Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Apr 14, 2011
    100
    The best movie of its kind since the French director Guillaume Canet's hit from 2006, "Tell No One."
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    May 11, 2011
    91
    Nothing in this enjoyably twisty, cool/ hot, genre-grafting Italian psychological thriller by Giuseppe Capotondi is what it seems. And the more you try to solve the narrative puzzle, the more you may want to watch it again - or at least argue about what's real.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 28, 2011
    100
    A beautiful, head-spinning mystery that requires keen attention - and rewards it with a tricky and poetic payoff - The Double Hour is a topflight Euro thriller right up there with "Tell No One."
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    May 12, 2011
    88
    I've seen the fabulously acted Italian thriller The Double Hour twice now, and for all its intricate manipulations, it stays with me for a very simple reason: The love story at its bittersweet heart is played for keeps.
  5. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Apr 16, 2011
    83
    At its core, The Double Hour is a classic noir story of deception.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 8, 2011
    83
    Like the genre's top filmmakers - the Coens, Polanski, Hitchcock - Capotondi builds dread with wicked winks at the audience, dropping subtle surprises along the way.
  7. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Apr 14, 2011
    85
    To say too much about what actually happens would be to rob you of the film's risks and narrative ripostes. What should be noted is that Capotondi makes ambitious use of an unreliable narrator in a way that is rarely seen in modern films.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Hauntingly beautiful and cruel. Nothing about this movie is obvious but it is gripping throughout. like any good movie you develop hopes for the characters and even though they might not come true, you respect the artfulness of the story you're told. Full Review »
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    If you like linear plots, characters who emote, or lots of poetic dialog, STAY AWAY! If you're offended by sex used callously to manipulate others, FUHGEDDABOUTIT! If you hate foreign language films, ARRIVEDERCI!

    That said, I think this film has its strong points. Rappaport smoulders enigmatically; she reminded me of a cross between Vera Farmiga and Meryl Streep. Since nobody in the film emotes, I can rate the whole cast as puzzling.

    I'm not sure the film comes together as a coherent story; if you need that, plan on watching at least twice. Perhaps it's in the tradition of Fellini, who famously said, "Don't tell me what I'm doing; I don't want to know!"

    Without spoiling the plot, I can ask you to think about the central dilemma: what if you woke up beside a sociopath whom you loved and found yourself loved in return?
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 6, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I was very disappointed in this movie. After the comparisons to Tell No One, I expected a tautly scripted film with lots of twists and turns. All the twists and turns in The Double Hour occur during a coma suffered by the female lead character. When that was revealed, I felt like I had read one of those "And then I woke up" stories we used to write in elementary school. Outside of the coma, the whole story is straightforward with no surprises.

    And what is the significance of "The Double Hour" (times like 05:05, 11:11, or 23:23), anyway? Although such times appeared repeatedly in the movie, both during and outside the coma, there was no obvious suspense nor plot points associated with those times.
    Full Review »