Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Oct 26, 2011
    58
    The twist in The Double slack mystery-thriller is revealed with a shrug about a third of the way in. After that, it's all about Gere looking grim, and Grace looking stricken as he learns what we already know.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Oct 26, 2011
    58
    Having laid out the scenario, Brandt drags it through the motions of a tired procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Nov 3, 2011
    50
    Ineptly realized in everything but its chase scenes (which are, I'll admit, pretty good), the movie is rich in moments of inadvertent surrealism.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Nov 2, 2011
    50
    The movie was directed by Michael Brandt, who co-wrote the script with Derek Haas. Together they wrote a much better movie, "3:10 to Yuma." The Double doesn't approach it in terms of quality. None of it is particularly compelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Oct 27, 2011
    50
    The Double does contain some delightfully over-the-top twists that make no sense but are great fun to consider.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    Oct 22, 2011
    50
    While there's the sense that this old guy/young guy spy angle has been done better by films like "Spy Game" a decade ago, Gere, never looking tougher or handsomer, and Grace, adding some action skills to his relatively cerebral persona, invigorate the proceedings in roles that would seem to benefit the actors' career arcs.
  7. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Oct 26, 2011
    42
    Roughly 99 percent of the time, if a movie that seems like it should be a big deal appears almost out of the blue, it's because it's lousy. The Double doesn't exactly buck that trend.
  8. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Nov 3, 2011
    40
    With its convoluted plot and fading stars, The Double feels like a straight-to-DVD feature that somehow sneaked onto the big screen. It's simply not very good.
  9. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Oct 28, 2011
    40
    Too silly to be confusing and too flaccid to reach potboiler status, the convoluted spy-thriller The Double is a tossed-off theatrical release that lands with a resounding thud.
  10. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Oct 28, 2011
    40
    Gere and Grace do make a decent odd couple, but neither seems entirely committed.
  11. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Oct 27, 2011
    40
    A moldy, post-cold-war spy thriller.
  12. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Oct 27, 2011
    40
    The movie's few pleasures, though, do belong to Gere, who makes the most of his preening caginess as a spook thrust back into the cold. Grace, though, comes off more whiny than tantalizingly adversarial.
  13. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Oct 25, 2011
    40
    The Double, Michael Brandt's post–Cold War spy film, is grade-B hokum, but it's not without its occasional generic thrills.
  14. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Oct 25, 2011
    40
    Like a "Training Day" for spy thrillers, The Double provocatively pairs Gere and Grace as a gray-green odd couple, only to unravel as the double-crossed absurdities pile up and the duo start trading bad Russian accents in a private Mexican standoff. Oh nyet you didn't!
  15. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Oct 22, 2011
    40
    A barely warm dish of Cold War leftovers that shows its hand too early, then works itself into an increasingly implausible tangle of knotty plot developments without ever mustering much intensity.
  16. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Oct 29, 2011
    38
    The Double is barely half the movie it had the potential of becoming.
  17. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Nov 3, 2011
    25
    Speaking of the script, questionable motives and unbelievable decisions are relatively small potatoes compared with the Sputnik-size plotholes.
  18. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Oct 28, 2011
    25
    Michael Brandt's soporific thriller is making a token stop in theaters before its January DVD debut. Miss it if you can.
  19. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Oct 25, 2011
    25
    Rarely has Mr. Gere walked through any movie with so little energy and so much indifference. I've seen more fervor on the face of a man parking a car.
  20. Reviewed by: Kalvin Henely
    Oct 28, 2011
    12
    If the idea of a political thriller with a modern-day Cold War theme resonates with you or something in our collective unconscious, my FOMO levels are higher than a lonely night on Facebook.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Feb 16, 2014
    3
    Talk about jumping the shark! "The Double" gives away a plot twist in the first twenty minutes of the movie! What a rookie mistake. Although that sort of move might actually pay off for its creativity in better movies, "The Double" doesn't pay off at all. Richard Gere and Martin Sheen give good performances, but Topher Grace tries way to hard. He tries to give his character more depth and gravitas but he fails miserably. "The Double" can try to be all it wants but the truth is that it's a hollow spy thriller with good intentions but bad execution. Full Review »
  2. Aug 22, 2013
    4
    The acting is alright. Gere is easily the best performer (that's not saying much) and I feel that Grace tries a bit too hard at times, Doesn't really sell his character well. The twist in the plot is really predictable, I called it like 10 minutes into the film. The rest of plot is rather generic and a bit slow but I have no real problems with it. Overall, It's on par with the quality of straight to video releases. Nothing special about it but a good way to kill time. Can't say I'd really recommend it unless you watch a ton of straight to video films. Full Review »
  3. May 12, 2013
    6
    First off, all the performances were very good; I only wish the same could be said for the script. The plot wanders about; giving away very key information far too early (IMO) and taking all the mystery out of it for me. Yes, there is a twist at the end, but by that time I’m just pissed off with it. It’s well shot with most of the action taking place in and around Washington DC. It was nice to see Martin Sheen as CIA director Tom Highland; it was kinda odd seeing him in Washington & not being the President. Over all, a film that failed to live up to expectations; I know which direction I would have taken it in and that would have been a much better story.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: NOT RECOMMENDED

    My score: 5.7/10
    Full Review »