Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: December 15, 2000
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 168 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
156
Mixed:
8
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarioR.Mar 27, 2001
Most misunderstood and underrated masterpiece of the decade, animated or otherwise. Don't just drop off your kids. Bring the whole family. This is the best in ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottL.Sep 4, 2003
ROCKS!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChineseBoyMar 29, 2004
Demon llama!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarenP.May 28, 2001
Extra-ordinarily FUNNY! No horrible, overly evil bad guy like in most Disney movies makes this one most refreshing. Eartha Kitt makes a delicious cartoony addition, but Warburton really MAKES this movie. I love Spade, but Kronk is truly the Extra-ordinarily FUNNY! No horrible, overly evil bad guy like in most Disney movies makes this one most refreshing. Eartha Kitt makes a delicious cartoony addition, but Warburton really MAKES this movie. I love Spade, but Kronk is truly the reason to watch this one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LamaJun 3, 2003
Though the animation isn't great and the plot isn't too great either, I found the characters lovable, the jokes hilarious, the settings gorgeous, the music fabulous, and there wasn't really a "good vs. evil" theme in there Though the animation isn't great and the plot isn't too great either, I found the characters lovable, the jokes hilarious, the settings gorgeous, the music fabulous, and there wasn't really a "good vs. evil" theme in there (though there was a villain--who wasn't really much of a villain). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieP.Oct 27, 2001
I loved this movie!! It is the best Disney movie I've ever seen and my friends and I watch it ALL the time. It never gets tiring. It has many funny parts, many "sensitive" parts, and there are lots of cute quirky characters. Rent or buy I loved this movie!! It is the best Disney movie I've ever seen and my friends and I watch it ALL the time. It never gets tiring. It has many funny parts, many "sensitive" parts, and there are lots of cute quirky characters. Rent or buy this movie TODAY!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
M.C.Aug 27, 2001
Boom baby! Great movie & the jokes where fantastic. This is one of my favorite movies :-)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleP.Nov 3, 2002
One of the best Disney movies ever! It was funny, had beautiful backgrounds, great music, and lovable characters. You can't help but love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RedversK.Dec 12, 2002
Bring it on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
gm101Apr 7, 2011
The only animated Disney movie other than "Lilo and Stitch," in the early 2000s that was a masterpiece. Verry witty, and hilarious throughout the entire movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JudddyOct 4, 2010
This film is laugh out loud hilarious! The script is brilliant and the storyline works in perfectly with the humour. Yzma and Kronk make one of the funniest duos ever brought to the screen and I'm surprised this film didn't get more attentionThis film is laugh out loud hilarious! The script is brilliant and the storyline works in perfectly with the humour. Yzma and Kronk make one of the funniest duos ever brought to the screen and I'm surprised this film didn't get more attention than it received! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
lordjrsFeb 18, 2012
I loved this movie when I was a kid. Well, I still loving it, the jokes are fantastic, the plot is very good too, and I loved every character in this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 3, 2012
Now this is really funny. Animated films usually don't get much cooler than this. With a witty story, great characters, and creative cartoony animation, we have a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
18jcroneFeb 16, 2013
This is one of disneys best films, it's cartooney animation is stunning and beautiful, it has amazing voice acting, and the music is very catchy and memorable, this is another masterpiece by disney!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MissDraeMar 1, 2014
I really enjoyed this movie. I loved yzma. She made me laugh the entire movie. It so retard and hilarious. I have no idea how the writers came up with the story for this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
The_hamurMay 4, 2015
This is gold! I laughed like an imbecile the whole time, and still do, at the very same jokes, because the movie makes you feel light and laugh comes with perfect timing. I feel terrible this movie was overlooked, and most of the fault is Disney's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Earth,Air,Fire,Water,MulroneycakesDec 9, 2002
This is a FUNNY movie. Really. Not a great classic - the animation's occasionally a little ragged, the angular drawing method a little wearing and the minamalistic backdrops to the palace scenes and so on served only to detach me from This is a FUNNY movie. Really. Not a great classic - the animation's occasionally a little ragged, the angular drawing method a little wearing and the minamalistic backdrops to the palace scenes and so on served only to detach me from the movie - but BLOODY GOOD. Dump your kids in front of it and stick around with them. Also, an extra point for featuring possibly the first - gasp - pregnant woman in a major role in a Disney animated feat- sod it, cartoon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SimonD.Jun 26, 2003
Thanks to an inept ad campaign from a studio that had never produced a pure comedy before, this film vanished witohut a trace. But it is one of the funniest and wittiest comedies of any kind of the past ten years, influenced by Chuck Jones Thanks to an inept ad campaign from a studio that had never produced a pure comedy before, this film vanished witohut a trace. But it is one of the funniest and wittiest comedies of any kind of the past ten years, influenced by Chuck Jones rather than by Walt Disney and full of spunk and even heart. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JakeH.Nov 13, 2005
One of Disney's best and funniest animated films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
In an era where Disney was struggling to recapture the magic that led to their "Renaissance Era" in the 90's, "The Emperor's New Groove" stood out as a pretty great film. It's well-written, it's got some great characters, it's well-animatedIn an era where Disney was struggling to recapture the magic that led to their "Renaissance Era" in the 90's, "The Emperor's New Groove" stood out as a pretty great film. It's well-written, it's got some great characters, it's well-animated and it's pretty hilarious. For as little attention as it tends to receive, "The Emperor's New Groove' is an extremely entertaining film and a standout amongst Disney's more underwhelming 2000's films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MoondogNYCFeb 5, 2014
Just watched this movie again with the kids and my sides hurt laughing. I remember it being good but I forgot it was actually great. This has got to be THE funniest Disney Film ever. Totally underrated. I'm not sure why this movie didn't doJust watched this movie again with the kids and my sides hurt laughing. I remember it being good but I forgot it was actually great. This has got to be THE funniest Disney Film ever. Totally underrated. I'm not sure why this movie didn't do better at the box office and is considered a "disappointment" in the Disney Animation pantheon along (lumped in with much lamer films like Treasure Planet and Atlantis).

This movie really should have been a Pixar CGI film. It has the adult humor and visual maturity of "Toy Story" or "Ratatouille." With a similar South American jungle setting as "Up", I could totally visualize full realized film. Pixar or Disney Animation should just take the VO soundtrack and recreate this film shot for shot in CGI.

The only major flaw I could see in this film is the title. "The Emperor's New Groove"? Really? That's the title they went with? You're telling me "Emperor Llama" wouldn't have tested better? Or to follow Disney's more recent one word naming convention, simply title it "Selfish".
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HeatcliffJ.Aug 2, 2002
This movie is funny beyond all reason. Its clever puns and classic David Spade sarcasm make it all the more enjoyable. Fun and classic Disney movie for the whole family!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 5, 2011
"The Emperor's New Groove" is a bright, cheerful movie that will excite the audience, old and young alike, with its undeniable thrills and adventures.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jun 22, 2013
I haven't seen this movie in years, but I can still envision all the hilarious scenes in this out of control movie. I loved every second of it. A movie that anybody can appreciate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RichardSep 24, 2002
Has a couple of slow patches, but a raucous chase sequence makes up for it. Never less than very funny and heartfelt, and worth seeing for Eartha Kitt alone. Watching her animated self and listening to that unmistakable voice, I thought, Has a couple of slow patches, but a raucous chase sequence makes up for it. Never less than very funny and heartfelt, and worth seeing for Eartha Kitt alone. Watching her animated self and listening to that unmistakable voice, I thought, what a brilliant Gollum she would have made. And I mean that with the very greatest respect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MovieLonely94Nov 4, 2010
not my favorite, but Patrick Warburton really cracked me up!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Sep 2, 2012
Emperor's New Grove is a great disney movie the should appeal to kids and adults. All the characters flow perfectly with each other. I really enjoyed the film form start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ballpark_frankNov 23, 2012
After Disney's run of "classic" animated tales, they finally decided to produce a flat-out cartoon. This effort isn't one of their strongest, since the storyline is quite ridiculous, but the writing produced many great snippets of dialog,After Disney's run of "classic" animated tales, they finally decided to produce a flat-out cartoon. This effort isn't one of their strongest, since the storyline is quite ridiculous, but the writing produced many great snippets of dialog, especially for the character of "Kronk". Also, a cute touch is how the characters themselves resemble the actors supplying the voices. My overall impression is that of a combination of a Hope/Crosby "Road" picture, and an Abbott and Costello flick (with Spade positively filling the acerbic Abbott/Crosby role, and Goodman in the Costello/Hope character - though with a higher degree of attitude and self-esteem). My favorite part takes place within a restaurant/greasy-spoon, where the timing of the lines and the animation blends into a masterful bit of silliness. Actually, I'd say this film was written more for adults than for children, since much of the humor may be of a higher (lower?) level. Still, I'd think kids will enjoy the comical portraits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SEROJSep 5, 2016
This film was so funny that she only thing i didn't like was that i wanted more and it was too short. The story is also pretty predictable but the actual action thats going on isn't and thats may be some of the things that make this animationThis film was so funny that she only thing i didn't like was that i wanted more and it was too short. The story is also pretty predictable but the actual action thats going on isn't and thats may be some of the things that make this animation one of the funnies you watched! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysFeb 19, 2014
It's a good kids movie. Juts another creative Disney flick with good animation and fun characters, but not much more to offer than that. But the kids will enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 6, 2016
Can get a lot funnier than that, but despite that... what makes the Emperor's New Groove a beautiful Disney movie to watch is by the fact it behaves like one and it isn't like your average Disney work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews