a man who becomes a vegetable for the rest of his life and somehow later canThe Diving Bell and the Butterfly paints a pretty picture that can be brought into a full length film. This inspirational feature is based on a true story about a man who becomes a vegetable for the rest of his life and somehow later can communicate by only blinking one eye, which leads him to pursue his imagination in writing a story. The motifs and symbolism in the film keeps you thinking at first, but once you analyze those motifs, you will understand perfectly as to why those themes are there, including to add the things from the title of the film to the actual plot itself. The use of the camera movement and spaces are natural and unique compared to a typical Hollywood flick, though beware of many extreme-close ups and canted angles in this film if you have a fear of claustrophobic spaces. However those chosen spaces and shots are used for a reasonable purpose. For artistic filmmakers alike, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly is a must recommend feature to view. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 17, 2012
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly offers up a kind of harmonic tranquility that's just too good to resist. Watching it is like taking that hot shower after a long, debilitating day, and having that numbing ecstasy wash through your bones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 24, 2014
In "The Diving Bell And The Butterfly," the pairing of Julian Schnabel's clever directorial skills and Mathieu Amalric's stellar acting chops results in a truly memorable and brave film with rich thematic threads.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
usherd369Mar 31, 2014
The cinematography is so beautiful, you just wish that the plot went deeper into the questions about life it raises. The storytelling's simplicity does not mirror the visuals' ambiguity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
smartmartSep 18, 2015
A visually spectacular powerhouse of a true story. One of the best films of the 21st century so far, although the very artistic the style isn't for a lot of tastes, people who are fine with the film's style will certainly have a great time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeMay 4, 2016
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly brings a real-time experience for those who has ever wanted to join in the many adventures of this film and has ever wanted to know how much it takes for them to work on something based on something brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews