User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 147

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2014
    8
    The Exorcist is very slow at first, but at about halfway through the movie, a disturbing scene shakes things up. From there it gets creepier and more disturbing. There are not many jump scares, but the whole sight of this little girl horribly possessed by a demon and the actions she does. The "Crucifix scene" is perhaps the most disturbing scene you will see in a movie. Overall, a very scary film that holds its own even after 40 years. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    The Exorcist is awesome! Probably the funniest horror movie I've ever seen. It wasn't what I call scary but really just an amazing story. Most people do say it's the scariest film of all time but I don't think that's true. Of course, I am a paranormal investigator myself and am not really afraid of demonic entities. WATCH!!! IT'S A TERRIFIC MOVIE!
  3. Nov 30, 2013
    1
    If this is considered a landmark film, then there is a problem here. The movie is utterly worthless and excruciating to sit trough. Endless dialogue about nothing, and scenes that go on and on and on for no apparent reason. Was there even an editor for this movie?!
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    1
    Considered one of the scariest movies of all time left me laughing at how corny and stupid the film was. Combine that with a first hour that is more boring than watching a black screen, The Exorcist is not only a bad horror film but a terrible film altogether.
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    this film is very unique in a good way. i really liked this film. it is pretty scary a 1973 horror movie. this film is so much better then the new types of horror movies
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    A horror film known to shock people so much that they vomited in the aisle of the theater and/or fainted. Only a movie with shock value and horror moviemaking genius can do that. Even for 1973, this movie is scary as hell!
  7. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    A classic horror film. It's without any doubt the best horror film in cinema history. Must see!! Watch it and enjoy it!! Brilliant, brilliant and brilliant!!
  8. Aug 4, 2013
    4
    I want to see a remake of this movie just so people will stop rating it so highly. The only part of the movie I like was where the girl received a CT scan. It was intellectually stimulating. I saw the movie the first time when I was 4. I thought it was scary, but I didn't run to mommy and daddy when it was time to sleep. I managed to rewatch it. It was mostly dull or disapprovingly discusting (cross-raping of a child). I would rather a movie that plays on well-known phobias within a God vs. Satan plot... and has better makeup work to boot. coughTheConjuringcough. Expand
  9. Jun 11, 2013
    8
    Maybe on of the best horror movies ever made. I liked all the things that happened to the girl and the end was magnificent. It did scare me a little though how old the film is. I liked anyway and if you haven't seen this one, you can't say you are a horror movie fan. So watch it
  10. May 21, 2013
    7
    Well this is the best possessed makeup ever!
    Some scenes are really shocking and disgusting, I really liked this movie, but it is not my favorite horror movie. In the 70's there were some better horror movies: Carrie!
    But this movie should be in every top 10 horror movie list! A must see!
  11. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    Despite all the eagerness of the film, and the lack of sensitivity, The Exorcist is unsettling and gruesome. You won't believe your eyes when you watch a little kid creep the living hell out of you. It might just be the most haunting movie of all time.
  12. Nov 10, 2012
    4
    Film culto degli anni 70, stupì per gli effetti speciali fin troppo spinti per quell'epoca e per la storia tragica e terrificante. Riproposto negli anni 2000 con l'aggiunta di nuove scene, è un film mediocre, generalmente di stupidità, ma divenuto famoso per il fatto che a quel tempo era una sfida vedere l'intero film. Adesso rimane un film di culto certamente, ma sopratutto di spavento, perché fa molta paura, ma scontata: se c'era un modo per concentrare tutti i più orribili fatti che potessero accadere in un film, Fredkin ce la fatta, ma prolunga troppo la storia con sequenza terrificanti, innovative ma stupide. Un film sopravvalutato... Expand
  13. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    People are really simple: we are evil by nature. I mean REALLY evil. So evil, in fact, that we crave the destuction of everything around us. Do you think the devil exists because we are some great being? No, the devil exists because that is largely hat we are. We are terrible. We are horrific. We wish others evil because that's what we are. We are all possessed. We are all supernatural beings that wish the worst upon the world. We are evil. We are all demons. We want all of the world to experience our terror. We are all the devil. We are satan. We are destorers. We will kill. We will destroy. Everyone around us wishes for our death. We want everyone dead..... that is Reagan. Or is it all of us? Expand
  14. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    The Exorcist One of the best horror movie's 0f the 70's The Exorcist (1973). The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974) . The Omen (1976). Carrie (1976). Halloween (1978) ,
  15. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    The Exorcist is clearly one of the finest horror films ever made or I should say it is one of my top favourite horror films. Some films aren't supposed to be just watched and forgotten after a while, but should be remembered by every generation for decades and centuries, The Exorcist is one of those films that fit the second definition of films as it is still considered as a benchmark for most of the horror films and is admired for incorporating such a conservative topic (if you think about how things were in 1973) which turned it into a masterpiece. Whenever I think of the word "horror" or even just watch it written somewhere, this films is one of a few things that come to my mind. Expand
  16. May 25, 2012
    9
    One of the best horror films of all time, and this is also one of the most believable horror movies ever, I must say. The scenes are super scary that you need like 10 persons watching the movie together........
  17. May 12, 2012
    9
    Ingenious,thrilling,intense and Superbly acted Horror thriller. I was watching it as it is 39 Year Old movie. and i enjoyed watching it. but i felt as it as more of a thriller. Some scenes are very disturbing and horrifying,i must say well,i am a modern boy and not used to a classic horror but i quite liked it. the best part of the movie is Climax,I loved it. If you 're looking for Horror-Thriller flick with a soul and good script.you'll definitely like it Expand
  18. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic...a classic, but not any classic, a brilliant horror film! Either if you are religious or not, atheist or theist...this is definitely one of those movies that are made for every different taste. I have watched many times, and I will definitely watch it many more...
  19. Nov 30, 2011
    0
    this is the worst movie i watch.i understand and appreciate this origin and being ahead of ot's time but this lack character development,background,and lame scary scene.bad introduction for modern audience.its more of a comedy...
  20. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Vi esta película cuando tenía 9 años de edad, solo en la sala de mi casa, a escondidas de mi padre. Me impactó demasiado, me pareció fascinantemente terrorífica, además me parece que se puede analizar desde muchas perspectivas, una es la de los límites de la medicina, del pensamiento mágico y desde lo simbólico; habría que ver qué le sucedió a Reagan para que iniciara con los síntomas. Para ser de su época los efectos y la ambientación es perfecta. La mejor película de terror de todos los tiempos. Expand
  21. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    "The Exorcist" is a blood-rushing horror movie that will genuinely scare your ass off with its A grade makeup and a chilling performance by Linda Blair. It will remain as one of the true horror movies throughout the history of films.
  22. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    One of the few horror films that still make me afraid. Some scenes are bone-chilling! Magnificent performances, excellent special effects (even today because nowadays everything is based on the CGI), interesting story, screenplay and a fabulous voice acting superb from the wonderful Mercedes McCambridge as the voice of the devil. What strikes me most in this movie is not the horror of the possession of a child of 12 years but the fear of a mother who desperately tries to find a solution to save her daughter. The performance of Ellen Burstyn is simply heavenly. She got through all the despair of the character. Rare to see a horror movie with a performance like hers. Linda Blair also devastating in her operations. This film, regardless of whether or not original is so good it managed to make the Academy (which clearly leaves no room for horror movies) plunged and made it being indicated along with some number of Oscars. This really is a fact that should be taken into consideration. Expand
  23. May 2, 2011
    9
    One of the most disturbing films I have seen so far in my movie-watching hobbies, Some scenes are incomprehensible if you haven't read the book, but apart from that a classic for its time.
  24. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    One of the most artfully crafted, yet entertaining, horror films of all time, if not THE most. It's too bad that filmmakers today don't realize that the horror genre isn't exempt from Oscar-calibre directing, acting and writing. 4-star classic!
  25. SFN
    Jan 8, 2011
    10
    this scared the s**t out of me, excellent plot of a movie and the whole entire movei will keep you scared to death even thou it can get boring at some parts and also alil confusing its still one of the best scary movies i have ever seen in my life
  26. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    This movie is the scariest of all time! Gave me nightmares as a kid and the Blu Ray 2 disc set doesn't disappoint... The documentary and making of additions are A+.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    90
    This edition of the seminal example of genre sensationalism refined by the cream of Hollywood craftsmanship is more complicated than a standard director's cut.
  2. A museum piece, something to be enjoyed for its historical value.
  3. The amazing thing about the film, for anyone who hasn't had an intentional Hollywood scare lately, is that it still delivers on the most visceral level