Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 26, 2014
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 345 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
230
Mixed:
79
Negative:
36
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Tss5078Mar 30, 2015
The Equalizer was one of the most underrated shows of the 1980s, it was a great show, but it always lacked a certain intensity that the lead character needed. In this 2014 film adaptation of the series, Director, Antoine Fuqua, made sure thatThe Equalizer was one of the most underrated shows of the 1980s, it was a great show, but it always lacked a certain intensity that the lead character needed. In this 2014 film adaptation of the series, Director, Antoine Fuqua, made sure that didn't happen again. Denzel Washington stars and can play anyone, but I find he's at his best when he's playing a dark loner like Robert McCall. McCall, a former CIA operative has retired and is attempting to live a normal life. Everything is going as planned, until he sees a young girl being abused, and decides to take action. McCall believe he's just going up against a local pimp, but discovers it's a lot more complicated than that. Washington continues to be at the top of his game, as the ageless wonder is once again spectacular. This film is everything I loved about the series, with a whole lot more action and intensity. Director, Antoine Fuqua, has been on a role after films like Training Day, Shooter, and Olympus Has Fallen, and he has become THE guy when it comes to action films. Playing off an established franchise and paired with Denzel Washington, The Equalizer has come back to life and is one of the most refreshing action films I've seen in a long time. Sometimes with a different team, what was once old, can become new again, and I was practically jumping out of my seat with excitement. As far as the continuation of the series goes, Fuqua is in the early stages of a sequel. It may not be a new TV series, but it's still something exciting for the fans, and I for one can't wait to see more. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Brainstorm123Jun 1, 2015
Denzel can etch another mark into his decorated career with The Equalizer; which is the best film and best thriller of 2014. I think that, while it takes a while to take off, when it gets going the story is very compelling, and draws you in.Denzel can etch another mark into his decorated career with The Equalizer; which is the best film and best thriller of 2014. I think that, while it takes a while to take off, when it gets going the story is very compelling, and draws you in. The action sequences are very well thought out, and amazing to watch. The best being the hardware store scene. Not to mention that the soundtrack is superb. Denzel offers a memorable take on the classic in the English series, with a stellar performance. He even packs in some intelligent humour. Overall, this is an action film that will have you hooked until the end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
PeterAlexanderJun 14, 2015
Dark, gritty, outrageous and at times powerful, The Equalizer is certainly a film worth watching. Denzel Washington and Chloe Grace Moretz star in what is a sadly realistic portrayal of the American underworld, particularly focusing on theDark, gritty, outrageous and at times powerful, The Equalizer is certainly a film worth watching. Denzel Washington and Chloe Grace Moretz star in what is a sadly realistic portrayal of the American underworld, particularly focusing on the issue of sex trafficking. The film is at times painful and disturbing to watch, however, it is necessary in presenting an accurate representation of such aspects. Denzel plays his role extremely powerfully, adding to the tense drama with moments of subtle comedic humour and outrageously unnecessary acts of violence. With the addition of well developed antagonists, the film questions our sense of morals expertly. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DevilmathSep 27, 2015
What differentiates a trashy, loudly violent action film from an entertaining, genuine guilty pleasure? If there’s a line, The Equalizer walks on it like an acrobat on a tightrope. Antoine Fuqua’s most recent work establishes itself as aWhat differentiates a trashy, loudly violent action film from an entertaining, genuine guilty pleasure? If there’s a line, The Equalizer walks on it like an acrobat on a tightrope. Antoine Fuqua’s most recent work establishes itself as a crowd-pleaser, leaving spectators in awe, but every fluctuation between nonsense and coherency creates uneasiness and raises eyebrows. One might think: I hope this guy knows what he’s doing. Fuqua’s previous feature, Olympus Has Fallen (2013), felt like that too: an action packed thriller, forgoing all plot consistency, continuity and common sense for the sake of staging uncontrollable mayhem inside the White House. Since his deservedly acclaimed Training Day (2001), the American director has seemingly found it difficult to keep up with expectations. He has, nonetheless, always had good eye for action scenes, managing to build remarkable and gripping sequences. Much like some of his past works (King Arthur and Brooklyn’s Finest to name but a few), The Equalizer suffers the pains of lacklustre direction. The tasteless use of alarm clock shots to set temporal continuity, or the abundance of dull and redundant digressions, are only a couple of examples. Nevertheless, the film also offers great action, riveting exchanges, and a likeable, cathartic anti-hero.

Denzel Washington is Robert McCall, our anti-hero, the guy we’d all want in our neighbourhood watch. He tries to lead a normal life, but his past is quite ambiguous, as two minor characters conveniently point out at the very beginning of the film. We’re never quite sure what he used to do for a living, but we soon find out that he’s good at killing people. To compensate for his brute instincts, Robert has developed a form of OCD that forces him to put everything right. He obsessively checks the time, follows a strict routine, aligns surfaces, equalizes things. Self control, though, only lasts until a ruthless syndicate attacks his friend Teri, forcing him to put his skills back to use. Everyone on Robert’s path to justice (better called revenge) then becomes cannon fodder, in a bloody chase between him and the pitiless mobsters.

If you go see The Equalizer because you like the idea of good ol’ Denzel decimating the bad guys, you will be served, but don’t expect much more than that. There’s little substance beyond the already-held idea of righting all wrongs. There’s very little passion (let alone depth) in the canonical moral messages, clumsily delivered in the banal form of literary quotes. Chloe Grace Moretz and Marton Csokas do a decent job of playing Teri and Russian hired gun Teddy, but Washington outshines both, carrying the whole film on his shoulders with the usual talent. His character comes from an old TV series of the ‘80s, although die-hard fans claim that similarities end there. Washington’s Robert McCall is a half avenger half psychotic hitman, mixing Taken’s Liam Neeson and Unbreakable’s Bruce Willis. He has no real dramatic depth, but we still like him because we like to see the bad guys get beaten up. Whereas Training Day is all about discovering Washington’s Detective Alonzo Harris, appreciating his dark personality by observing his evolving attitude and actions, The Equalizer settles Robert’s background with two lines of dialogue. While Det. Harris is an Oscar-worthy protagonist with a powerful connection with the audience, Robert remains a tool, merely exploited to fuel the action on screen. If you’re planning to watch The Equalizer, prepare for a factitious thriller with unusual dark comedy shades. You’ll spend hours wondering if you liked it or not, before accepting that, in spite of everything, you actually enjoyed it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MadMaxFuryRoadDec 7, 2015
Good solid Denzel film. The action scene in the trailer with timer is probably the best part of the entire film. I'm really excited for the sequel. However, I must say I was so excited for the film that when I left the packed theater, I wasGood solid Denzel film. The action scene in the trailer with timer is probably the best part of the entire film. I'm really excited for the sequel. However, I must say I was so excited for the film that when I left the packed theater, I was slightly disappointed. The villains were kind of weak and I wish the film had a better villain. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
02summitNov 22, 2014
This is a remake of Man on Fire without the fire. Weak at best Another regurgitated cash grab. A good movie to watch at home on a Monday night when its too cold to go outside, the football game is a replay, all the painting is done, theThis is a remake of Man on Fire without the fire. Weak at best Another regurgitated cash grab. A good movie to watch at home on a Monday night when its too cold to go outside, the football game is a replay, all the painting is done, the dishes are washed,........ Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
andarial6670Dec 10, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like "The Old Man and the Sea" references in this movie. That's about the only thing that stuck out to me. The pacing is bad. The story is underdeveloped in my opinion. Based on what happens throughout the entire movie, the plot could have resolved itself within the first hour. I think the biggest problem is that this movie follows the formula of "unstoppable protagonist" where Denzel is basically a black superhero smacking around mobsters who look like they've never been in a fight before. I take back the black superhero description, I think "Home Depot Warrior" fits him better. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
AGarcia732Dec 31, 2014
The Equalizer is "revenge-porn", but not much else. Maybe "The Equalizer" just isn't my cup of tea, but I'm surprised it got as many favorable reviews as it did. The movie felt kind of aimless, pointless, and unmeaningful IMO (just asThe Equalizer is "revenge-porn", but not much else. Maybe "The Equalizer" just isn't my cup of tea, but I'm surprised it got as many favorable reviews as it did. The movie felt kind of aimless, pointless, and unmeaningful IMO (just as Robert's life was portrayed in the film). Robert McCall is just a widowed man living through the motions, not doing much except visiting diners at 2 AM, reading all the books on a list of 100 classic "must-read" novels, chatting politely with strangers, helping people out, and keeping his apartment very clean. Robert (and the movie) have no sense of clear direction or purpose. And suddenly comes the one (actually, multiple people/events) destined to send him back into his old ways, and one thing leads to another. Besides exacting brutal justice on helpless goons with his "very particular set of skills" and simultaneously leaving lots of very obvious loose ends that are just BOUND to catch up with him, (enforcer & problem-solver/Russian villain) Teddy also impulsively kills for no reason! (He murders a Irish mob boss, which SHOULD start a gang war, but doesn't.)

There are quite a bit of reckless actions done throughout this movie, and most of them hard to ignore. Besides the aforementioned logical fallacies, its hard to believe that of all the times Robert McCall witnessed injustice in his life (since having faked his own death as a former black ops commando), one random act of violence perpetrated against a stranger makes him go back to his former ways. NOTHING before that ever even slightly tempted him to exact violent and brutal justice? If he could so easily do good (as he takes down baddies and cripples a criminal empire with ease), why hadn't he done it before?

The film has action and gore, yet even that fails to be entertaining--as Denzel/Robert is far too badass to ever even feel threatened. He seems super-human, which makes it hard for you to connect/relate to him. Victims in the movie don't have enough development to have the audience sympathize with them. As the action is not suspenseful, the plot hard to believe, and the characters underdeveloped/only used to advance the plot, The Equalizer doesn't have much going for it. It's too long and mundane. It doesn't even bring much new material to the table, similarly to Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit. Both do little to establish themselves as different from the many movies out there. The Equalizer is too reminiscent of other vigilante/action films (TAKEN!), and it even reminds me of Home Alone (mostly during the finale)! Denzel's acting style is the only saving grace of the movie.

Remember the Titans, Man on Fire, and 2 Guns were better Denzel Washington films, and Olympus Has Fallen was a more satisfying product from director Antoine Fuqua. I don't hate "The Equalizer", but it was a "flimsy pretext" stretched to last two hours and filled with meaningless violence (mostly used to establish the film as grisly and dark). It's a "rejected Taken plotline" repurposed to give Sony an unnecessary action movie franchise. This should remain a stand-alone film. It honestly doesn't warrant a sequel. I hate to say this, but "The Equalizer" feels like a "regurgitated cash-grab".

I have reviewed 36 other movies, including the 2014 films: The Interview, Exodus: Gods and Kings, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1, Dracula Untold, The Maze Runner, The Expendables 3, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Guardians of the Galaxy, The Giver, Sharknado 2, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Transformers: Age of Extinction, Edge of Tomorrow, X-Men Days of Future Past, Godzilla, Blended, The Amazing Spider-Man 2, Divergent, Transcendence, Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit, The Lego Movie, and more.

I review TV shows, such as: The Flash, Arrow (Season 3), Gotham, The Last Ship, Sleepy Hollow, Marvel's Agents of SHIELD (Season 1 and 2), The 100, I Wanna Marry Harry, Crisis, Gang Related, and more. I also have reviewed the mobile Android games: Minecraft Pocket Edition, Clash of Clans, and Five Night's at Freddy's.

(P.S, some of the quotes are from other online text sources.)
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
hadioushiJan 3, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first you'd think this movie was well thought of. But the more you watch the less you feel for the characters. In the beginning, the story is emotional with all the sad tales and you'd actually have some sympathy for the characters. But then the whole movie loses it's purpose after the protagonist (Denzel) starts killing people. Moretz is nowhere to be seen even though she's one of the main reasons this is happening. Towards the end, it was plain awful. He just heartlessly kills everyone in such brutal manner that the trouble the thugs caused didn't even compete. Just another cliche action movie Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
MattBrady99Mar 10, 2015
Robert McCall: "Progress. Not Perfection".

The story is about a former black ops commander has settled down in Boston - having faked his own death in order to enjoy a normal life. But when a young girl gets herself in trouble, his need for
Robert McCall: "Progress. Not Perfection".

The story is about a former black ops commander has settled down in Boston - having faked his own death in order to enjoy a normal life. But when a young girl gets herself in trouble, his need for justice brings him out of retirement - even if it means going up against a group of dangerous Russian gangsters.

I always like Denzel Washington in every movie that he was in. He always brings that cocky, smart-ass, know it all kind of person; and The Equalizer is nothing different. Denzel in this movie is a pure bad-ass that will end your life if he had to, just like Liam Neeson from Taken. The villain in this movie is pretty much the same villain that I've seen in every other Russian gangsters mob movies out there. The movie towards they end dragged a little bit for me.

But overall I still think this movie was entertaining film with a lot of cool stuff with Denzel. It's not a perfect movie, but the film knows what it is and it goes for it.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
sambullusSep 29, 2014
generic shoot em up, which would be straight to dvd without its famous lead actor. The acting is good, but the script, direction and tone are poor. The action scenes are badly edited which, given that the movie has no reason to exist exceptgeneric shoot em up, which would be straight to dvd without its famous lead actor. The acting is good, but the script, direction and tone are poor. The action scenes are badly edited which, given that the movie has no reason to exist except for action, makes the entire thing pointless. Most annoyingly Denzel is a typical modern Hollywood "hero"- an unstoppable killing machine. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
jackiet1412Oct 8, 2014
Why is everyone saying this movie is a cliche??! I am not saying this isn't one. I am asking why is everyone surprised that it is? The movie plot (Like many other action movies) is about one tough guy fighting the wrong and helping the right.Why is everyone saying this movie is a cliche??! I am not saying this isn't one. I am asking why is everyone surprised that it is? The movie plot (Like many other action movies) is about one tough guy fighting the wrong and helping the right. So when I watched this movie, I wasn't going for the "great" movie script. I was going for bad ass action, explosions, and super cool killing scenes. Don't go to this movie if you are excepting it to be different from the hundreds of other action. Because the equalizer is exactly like all the other action movie, where the bad guy dies and good guys win. This movie isn't suppose to be original, it's suppose to be kick ass and look cool. And it has delivered that purpose. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
4
GinaKSep 28, 2014
The Equalizer was a very disappointing film because it was so uneven – schmaltzy parts and vicious action and both types of scenes could be boring. The one really interesting thing was the creative ways the villains were dispatched, althoughThe Equalizer was a very disappointing film because it was so uneven – schmaltzy parts and vicious action and both types of scenes could be boring. The one really interesting thing was the creative ways the villains were dispatched, although The Equalizer was cheating a bit because all his “equalizing “was done on his home turf. Also I wasn’t quite sure where the director and screenwriter were going with the character (I never saw the TV series.) At one point the Equalizer tells a story to the main villain about an orphan boy who was adopted, and he speculates that the boy ended up killing the people who were kind to him. I thought he was talking about the villain, but someone cleverer than I suggested afterwards that he could just as well have been talking about himself since he had such a talent for unadulterated, sadistic violence. If this subtlety was deliberate, then it was a better movie than I thought. But I still am not impressed. (PS: I am a Denzel Washington fan.) Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
ldivaOct 12, 2014
This is a great movie with a good message. Denzel was awesome what a city hero. One of the most amazing movies i have ever seen. This is a must see hands down!
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
HaithamBDec 13, 2014
The Equalizer is shriveled in plot; where it is mundane and salvaged. Denzel Washington is the 10 of this movie, and is desperately trying to deliver fun action, he succeeds always.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
ApolscDec 13, 2014
"Man on fire, expendable edition" if you wanted more of those fun scenes where Denzel humillated corrupted mexican polititians or thugs well this movie is just about that. It barely has a story, Denzel is a one man army ready to destroy the"Man on fire, expendable edition" if you wanted more of those fun scenes where Denzel humillated corrupted mexican polititians or thugs well this movie is just about that. It barely has a story, Denzel is a one man army ready to destroy the whole Russian crime organization. Really bad and excesively long. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
Seth19Sep 29, 2014
The Equalizer is a decent film, nothing amazing , Training Day, American Gangster, Man on Fire, Malcolm X, The Hurricane. Remember the Titans, Best Denzel Washington Movies
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
2
yrcrazyOct 1, 2014
Horribly cliched and predictable and despite the storyline being poor it still managed to drag on for two hours. No surprise in guessing the nationality of the bad guys and no surprise the main character kills everything in his path. UsualHorribly cliched and predictable and despite the storyline being poor it still managed to drag on for two hours. No surprise in guessing the nationality of the bad guys and no surprise the main character kills everything in his path. Usual big budget film that insults the intelligence of its viewers. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
metalic-surfaceOct 4, 2014
don't trust imdb prepaid rates

in short terms - poor story about ex-superman and one-man-army now from CIA (of course). main character doesn't have any problems in his life.

p.s: Marton Csokas looks like a Hitler :D
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
7
BryoOct 10, 2014
It sure entertains you and the character is pretty badass, even if at some point the question "why the **** would he do that?" struggle to find an answer
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
bmaster4616Sep 29, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For the most part, critics have been good with their ratings this year with a few exceptions. However, this is not one of those cases. I don't get the critics sometimes. Giving ridiculous movies like Maze Runner, Lucy, etc., good reviews is mortally wrong. They gave this a 59%, barely rotten, but should be higher. It's not Antoine's best work but it surely dishes out a blood justice good time. It's bloody, violet, meaningful (whatever rotten), and shouldn't br taken too seriously. This isn't as masterpiece or Denzel's best work, but it's clearly should be fresh. If you're going into this movie thinking it's going to be nothing but a fun movie, then you're setting yourself up for a bad time. It has its smart moments, but it's basicaly the rated R version of taken, which I loved. Overall I loved this movie, not for the smart and master piece of a movie, but for the violet and action packed movie. 8.5/10 Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
7
jcfilms17Oct 5, 2014
Denzel is back, with the same director of films such as Training Day, and Olympus Has Fallen. This film is about a quiet man who meets a young prostitute who is dictated by the russian mafia, and through this he becomes very upset of whatDenzel is back, with the same director of films such as Training Day, and Olympus Has Fallen. This film is about a quiet man who meets a young prostitute who is dictated by the russian mafia, and through this he becomes very upset of what they are doing to her/treating her and he decides to fix this. This movie has some gory scenes here and there, but turns out to be a pretty good action movie overall... 6.5/10 Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
8
KermitLaphroaigOct 10, 2014
An excellent thriller in the retired-spy-becomes-vigilante genre, AKA Taken. Based on the 1980s TV show with the same theme, except in the TV show the spy is a stuck up old British guy and in the movie it's an old black guy who works at HomeAn excellent thriller in the retired-spy-becomes-vigilante genre, AKA Taken. Based on the 1980s TV show with the same theme, except in the TV show the spy is a stuck up old British guy and in the movie it's an old black guy who works at Home Depot and hangs out with bums. That is sort of the most unbelievable part of the movie, that this dumpy old bald fart that looks like somebody's dad, could be so agile with Spiderman reflexes.

If you suspend your disbelief that far, the movie is actually really entertaining because its got that Max Paine, bullet time, stop action effect. The hero is sort of this invincible Flash. Also, the bad guys are a bunch of low life Russian mobster illegal alien pimps, the kind of villain you love to see getting whacked. Luckily, there are goodly supply of them to be terminated. The head villain is an ex-Spetsnatz contract killer psychopath who looks and talks like Kevin Spacey and is oddly named "Teddy". Basically it's the return of Kaiser Soze.

The most annoying thing about the film is all the time spent on "character buildup" in which the Equalizer does community service trying to help his loser buddies at Home Depot. Super spy donates charity time to pathetic wannabe security guard. Its just incredibly stupid United Way stuff that just has you taking bathroom breaks until the killing starts again.

Another oddity of the film is director Fuqua's obsessive cinematography. You always know you are in trouble when the director starts taking control of the camera. There are more shots of Denzel Washington's eyeball than you will ever want to see in your lifetime. You will also get electron microscope closeups of other obscure parts of his anatomy such as his septum, his thenar, etc. In retrospect the overkill on the art shots is not too bad, but it definitely makes the film more "interesting" at a certain level.

Part of the fun of the movie is The Equalizer getting stuck in situations no ordinary person could possibly survive, so you are like, "I wonder how he is getting out of this one" and he always has these cool MacGiver solutions to the situation.

Overall, a pretty entertaining film.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
dark_wizOct 1, 2014
I really enjoyed the movie, great acting, compelling story not super original, kept me engaged and wanting more, Denzel is a bad ass as usual. This is nothing like the expendables that's laughable. Go see it !
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Oct 1, 2014
Simply put, it's another worthwhile and fun addition to Denzel Washington's line of action thrillers. Surprisingly, it has really good editing to where you get to see a lot of the action and blood without it cutting away so many times likeSimply put, it's another worthwhile and fun addition to Denzel Washington's line of action thrillers. Surprisingly, it has really good editing to where you get to see a lot of the action and blood without it cutting away so many times like countless other films have been doing lately. Also, great action sequences throughout, even though some of it may not be entirely original. Overall, check it out if you like Denzel and his films, or if you simply wish to see a fun film. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
PuellaestiOct 2, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What did many of these negative reviewers think a movie with the “Equalizer” title would present? Of course, it would be about a totally indestructible hero settling scores - or rather - overwhelming an enemy preying on the helpless. Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, Jack Bower and the growing number of popular American assassins in print film and TV don’t go down easily, always rise and heal miraculously; Densel’s character is in character. It seems to me, we viewers who choose this fare put rationality on hold in order to enjoy the plot and especially the climax. Personally, I was glad the villain was international and not just the local pimp. I did think Densel’s character spent a bit too much time just thinking (implying, …feeling sorry for himself); however, the “down time” has to be used for something and sensitive assassins pay a price becoming friendly. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondOct 2, 2014
It's a super-entertaining flick, and Deznel is at the peak of his "less is more" powers here. Have we noticed that all these aging actors (Neeson, Denzel) are becoming Charles Bronson? Hey, give the people what they want.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Oct 6, 2014
Nice to see Denzel Washington and Antoine Fuqua working together again as Training Day was one of my personal favorites. Not exactly the best performance Denzel has ever had but solid nonetheless. This is about the closest he has been toNice to see Denzel Washington and Antoine Fuqua working together again as Training Day was one of my personal favorites. Not exactly the best performance Denzel has ever had but solid nonetheless. This is about the closest he has been to playing a super hero. Washington has never been more badass. The Equalizer is a movie that really keep your heart racing and it is entertainment at its best. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
5
KastleJan 3, 2015
I liked this movie WAY better when it was called 'Man on Fire'. It was almost the exact same story except instead of killing Mexican cartel he was killing Russian mob to get revenge for a young girl. Hope Denzel decides to make some moreI liked this movie WAY better when it was called 'Man on Fire'. It was almost the exact same story except instead of killing Mexican cartel he was killing Russian mob to get revenge for a young girl. Hope Denzel decides to make some more unique films again. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
charmanestarrDec 18, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am compelled to write a review about this movie because it struck me near the end that this had a message in it, an important philosophical one. It may appear as a standard action movie to some. Big star role, violence, guns, and explosions may be all this appears. If one pays attention and tries to look closer you will see that the message in the movie may be the same message that the book "Invisible Man" by Ralph Ellison was trying to portray. I say this not only because of how the movie was directed, the plot, etc, but I say this also because near the end of the film, the main character (Denzel) was shown with this book. It was zoomed in on to get clear full screen view of the title and author, this of course is of no mistake.
I looked up the book and it appears to be one of great importance, a classic (1953), has a great message, and has received great awards. My final conclusion for the film is that the director was likely inspired by the "Invisible Man" and wanted to tell an interesting story portraying a similar message in a radically different way. From this perspective I believe this movie could be marked down as a future classic with a convincing message that is wonderfully directed. Denzel always does fine work, but this one is really up there. The director also deserves much praise and recognition.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews