Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: August 5, 2005
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 102 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
36
Mixed:
13
Negative:
53
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
SHANKROIDFeb 16, 2013
I don't believe I've ever laughed so hard at a movie as I did at The Dukes Of Hazzard. Do the math... the guy from Jackass, the guy from American Pies and Burt Reynolds (no stranger to car movie shenanigans remember. See The Cannonball Run)I don't believe I've ever laughed so hard at a movie as I did at The Dukes Of Hazzard. Do the math... the guy from Jackass, the guy from American Pies and Burt Reynolds (no stranger to car movie shenanigans remember. See The Cannonball Run) all in a movie version of the classic tv show. How are the Duke boys gonna get one over the local sherrif while avoiding the distractions of a cool deep south car and their sexy cousin?? This is one laugh after another. And another. Even another. If this was one of the episodes of the show that inspired it, it'd be the best episode of it easy. Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
2
TravisW.Jan 23, 2008
Seriously, who wrote this crap? Have they ever watched a single episode of the Dukes?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TaylorB.Sep 18, 2006
The Dukes of Hazzard was hazardous. It was the worst movie I have ever seen. Not only were the actors terrible at reading the dialogue, the entire story line was just plain stupid. As for Jessica Simpson, the less said the better. However it The Dukes of Hazzard was hazardous. It was the worst movie I have ever seen. Not only were the actors terrible at reading the dialogue, the entire story line was just plain stupid. As for Jessica Simpson, the less said the better. However it hurt my eyes to watch her on the big screen. Yeah, she's hot, but she is NOT an actress. She needs to stick to what she does best (or better): singing.. no more acting PLEASE! I dont' know how much longer I can take watching that girl try to be someone she's not. She's a singer, not an actress. Period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BassFeb 28, 2006
This is plain and simply the worst film ever made. The acting is poor, the direction is poor, the story is poor, and buy the time the ending credits roll you're left wondering jst how you didn't manage to kil yourself after the This is plain and simply the worst film ever made. The acting is poor, the direction is poor, the story is poor, and buy the time the ending credits roll you're left wondering jst how you didn't manage to kil yourself after the last 2 hours of hellish cinema. I like many others worship Sean William Scott for his rolls in previous brillaint comedies such as American Pie, Road Trip and his cameo in the truely excellent Old School, however the mere fact that he signed on for this movie is unacceptable, and someone with his natural comedic talent should most definitly be looking towards quality rolls instead of a large paycheck. I've never been the biggest fan of Knockxville but did admire his contribution in Walking Tall along side The Rock, however after watching this film i'm convinced that one good turn was nothing more than a fluke. The only saving grace for this film is that Jessica Simspon is in it and provides quality eye candy, however we all know that much better source material can easily be found on the internet, and for free as well. Please do not watch this film unless you want your brain to experience unadulterated pain and suffering. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KennyM.Jan 10, 2006
Someone asked me the other day, "what's the worst movie you have ever seen?" I said, "dukes of hazzard." You know how some movies are funny in a sick perverted, teen-comedy way (american pie) but this movie is just plain perversly Someone asked me the other day, "what's the worst movie you have ever seen?" I said, "dukes of hazzard." You know how some movies are funny in a sick perverted, teen-comedy way (american pie) but this movie is just plain perversly stupid. It is an excercise in stupidity, and makes me want to vomit all over myself. The acting is horrible, the jokes are horrible, the story is horrible, jessica simpson should be shot in the face, johnny knoxville should stick to being a jackass, the list goes on and on... absolutly horrible, anyone who likes this has a low IQ and no sense of humor and is obviously going nowhere in life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
faisaln.Dec 25, 2005
I love it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoshuaB.Dec 15, 2005
This is the wrong way to remake a good show.It needs that dukes of Hazzard charm to make it better.This movie takes a good show and turns it into crap.This movie needs a better cast and Director to do this job.They have failed completely to This is the wrong way to remake a good show.It needs that dukes of Hazzard charm to make it better.This movie takes a good show and turns it into crap.This movie needs a better cast and Director to do this job.They have failed completely to make a good movie.I'm sure not to watch this movie.Other people might like this movie,I sure don't.Not to be mean to anybody else who might like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KDDec 13, 2005
I dont know why all the critics are so harsh. this is one of the funniest movies of 2005. its a good 'ol time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
It's fun all right, but it is so brainless that it makes you feel dumb that you actually liked a part of this. The actors have carisma, and Simpson has the legs, but I can always rent something else, the bad part is I saw this in the It's fun all right, but it is so brainless that it makes you feel dumb that you actually liked a part of this. The actors have carisma, and Simpson has the legs, but I can always rent something else, the bad part is I saw this in the movie theatres, beware. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Total junk,nothing like the tv series that i loved.this movie was a total slam to the people that liked the tv series.the director and writers of the movie in my words should be working in fast food as they know nothing of how movies work Total junk,nothing like the tv series that i loved.this movie was a total slam to the people that liked the tv series.the director and writers of the movie in my words should be working in fast food as they know nothing of how movies work and should be good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
D-RangedOct 8, 2005
HATED IT! I don't care about stuff like this. A total abomination and disrespect to the original TV series. Jessica Simpson the ditzy blonde bimbo is grating and overrated in looks-gimme Nia Long anyday :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarkB.Sep 20, 2005
A lot can happen in 25 years! In 1980, when the junk-food CBS-TV show this was based on was at the peak of its popularity, could Willie Nelson--at that time amassing real cred as both a character actor and leading man (The Electric Horseman, A lot can happen in 25 years! In 1980, when the junk-food CBS-TV show this was based on was at the peak of its popularity, could Willie Nelson--at that time amassing real cred as both a character actor and leading man (The Electric Horseman, Honeysuckle Rose)--have guessed that he'd be taking on Denver Pyle's role as Uncle Jesse? More to the point, did Burt Reynolds, at that time the #1 box office star (until he cranked out a few too many shoddy, repetitive Dukes variations for buddy Hal Needham) have had even the slightest fraction of a clue of an inkling that he'd be putting on Boss Hogg's white suit? (In the words of The Grateful Dead, "What a long strange trip it's been!") Maybe my never being a fan of the TV series (written largely by former McHale's Navy scribes and likewise featuring all-American party boys taking on the corrupt, inept establishment with the use of labyrinthine, Sting-like schemes, but one Captain Binghamton is worth a thousand Hoggs) allowed me to appreciate the inevitable movie as dumb but relatively painless. That's not exactly ringing praise, I admit, but as 2005 TV show translations go, it's a lot easier to sit through than the last 40 minutes of Bewitched and any nanosecond of The Honeymooners. Director Jay Chandresekhar (whose Broken Lizard gang brought you the fairly funny Super Troopers and the downright terrible Club Dread) manages a nice balance between admiring and satirizing the show; Duke boys Johnny Knoxville and Sean William Scott, as well as Nelson, Reynolds and Lynda Carter all seem to be enjoying themselves, and happily Jessica Simpson seems to be in on the joke. (I still think the producers should've honored Catherine Bach, the original Daisy Duke, either by dying Simpson's hair or casting a brunette.) The worst element of the movie--directly transferred from the show--is retaining the Confederate flag logo on the Dukes' car; I'm as politically incorrect as I wanna be, but what once may have been accepted as a sign of healthy American rebellion is now a sign of racism, lynchings and murder, and should've been replaced with an American flag; Chandresekhar's meager attempts to deal with the controversy on screen are extremely weak. Other than that, Dukes would be an excellent time-machine candidate; it would play quite well on a 1976 drive-in triple feature along with Six Pack Annie and the 407th reissue of Thunder Road--especially with a case or three of Coors in the car. Bob Denver's recent death (which made page 2 of the NEWS--not entertainment--section of USA Today and inspired not one but two columns by Slate's online critics) certainly increases the possibility of a Gilligan's Island big-screen endeavor; not that I'm encouraging it in any way whatsoever, but if it's inevitable, Chandrasekhar is the man for the job. (Note that I'm in favor of this happening, mind you; I just said that I'm NOT encouraging a Gilligan's Island movie, but if one were going to be made anyway, then...oh, never mind.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelanieT.Sep 16, 2005
I thought it was excellent! i would see it again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WilsonSep 14, 2005
Don't watch it...boring as hell except Jessica (SO HOT), but if u want to drool...watch her music video--that's much better than the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BennyB.Sep 5, 2005
This is a bad film but a likeably bad film. The plot is terrible and the acting is patchy. But I found that this actually worked in places. it had a very late70s/early 80's feel to a lot of it because of these shortcomings. The major This is a bad film but a likeably bad film. The plot is terrible and the acting is patchy. But I found that this actually worked in places. it had a very late70s/early 80's feel to a lot of it because of these shortcomings. The major thing about this film is that the car scenes are ludacris and over the top, and a lot of fun. There's nothing more annoying than a load of CG enhanced car chase scenes that have sneaked into modern films. Here we get some good old fashioned wheel spins and high velocity turning and we get shown that a dodge charger would be a cool car for drift racing. Some of the jokes are lame, but I've heard worse. It's not a good film, but it is enjoyable. I reckon it's down to you on how much money you want to spend (if any) on seeing this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimmyC.Aug 25, 2005
Ongoing proof that Hollywood is fresh out of original ideas. I walked out 15 minutes into this trashfest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisP.Aug 20, 2005
The only good thing in this movie is hot hot hot Jessica... But I guess what I'm trying to say is... I HATE REMAKES OF OLD SHOWS!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithR.Aug 19, 2005
C'mon now. Give the Duke Boys some LOVE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LittleBitAug 18, 2005
I agree with Ryencoke, it was so hilarious and it was really cool. [especialy J. Knoxville] but it was great anyway.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EricY.Aug 16, 2005
I guess I'll start w/ the bad news and then finish with the good news. I thought that the choice to play Roscoe was very bad. Terrible. I didn't like Burt Reynolds in this one, either. Hopefully he doesn't read this and come I guess I'll start w/ the bad news and then finish with the good news. I thought that the choice to play Roscoe was very bad. Terrible. I didn't like Burt Reynolds in this one, either. Hopefully he doesn't read this and come and smack me. Johnny Knoxville wasn't great, but salvagable. The good--Jessica Simpson is so hot! WOW! She single handedly boost my rating to a 5 from a 4. Simply delightful on screen. Sean William Scott really did a great job and I loved all of the stunts w/ the car. Those scenes made me want to go out and smoke the tires off of the car. Fabulous. A good way to spend a Saturday afternoon if you are bored, but if re-runs of the original show are on TV, stay home and watch them instead (while downloading pictures of Jessica Simpson, of course)...Peace out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BiancaB.Aug 15, 2005
Excretory southern-fried imbecility. so bad it prompts your head to swim and stomach to churn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
andrewa.Aug 15, 2005
ugh. so boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeAug 12, 2005
I really enjoyed this movie. I don't know what you other guys are seeing. I found it to be hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FrankAug 12, 2005
Jessica, why don't you just pose for Playboy and get it over with? Geeez! They
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
stevelAug 12, 2005
Just plain bad. what's hollywood going to vomit out next, the a-team and knight rider?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Aug 10, 2005
The lone bright spot of this dreadful movie is Jessica Simpson, who surprises us by having more in common with rappers than Paris Hilton. She looks comfortable in front of the cameras. Simpson plays a different sort of dumb blonde; a The lone bright spot of this dreadful movie is Jessica Simpson, who surprises us by having more in common with rappers than Paris Hilton. She looks comfortable in front of the cameras. Simpson plays a different sort of dumb blonde; a confident, assertive one. "The Dukes of Hazzard" briefly comes to life whenever she's on-screen. If the writers had the common sense to bring Daisy Duke with Bo and Luke to Atlanta, the writers would've had a potential field day reaffirming and tweaking Simpson's dumb blonde persona. Imagine a livelier version of the blackface scene with Jessica from the backseat, explaining to the offended Georgian natives how the confederate flag isn't synonymous with lynchings and segregation in some ditzy, uninformed fashion. A racist, to a naif like Daisy, might be somebody who hates competition. The anachronism of Simpson on a university campus provides a host of potential comic situations. For instance, what if a scientist discovered a new breed of chicken that lives in seawater? And if the film wanted to go for even broader comedy, have Daisy accidentally discover a cure for cancer, or something else along those lines. Simpson is this stinky film's pot of gold, but it's too preoccupied with unexciting car chases and massaging the egos of Johnny Knoxville and Sean William Scott by making them the main attraction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
beeAug 9, 2005
Yeeee--hawwww!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SusanM.Aug 9, 2005
I'm not sure why everyone is so down on this movie! Iit was lots of fun - totally corny and silly, just like the original Dukes! I like the updated version, I would see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
davidb.Aug 9, 2005
Other than the eye candy of Jessica Simpson, the movie was a snoozer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
!Aug 9, 2005
Car scenes do not make a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonB.Aug 8, 2005
How can you not love this movie? General Lee jumps things: check. Daisy Duke in...well...daisy dukes: check. Some comedy: check. Heck, they even made things blow up and looked like they had a hell of a time doing it. Prediction: haters start How can you not love this movie? General Lee jumps things: check. Daisy Duke in...well...daisy dukes: check. Some comedy: check. Heck, they even made things blow up and looked like they had a hell of a time doing it. Prediction: haters start taking your medicine, this movie is going to make a ton of money on both ends. 10 yeeeehas out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RayB.Aug 8, 2005
No need to see. The reviews rating the movie a turd outweigh the inbred reviews. Don't see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JakeAug 8, 2005
A couple of passable driving scenes, a couple good shots of Jessica SImpson's body, but overall a complete turd. Somehow managed to insult my intelligence with its implausibility even though I went in with really low expections and a A couple of passable driving scenes, a couple good shots of Jessica SImpson's body, but overall a complete turd. Somehow managed to insult my intelligence with its implausibility even though I went in with really low expections and a willingness to suspend disbelief. Wait for DVD so you can just fast forward through the numeous unfunny/boring parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnnyAug 8, 2005
This was a bad idea from the start. The realization was insipid. The characters stupid. As a native of West Virginia, I resent the implication that rural people are stupid. Hollywood deal makers and film producers are stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LouisS.Aug 7, 2005
Not the best movie ever but if you are a true Duke fan than you will enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DaveB.Aug 7, 2005
Now don't get me wrong, i like fun movies like The Island and Mr. and Mrs. Smith. The kind of movies where you can leave your mind at home and enjoy the ride. I think the only people that left there minds at home here are the actors and Now don't get me wrong, i like fun movies like The Island and Mr. and Mrs. Smith. The kind of movies where you can leave your mind at home and enjoy the ride. I think the only people that left there minds at home here are the actors and crew and anybody that actually enjoyed this movie. This was HORRIBLE!! I was not expecting too much but not something this awful. The 1 is for the car. Watching Willie Nelson, Jessica Simpson and Burt Reynolds was like torture. Take your money and go see Batman Begins again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TylerD.Aug 7, 2005
This is far from a bad movie. Sure, it has it's faults, but it has enough laughs to make someone say "That was a funny movie." It also has some great car scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MelissaT.Aug 7, 2005
It sucked even more than I expected, and I had low expectations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AliceS.Aug 7, 2005
Who do I see about a refund. Oh wait, I got in free.... I want my 100 minutes Back!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyB.Aug 7, 2005
No, it's not the greatest movie in the world, but it isn't terrible either. It's fun. It's not incredibly funny, but it's entertaining enough. It makes me sad to have it confirmed that the stiffler guy can really No, it's not the greatest movie in the world, but it isn't terrible either. It's fun. It's not incredibly funny, but it's entertaining enough. It makes me sad to have it confirmed that the stiffler guy can really only play stiffler. Not a great movie...but it was fun, and certainly deserving of higher than a 4.6 /never saw the show //wasn't dumb enough to compare the two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ScottW.Aug 6, 2005
Ruined a great show!! The car chases gave it a 1 pt bump, but the rest was bad. Roscoe was a big dud compared to the series. Boss Hogg was way out of character. Uncle Jesse still makes moonshine and smokes dope. Also, made it pretty racy Ruined a great show!! The car chases gave it a 1 pt bump, but the rest was bad. Roscoe was a big dud compared to the series. Boss Hogg was way out of character. Uncle Jesse still makes moonshine and smokes dope. Also, made it pretty racy compared to the wholesome fun of the series. The folks that made this movie are as mindless as those that thought the series was a failure after the first year. They don't get it!! My kids still watch the Duke series and I was saddened to see this movie be as bad as it was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChuckY.Aug 6, 2005
Goofy and fun. It's not an Academy Award contender by any means, but it's still worth the money that I paid. Don't go see it, though, if you just want to see Jessica Simpson. She looks great but gets little screen time; just Goofy and fun. It's not an Academy Award contender by any means, but it's still worth the money that I paid. Don't go see it, though, if you just want to see Jessica Simpson. She looks great but gets little screen time; just about all of her scenes are in the trailers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EllieP.Aug 6, 2005
There are no words to describe this.....well, maybe horrible. You can definately tell Hollywood is running out of ideas!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidS.Aug 5, 2005
Car chases are some of the best I've ever seen. The movie starts off funny, gets really boring in the middle, and then ends with a lot of great jokes and action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TinaL.Aug 5, 2005
This move is horrible.While the television series was cheesy good fun and actually somewhat of a family show this one is crude. They downplayed the Rosco character who was the scene stealer in the series and once again the Bo character is This move is horrible.While the television series was cheesy good fun and actually somewhat of a family show this one is crude. They downplayed the Rosco character who was the scene stealer in the series and once again the Bo character is more annoying and shallowthan entertaining, sort of like the Bo character in the orginal series. I actually prefer Knoxville to Scott in this film. The Luke Duke character was always cooler and had more subtance in the series and that applies to the film as well. Simpson as Daisy? I think we all knew that was a bad move when we heard she had been cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonS.Aug 5, 2005
I walked out. Quite possibly the worst movie to come out of hollywood in years. Of course you liked it, Jerry R., you're in the army.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RexAug 5, 2005
Jessica Simpson's "assets" can't even make me like this movie (she's too skinny now anyway). The worst movie I have seen since "Cabin Boy" and that's saying a lot, believe me. I think I lost brain cells . . .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Aug 5, 2005
A joke of a joke with no punch line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickS.Aug 5, 2005
Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomD.Aug 5, 2005
This is the nadir of film and [oxymoronically] entertainment culture. Sure, people shout down idiots like me with my high, blue-state, stick-up-my-ass opinions, all wanting good dialogue, reasonable plots and whatnot. I don't care. I This is the nadir of film and [oxymoronically] entertainment culture. Sure, people shout down idiots like me with my high, blue-state, stick-up-my-ass opinions, all wanting good dialogue, reasonable plots and whatnot. I don't care. I loved the original Dukes, I like trashy movies and I spent part of my childhood in a trailer in Southern Wisconsin. This is just a terrible movie, no matter who you are or where you come from. Give me decent pablum or give me death. Or a retirement home in Branson, MO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RenewdFanAug 5, 2005
I could care less about the plot. The "save Hazzard from being turned into a strip mine" story was done as an episode in 83' with the scab Bo an Luke, Coy and Vance. But I will go see this movie for the same reason I watched the series I could care less about the plot. The "save Hazzard from being turned into a strip mine" story was done as an episode in 83' with the scab Bo an Luke, Coy and Vance. But I will go see this movie for the same reason I watched the series as a kid. The General Lee. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelG.Aug 5, 2005
Read the Variety review and revise that number! That's a 70-80 because, like me, he enjoyed the film and thinks it basically works at what it sets out to do: make you laugh and go along for the wild cartoon ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
V.A.Aug 5, 2005
This movie is a disaster. ebert said it best when he said that simpson was from mars. she is so stupid and painful to watch. the rest of the film, unfortunately, is almost as dumb. almost.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AramisG.Aug 5, 2005
While no relation to actual royalty, these crazy
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
connya.Aug 4, 2005
This redneck flick is everything an idiot wants to see in a movie. so It probably will do fine at the boxoffice because nowadays, people lives with low expectations and have and think the worst the better, thinking sucks!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerryR.Aug 3, 2005
Saw an advance screening thanks to the USO, loved the movie.. A lot of fun
1 of 1 users found this helpful