Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Sep 30, 2013
    25
    Remember when Robert De Niro was an interesting actor? These days his talent, like his character in The Family, is in the witness protection program, never to be seen again.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 12, 2013
    20
    It’s too bad we can’t take a hit out on The Family. This unexciting, unfunny would-be action satire is filled with Italian-American stereotypes, decades-old TV-style Mafia cliches, bits of business that never amount to anything and actors so much better than the hoary, one-joke material.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 13, 2013
    20
    Director Luc Besson treats his protagonists as likable cartoons yet never provides a single reason to view them as anything less than remorseless, repugnant psychos.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Sep 18, 2013
    30
    It dispassionately plays like a video game with a high body count.
  5. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Sep 12, 2013
    25
    The Family is ultimately a headache, nearly two hours of baseball bat beatings and dull witticisms, with zero inventiveness or energy.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Sep 13, 2013
    25
    After the movie limps along for an hour and a half, Besson suddenly switches gears and does what he does best.
  7. Reviewed by: Jesse Cataldo
    Sep 12, 2013
    25
    A film whose only distinguishing characteristic is how big a mess it makes of its already meager ambitions.
  8. Reviewed by: Catherine Shoard
    Nov 21, 2013
    20
    Robert De Niro does further damage to a reputation much battered by "The Big Wedding."
  9. Reviewed by: Ashley Clark
    Nov 19, 2013
    20
    The film’s sole saving grace is Tommy Lee Jones’s amusingly cranky FBI agent, but he can’t save this ship from sinking.
  10. Reviewed by: Adam Nayman
    Sep 12, 2013
    25
    There isn’t a single genuinely sharp sequence in the entire movie. The casting of Robert De Niro as an ex-Mafioso hiding in witness protection is witty in only the silliest, most superficial way. It’s a joke with its own tinny, built-in laugh track.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 42
  2. Negative: 6 out of 42
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    My review is going to be very short because this movie doesn't deserve a lot of analysis. This movie was billed as a dark comedy, there is aMy review is going to be very short because this movie doesn't deserve a lot of analysis. This movie was billed as a dark comedy, there is a lot of darkness via the extreme violence and not a chuckle in the whole movie. As far as I was concerned I never smiled, giggled and certainly never laughed. How can you laugh at gratuitous violence to undeserving innocent people. It was so predictable that it held no surprises whatsoever. Don't waste your money. After 10 minutes I wanted to ask for a refund, but my friend had fallen asleep and I did not want to wake him up and tell him we were leaving. So I sat through the whole stinking thing. Basically this movie was not funny at all. Unless you were a ten-year old. And the movie is way too violent for a 10 year old. The theater was fairly crowded but the people were not laughing. This film is pure pornography. Not sexual pornography but violence pornography. If I'm going to watch pornography it's going to have babes with big boobs and guys with big well you know!
    Basically A Diarrhea of Violence
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    Subtle humor is sparsely accessible to cheap slapstick comedy fans, kitsch-ish monster/dragon/vampire lovers, so thank you Mr. Besson forSubtle humor is sparsely accessible to cheap slapstick comedy fans, kitsch-ish monster/dragon/vampire lovers, so thank you Mr. Besson for raising the bar. Brilliant casting/acting helped as well. Snobbish critics, please feel free to smirk your nose. Full Review »
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    It would seem a lot of people just don't "get" this film. It's not quite as loud & stupid as most of the big comedy movies in recent years andIt would seem a lot of people just don't "get" this film. It's not quite as loud & stupid as most of the big comedy movies in recent years and I think the fans of those movies are the same people that don't understand this one. Anyway, I loved it and would watch it again. The family members were very enjoyable and I would actually like to see a sequel. The only part of the movie I didn't like (spoiler incoming immediately) is when the daughter tried to kill herself over the math teacher. 1st of all she talked and acted like a female who has already experienced sex, a lot of sex. Yet it is revealed that the math teacher was her 1st.... and then she wants to kill herself because he didn't fall madly in love with her after hooking up one time? Um, ok then. But besides that I have no complaints. Full Review »