The Expendables 2

The Expendables 2 Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 451 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Barney Ross, Lee Christmas, Yin Yang, Gunnar Jensen, Toll Road and Hale Caesar -- with newest members Billy the Kid and Maggie aboard -- are reunited when Mr. Church enlists the Expendables to take on a seemingly simple job. The task looks like an easy paycheck for Barney and his band ofBarney Ross, Lee Christmas, Yin Yang, Gunnar Jensen, Toll Road and Hale Caesar -- with newest members Billy the Kid and Maggie aboard -- are reunited when Mr. Church enlists the Expendables to take on a seemingly simple job. The task looks like an easy paycheck for Barney and his band of old-school mercenaries. But when things go wrong and one of their own is viciously killed, the Expendables are compelled to seek revenge in hostile territory where the odds are stacked against them. [Lionsgate] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Aug 15, 2012
    80
    This over-the-top sequel caters to the lowest common denominator in the best possible way, and it's so fully committed to brainless bombast that it muscles audiences to applaud by sheer force of will.
  2. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Aug 13, 2012
    75
    It plays out like a series wet-dream scenarios, performed by a cast of vintage action figures battered and broken from overuse, bleached and slightly molted from sitting in the sun too long.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Aug 14, 2012
    67
    As a film that even passingly acknowledges the disposability of stars in a genre whose artistic merits are considered negligible (if they're considered at all), The Expendables 2 is indispensable entertainment.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Aug 16, 2012
    50
    Mr. Norris arrives just as the blood baths and leaden dialogue are beginning to grow tedious, and his deadpan self-parody is pretty darn funny. More important, it gives you permission to laugh at the rest of this mindless movie, which is the only way to choke it down.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Aug 18, 2012
    50
    As it stands, The Expendables 2 is lazily satisfied with repeating the first movie's formula, shortcomings and grisly strengths alike.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Aug 18, 2012
    42
    The Expendables 2 makes a franchise out of a novelty item, and the nostalgic kick is gone: It's a reminder that most of those '80s actioners were xenophobic and dumb, that many of its stars had more muscle mass than charisma, and that the sight of these old fossils referring to themselves as old fossils is more pathetic than cheekily self-referential.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Aug 15, 2012
    25
    Chuck Norris is also in this movie, although you should know that he gets roughly five minutes of screen time, half of those devoted to his telling of a Chuck Norris joke. That is as funny as the movie's self-aware humor gets.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 109
  2. Negative: 10 out of 109
  1. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This movie is for people who appreciate the old fun of movies like Commando, Rambo, Die Hard and just guns, explosions and mayhem. I lovedThis movie is for people who appreciate the old fun of movies like Commando, Rambo, Die Hard and just guns, explosions and mayhem. I loved this movie because I grew up with the classic action films of the 80s and to this day still watch them. Not to be missed if you fit into this category. It does not disappoint. Yippey ki-yay.....M&^%&^$R F%^&*%&^R! Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    Once again the beloved Terry Crews returns to our screens, this time in a plot not too different to the first film (the one without the 2Once again the beloved Terry Crews returns to our screens, this time in a plot not too different to the first film (the one without the 2 after it) sadly Stallone, Statham and the rest of the Expendables are still unable to match his acting capabilities. Terry Crews is simply a master of acting, he is unable to do any wrong and although Stallone being the selfish, greedy actor he is has limited the amount of dialogue and air time Crews receives on the film, he still shines throughout. Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    INCREDIBLY better than the first. Usually the original outruns the second one but this one blew me always when I saw it. Much more realisticINCREDIBLY better than the first. Usually the original outruns the second one but this one blew me always when I saw it. Much more realistic action, a way better storyline, and very little slow parts. Arnold and Bruce Willis have way more screentime and the whole movie is just plain BAD@$$! This is the one you are looking for if you want to relive the good old days but with a touch of modern things! Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2012
    8
    At last! A major improvement over the overrated original. All your favorite action heroes are back for the sequel. Good to see Arnold get someAt last! A major improvement over the overrated original. All your favorite action heroes are back for the sequel. Good to see Arnold get some more screen time and Chuck Norris was badass too. Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    7
    This is a much better movie than the original. However, the confusing plot at the beginning just happens to get fizzled out till the end. SureThis is a much better movie than the original. However, the confusing plot at the beginning just happens to get fizzled out till the end. Sure enough this movie has the most epic cast ever yet having more veteran actors to do their job, but it wasn't really long enough to be more epic, explosive, exciting and..... expendable. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    6
    It wasn't that bad. I liked how the violence was toned down from the first film, which was a little too over the top and unrealistic for me. IIt wasn't that bad. I liked how the violence was toned down from the first film, which was a little too over the top and unrealistic for me. I am disapointed that the final showdowns were so short though, They could have capitalized on it if they were longer. The worst thing about this film though was all the cheesy one liners through out, They were just awful and at times so stupid that you couldn't help but laugh. Overall, Not that bad of a movie and should be given a chance by all action film nuts. Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2012
    0
    No the best movie I've seen action is not very intense don' t really feel physically exhilirated. Story line was average but could be betterNo the best movie I've seen action is not very intense don' t really feel physically exhilirated. Story line was average but could be better and should also be a bit longer duration. Expand

See all 109 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  2. Ranked: 20 Worst Chick Flicks of the Past 20 Years

    Ranked: 20 Worst Chick Flicks of the Past 20 Years Image
    Published: August 11, 2010
    It's classic summer counterprogramming: When a major action film comes out (like this week's "The Expendables"), counter it with something that appeals to women (like this week's "Eat Pray Love"). We look back at some of the worst examples of the "chick flick" genre since 1990.
  3. 20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder

    20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder  Image
    Published: June 16, 2016
    We pick out 20 great examples of lousy movie sequels.
  4. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  7. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.