Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 362 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Aug 15, 2012
    80
    This over-the-top sequel caters to the lowest common denominator in the best possible way, and it's so fully committed to brainless bombast that it muscles audiences to applaud by sheer force of will.
  2. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Aug 13, 2012
    75
    It plays out like a series wet-dream scenarios, performed by a cast of vintage action figures battered and broken from overuse, bleached and slightly molted from sitting in the sun too long.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Aug 14, 2012
    67
    As a film that even passingly acknowledges the disposability of stars in a genre whose artistic merits are considered negligible (if they're considered at all), The Expendables 2 is indispensable entertainment.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Aug 16, 2012
    50
    Mr. Norris arrives just as the blood baths and leaden dialogue are beginning to grow tedious, and his deadpan self-parody is pretty darn funny. More important, it gives you permission to laugh at the rest of this mindless movie, which is the only way to choke it down.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Aug 18, 2012
    50
    As it stands, The Expendables 2 is lazily satisfied with repeating the first movie's formula, shortcomings and grisly strengths alike.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Aug 18, 2012
    42
    The Expendables 2 makes a franchise out of a novelty item, and the nostalgic kick is gone: It's a reminder that most of those '80s actioners were xenophobic and dumb, that many of its stars had more muscle mass than charisma, and that the sight of these old fossils referring to themselves as old fossils is more pathetic than cheekily self-referential.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Aug 15, 2012
    25
    Chuck Norris is also in this movie, although you should know that he gets roughly five minutes of screen time, half of those devoted to his telling of a Chuck Norris joke. That is as funny as the movie's self-aware humor gets.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 94
  2. Negative: 10 out of 94
  1. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This movie is for people who appreciate the old fun of movies like Commando, Rambo, Die Hard and just guns, explosions and mayhem. I loved this movie because I grew up with the classic action films of the 80s and to this day still watch them. Not to be missed if you fit into this category. It does not disappoint. Yippey ki-yay.....M&^%&^$R F%^&*%&^R! Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    it`s a great movie with great actors(chuck norris,bruce willis,arnold SchwarzeneggerJean-Claude Van Damme and others). had a film not so long ago. I hope the third is even better Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    This movie is for those who want to kick back and watch some real action stars.This movie is not for the "Girly Men," so if your the type of guy looking for the perfect story this is not for you. I`m looking at you, all of you critics! If you watched these guys back in the 80`s it`s fun just to watch them come together.It was more than just action for me, I also like the jokes thrown in about their age and the fact that they all come together in this movie. I hope they make a third, I need a third with Wesley Snipes! Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2012
    8
    At last! A major improvement over the overrated original. All your favorite action heroes are back for the sequel. Good to see Arnold get some more screen time and Chuck Norris was badass too. Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    7
    Disappointment. My first allegation to this movie is that it was too funny. During watching of it I felt as if I was watching Hot Shots. There is too much of a disparity between parody and darkness here. And I don`t think it`s because of Chuck Norris. He actually made a good character and played well. Some of the lines are just silly and completely out of place. Also the action scenes are average at best, vastly inferior to the first Expendables. In the first movie, every kill had its place, here it is just chaos. One would think that with such cast and setting anyone could make a great killing movie, but here they failed. The director did not manage to use the image of every gun toting hero and certainly every one of them got much less than they deserved (Schwarzenegger and Willis for example). Also, the first sighting of the main villain (named Vilain, haha) seemed just right, but he turned out to be a total wimp in the end. For sure Van Damme also deserved to be bigger here. I must say that again, it is not the fault of all the actors who played great, but fault of the whole scenario. If one had given theme adequate action scenes then it would have been simply epic. There was faaaar too much of Statham, and his knive scenes are much inferior to martial art scenes of Jet Li from the first Expendables. I sincerely hope the director will take notes on EX2, improve on the downsides and bring back some of the magic from the first movie. Everything else in this film is great so if you don`t mind lots of parody then go ahead and watch it. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    6
    The big thing I would consider in this film, is that despite it was so abrupt and logic less, it had some parts where there was life to the characters. This is a big improvement in the series. Well, there might be good browny points from Simon West Expand
  7. Jan 20, 2013
    0
    Absolutely useless. it's got every single actor who doesn't know what acting means starring in it. Just giving in to the masses with explosions and verbal diarrhea. Expand

See all 94 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.