Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 22, 2000
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 173 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
144
Mixed:
19
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
JackP.Mar 1, 2001
It was a very poor attempt to mix "A Christmas Carol" with "Sliding Doors"... in one word - dull.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
TedB.Aug 20, 2001
The poster for the movie said "Hilarious!"--- it wasn't. Nicolas Cage and Tea Leone have incredible chemistry, and the movie is at times very touching. Had I not gone into this one expecting something "Hilarious!" perhaps I would not The poster for the movie said "Hilarious!"--- it wasn't. Nicolas Cage and Tea Leone have incredible chemistry, and the movie is at times very touching. Had I not gone into this one expecting something "Hilarious!" perhaps I would not have been so disappointed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TylerC.Jul 7, 2004
The worst part of this movie was the ending. I would have given anything to have millions of dollars and be single. Also, I don't know any woman who would have been mad at him for getting a huge apartment building in New York City that The worst part of this movie was the ending. I would have given anything to have millions of dollars and be single. Also, I don't know any woman who would have been mad at him for getting a huge apartment building in New York City that he could get rent free while getting an executive job without even asking her. What a surprise honey! You don't have to work a day in your life anymore! Why would she want him to be a tire salesman in the burbs when he could have so much more? She held him back so much. The character deserved better! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
S.FitzgeraldMar 1, 2001
What a load of old bollix! Its takes a really lame film to turn my stomach, but this one did it. Its a very poor attempt at "Sliding Doors." What's worse, by the end you are convinced he is making the wrong choice! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
Honest-reviewsJun 8, 2014
Surprised by the negative reviews from critics, I actually found this movie really enjoyable. I suppose it's a guilty pleasure of mine! It's funny at times, touching and sad. I understand that the movie could have been better, but even so,Surprised by the negative reviews from critics, I actually found this movie really enjoyable. I suppose it's a guilty pleasure of mine! It's funny at times, touching and sad. I understand that the movie could have been better, but even so, the storyline is good and the acting decent. It's a nice holiday movie and would definitely recommend. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Le__XenomorphDec 29, 2014
A very enjoyable Christmas movies with strong and funny performances by Nicholas Cage and Tea Leoni. Despite the mixed reviews from the critics, I highly enjoyed this movie. This is one of the most underrated movies of all time in my opinion.A very enjoyable Christmas movies with strong and funny performances by Nicholas Cage and Tea Leoni. Despite the mixed reviews from the critics, I highly enjoyed this movie. This is one of the most underrated movies of all time in my opinion. 8/10 (Great) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NY32Dec 10, 2012
A fantastic movie. Do you want to feel the magic of emotions? Watch this movie opening your heart... Much more better than "Sliding doors", another planet. Trust me, enjoy this movie...
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
AustinR.Oct 12, 2001
For me, the film brilliantly explored the interface between fantasy and reality showing how the imaginative world can impact on the real.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JamieK.Feb 24, 2001
Nicolas Cage sure is a great actor! His expressions on his face were great to make audience feel what he really feels. If you are big Nic Fan, dont miss this one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MaryZ.Feb 9, 2001
Entertaining enough, Cage is charming.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RomanskiMar 7, 2003
Everyone who does not like this movie has forgotten what dreams are all about. Most of us would like to have that kind of family.To those who do not like that movie: I think your are only alone and crumpy!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PatC.Jan 8, 2004
Instantly forgettable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EconomistBRApr 1, 2007
Very interesting movie. It presents the "what if"s of life in a great way and it also shows the strugle in dealing with dreams that didn't become reality.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RyanM.Jul 24, 2001
Director Ratner makes this film so tedious and full of itself that it's almost unwatchable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MichaelFosterJul 31, 2001
This movie is nothing new or special but delivers the laughs as well as the touching moments. Tea is great as usual and Cage is great (as usual). This movie had some great potential, but it was all lost with its ending telling kids that youThis movie is nothing new or special but delivers the laughs as well as the touching moments. Tea is great as usual and Cage is great (as usual). This movie had some great potential, but it was all lost with its ending telling kids that you can have the babe, the well paying job and still live your rich big city life. Good for the kids but not a great movie. Worth catching on TV. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
IntactDec 24, 2010
I hate Nicholas Cage, he's a crappy actor and this movie showed his true talent in a generic family movie with as evidenced by the title of the movie. I watched this movie in class for God's sake, and everyone started laughing at me in myI hate Nicholas Cage, he's a crappy actor and this movie showed his true talent in a generic family movie with as evidenced by the title of the movie. I watched this movie in class for God's sake, and everyone started laughing at me in my class because they all knew my hatred of Cage. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
6
MaxineJul 30, 2001
This movie was great for the family, but Cage could have done better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FuturedirectorMay 6, 2016
Breathtaking, funny, eccentric, clever, magic, with true love and a fantastic interpretation (of Nicolas Cage), Family Man becomes a Christmas classic for (+12) all viewers, despite the exaggerated simple story-telling and plot, sadly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews