User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 169

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    This movie is the scariest of all time! Gave me nightmares as a kid and the Blu Ray 2 disc set doesn't disappoint... The documentary and making of additions are A+.
  2. May 2, 2011
    9
    One of the most disturbing films I have seen so far in my movie-watching hobbies, Some scenes are incomprehensible if you haven't read the book, but apart from that a classic for its time.
  3. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    The Exorcist One of the best horror movie's 0f the 70's The Exorcist (1973). The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974) . The Omen (1976). Carrie (1976). Halloween (1978) ,
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    A horror film known to shock people so much that they vomited in the aisle of the theater and/or fainted. Only a movie with shock value and horror moviemaking genius can do that. Even for 1973, this movie is scary as hell!
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    People are really simple: we are evil by nature. I mean REALLY evil. So evil, in fact, that we crave the destuction of everything around us. Do you think the devil exists because we are some great being? No, the devil exists because that is largely hat we are. We are terrible. We are horrific. We wish others evil because that's what we are. We are all possessed. We are all supernatural beings that wish the worst upon the world. We are evil. We are all demons. We want all of the world to experience our terror. We are all the devil. We are satan. We are destorers. We will kill. We will destroy. Everyone around us wishes for our death. We want everyone dead..... that is Reagan. Or is it all of us? Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    One of the most artfully crafted, yet entertaining, horror films of all time, if not THE most. It's too bad that filmmakers today don't realize that the horror genre isn't exempt from Oscar-calibre directing, acting and writing. 4-star classic!
  7. May 25, 2012
    9
    One of the best horror films of all time, and this is also one of the most believable horror movies ever, I must say. The scenes are super scary that you need like 10 persons watching the movie together........
  8. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Vi esta película cuando tenía 9 años de edad, solo en la sala de mi casa, a escondidas de mi padre. Me impactó demasiado, me pareció fascinantemente terrorífica, además me parece que se puede analizar desde muchas perspectivas, una es la de los límites de la medicina, del pensamiento mágico y desde lo simbólico; habría que ver qué le sucedió a Reagan para que iniciara con los síntomas. Para ser de su época los efectos y la ambientación es perfecta. La mejor película de terror de todos los tiempos. Expand
  9. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic...a classic, but not any classic, a brilliant horror film! Either if you are religious or not, atheist or theist...this is definitely one of those movies that are made for every different taste. I have watched many times, and I will definitely watch it many more...
  10. May 12, 2012
    9
    Ingenious,thrilling,intense and Superbly acted Horror thriller. I was watching it as it is 39 Year Old movie. and i enjoyed watching it. but i felt as it as more of a thriller. Some scenes are very disturbing and horrifying,i must say well,i am a modern boy and not used to a classic horror but i quite liked it. the best part of the movie is Climax,I loved it. If you 're looking for Horror-Thriller flick with a soul and good script.you'll definitely like it Expand
  11. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    The Exorcist is clearly one of the finest horror films ever made or I should say it is one of my top favourite horror films. Some films aren't supposed to be just watched and forgotten after a while, but should be remembered by every generation for decades and centuries, The Exorcist is one of those films that fit the second definition of films as it is still considered as a benchmark for most of the horror films and is admired for incorporating such a conservative topic (if you think about how things were in 1973) which turned it into a masterpiece. Whenever I think of the word "horror" or even just watch it written somewhere, this films is one of a few things that come to my mind. Collapse
  12. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    A classic horror film. It's without any doubt the best horror film in cinema history. Must see!! Watch it and enjoy it!! Brilliant, brilliant and brilliant!!
  13. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    "The exorcist " is a very very extremely perfect horror film on called one of : the best, the greatest, the scariest, the most successful and the most gaining Oscar Nominee and Winner". You should see how some supernatural stuff is managed and ridden to a magnificently remarkable effects (both sound and visual) with the superb performance especially from Linda Blair who makes the eerie atmosphere is for real. Expand
  14. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    The Exorcist is awesome! Probably the funniest horror movie I've ever seen. It wasn't what I call scary but really just an amazing story. Most people do say it's the scariest film of all time but I don't think that's true. Of course, I am a paranormal investigator myself and am not really afraid of demonic entities. WATCH!!! IT'S A TERRIFIC MOVIE!
  15. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    " Its the shocking most suspense , bloodcurdling movie ever to be created".........................................................................................................................................................
  16. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    The Exorcist es una delirante y emocionante película de terror que no solo es una obra maestra, si no que también tiene bien merecido el título de la "Mejor Película de Terror de todos los Tiempos".

    La película en sí, no se enfoca en un terror de hacerte saltar del asiento o algo por el estilo, pero si se enfoca en un terror que el director lo hizo de una forma inteligente e
    interesante, que te puede hacer sentir sensaciones de angustia y sensaciones sorpresivas, además de algunas sensaciones crudas o impactantes, de tal forma, que te dejan con un impacto fuerte.

    Sin dudas, The Exorcist es un gran clásico del cine de terror.
    Expand
  17. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    A horror movie that delivers intense scares and the movie has a style that will never be imitated.
    :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
  18. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    One of the creepiest horror movies you will ever see. A classic horror movie that will never lose its appeal.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
  19. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    One of my favourite horror movies, Linda Blair is great and the movie is very chilling with ingenious scares.
    ========================================
  20. SFN
    Jan 8, 2011
    10
    this scared the s**t out of me, excellent plot of a movie and the whole entire movei will keep you scared to death even thou it can get boring at some parts and also alil confusing its still one of the best scary movies i have ever seen in my life
  21. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    The Exorcist Was the best movie from 1973 easily.
    8888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888
  22. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    The Exorcist is among the high caliber horror movies that revitalized the horror genre.
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
  23. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    The Exorcist is a horror classic, hands down a movie that defined the horror genre.
    """"""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    90
    This edition of the seminal example of genre sensationalism refined by the cream of Hollywood craftsmanship is more complicated than a standard director's cut.
  2. A museum piece, something to be enjoyed for its historical value.
  3. The amazing thing about the film, for anyone who hasn't had an intentional Hollywood scare lately, is that it still delivers on the most visceral level