Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 28, 2011
    100
    A beautiful, head-spinning mystery that requires keen attention - and rewards it with a tricky and poetic payoff - The Double Hour is a topflight Euro thriller right up there with "Tell No One."
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Apr 14, 2011
    100
    The best movie of its kind since the French director Guillaume Canet's hit from 2006, "Tell No One."
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    May 11, 2011
    91
    Nothing in this enjoyably twisty, cool/ hot, genre-grafting Italian psychological thriller by Giuseppe Capotondi is what it seems. And the more you try to solve the narrative puzzle, the more you may want to watch it again - or at least argue about what's real.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    May 12, 2011
    88
    I've seen the fabulously acted Italian thriller The Double Hour twice now, and for all its intricate manipulations, it stays with me for a very simple reason: The love story at its bittersweet heart is played for keeps.
  5. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Apr 14, 2011
    85
    To say too much about what actually happens would be to rob you of the film's risks and narrative ripostes. What should be noted is that Capotondi makes ambitious use of an unreliable narrator in a way that is rarely seen in modern films.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 8, 2011
    83
    Like the genre's top filmmakers - the Coens, Polanski, Hitchcock - Capotondi builds dread with wicked winks at the audience, dropping subtle surprises along the way.
  7. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Apr 16, 2011
    83
    At its core, The Double Hour is a classic noir story of deception.
  8. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 2, 2011
    80
    A tremendously entertaining take on film noir, with all the usual elements of the genre in play - crime, death, possibly murder and doomed romance.
  9. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    May 12, 2011
    80
    As the heroine, Rappoport creates an exquisite, multifaceted character from the old film noir archetype of a woman in flight; in this case she's fleeing not only danger but herself.
  10. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Apr 28, 2011
    80
    For what makes this tale something more than a puzzle to be solved is a level of emotional impact that genre exercises don't often provide, emotion traceable to sensitive acting that is similarly rare.
  11. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 15, 2011
    80
    A twisty Italian thriller that takes some liberties with its now-you-see-'em/now-you-don't plot points, but no matter; the way director Giuseppe Capotondi keeps us guessing is deliciously, maliciously deft.
  12. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    May 12, 2011
    75
    The movie's mixture of romance and noir, its air of menace and a certain occasional playfulness suggest the filmmakers have been thinking about Polanski and Hitchcock.
  13. Reviewed by: Boyd van Hoeij
    Apr 12, 2011
    70
    Not so much a genre movie as a movie that switches between genres -- and comes out on top.
  14. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Apr 16, 2011
    67
    Capotondi keeps circling his movie in and out of dream states and waking states as the whodunit morphs into who-cares-who-dunit?
  15. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Apr 14, 2011
    67
    Pretty to look at, making good use of the scenery in and around Turin; if nothing else, the runaway plot keeps the movie unpredictable.
  16. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jun 8, 2011
    63
    Not a neat and tidy thriller. It is a most engrossing one, commanding our attention even as the filmmaker tries to slip this or that hole in the plot past us.
  17. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Apr 28, 2011
    63
    What appears at first to be a Euro variation on David Lynch's patented mind games, though, ultimately settles for more conventional pleasures. The movie makes sense, more's the pity, although you may need to see it twice to figure out how.
  18. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Apr 15, 2011
    63
    Doesn't always deliver on its twists. But it works well enough that an American remake is in the works.
  19. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Apr 12, 2011
    60
    Here's the thing: We enjoy a good mindf--- lark as much as the next filmgoer, but such fluid tomfoolery eventually has to add up to something, and The Double Hour ultimately doesn't.
  20. 60
    A smart psychological thriller with the one fatal flaw that Slavic women in Italian television and cinema must be dark, tormented characters who hardly ever smile. In a criminal caper with a twist, this actually works against the story.
  21. Reviewed by: Tim Cogshell
    Apr 12, 2011
    60
    The twists and turns in The Double Hour are not arbitrary; rather, they are well considered and effective, right down to the last frame.
  22. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Nov 3, 2011
    50
    As it spins along at a reasonably good clip - no one is going to mistake it for the slicker, more action-packed "Salt" - The Double unravels its secrets, which prove to be its undoing.
  23. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jun 9, 2011
    50
    Ultimately a mystery box that lacks a treasure at its core.
  24. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Apr 12, 2011
    50
    The Double Hour sustains a minimum of attention thanks to the naturally beguiling presence of long-stemmed Rappoport-but what might've a less cautious director done with the material?
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Hauntingly beautiful and cruel. Nothing about this movie is obvious but it is gripping throughout. like any good movie you develop hopes for the characters and even though they might not come true, you respect the artfulness of the story you're told. Full Review »
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    If you like linear plots, characters who emote, or lots of poetic dialog, STAY AWAY! If you're offended by sex used callously to manipulate others, FUHGEDDABOUTIT! If you hate foreign language films, ARRIVEDERCI!

    That said, I think this film has its strong points. Rappaport smoulders enigmatically; she reminded me of a cross between Vera Farmiga and Meryl Streep. Since nobody in the film emotes, I can rate the whole cast as puzzling.

    I'm not sure the film comes together as a coherent story; if you need that, plan on watching at least twice. Perhaps it's in the tradition of Fellini, who famously said, "Don't tell me what I'm doing; I don't want to know!"

    Without spoiling the plot, I can ask you to think about the central dilemma: what if you woke up beside a sociopath whom you loved and found yourself loved in return?
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 6, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I was very disappointed in this movie. After the comparisons to Tell No One, I expected a tautly scripted film with lots of twists and turns. All the twists and turns in The Double Hour occur during a coma suffered by the female lead character. When that was revealed, I felt like I had read one of those "And then I woke up" stories we used to write in elementary school. Outside of the coma, the whole story is straightforward with no surprises.

    And what is the significance of "The Double Hour" (times like 05:05, 11:11, or 23:23), anyway? Although such times appeared repeatedly in the movie, both during and outside the coma, there was no obvious suspense nor plot points associated with those times.
    Full Review »