Miramax Films | Release Date: November 30, 2007
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 183 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
156
Mixed:
15
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
MattFMay 7, 2008
This was not only the best film of 2007 but one of the best film of the century - no, of all time. It was beautiful, engaging, heartbreaking, uplifting, and funny. I loved this movie. It meant more to me than anything else released last This was not only the best film of 2007 but one of the best film of the century - no, of all time. It was beautiful, engaging, heartbreaking, uplifting, and funny. I loved this movie. It meant more to me than anything else released last year, and said a lot more about life, death, and what keeps us going. Because of this film, I now hate "Million Dollar Baby," with its dehumanizing depiction of paralyzed people. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 1, 2007
Best film of the year. Funny, moving, artful. I saw it at a screening a few weeks ago and can't get it out of my mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanW.Dec 3, 2007
Only someone with the creative vision as broad as Julian Schnabel could make a film this free about a man locked in his own body. Simply amazing...
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimmySDec 22, 2008
Jean-Dominique Bauby (Mathieu Amalric) has given us Julian Schnabel
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulMar 20, 2008
I dont like many films. They bore me. I want real stories. The art is in the story-telling not the action. A good story is not one whose content is WOW. It's one which is well told. A good story teller can captivate you with tales of I dont like many films. They bore me. I want real stories. The art is in the story-telling not the action. A good story is not one whose content is WOW. It's one which is well told. A good story teller can captivate you with tales of how he does his grocery shopping. The plot of this film is simple. Man enters coma. Man tries to get better. Man writes book. The End. No guns. No fighting. No sex. Beautifully told. The French have a nack for producing films with a strong artistic bent. Beautifully shot. Dripping with philosophyical weight. This is one such movie. Every 5 minutes a new seed for thought is planted, allowed to flourish and cut down. I implore you to watch this film if you have a concentration span of more than 5 minutes. Typical of criticisms are responses like those ushered by the Time magazine reviewer where he "began to hear a subversive voice whispering in my ear, and what it was saying was, "Could you blink a little faster, pal?" " I cant help but notice the irony when the film questions our "want it all, now" culture by contrasting his life as the editor of a superficial magazine with one where he is forced to think. Indeed it is in this contrast that much character development lies. In subtleties rather than plotlines reminiscent of epic Shakesperean tragedies. Go see it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Apr 8, 2008
Wow, I was blown away by this movie. The Diving Bell and the Butterfly truly is an experience. The visuals are simply stunning. The characters presented are so real and humanistic. The material here IS depressing but you are immediately Wow, I was blown away by this movie. The Diving Bell and the Butterfly truly is an experience. The visuals are simply stunning. The characters presented are so real and humanistic. The material here IS depressing but you are immediately thrown into the mind of Bauby, who never asks for sympathy, yet never ignores the struggles he goes through. We got the rare opportunity to experience the real human that is in every one of us. Schnabel convinces us we ARE Bauby by using the camera in unique ways. It's interesting. a camera is essentially one eye on set and we are able to see through that one eye, the same one being Bauby's. The camera IS Bauby's eye, the only one he can see through. Absolutely fantastic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryRJun 10, 2008
Filmaking at its best...you feel as if you are inside of the main character experiencing all of his suffering. The scene where the doctor sews his bad eye shut is so unnerving that you want to look away but cannot. This film should have been Filmaking at its best...you feel as if you are inside of the main character experiencing all of his suffering. The scene where the doctor sews his bad eye shut is so unnerving that you want to look away but cannot. This film should have been nominated for best picture...it's that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CindyA.Feb 25, 2009
I rented this 3 times and always talked myself out of watching it because I didn't want to be depressed. I am so glad I experienced this. I didn't feel depression. I'm not quite sure what I felt. But i saw and felt things I I rented this 3 times and always talked myself out of watching it because I didn't want to be depressed. I am so glad I experienced this. I didn't feel depression. I'm not quite sure what I felt. But i saw and felt things I never have before. During the movie I found my body to be still and my breathing barely audible. It just does something to you. The direction, camera work, the script...all amazing. Absolutely stunning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyMNov 15, 2008
Utterly stunning. The Diving Bell and the Butterfly is a beautiful and powerful experience that should not be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
austinwJan 17, 2008
one of the best films i've ever seen, and the first 10 i've ever given on metacritic. profoundly moving. easily the best film I've seen all year. i never cared for schnabel as a painter, but as a filmmaker, he is outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidS.Feb 27, 2008
A visually stunning movie that almost re-invents cinema as it deals with consciousness, what it means to be human and how we as viewers perceive this in the rendition offered by the film. The scenes early on after Bauby's paralyzing car A visually stunning movie that almost re-invents cinema as it deals with consciousness, what it means to be human and how we as viewers perceive this in the rendition offered by the film. The scenes early on after Bauby's paralyzing car accident, are a mixture of acerbic humour and heartbreaking moments. Gradually, as Bauby gets used to his condition, the film becomes more heartbreaking as seeing his children, speaking to his absent lover through his ex-wife. The decision to show the car accident that paralyzed him towards the end of the film is brilliant, leaving the viewer to contemplate the 'locked-in' syndrome for themselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Feb 7, 2008
A blow-by-blow account of cognitive activity from the abyss; that's the unprecedented achievement of "The Diving Bell & the Butterfly", a film that somehow manages to be a spectacle of unconditional love while remaining intellectually A blow-by-blow account of cognitive activity from the abyss; that's the unprecedented achievement of "The Diving Bell & the Butterfly", a film that somehow manages to be a spectacle of unconditional love while remaining intellectually rigorous. If you're in need of a clue as to why beautiful women fawn all over Jean-Dominique Bauby(Mathieu Amalric), aside from being the former editor-in-chief of Elle; the camera, his eye(the other eye suffered a death by non-irrigation), provides the answer. As Jean-Dominique's physician extols the cosmetic virtues of Henriette(Marie-Josee Croze) and Marie(Olatz Lopez Garmendia), the camera pans to an attending doctor, because Bauby knows women; even a professional woman wants to be thought of as pretty in his model-centric mind, and her exclusion from the doctor's pantheon of attractive medical professionals strikes him as callous and rude. If Jean-Dominique's eye could talk, he'd reassure her with some kind words; something along the lines of, "You're no chopped liver, yourself, you lab-coated mademoiselle." Even though locked-in syndrome is a nightmare, Bauby fills his mindscape with images steeped in a learned man's knowledge of history, art, and dance. Don't feel sorry for him. Laugh at him. Jean-Dominique gives you permission when he refers to his face as being dipped in formaldehyde. "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly" isn't a love story, but it's a story about love. Save your tears for Celine(Emmanuelle Seigner). Nobody loves Bauby more than her, but she's in competition with his mistress(Agathe de La Fontaine) and translator(Anne Consigny). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaseyS.Mar 16, 2008
How did this movie not get nominated for Best Picture? Incredible. Cinematography like you've never seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryHMay 12, 2008
If I was able to score 20 for the movie I would. It is quite simply the best movie ever made. It will leave you shattered, in love and thrilled to be alive. The performance of the father is worth the price of entrance ticket alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JFMay 4, 2008
Brilliant on every level. One of the most effective and affecting films I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LicardioMay 4, 2008
This movie is beautiful. This story makes you appreciate life more and as you see it, you cannot help but wonder if you are really taking full advantage of your own life. When you see someone in the state that the main character is in, you This movie is beautiful. This story makes you appreciate life more and as you see it, you cannot help but wonder if you are really taking full advantage of your own life. When you see someone in the state that the main character is in, you then realize that life is very fragile and that love, imagination, friends and family is all that really matters. Go see this movie and then take a look at your life for a minute and wonder what can be acheived with it starting tommorow. This flick is the best I have seen in a long time, I certainly hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I hope it can create a possitive change in your life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bdaMay 2, 2009
Schnabel nailed it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
danielwNov 29, 2007
I am quite convinced that this is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. It does things that only movies can, and constitutes, above and beyond its other very many great virtues, an argument for the irreplaceability of this particular I am quite convinced that this is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. It does things that only movies can, and constitutes, above and beyond its other very many great virtues, an argument for the irreplaceability of this particular art form. It is in the best sense an interpretation of Bauby's book, rather than simply an illustration. I left this movie with my mind in a swim and my emotions unleashed, rather than, as one might have expected given the theme of this movie, manipulated. Everything about this movie, every risk and every novel move, works. I doubt that I will see anything this good this decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdK.Nov 30, 2007
Moving account of a man who only working body parts his is brain and left eye .told from his point of view. Remarkable acting from the entire cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
krJan 28, 2008
Visually stunning movie that will leave you breathless. It's like watching a dream come to life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanD.Jun 28, 2008
The perfect film. visually stunning and perfectly acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
reillykateDec 19, 2007
I wasn't wild about either Basquiat or Before Night Falls, so I was worried this film would disappoint, as well. Instead, it is an absolute masterpiece. If anyone out there is skeptical based on Schnabel's past work, don't be. I wasn't wild about either Basquiat or Before Night Falls, so I was worried this film would disappoint, as well. Instead, it is an absolute masterpiece. If anyone out there is skeptical based on Schnabel's past work, don't be. It's a beautiful film, and one that should be seen on the big screen. Go see it as soon as you can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mathewb.Dec 29, 2007
perfect, one of the best films about the human condition that I ever seen. The best preformance of the year belongs to Amalric.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
cameronmorewoodNov 17, 2012
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly offers up a kind of harmonic tranquility that's just too good to resist. Watching it is like taking that hot shower after a long, debilitating day, and having that numbing ecstasy wash through your bones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
smartmartSep 18, 2015
A visually spectacular powerhouse of a true story. One of the best films of the 21st century so far, although the very artistic the style isn't for a lot of tastes, people who are fine with the film's style will certainly have a great time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DougN.Feb 4, 2008
Really enjoyed this movie. It's probably not for every one. But it made me think. Found the scenes with his wife and children very moving.We with good health take so much for granted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnB.Jan 5, 2008
This was just a beautifully made film about a man who is physically immobilized by a rare form of stroke, whose brain is extremely active and sharp. When the film opens, we see the world through Jean-Do's eyes and mind then move on to This was just a beautifully made film about a man who is physically immobilized by a rare form of stroke, whose brain is extremely active and sharp. When the film opens, we see the world through Jean-Do's eyes and mind then move on to his family, friends and medical staff who care for him with flashbacks along the way. Great acting by the whole cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArminRJul 2, 2009
The highly rated Diving Bell and the Butterfly deserved more in Cannes film festival and Oscar Academy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Dec 31, 2007
The cinematography is striking, especially at first. the story unfolds slowly, but by the end, i was captivated and surprised that this was based on a true story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanGeeSep 29, 2010
The Diving Bell and The Butterfly is seriously one of the best films I have ever seen, and I am just going to disregard anything anyone is going to say about it. I have never felt so emotional when watching a movie, it is truly beautifullyThe Diving Bell and The Butterfly is seriously one of the best films I have ever seen, and I am just going to disregard anything anyone is going to say about it. I have never felt so emotional when watching a movie, it is truly beautifully miserable; Not to mention that the acting crew is brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews