The English Teacher

Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    May 31, 2013
    50
    A potentially incisive character study is buried under layers of fluff in The English Teacher.
  2. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 30, 2013
    50
    The picture is perfectly watchable but rarely compelling, because the filmmakers are too timid to take any chances.
  3. 50
    The line between “cute” and “cutesy” is violated, repeatedly, in the sometimes funny, often cloying comedy The English Teacher.
  4. Reviewed by: Ben Kenigsberg
    May 15, 2013
    50
    Even the sitcom stylings might not matter if the movie were funny, but in spite of the potential for Guffman-esque comedy, The English Teacher boasts few surprises—except perhaps its message, which seems to be that selling out isn’t so bad. Chalk it up to a case of “write what you know.”
  5. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    May 12, 2013
    50
    This is the second recent release—after The Great Gatsby, whose overwrought, on-screen text it even shares—that aims to channel great, time-honored storytelling without being able to tell a great story.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    May 23, 2013
    40
    The acting, especially Ms. Moore’s, is solid. But her strong, sympathetic performance fails to transform The English Teacher into anything more than a sitcom devoid of laughs, except for a soupçon of literary humor. It is a movie at odds with itself.
  7. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    May 21, 2013
    40
    The film’s cutesy vibe is closer to "Glee" than "Election" or "Waiting for Guffman," with Nathan Lane’s exuberant drama teacher pitching several yards of camp tent.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 6, 2016
    8
    I think I really like Julianne Moore here. She's quite funny, moreover her role as an English teacher who loves literature so much and lovesI think I really like Julianne Moore here. She's quite funny, moreover her role as an English teacher who loves literature so much and loves being alone as much as I do. Haha. Feels like this movie's talking about people like me with our lonely passion??? Of course without that affair with her former student. Eww!
    This is just the best comedy of Julianne Moore, despite its average story. You know, I've never really liked her. But this movie, and Carrie, change my personal opinion about her. Can't wait to watch Still Alice. ^^
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 25, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I enjoyed the comedy & romance. Also appreciate how quickly actions can get blown out of proportion.. Glad that in this as tory th as t collaboration and common sense prevailed. Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2015
    7
    Does former student count...!

    A perfect role for Julianne Moore. All the other characters were nicely arranged around her's. It was a story
    Does former student count...!

    A perfect role for Julianne Moore. All the other characters were nicely arranged around her's. It was a story based on the high school teacher and her ex-student, joining together for a school project. In the middle part, a wonderful development in the story turns the convincing second half. Some people are not a good listener, they try to finish the sentence before the speech givers. Such small instance, sometime may create a big trouble. Not right away, but it takes time of its own. At some point the truth will meet and all the hell will break out.

    A movie with a good narration, but very familiar and predictable. Pleased performances, individually, but casts did not blend well together. Overall, a better movie than what I've heard about it, especially compared to so many overrated recent films. Easily just an above average, should have been better in the many parts, but the quality is there and entertains. In the end, it gives satisfactory for what it is. If you expect something more beautiful or powerful, this isn't the right film for you.

    6.5/10
    Full Review »