Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 18, 2012
    63
    On the whole, The Expendables 2 is more satisfying than "The Expendables."
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Aug 17, 2012
    63
    More fun and somewhat more coherent than its Sylvester Stallone-directed predecessor, The Expendables 2 serves up a planeload of thickly sliced, well-aged beef and ham amid lots of stuff getting blown up.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Aug 16, 2012
    75
    What a fun-dumb relief! In the isolationist Expendables world, all foreigners are bad news. All buddy bonding is done with a wink. All pretenses of art are checked at the door. Someone even says, ''I'll be back.'' (Guess who?)
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Aug 16, 2012
    63
    The Expendables 2 is corny, barbaric and sometimes visually murky. But humor and self-deprecating macho charm make this male pattern badness crowd-pleasing fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Aug 14, 2012
    70
    This muscle-bound meathead extravaganza is a sometimes blissfully cretinous endeavor, delivering the maximum firepower and zero brainpower its target audience expects.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 16, 2012
    70
    Somehow all that testosterone-infused blow-'-em-up craziness turns out to be kind of a kick.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Aug 15, 2012
    80
    This over-the-top sequel caters to the lowest common denominator in the best possible way, and it's so fully committed to brainless bombast that it muscles audiences to applaud by sheer force of will.
  8. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Aug 22, 2012
    63
    It's like a bath of stale testosterone as these Hollywood tough guys from the '80s swap references to their most famous movie lines. Their individual entrances are the primary pleasure of The Expendables 2.
  9. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Aug 14, 2012
    67
    As a film that even passingly acknowledges the disposability of stars in a genre whose artistic merits are considered negligible (if they're considered at all), The Expendables 2 is indispensable entertainment.
  10. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Aug 14, 2012
    80
    The Expendables 2 offers the sendoff adrenaline junkies are seeking before the more sedate pace of fall releases.
  11. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Aug 13, 2012
    75
    It plays out like a series wet-dream scenarios, performed by a cast of vintage action figures battered and broken from overuse, bleached and slightly molted from sitting in the sun too long.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 426 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 104
  2. Negative: 10 out of 104
  1. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    There seems to be two worlds in action movies nowadays. There are action movies with regular Hollywood actors, that were cast to bring in someThere seems to be two worlds in action movies nowadays. There are action movies with regular Hollywood actors, that were cast to bring in some cash. Then there are the action movies starring action movie stars. Those dedicated to the genre. Those who practice their own stunts and the budget is spent on props and sets rather than CGI. The latter is a dying breed.

    The Expendables 2 has a lot of heart, and it all goes into the old action hero style movie of the 80s and early 90s. Sly Stallone does not disappoint in any way. Then there are the action movie vets you know and love. Arnold and Bruce do not disappoint either. There are less frequent than the main cast from the first movie, but their parts are funny and exciting.

    The highlight of this movie comes when you open your mind to having a blast. Enjoy the violent over the top kills. For example, the entire Expendables crew unloads on one man well past his dying point, then they drop a one liner. The whole theatre was smiling, laughing, ooooHing. It is fun in that sense.

    The final battle simply put is just Jean Claude Vam Damme vs. Sylvester Stallone. It is made knowing that you are watching two action movie heavyweights battle. JCVD shows off some cool kickboxing, while Stallone shows off plenty of muscle. It was a fun end battle that man action fans are looking forward to.

    All in all, The Expendables 2 could be the greatest action movie made. It is exciting, the kills are brutal, all actors show off their athletic skills. The cast are truly action movie stars, not just cash in actors. When you accept this movie is to get your adrenaline fix, then you have yourself a great movie.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This movie is for people who appreciate the old fun of movies like Commando, Rambo, Die Hard and just guns, explosions and mayhem. I lovedThis movie is for people who appreciate the old fun of movies like Commando, Rambo, Die Hard and just guns, explosions and mayhem. I loved this movie because I grew up with the classic action films of the 80s and to this day still watch them. Not to be missed if you fit into this category. It does not disappoint. Yippey ki-yay.....M&^%&^$R F%^&*%&^R! Full Review »
  3. Sep 9, 2012
    3
    The first was alright, good enough where when I heard about this sequel, it caught my attention. Then today I finally went to see it. I'm notThe first was alright, good enough where when I heard about this sequel, it caught my attention. Then today I finally went to see it. I'm not sure if shows like Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Homeland or Dexter, has ruined everything that doesn't have the high level, quality content that these shows have, or if this movie was actually very bad when it comes to content. Don't get me wrong, I wasn't expecting a MASTERPIECE, but I was expecting some excitement . It honestly seemed like a Call of Duty movie, with a stacked cast. The movie is mainly action sequence after action sequence, strung together by irrelevant conversations with poor writing with constant jokes that try WAY too hard. Honestly, don't bother, I wont stop you, I just want to inform you, It's not very good Full Review »