The Double Hour

Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Apr 12, 2011
    60
    Here's the thing: We enjoy a good mindf--- lark as much as the next filmgoer, but such fluid tomfoolery eventually has to add up to something, and The Double Hour ultimately doesn't.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Cogshell
    Apr 12, 2011
    60
    The twists and turns in The Double Hour are not arbitrary; rather, they are well considered and effective, right down to the last frame.
  3. 60
    A smart psychological thriller with the one fatal flaw that Slavic women in Italian television and cinema must be dark, tormented characters who hardly ever smile. In a criminal caper with a twist, this actually works against the story.
  4. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Nov 3, 2011
    50
    As it spins along at a reasonably good clip - no one is going to mistake it for the slicker, more action-packed "Salt" - The Double unravels its secrets, which prove to be its undoing.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jun 9, 2011
    50
    Ultimately a mystery box that lacks a treasure at its core.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Apr 12, 2011
    50
    The Double Hour sustains a minimum of attention thanks to the naturally beguiling presence of long-stemmed Rappoport-but what might've a less cautious director done with the material?
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Hauntingly beautiful and cruel. Nothing about this movie is obvious but it is gripping throughout. like any good movie you develop hopes forHauntingly beautiful and cruel. Nothing about this movie is obvious but it is gripping throughout. like any good movie you develop hopes for the characters and even though they might not come true, you respect the artfulness of the story you're told. Full Review »
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    If you like linear plots, characters who emote, or lots of poetic dialog, STAY AWAY! If you're offended by sex used callously to manipulateIf you like linear plots, characters who emote, or lots of poetic dialog, STAY AWAY! If you're offended by sex used callously to manipulate others, FUHGEDDABOUTIT! If you hate foreign language films, ARRIVEDERCI!

    That said, I think this film has its strong points. Rappaport smoulders enigmatically; she reminded me of a cross between Vera Farmiga and Meryl Streep. Since nobody in the film emotes, I can rate the whole cast as puzzling.

    I'm not sure the film comes together as a coherent story; if you need that, plan on watching at least twice. Perhaps it's in the tradition of Fellini, who famously said, "Don't tell me what I'm doing; I don't want to know!"

    Without spoiling the plot, I can ask you to think about the central dilemma: what if you woke up beside a sociopath whom you loved and found yourself loved in return?
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 6, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I was very disappointed in this movie. After the comparisons to Tell No One, I expected a tautly scripted film with lots of twists and turns. All the twists and turns in The Double Hour occur during a coma suffered by the female lead character. When that was revealed, I felt like I had read one of those "And then I woke up" stories we used to write in elementary school. Outside of the coma, the whole story is straightforward with no surprises.

    And what is the significance of "The Double Hour" (times like 05:05, 11:11, or 23:23), anyway? Although such times appeared repeatedly in the movie, both during and outside the coma, there was no obvious suspense nor plot points associated with those times.
    Full Review »