Lionsgate | Release Date: February 1, 2008
3.1
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 156 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
37
Mixed:
22
Negative:
97
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
RobS.Feb 10, 2008
Lot of "been here done that" feel. Some jumps in there for sure, and from what I could get from the audience the elevator scene was the creepiest. The movie has a slow build, starts to confuse you, then throws Sydney into survival mode while Lot of "been here done that" feel. Some jumps in there for sure, and from what I could get from the audience the elevator scene was the creepiest. The movie has a slow build, starts to confuse you, then throws Sydney into survival mode while her "friends" do the cliched horror movie "there's nothing wrong, it must be you". There could of been some devious twists near the end of the movie, but instead they take the safe route. Alba/Sydney would of made a great villain in the end because the sugar and spice Sydney never really changes as a character. Love the death escort guys...evil looking grim reapers that no one has ever reported from real near death experiences, but at least they're creepy. Rent it, unless you enjoy sitting around annoying teenage kids. One last thing movie makers: please put an end to ghost kids and their echoy sounding voices. I truly have had my fill of the ghost kids and think "cheap" instead of "creep". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
LiamH.Jun 13, 2008
it was ok, less then avg. The beginning was cool but it just went downhill from there. If you've seen The Ring movies, then this is pretty much the same thing. You can almost place $million bets on the exact times of big stunners. I it was ok, less then avg. The beginning was cool but it just went downhill from there. If you've seen The Ring movies, then this is pretty much the same thing. You can almost place $million bets on the exact times of big stunners. I would rent it. Bottom line: Rent this movie, don't waste 9.95 for the movie ticket + $40 popcorn Its kinda like the whole Japanese movie conversions have been sucked down to their last drop of sweet nectar, and this is the aftermath. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MarcK.Feb 22, 2008
Not bad! Maybe I had low expectations.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
[Anonymous]Jun 23, 2008
Hmm, well, its a horror film starring Ms Alba, what do you expect?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Feb 1, 2008
There's no reason why Sydney(Jessica Alba) should be blurry. A disciplined filmmaker would understand that only the violinist's POV shots have an intellectual basis for being out of focus. "The Eye" is out of focus, but so, too, There's no reason why Sydney(Jessica Alba) should be blurry. A disciplined filmmaker would understand that only the violinist's POV shots have an intellectual basis for being out of focus. "The Eye" is out of focus, but so, too, was Oxide & Danny Pang's "Gin Gwai"(the original 2002 Hong Kong/Singapore production), in elucidating with clarity as to how the recovering patient could be the caretaker of the donor's visual field. Sydney received the woman's corneas, not her brain. How the heck do eyes(taken out of context from its neurological system) remember the past and predict the future? Although the film's science tends to be on the myopic side, "The Eye" isn't lazy in creating sympathy for Sydney, who seems genuinely oblivious to her glamour. She's not modest; she's a naif, in her understanding of how men are. After a lifetime in the dark, everything(and everyone) is beautiful to Sydney. During their jaunt across the Mexican border, Sydney never asks Dr. Faulkner(Alessandro Nivola) if her actual face(the face she's unaware of) is the motivating factor for his sudden eagerness to help track down the donor. Sydney attributes Dr. Faulkner's change of heart due to his waning skepticism towards supernatural occurences. Thanks to a "Rescue from Gilligan's Island"-like ending, Sydney never learns how to be vain. The friends we meet at her "welcome home" party are a collection of voices to Sydney, not faces. Because "The Eye" borrows its climax from a bad 1978 made-for-television movie, Sydney never learns the cold-blooded art of social climbing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MikeP.Feb 19, 2008
Not completely terrible, but there wasn't very much to like!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JayH.May 29, 2008
I was never convinced with the story, therefore I never found the movie compelling, and it should have been. Jessica Alba tries, and I commend her for her effort, but the story just never gels. Nice try but no go.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Not as bad as it could be. But its not nearly as good as could be either.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoDec 24, 2015
"The Eye" was very frightening , very boring , because we were left blind bored , but I have more to say in the movie for understand , except for Jessica Alba.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews