The Expendables

The Expendables Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 441 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The only life they’ve known is war. The only loyalty they have is to each other. They are the Expendables: leader and mastermind Barney Ross, former SAS blade expert Lee Christmas, hand-to-hand combat specialist Yin Yang, long barrel weapons specialist Hale Caesar, demolitions expert TollThe only life they’ve known is war. The only loyalty they have is to each other. They are the Expendables: leader and mastermind Barney Ross, former SAS blade expert Lee Christmas, hand-to-hand combat specialist Yin Yang, long barrel weapons specialist Hale Caesar, demolitions expert Toll Road, and precision sniper Gunnar Jensen. Living life in the fringes of the law, these hardened mercenaries take on what appears to be a routine assignment: a covert, CIA-funded operation to infiltrate the South American country of Vilena and overthrow its ruthless dictator General Garza. But when their job is revealed to be a suicide mission, the men are faced with a deadly choice, one that might redeem their souls…or destroy their brotherhood forever. [Lionsgate]
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    75
    Expendables is the closest thing to movie Viagra yet invented. It's reprehensible. It's stoopid violent. It's a lot of unholy fun.
  2. The three icons ham it up, do some verbal towel-snapping and have fun, which also describes most of this self-conscious adventure movie.
  3. 60
    This is action as timeless as the reptilian brain-and if The Expendables is no classic, for about 20 minutes, it blowed up real good.
  4. I love a good, brainless action flick as much as the next alpha male, but this time I had a whole lot of trouble laughing along.
  5. The opening action sequence, unrelated to the main story, is nicely done, but after that it's all downhill.
  6. The thought behind this body-splattering nostalgia trip is unformed and stagnant.
  7. 10
    The Expendables is savage yet inert, and breathtakingly sleazy in its lack of imagination.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 126
  2. Negative: 24 out of 126
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    The critics couldn't be more wrong on this one. The Expandable is one of the best action movies of all time, it delivers on everything itThe critics couldn't be more wrong on this one. The Expandable is one of the best action movies of all time, it delivers on everything it promises and then some. Every time there was a fight scene, I was overwhelmed by the incredible action on the screen. Bottom line, don't listen to the reviews. Watch this movie. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    One of the best old school action movies I have seen in a while. Practically team Rambo with a few characters having a back story. The criticsOne of the best old school action movies I have seen in a while. Practically team Rambo with a few characters having a back story. The critics as usual are too stuck up to see this movie for what it is, then again is there actually anyone that takes any notice of critic reviews other than to laugh at them? Throwing knives, honestly what more can I say. Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    Not a movie for everyone for several reasons. One of the most intense action movies out there and also one of the best. Stallone chooses toNot a movie for everyone for several reasons. One of the most intense action movies out there and also one of the best. Stallone chooses to up the action and gore instead of story in order to create a true action movie masterpeice. Funny dialogue throughout the film and references to current and old popculture abound, which make the movie all the more like the comic-bookish action movie the critics clearly failed to identify it as. Collapse
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    Gruesomely entertaining with hopelessly amusing silliness throughout.
  5. Dec 24, 2012
    5
    Yes, it probably is the 'most awesome action cast ever assembled' but unsurprisingly it's far from the most awesome action film. Many yearsYes, it probably is the 'most awesome action cast ever assembled' but unsurprisingly it's far from the most awesome action film. Many years have past since some of these guys were at their peak and they certainly having spent that time in acting classes. Dolph Lundgren wins my vote for the worst performance, just don't tell him I said that.

    I haven't seen all that many 80's action films that The Expendables may be a throwback tribute to so perhaps I'm not amongst the audience likely to enjoy this film. A large part of the film is shot in the dark, and it does makes it a little difficult to work out which beefcake action star is talking trash or more likely shooting at an other. The plot is simple, no problems with that. Statham's girlfriend issue brings no value to the film or character and is a see-through attempt to add some 'character development' somewhere, anywhere. When Jean Claude van Damme turns down a role citing lack of substance to a character you know you are in trouble.

    There are some nice touches in the film, the short scene with Stallone, Schwarzenegger and Willis being worth watching the film for. Schwarzenegger commenting that Stallone 'loves playing around in the jungle' certainly made me chuckle. Also, wrestling stars Stone Cold and Randy Couture going head to head at the end was a treat for sports fans.

    The Expendables is what it is, an over the top action film, definitely nothing more and probably even a little less.
    Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    4
    The films cast of A-List action stars was certainly a huge draw but The Expendables is let down badly by its incoherent plot, cringe worthThe films cast of A-List action stars was certainly a huge draw but The Expendables is let down badly by its incoherent plot, cringe worth attempts at introducing an emotional element and sloppy directing. Thankfully Stallone took more of a back seat for the much better sequel. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2011
    0
    I can't rate this, it's pointless and i can't say good or bad cause I'll get mauled for it... So there is no chance i am going to say just howI can't rate this, it's pointless and i can't say good or bad cause I'll get mauled for it... So there is no chance i am going to say just how bad this movie is! Expand

See all 126 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder

    20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder  Image
    Published: June 16, 2016
    We pick out 20 great examples of lousy movie sequels.
  2. Film Friday (6/20): This Week's New Movies & Trailers

    Film Friday (6/20): This Week's New Movies & Trailers Image
    Published: June 20, 2014
    Find a guide to this week's film releases, catch up on the latest Star Wars news, and watch new trailers for The Expendables 3, Guardians of the Galaxy, Dawn of the Planet of The Apes, The Wedding Ringer, and more.
  3. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  4. Ranked: 20 Worst Chick Flicks of the Past 20 Years

    Ranked: 20 Worst Chick Flicks of the Past 20 Years Image
    Published: August 11, 2010
    It's classic summer counterprogramming: When a major action film comes out (like this week's "The Expendables"), counter it with something that appeals to women (like this week's "Eat Pray Love"). We look back at some of the worst examples of the "chick flick" genre since 1990.