Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: August 5, 2005
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 103 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
37
Mixed:
13
Negative:
53
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
!Aug 9, 2005
Car scenes do not make a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
connya.Aug 4, 2005
This redneck flick is everything an idiot wants to see in a movie. so It probably will do fine at the boxoffice because nowadays, people lives with low expectations and have and think the worst the better, thinking sucks!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Aug 5, 2005
A joke of a joke with no punch line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnnyAug 8, 2005
This was a bad idea from the start. The realization was insipid. The characters stupid. As a native of West Virginia, I resent the implication that rural people are stupid. Hollywood deal makers and film producers are stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JakeAug 8, 2005
A couple of passable driving scenes, a couple good shots of Jessica SImpson's body, but overall a complete turd. Somehow managed to insult my intelligence with its implausibility even though I went in with really low expections and a A couple of passable driving scenes, a couple good shots of Jessica SImpson's body, but overall a complete turd. Somehow managed to insult my intelligence with its implausibility even though I went in with really low expections and a willingness to suspend disbelief. Wait for DVD so you can just fast forward through the numeous unfunny/boring parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoshuaB.Dec 15, 2005
This is the wrong way to remake a good show.It needs that dukes of Hazzard charm to make it better.This movie takes a good show and turns it into crap.This movie needs a better cast and Director to do this job.They have failed completely to This is the wrong way to remake a good show.It needs that dukes of Hazzard charm to make it better.This movie takes a good show and turns it into crap.This movie needs a better cast and Director to do this job.They have failed completely to make a good movie.I'm sure not to watch this movie.Other people might like this movie,I sure don't.Not to be mean to anybody else who might like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
D-RangedOct 8, 2005
HATED IT! I don't care about stuff like this. A total abomination and disrespect to the original TV series. Jessica Simpson the ditzy blonde bimbo is grating and overrated in looks-gimme Nia Long anyday :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
stevelAug 12, 2005
Just plain bad. what's hollywood going to vomit out next, the a-team and knight rider?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BiancaB.Aug 15, 2005
Excretory southern-fried imbecility. so bad it prompts your head to swim and stomach to churn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisP.Aug 20, 2005
The only good thing in this movie is hot hot hot Jessica... But I guess what I'm trying to say is... I HATE REMAKES OF OLD SHOWS!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
V.A.Aug 5, 2005
This movie is a disaster. ebert said it best when he said that simpson was from mars. she is so stupid and painful to watch. the rest of the film, unfortunately, is almost as dumb. almost.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomD.Aug 5, 2005
This is the nadir of film and [oxymoronically] entertainment culture. Sure, people shout down idiots like me with my high, blue-state, stick-up-my-ass opinions, all wanting good dialogue, reasonable plots and whatnot. I don't care. I This is the nadir of film and [oxymoronically] entertainment culture. Sure, people shout down idiots like me with my high, blue-state, stick-up-my-ass opinions, all wanting good dialogue, reasonable plots and whatnot. I don't care. I loved the original Dukes, I like trashy movies and I spent part of my childhood in a trailer in Southern Wisconsin. This is just a terrible movie, no matter who you are or where you come from. Give me decent pablum or give me death. Or a retirement home in Branson, MO. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TinaL.Aug 5, 2005
This move is horrible.While the television series was cheesy good fun and actually somewhat of a family show this one is crude. They downplayed the Rosco character who was the scene stealer in the series and once again the Bo character is This move is horrible.While the television series was cheesy good fun and actually somewhat of a family show this one is crude. They downplayed the Rosco character who was the scene stealer in the series and once again the Bo character is more annoying and shallowthan entertaining, sort of like the Bo character in the orginal series. I actually prefer Knoxville to Scott in this film. The Luke Duke character was always cooler and had more subtance in the series and that applies to the film as well. Simpson as Daisy? I think we all knew that was a bad move when we heard she had been cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EllieP.Aug 6, 2005
There are no words to describe this.....well, maybe horrible. You can definately tell Hollywood is running out of ideas!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ScottW.Aug 6, 2005
Ruined a great show!! The car chases gave it a 1 pt bump, but the rest was bad. Roscoe was a big dud compared to the series. Boss Hogg was way out of character. Uncle Jesse still makes moonshine and smokes dope. Also, made it pretty racy Ruined a great show!! The car chases gave it a 1 pt bump, but the rest was bad. Roscoe was a big dud compared to the series. Boss Hogg was way out of character. Uncle Jesse still makes moonshine and smokes dope. Also, made it pretty racy compared to the wholesome fun of the series. The folks that made this movie are as mindless as those that thought the series was a failure after the first year. They don't get it!! My kids still watch the Duke series and I was saddened to see this movie be as bad as it was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MelissaT.Aug 7, 2005
It sucked even more than I expected, and I had low expectations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AliceS.Aug 7, 2005
Who do I see about a refund. Oh wait, I got in free.... I want my 100 minutes Back!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RayB.Aug 8, 2005
No need to see. The reviews rating the movie a turd outweigh the inbred reviews. Don't see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
davidb.Aug 9, 2005
Other than the eye candy of Jessica Simpson, the movie was a snoozer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
beeAug 9, 2005
Yeeee--hawwww!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KennyM.Jan 10, 2006
Someone asked me the other day, "what's the worst movie you have ever seen?" I said, "dukes of hazzard." You know how some movies are funny in a sick perverted, teen-comedy way (american pie) but this movie is just plain perversly Someone asked me the other day, "what's the worst movie you have ever seen?" I said, "dukes of hazzard." You know how some movies are funny in a sick perverted, teen-comedy way (american pie) but this movie is just plain perversly stupid. It is an excercise in stupidity, and makes me want to vomit all over myself. The acting is horrible, the jokes are horrible, the story is horrible, jessica simpson should be shot in the face, johnny knoxville should stick to being a jackass, the list goes on and on... absolutly horrible, anyone who likes this has a low IQ and no sense of humor and is obviously going nowhere in life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Total junk,nothing like the tv series that i loved.this movie was a total slam to the people that liked the tv series.the director and writers of the movie in my words should be working in fast food as they know nothing of how movies work Total junk,nothing like the tv series that i loved.this movie was a total slam to the people that liked the tv series.the director and writers of the movie in my words should be working in fast food as they know nothing of how movies work and should be good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Aug 10, 2005
The lone bright spot of this dreadful movie is Jessica Simpson, who surprises us by having more in common with rappers than Paris Hilton. She looks comfortable in front of the cameras. Simpson plays a different sort of dumb blonde; a The lone bright spot of this dreadful movie is Jessica Simpson, who surprises us by having more in common with rappers than Paris Hilton. She looks comfortable in front of the cameras. Simpson plays a different sort of dumb blonde; a confident, assertive one. "The Dukes of Hazzard" briefly comes to life whenever she's on-screen. If the writers had the common sense to bring Daisy Duke with Bo and Luke to Atlanta, the writers would've had a potential field day reaffirming and tweaking Simpson's dumb blonde persona. Imagine a livelier version of the blackface scene with Jessica from the backseat, explaining to the offended Georgian natives how the confederate flag isn't synonymous with lynchings and segregation in some ditzy, uninformed fashion. A racist, to a naif like Daisy, might be somebody who hates competition. The anachronism of Simpson on a university campus provides a host of potential comic situations. For instance, what if a scientist discovered a new breed of chicken that lives in seawater? And if the film wanted to go for even broader comedy, have Daisy accidentally discover a cure for cancer, or something else along those lines. Simpson is this stinky film's pot of gold, but it's too preoccupied with unexciting car chases and massaging the egos of Johnny Knoxville and Sean William Scott by making them the main attraction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FrankAug 12, 2005
Jessica, why don't you just pose for Playboy and get it over with? Geeez! They
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
andrewa.Aug 15, 2005
ugh. so boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimmyC.Aug 25, 2005
Ongoing proof that Hollywood is fresh out of original ideas. I walked out 15 minutes into this trashfest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RexAug 5, 2005
Jessica Simpson's "assets" can't even make me like this movie (she's too skinny now anyway). The worst movie I have seen since "Cabin Boy" and that's saying a lot, believe me. I think I lost brain cells . . .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonS.Aug 5, 2005
I walked out. Quite possibly the worst movie to come out of hollywood in years. Of course you liked it, Jerry R., you're in the army.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DaveB.Aug 7, 2005
Now don't get me wrong, i like fun movies like The Island and Mr. and Mrs. Smith. The kind of movies where you can leave your mind at home and enjoy the ride. I think the only people that left there minds at home here are the actors and Now don't get me wrong, i like fun movies like The Island and Mr. and Mrs. Smith. The kind of movies where you can leave your mind at home and enjoy the ride. I think the only people that left there minds at home here are the actors and crew and anybody that actually enjoyed this movie. This was HORRIBLE!! I was not expecting too much but not something this awful. The 1 is for the car. Watching Willie Nelson, Jessica Simpson and Burt Reynolds was like torture. Take your money and go see Batman Begins again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WilsonSep 14, 2005
Don't watch it...boring as hell except Jessica (SO HOT), but if u want to drool...watch her music video--that's much better than the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TaylorB.Sep 18, 2006
The Dukes of Hazzard was hazardous. It was the worst movie I have ever seen. Not only were the actors terrible at reading the dialogue, the entire story line was just plain stupid. As for Jessica Simpson, the less said the better. However it The Dukes of Hazzard was hazardous. It was the worst movie I have ever seen. Not only were the actors terrible at reading the dialogue, the entire story line was just plain stupid. As for Jessica Simpson, the less said the better. However it hurt my eyes to watch her on the big screen. Yeah, she's hot, but she is NOT an actress. She needs to stick to what she does best (or better): singing.. no more acting PLEASE! I dont' know how much longer I can take watching that girl try to be someone she's not. She's a singer, not an actress. Period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BassFeb 28, 2006
This is plain and simply the worst film ever made. The acting is poor, the direction is poor, the story is poor, and buy the time the ending credits roll you're left wondering jst how you didn't manage to kil yourself after the This is plain and simply the worst film ever made. The acting is poor, the direction is poor, the story is poor, and buy the time the ending credits roll you're left wondering jst how you didn't manage to kil yourself after the last 2 hours of hellish cinema. I like many others worship Sean William Scott for his rolls in previous brillaint comedies such as American Pie, Road Trip and his cameo in the truely excellent Old School, however the mere fact that he signed on for this movie is unacceptable, and someone with his natural comedic talent should most definitly be looking towards quality rolls instead of a large paycheck. I've never been the biggest fan of Knockxville but did admire his contribution in Walking Tall along side The Rock, however after watching this film i'm convinced that one good turn was nothing more than a fluke. The only saving grace for this film is that Jessica Simspon is in it and provides quality eye candy, however we all know that much better source material can easily be found on the internet, and for free as well. Please do not watch this film unless you want your brain to experience unadulterated pain and suffering. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TravisW.Jan 23, 2008
Seriously, who wrote this crap? Have they ever watched a single episode of the Dukes?
0 of 0 users found this helpful