The Expendables

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 421 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 421
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 29, 2010
    4
    Action movies like this (think "Tropic Thunder" without the irony) will always have their, mostly male and indiscriminate audience satisfied with endless shoot-outs, explosions, beat-downs and big shiny guns and knives, but there is a way for such movies not to be this tired, unoriginal and humourless - a talented director and/or a good script. With a cast and budget like this, someoneAction movies like this (think "Tropic Thunder" without the irony) will always have their, mostly male and indiscriminate audience satisfied with endless shoot-outs, explosions, beat-downs and big shiny guns and knives, but there is a way for such movies not to be this tired, unoriginal and humourless - a talented director and/or a good script. With a cast and budget like this, someone like Tarantino might have made a classic. Still, I hope Eric Roberts and Dolph Lundgren jump-start their careers with their villainous performances. Expand
  2. May 5, 2011
    5
    no much of a story in it. screenplay was tight and gripping in the last 15 minutes. first half had its own dose of some humor sentiment and a bombing scene. second half picks up and ends as a action feast. direction by stallone is good in parts. jason sthatham himself and jet li performed very good. the girl character did not get importance. villain was wasted. casting was average as arnieno much of a story in it. screenplay was tight and gripping in the last 15 minutes. first half had its own dose of some humor sentiment and a bombing scene. second half picks up and ends as a action feast. direction by stallone is good in parts. jason sthatham himself and jet li performed very good. the girl character did not get importance. villain was wasted. casting was average as arnie and bruce willis did cameos for a while. sylvester and jason along with li are show stealers. technically movie is awesome. we have some striking background score , some rich visuals captured. good action scenes with fast camera movement, editing was abrupt at parts and second half was saved. over all expendables is average movie to normal viewers and it will be a good movie if script would have been tuned. Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2012
    6
    Not a bad movie with lots of great action, violence and explosions. The critics haven't really been gentle to veterans with their long careers and the minor issue: do each epic actor have an equal amount of acting? Not really, until the sequel.
  4. Sep 23, 2011
    4
    "The Expendables" isn't a movie you would visualize, a movie pertaining Macho man with AK's and M16's kicking asses with a mind blowing plot twist. What you will see instead is old Stallone running around with his Macho grandpas, following a extremely fragile plot with 2% character development.
  5. Aug 15, 2010
    4
    This movie was seriously disappointing. In my opinion, there was too much Stallone face-time and not enough of the actors who had good performances such as Terry Crews, Mickey Rourke, and Randy Couture (better than most people thought he would be). Also, they built up Schwarzenegger and Willis being big roles, but instead they only had like 2 minute cameos.And in that cameo SchwarzeneggerThis movie was seriously disappointing. In my opinion, there was too much Stallone face-time and not enough of the actors who had good performances such as Terry Crews, Mickey Rourke, and Randy Couture (better than most people thought he would be). Also, they built up Schwarzenegger and Willis being big roles, but instead they only had like 2 minute cameos.And in that cameo Schwarzenegger was billed as Stallone's rival which could have let to some sort of plot twist involving Schwarzenegger, but that was too much to expect. Anyone could of been in those 2 minutes, they were completely worthless other than just to barely include Schwarzenegger and Willis so they could add them to their list of stars, that said, the President line was great. Overall the movie had amazing action scenes, but wasted a lot of potential that could of led to the movie to be the greatest macho movie of all time. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2010
    5
    You know, it is possible to make action movies that are intelligent as well (Ronin, the Bourne Ultimatum). Frankly all those so called action flicks from the 80s and 90s blew huge chunks (with admittedly a few exceptions). Anytime a movie asks you to leave your brains at home, avoid it.
  7. Jun 12, 2011
    6
    This movie is exactly what you expect it to be. An action movie with lots of explosions, car chases and shooting. The problems I had with the movie were the character development and the humor. There are multiple characters that really are not developed. Jet Li falls into the back ground as does Lundgren. Rourke is even hardly a character in the movie. Putting Schwarzenegger or Willis onThis movie is exactly what you expect it to be. An action movie with lots of explosions, car chases and shooting. The problems I had with the movie were the character development and the humor. There are multiple characters that really are not developed. Jet Li falls into the back ground as does Lundgren. Rourke is even hardly a character in the movie. Putting Schwarzenegger or Willis on the bill is honestly false advertisement. Neither one of them are in the movie beyond 10 mins. The other problem is the humor. There are attempts at humor but they are honestly not that funny. So overall this movie does have its problems. However, if you are looking for an Oscar caliber movie then this is not it. If you are looking for a decent action movie then give this a try. Expand
  8. Sep 26, 2010
    6
    My only complaint with this movie is that the story isn't as good as the action scenes,and Schwarzenegger's cameo yet cool is totaly pointless.Can't wait for the sequel.
  9. Aug 16, 2010
    6
    Cathartic and fun. Great seeing Dolph Lundgren again. It's mostly playful, but when it comes time to blow stuff up and break bones, it delivers in the ways you need it to when you decide to see a movie like this.
  10. Aug 15, 2010
    6
    The Expendables was a little okay,not bad,but just alright. Stallone finally returns and he's alright in the movie,but please he's very old for the entire movie and I wish that he definitely retire right now since Rocky Balboa & Rambo. The characters are fine,I like only Statham,Li,Rourke,and Couture. But Lundgren was almost not that great,he's again way too old as Stallone does,since hisThe Expendables was a little okay,not bad,but just alright. Stallone finally returns and he's alright in the movie,but please he's very old for the entire movie and I wish that he definitely retire right now since Rocky Balboa & Rambo. The characters are fine,I like only Statham,Li,Rourke,and Couture. But Lundgren was almost not that great,he's again way too old as Stallone does,since his bad action films. Arnold returns in cameo and so does Bruce Willis,I just wish that Bruce Willis could be join forces with other guys since I love him in Die Hard,but it's just three minutes with these two cameos in the movie. I liike the two villians in the movie,Eric Roberts & Steve Austin and they are the most baddest guys in the movie. I just love the way when Steve Austin was so mean and being as a baddest character and baddest henchmen. Same as Roberts,he also did good on it! The action scenes are pretty solid cool,lots of explosions,too much sounds,corky dilaogue,great edgy scenes,very greusome with blood,and pretty descent film. But it's a fun action film to enjoy,but an A to F scale film that I seen that is too crappy for an action film. It is a crappy film? Of course Yes,it's same as Commando & Rambo,First Blood,Part II. Very entertaining film,but not quite special and that's what it is. Stallone finally did okay! Expand
  11. Aug 16, 2010
    6
    Way cheesy dialogue and tired story line but some seriously funny one liners (Jet Li is awesome). The action scenes are what make the movie fun of course. As long as you understand that this movie is junk food for the brain, you will enjoy it. Oh and wow, Mickey Rourke â
  12. Aug 16, 2010
    6
    This is one the Critic's got wrong, If you went into this movie expecting a strong plot or interesting characters then you were doomed from the start, Critics fail to remember this is an "Action Flick" you rate it for what it is. It's like me going into "The Pianist" and expecting action and when not finding it giving the movie a low score

    This movie does what it promises and does it
    This is one the Critic's got wrong, If you went into this movie expecting a strong plot or interesting characters then you were doomed from the start, Critics fail to remember this is an "Action Flick" you rate it for what it is. It's like me going into "The Pianist" and expecting action and when not finding it giving the movie a low score

    This movie does what it promises and does it well thats why in my eyes It's a 8
    Expand
  13. Aug 18, 2010
    6
    A movie made entirely for adrenaline-seeking individuals who find giant explosions and unimportant dialogue entertaining. Besides some noticeable script errors and unnecessary (as well as utterly stupid) jokes, The Expendables is an action movie that is best seen in theaters, and an exciting adventure for anyone looking for a thrill.
  14. Aug 24, 2010
    5
    AN action film with the greatest action stars of the pst 30 years. We are either in for a actions gun pounding explosions everywhere flick or the worst thing that has ever graced mankinds eyes. Either way i walked in with low expectations. But they were easily exceeded by a thrilling action scene in the first 5 minutes. Overall, this is for action lovers, they wont care about the terribleAN action film with the greatest action stars of the pst 30 years. We are either in for a actions gun pounding explosions everywhere flick or the worst thing that has ever graced mankinds eyes. Either way i walked in with low expectations. But they were easily exceeded by a thrilling action scene in the first 5 minutes. Overall, this is for action lovers, they wont care about the terrible plot devices and characters. Sylvester Stallone is still one of the worst actors in my opinion, and like VIn Diesel, you can never understand what he's saying. They also try to give Jason Statham a backstory, which cannot be done in a movie like this. If you want guns explosions and not much dialogue that is instead replaced with butt-kicking, then you have found you're movie. Expand
  15. Aug 16, 2010
    4
    No offense to Jason Stratham and the other guys, especially Jet Li, but the moviegoer wants Schwarzenegger, Willis, and Rourke on that plane with Sylvester Stallone, en route to Vilena, because in order for the killshots and explosions to jar the senses, the climactic violence needs ameliorating, a context that would remind the moviegoer of "Commando", "Die Hard", and "On DeadlyNo offense to Jason Stratham and the other guys, especially Jet Li, but the moviegoer wants Schwarzenegger, Willis, and Rourke on that plane with Sylvester Stallone, en route to Vilena, because in order for the killshots and explosions to jar the senses, the climactic violence needs ameliorating, a context that would remind the moviegoer of "Commando", "Die Hard", and "On Deadly Ground"(c'mon Seagal, why'd you have to be such a Ty Cobb in this "Killing Field of Dreams"?), masterpieces of cheese, all. To everybody's disappointment, Schwarzenegger and Willis are nowhere near a bazooka, grenade launcher, or AK-47; they're near God, in a church where they...talk. In theory, a scene that pairs Stallone and Schwarzenegger, together at last, should be a monumental event, like when Al Pacino and Robert DeNiro joined forces in Michael Mann's "Heat", until you realize that both actors are better appreciated for their physicality and catch phrases. ("Yo, Adrian!" and "Hasta la vista, baby," respectively.) As for Willis, wouldn't it be appropriate if he died, hard, in the line of duty, in a film that salutes the action films of the eighties? Sadly, the more famous stars let the lesser lights do the heavy lifting, save for Rourke's loopy, probably improvised riff on an E.B. White-inspired tattoo for Stratham. So in "The Expendables", Stallone is Barney(oh, we get it; Stallone is old, a dinosaur) Ross, who returns to the fictional South American country, run by an evil dictator, the puppet of a rogue CIA agent, out of guilt for leaving Sandra(Gisele Hie), a woman the moviegoer presumes he loves, behind to face the music for being a traitor. But Sandra, a Mexican, turns out to be just a woman, and not a potential love interest. As they go their separate ways, Barney tells her, "You take care," perhaps, out of paternal concern. But that's not it. Something doesn't sit right to these ears when Lee(Stratham) says, "I never thought she was your type," as if it was a nostalgic trip through 1952, and not 1982(the year "First Blood" was released). In Fred Zimmerman's "High Noon", Kane(Gary Cooper) ends up with Amy(Grace Kelly) by default, because being with Helen(Katy Jurado), the Mexican saloon owner, is never an option for the cowboy. Sandra might as well be a guy, like the thirsty Hispanic drug dealer in Joel and Ethan Coen's "No Country For Old Men", when Barney, just like Llewelyn Moss(Josh Brolin), mercenaries both, become mercenaries with consciences, as both men return to dangerous scenes. While Sandra is no Eva Mendes, she's not chopped liver either, so it's very conspicuous that "The Expendables" skirts formula when man and woman don't ride off in the sunset together. This is no country for old men with old social mores. Expand
  16. Dec 1, 2010
    4
    i was excited about this film . it has almost every action star from the last 25 years in it . i thought with this many of them sighning on this cant be a bad film . i thought sly must have some thing good in this script. well he didnt . the whole film is a giant mess plot wise . the charicters are so one dimentional its laughable . the only decent thing about this film was the actioni was excited about this film . it has almost every action star from the last 25 years in it . i thought with this many of them sighning on this cant be a bad film . i thought sly must have some thing good in this script. well he didnt . the whole film is a giant mess plot wise . the charicters are so one dimentional its laughable . the only decent thing about this film was the action which is so over the top and so much **** gets blown up on the last 15 min i actaully asked myself " jesus is there any thing left to blow up" this film may have felt abit cooler if it came out 20 years ago ... maybe Expand
  17. Aug 16, 2010
    5
    Woa dood, the critics got this one all... RIGHT!! It wasn't a bad movie, but I wouldn't really say that it's a good one. I can appreciate a good campy film, Drunken Master is one of my all time favorites, but this one really didn't have any attitude; you know, something that really ties you into the movie. It felt very predictable with the pattern always being death and wise-crack, it hasWoa dood, the critics got this one all... RIGHT!! It wasn't a bad movie, but I wouldn't really say that it's a good one. I can appreciate a good campy film, Drunken Master is one of my all time favorites, but this one really didn't have any attitude; you know, something that really ties you into the movie. It felt very predictable with the pattern always being death and wise-crack, it has plenty of conflict (duh) but it doesn't have much tension. Further more, arguing that an action movie is perfect because it has satisfying action is sort of seeing the genre in black and white. I saw a Steven Seagal movie the other day which I would call "satisfying", but does that put it on the same level as Die Hard? Not really. Lastly, it lacked creativity. Sure everyone had their own gimmicks (which they all show off within the first couple minutes), but I don't think they're being used to the fullest extent. Bottom line: aside from the all-star cast this movie does very little to set itself appart from other movies, and unless you're like me and HAVE to see it for that one reason, I'd sudgest skipping it. Just about everyone who starred in this movie has done better: Stallone was in Rambo 2, Li was in Fearless, Crews was in an Old Spice commercial, you get the idea. I've heard that a sequel is all ready in the works, and, needless to say, Stallone is no amature. I'm sure he can make up for this missed opportunity in the next one. Expand
  18. Sep 7, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why oh why would you let Stallone write and direct a movie? This movie was terrible. I kept expecting Chuck Norris and Charles Bronson to make an appearance. After all it had everything else, from a exploding tents to the cliche helicopter the bad-guy will make his escape in. Other than Statham the rest of the entire cast did absolutely nothing. Even Jet Li was a let down. Stallone was incomprehensible, Schwarzenegger's cameo was redundant, Crew and his big gun was total overkill and the rest of the cast barely made a mark in a movie who's plot could only be have developed by George Bush on crack. So what was the point of this movie? Simply put, nothing. It made as much sense as vomit-flavored mouthwash. Don't waste your time on this one. Expand
  19. Sep 12, 2010
    5
    this was a good action movie but there wasn't enough story to it and there was no suspense to it either. however the cast performed well for the genre of the movie. i suppose in an afternoon you have nothing to do and you feel like you some action entertainment then the expendables would be good. i dont think its a film great enough to see at the cinema
  20. Nov 14, 2010
    5
    I hoped this would be pure, unadulterated fun, but was left a little disappointed. The pacing of the film is wildly inconsistent, and while the climax is satisfying, there was just too little that was entertaining beforehand.
  21. Nov 26, 2011
    6
    Not really much of a plot, Although it was interesting and well worth the watch. It features a lot of over the top action that was rather pointless if you ask me.
  22. Jan 31, 2011
    4
    well i found expendables kinda boring, the action scenes especially the hand to hand fight scenes where mediocre at best. They tried to give the character some depth but they got nowhere. The plot was weak a 4 year old could have made a better one. Maybe one that could have kept my attention more. The special affects made battlefield earth look good haha ok they weren't that bad but theywell i found expendables kinda boring, the action scenes especially the hand to hand fight scenes where mediocre at best. They tried to give the character some depth but they got nowhere. The plot was weak a 4 year old could have made a better one. Maybe one that could have kept my attention more. The special affects made battlefield earth look good haha ok they weren't that bad but they weren't goo either. Expand
  23. Nov 8, 2010
    5
    Wow Sly, u let me down on this one. I'm sorry but the story line just sucked in this film, even if it did have a nice cast of meatheads to fill the roles.
  24. Nov 22, 2010
    6
    The Expendables has to be one of the most action packed movies in a long, long, time. But with Sylvester Stallone directing, why should anyone be suprised? Trust me on this, go because of the action. This movie could actually become a cult classic in the action genre of hollywood. With the story, which is actually not that exciting, Stallone takes his action and chuckling one-liners to theThe Expendables has to be one of the most action packed movies in a long, long, time. But with Sylvester Stallone directing, why should anyone be suprised? Trust me on this, go because of the action. This movie could actually become a cult classic in the action genre of hollywood. With the story, which is actually not that exciting, Stallone takes his action and chuckling one-liners to the ***, pushing the film to it's limits and hypnotizing you with edge of your seat action scenes, and a suprisingly notable cast. The film would've sucked completely if the pace was any slower, but as if Stallone would allow that. Just as you think all the action is over, just wait five seconds and it will literally blow up in your face with the unique stunts and camera angles. The major flaws is to carry the story further and to develop it into an unrelenting action packed film with an all star cast. It does, but at the same time doesn't. So, great action most likely ever, but simple story. Expand
  25. Dec 5, 2010
    5
    There are countless action stars in the film, but The Expendables looked as if the stars weren't there. All we want to see when going to these movies are things blowing up, and that's what we got, but I felt like it wasn't LOUD enough. This high-budget film, just like The A-Team, has a predictable and same premise, but it has an incredible muscular cast. Bruce Willis, Sylvester Stallone,There are countless action stars in the film, but The Expendables looked as if the stars weren't there. All we want to see when going to these movies are things blowing up, and that's what we got, but I felt like it wasn't LOUD enough. This high-budget film, just like The A-Team, has a predictable and same premise, but it has an incredible muscular cast. Bruce Willis, Sylvester Stallone, Micky Rourke, Jet Li, and Jason Statham. This is a high rated action cast, but at times you feel like the cast isn't there, its just stuff blowing up. A high-budget, a first class action cast, and a cliche plot, The Expendables is another one of those films. Expand
  26. Jan 13, 2011
    6
    Would you like to see three of Planet Hollywood former owners gather around in one scene? Arnold Schwarzenegger, Bruce Willis and Sylvester Stallone make a brief reunion on thiz ultimate action movie. Stallone brings all the brawny heroes into one action-packed., not just the legendary ones like: Mickey Rourke and Dolph Lundgren, but also across generations with solid performances by:Would you like to see three of Planet Hollywood former owners gather around in one scene? Arnold Schwarzenegger, Bruce Willis and Sylvester Stallone make a brief reunion on thiz ultimate action movie. Stallone brings all the brawny heroes into one action-packed., not just the legendary ones like: Mickey Rourke and Dolph Lundgren, but also across generations with solid performances by: Jason Statham, Steve Austin, Randy Couture and even Martial Arts Superstar, Jet Li. Stallone (which is also The Director) puts all of them into one battle pool. Every one of them has their own characteristic and you can see the sparkle in their interactions. Stallone gives a precise mentor performance. Although Jet Li involves into awful choreographed fight, but he delivers some fresh and effective humor. Dolph Lundgren shows how good he is with his bad boy attitude. But still, the best performance belongs to the baldy Jason Statham with his cool and unmerciful expression. The story is way too simple and it has felt like the plots is only a vessel to their own playground. It is what 80s Action Heroes always do. Is it out of date? Not completely. The battle scenes still fill in today demanding which is gory and brutal. To us which are Action Movie fans, I am pretty sure that we have been longing for thiz kind of classic stuff, where the dialogue is brainless but it looks cool, where only one guy can beat all the bad guys but it still looks awesome, and finally there is always a scene where the Action Hero is jumping out of a mega explosion behind him as an ending. It is simply a classic! But it still rocks our world. Mr. Stallone, you remind us what we just needed! By the way, do you realize what does it take to become a great Action Icon? Beside huge brawny body and some killing moves? Pay attention to their speaking characteristics and tones. Stallone (Italia), Schwarzenegger (Austria), Lundgren (Swedia), Jet Li (China) and Statham (England). To become a solid Action Icon, they also need: a unique accent! Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
  27. Jun 14, 2013
    4
    The films cast of A-List action stars was certainly a huge draw but The Expendables is let down badly by its incoherent plot, cringe worth attempts at introducing an emotional element and sloppy directing. Thankfully Stallone took more of a back seat for the much better sequel.
  28. Aug 14, 2012
    6
    The Expendables is one those films that may look completly stupid (and it is) but awesome at the same time. It's a non-stop, balls out action fest that keeps on going till the credits roll. Sure the acting isn't to good but who the hell cares? If your looking to switch off your brain for a couple of hours and want to watch something so dumb it's dangerously good? then look no further thanThe Expendables is one those films that may look completly stupid (and it is) but awesome at the same time. It's a non-stop, balls out action fest that keeps on going till the credits roll. Sure the acting isn't to good but who the hell cares? If your looking to switch off your brain for a couple of hours and want to watch something so dumb it's dangerously good? then look no further than The Expendables. Expand
  29. Aug 18, 2012
    4
    As much as Expendables has alot of cameos and appearances from famous and popular action super stars, it falls short when it comes to the main aspects of a movie such as presentation and storyline/script. Expendables was pretty boring and its action was stale, majority of the plot was pretty much predictable, but usually it isnt a bad thing, but in the case of the Expendables, its far tooAs much as Expendables has alot of cameos and appearances from famous and popular action super stars, it falls short when it comes to the main aspects of a movie such as presentation and storyline/script. Expendables was pretty boring and its action was stale, majority of the plot was pretty much predictable, but usually it isnt a bad thing, but in the case of the Expendables, its far too flawed. The trailers which came out before the movie made this movie looked good but the movie itself is a far cry from what the trailers depicted it to be. Expand
  30. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    Lots of shooting, one-expression-men and tough talking action.

    Entertaining, remotely funny (there is some comedy in the beginning, but it just... fades away after that). Stallone's Barney Ross isn't very interesting or lively. Jet Li's Yin was funny, entertaining, yet hard to grasp, and many of the other characters in their team just didn't get enough time to make a name for
    Lots of shooting, one-expression-men and tough talking action.

    Entertaining, remotely funny (there is some comedy in the beginning, but it just... fades away after that).

    Stallone's Barney Ross isn't very interesting or lively. Jet Li's Yin was funny, entertaining, yet hard to grasp, and many of the other characters in their team just didn't get enough time to make a name for themselves. I would have to say that Statham's Christmas was the best character of all, with his attitude, humor, personal issues and all. I liked him a lot.

    With men of steel and guns to shoot with, what else is missing than the enemy - and a beautiful girl to rescue? Both are found on an island called Vilena, where a dictator has taken over and her daughter is a one-woman opposition to it all. Of course dear daddy is simply a pawn and controlled by an ex-CIA American, who is motivated by money, profit, and creed.

    The plot isn't original. What makes the difference - or should - is the men, their witty comments and dysfunctional relationships.

    Even though the movie is in the end pretty mediocre, I enjoyed it and didn't get bored while watching it. Nothing new here, but if you are happy with explosions, mercenaries and Stallone & gang... this is for you.
    Expand
  31. Dec 5, 2012
    4
    It's a solid action film and it is enjoyable to watch but what hurt this film's value is the over the top violence. I am sure it would appeal to some but when you have guys flying back in the air from a few bullets, It just gets silly. Besides that, The story was alright but pretty generic for an action flick. Acting was alright as well. Not really memorable about it though.
  32. Dec 24, 2012
    5
    Yes, it probably is the 'most awesome action cast ever assembled' but unsurprisingly it's far from the most awesome action film. Many years have past since some of these guys were at their peak and they certainly having spent that time in acting classes. Dolph Lundgren wins my vote for the worst performance, just don't tell him I said that.

    I haven't seen all that many 80's action films
    Yes, it probably is the 'most awesome action cast ever assembled' but unsurprisingly it's far from the most awesome action film. Many years have past since some of these guys were at their peak and they certainly having spent that time in acting classes. Dolph Lundgren wins my vote for the worst performance, just don't tell him I said that.

    I haven't seen all that many 80's action films that The Expendables may be a throwback tribute to so perhaps I'm not amongst the audience likely to enjoy this film. A large part of the film is shot in the dark, and it does makes it a little difficult to work out which beefcake action star is talking trash or more likely shooting at an other. The plot is simple, no problems with that. Statham's girlfriend issue brings no value to the film or character and is a see-through attempt to add some 'character development' somewhere, anywhere. When Jean Claude van Damme turns down a role citing lack of substance to a character you know you are in trouble.

    There are some nice touches in the film, the short scene with Stallone, Schwarzenegger and Willis being worth watching the film for. Schwarzenegger commenting that Stallone 'loves playing around in the jungle' certainly made me chuckle. Also, wrestling stars Stone Cold and Randy Couture going head to head at the end was a treat for sports fans.

    The Expendables is what it is, an over the top action film, definitely nothing more and probably even a little less.
    Expand
  33. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    Gruesomely entertaining with hopelessly amusing silliness throughout.
  34. Dec 9, 2012
    5
    "The Expendables" is a rough, harsh, testosterone-packed action flick that provides more than ample entertainment. Although the story is somewhat minimalist and the characters aren't too engaging most of the time, the movie makes up for it with fast, bloody, explosive action scenes - the highlight being the extensive adrenaline rush that makes the film's last big sequence. The best stuff"The Expendables" is a rough, harsh, testosterone-packed action flick that provides more than ample entertainment. Although the story is somewhat minimalist and the characters aren't too engaging most of the time, the movie makes up for it with fast, bloody, explosive action scenes - the highlight being the extensive adrenaline rush that makes the film's last big sequence. The best stuff comes from the three primary stars - Stallone, Statham and Li, with Statham's brutal skills with a knife being my favorite. It's a satisfying, steroidal firework of hard-as-nails shoot-outs and fisticuffs, and will easily sate your appetite for violence and heroic mayhem on more than one occasion. Expand
  35. Dec 8, 2012
    4
    Short on plot like I expected, but it's surprisingly short on action as well. The Expendables was not the kick-ass collaboration it should have been. Forgettable.
  36. Dec 31, 2012
    4
    I thought it was going to be a good movie when I saw who was all in it but as I watched it, lots of people who are usually the main people in a few only had 30 seconds in the entire movie. The fighting scenes had too many explosions and too unrealistic but thats what you get when you watch a Stallone movie. And besides that fact, there werent enough fight scenes. I was bored pretty muchI thought it was going to be a good movie when I saw who was all in it but as I watched it, lots of people who are usually the main people in a few only had 30 seconds in the entire movie. The fighting scenes had too many explosions and too unrealistic but thats what you get when you watch a Stallone movie. And besides that fact, there werent enough fight scenes. I was bored pretty much the whole time. Expand
  37. Jul 1, 2013
    4
    A film about a group of men taking down bad guys and dictator. Big deal! You don't need to be intelligent to make a film like The Expendables that caters to lesser minds. A group of action heroes with some entertaining action sequences is a sure box office success but how many more films are they going to make like this just for the sake of money.

    We don't need, or want, to see more of
    A film about a group of men taking down bad guys and dictator. Big deal! You don't need to be intelligent to make a film like The Expendables that caters to lesser minds. A group of action heroes with some entertaining action sequences is a sure box office success but how many more films are they going to make like this just for the sake of money.

    We don't need, or want, to see more of the same crap. A "homage" to 80s and 90s action films. Yeah right, that's what they want you to believe and that's what the filmmakers justify as a good movie. The Expendables is just as modern as the movie adaptation of The A-Team. Plot and funny dialogues, or memorable one-liners, are nowhere to be found.

    Sylvester Stallone doesn't get to hog the screen just because he's the director when there's a group of A-listers starring in the same film who, compare to Stallone, happens to take the back seat. A film that stars Bruce Willis, who's only in the movie for like 2 minutes. Mickey Rourke may not be participating in the "epic" action sequences but his performance outshines the whole cast. How can he star in a whack job of a movie?

    We've moved on from the 80s and 90s, films standards are higher now. Haven't you heard of a saying "We can't live in the past!" Stallone, you're not Rambo anymore. A film starring a group of big named actors should hit harder but nowadays, they mostly don't. Don't waste your time or money on this crap.
    Expand
  38. May 25, 2013
    5
    Once he'd gathered his impressive cast, Sylvester Stallone didn't have to do too much to please the audience that would flock to The Expendables. It was meant to be a B-movie at best, a collection of over-muscled actors and expensive explosions in some cheap and exotic location that, when you squint, could pass for the jungles of Rambo II. But the beauty of good B-movies was always thatOnce he'd gathered his impressive cast, Sylvester Stallone didn't have to do too much to please the audience that would flock to The Expendables. It was meant to be a B-movie at best, a collection of over-muscled actors and expensive explosions in some cheap and exotic location that, when you squint, could pass for the jungles of Rambo II. But the beauty of good B-movies was always that they were efficient, putting together a tight plot that included as many action scenes as possible and never bothered with actor egos or, well, acting. The Expendables, though, is a bloated mess, a bunch of guys past their prime punching and kicking each other and pretending its for our benefit, when its really just one last self-congratulatory hurrah. The giant list of beefy male names is the major draw of The Expendables, but it's also what kills it. A movie about Stallone and Statham's lead characters kicking ass and taking names in a foreign country might have gone somewhere, but the movie is utterly overstuffed, making room for a Lundgren vs Li fight scene, an entire subplot about Randy Couture's cauliflower ear, and worst of all, a 10-minute Mickey Rourke monologue in which he looks mournfully into a mirror, makes up an absurd story about his heartbreak on a previous mission, and silently cries. All of these will make for hilarious YouTube clips in the coming months, but they're frustrating to watch in context as a movie with actual potential constantly kneecaps itself because the director and the cast had no idea when to give it a rest. Is The Expendables the manliest movie of the summer? Probably-- it is ridiculously violent, male strength without being too homoerotic, and treats women as pure, perfect beings who exist to be rescued. That kind of old-school machismo is missing from most modern action movies, and fans of old-school Stallone and Lundgren and company will likely flock to the Expendables with their bros, ready to watch the blood and guts fly. But if you were old enough to love Rambo III un-ironically the first time around, you're way too old now to be fooled by the dull and desperate Expendables. Expand
  39. Aug 15, 2014
    4
    This is a fine example on what could happen when an actor (Sylvester Stallone) directs a movie.

    There are some positive things about this movie, and one of these is that there are a good amount of action sometimes, but not often. There are also some unique scenes in this movie, but not many. It also got some funny stuff, and I really enjoyed the action in the ending. But The Expendables
    This is a fine example on what could happen when an actor (Sylvester Stallone) directs a movie.

    There are some positive things about this movie, and one of these is that there are a good amount of action sometimes, but not often. There are also some unique scenes in this movie, but not many. It also got some funny stuff, and I really enjoyed the action in the ending. But The Expendables doesn't got as much action as I thought it would have, the actors just had boring conversations. The Expendables also got a terrible story.

    The Expendables is on the cliff to fall down into the deep black hole where all the bad movies are, and it just went down!

    The Expendables get a 3,5/10
    Expand
  40. Jan 3, 2014
    4
    This movie was pretty much a mashup of all the stars and movies like Rambo 2 and Commando. Although it had some iconic moments and funny jokes the action scenes were far from satisfying. The heros just spray and spray and explosions go on and somehow the bad guys always miss... Overall, I think this movie could have been much better considering the number of great actors that it had.
  41. chw
    Aug 4, 2014
    6
    The Expendables wasn't as good as the second movie (oddly enough it's usually the other way around), but this movie was still good, and will be enjoyed by people who don't usually see these kinds of movies.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    75
    Expendables is the closest thing to movie Viagra yet invented. It's reprehensible. It's stoopid violent. It's a lot of unholy fun.
  2. A who's who of classic action stars light up the screen for pure combustible entertainment in Sly Stallone's The Expendables, a sort of "Dirty Dozen" meets "Inglourious Basterds"--and then some.
  3. 50
    If anyone gets a career boost from The Expendables it will be Dolph Lundgren, playing a drug-addicted loose Howitzer booted from the team and flipping to the bad side.