The English Patient

The English Patient Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Gary Kamiya
    100
    Minghella, by brilliantly editing the romantic scenes down to a few jagged, archetypal moments, captures something of the sacred whirlwind.
  2. A mesmerizing film that is the most stunning, tempestuous love story in a decade or two of movie making.
  3. 100
    Awash in heart-rending emotions and gorgeous images, this is a movie to lose yourself in.
  4. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    Succeeds stunningly on its own terms.
  5. 88
    This is one of the year's most unabashed and powerful love stories, using flawless performances, intelligent dialogue, crisp camera work, and loaded glances to attain a level of eroticism and emotional connection that many similar films miss.
  6. Film.com
    Reviewed by: Robert Horton
    80
    It's got both the sweeping spectacle and the keen, tactile sense of human intimacy.
  7. It's reasonably well told and well mounted but little more.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 11 out of 37
  1. JoshB.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    In the epic style of David Lean, Anthony Minghella has crafted a wonderful and engrossing film from Ondaatje's poetic novel.
  2. May 30, 2016
    10
    I really dont get why people dislike this movie so much, and why it (rightfully) won so many Oscars. The English Patient is a sweeping epicI really dont get why people dislike this movie so much, and why it (rightfully) won so many Oscars. The English Patient is a sweeping epic that is complex, moving, and very powerful. It's breathtakingly shot, and the score astonishing. Juliette Binoche, Ralph Fiennes and Kristen Scott Thomas give emotional, powerful performances on top of everything that is so great about this film.
    It has a non-linear structure which is perfect for a longer film like this because it sucks you into it more and keeps you focused on the edge of your seat.
    The script is perfect, the costume design is beautiful, the production design is believable, the cinematography is top notch, the editing is flawless, and this grade A, all star ensemble cast is one of the best you'll see in years.

    Dont believe the haters, watch '''The English Patient'', it's an absolute masterpiece.
    Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Great film! Real emotions, real life! Heroes were on the top! Music brilliantly selected!
  4. AllanF.
    Feb 15, 2006
    9
    One of the best films ever made, based on one of the best books ever written.
  5. Feb 28, 2016
    7
    Sure, The English Patient is one of the best movies I've ever seen. However, the Oscars are just plain s**t. How come the Academy chose aSure, The English Patient is one of the best movies I've ever seen. However, the Oscars are just plain s**t. How come the Academy chose a 3-hour-long passionate love story and win a Best Picture Oscar? I skipped on the final ending of the Oscars in 1997 and I was so pissed. There's a reason why Joel and Ethan Cohen were not too pleased with the stunning news because Fargo should've won the goddamn Oscar in the first place. I believe it's one the most embarrassing Best Picture winners and some people agree with me that The English Patient is completely overrated. Shame on You, AMPAS! Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    5
    It's breathtaking. Breathtakingly boring.
  7. PaulS.
    Nov 7, 2005
    0
    Nothing to offer, overated, long and boring.

See all 37 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 28 Best Picture Oscar Winners, Ranked From Worst to Best

    28 Best Picture Oscar Winners, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: February 18, 2016
    We rank the best picture winners of the past three decades.
  2. The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990

    The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990 Image
    Published: February 22, 2011
    With this year's Oscars rapidly approaching, we look back at ten best picture winners from the past two decades that seem like questionable choices today, and see which great films were snubbed as a result.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  6. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.