Relativity Media | Release Date: September 13, 2013
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 162 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
68
Mixed:
76
Negative:
18
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
410MaXiMuSDec 10, 2013
It would seem a lot of people just don't "get" this film. It's not quite as loud & stupid as most of the big comedy movies in recent years and I think the fans of those movies are the same people that don't understand this one. Anyway, IIt would seem a lot of people just don't "get" this film. It's not quite as loud & stupid as most of the big comedy movies in recent years and I think the fans of those movies are the same people that don't understand this one. Anyway, I loved it and would watch it again. The family members were very enjoyable and I would actually like to see a sequel. The only part of the movie I didn't like (spoiler incoming immediately) is when the daughter tried to kill herself over the math teacher. 1st of all she talked and acted like a female who has already experienced sex, a lot of sex. Yet it is revealed that the math teacher was her 1st.... and then she wants to kill herself because he didn't fall madly in love with her after hooking up one time? Um, ok then. But besides that I have no complaints. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
jacobmmmcccDec 18, 2013
The family wasn't just good it was great every part of it I loved. I have no idea why lots of people don't like this movie there is nothing wrong with it. It is funny, cool and very exciting. There is nothing bad about The family it is anThe family wasn't just good it was great every part of it I loved. I have no idea why lots of people don't like this movie there is nothing wrong with it. It is funny, cool and very exciting. There is nothing bad about The family it is an awesome movie Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
arminm1Sep 13, 2013
Great performance by Robert De Niro and Michelle Pfeiffer and one of the best comedy of the year I don't understand the critical bashing RogerEbert.com gave it 3/4 and that's enough for me
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
Calypso911Sep 14, 2013
Subtle humor is sparsely accessible to cheap slapstick comedy fans, kitsch-ish monster/dragon/vampire lovers, so thank you Mr. Besson for raising the bar. Brilliant casting/acting helped as well. Snobbish critics, please feel free to smirkSubtle humor is sparsely accessible to cheap slapstick comedy fans, kitsch-ish monster/dragon/vampire lovers, so thank you Mr. Besson for raising the bar. Brilliant casting/acting helped as well. Snobbish critics, please feel free to smirk your nose. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
8
JudgeMathewNov 1, 2013
I don't know what to exactly "say" about this movie. The acting was top-notch throughout the entirety of the film, and there were some great moments. What genre of movie does The Family happen to fall under? There's no real way to nail itI don't know what to exactly "say" about this movie. The acting was top-notch throughout the entirety of the film, and there were some great moments. What genre of movie does The Family happen to fall under? There's no real way to nail it down as it can be serious at moments while completely unbelievable and funny at others. Few sub-plots throughout The Family could have and should have not been included. Worth a watch if you're fond of Robert De Niro. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
PresillaDec 29, 2013
THE FAMILY is a very entertaining comedy thriller about a former mob boss and his family who just can’t seem to control their sinful, criminal, violent urges. The movie is very well done by all concerned, including talented French writer andTHE FAMILY is a very entertaining comedy thriller about a former mob boss and his family who just can’t seem to control their sinful, criminal, violent urges. The movie is very well done by all concerned, including talented French writer and director Luc Besson, but the foul language and immorality are over-the-top, or excessive Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Jul 27, 2014
The Family was a good movie and honestly, delivered about as good as it possibly could. There was plenty of humor, some great wit and "mob" dialogue, and the acting was fantastic. Honestly, De Niro was the least impressive role in the film. IThe Family was a good movie and honestly, delivered about as good as it possibly could. There was plenty of humor, some great wit and "mob" dialogue, and the acting was fantastic. Honestly, De Niro was the least impressive role in the film. I loved how they featured the children a bit more and showed how their lives have been affected by the whole ordeal. That being said, the plot wasn't overly original or exciting so the ceiling for a film like this is relatively low. The only thing I felt the movie did wrong was how the family's location was discovered. To me, the entire conflict of the movie hinging on such a ridiculously coincidental happenstance was lazy writing and, while you get over it during the conclusion, it was still rather unfortunate that the went in that direction. Overall though, it's a solid film that never bores. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeDec 20, 2013
It was the story of an American family who are living under the witness protection in somewhere southern France. This is not an ordinary family where love and care are given the first preferences. They are also funny at a time for theirIt was the story of an American family who are living under the witness protection in somewhere southern France. This is not an ordinary family where love and care are given the first preferences. They are also funny at a time for their atrocity against the annoying people. Watching it makes you feel good for the moment but it won't last for long. Call it a better commercial movie to enjoy our 2 hours with it.

Blake is a given fake family name for a family who are under witness protection. This trouble making small family with four members finds hard living alongside their new neighbors. They frequently move around different places with different names. One of those is where this movie takes place. And as usual it ends with what we saw on the opening. That makes us to think a sequel is in a due to clarify the remaining doubts.

This is not what we expected from the writer, director of hit movies like 'Leon: The Professional' and 'The Fifth Element'. He made many good movies as well average ones and this movie comes under okay type comedy-thriller. It had a good pair of actors, De Niro and Michelle Pfeiffer. But the movie did not deeply explains all the characters that involved in the story. In halfway of the movie you will come to know there's nothing secret behind what opening sequences that created a puzzle of series mysteries.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
python2000Jan 3, 2014
Yet another black comedy from Luc Besson. But in contrast to some of his earlier movies, this is actually good. Not overwhelmingly good, but definitely entertaining.
Robert De Niro returns to the crime genre in style alongside Michelle
Yet another black comedy from Luc Besson. But in contrast to some of his earlier movies, this is actually good. Not overwhelmingly good, but definitely entertaining.
Robert De Niro returns to the crime genre in style alongside Michelle Pfeiffer in two brilliant performances, however their two children give the best performances in the whole movie. Regrettably I don't know either of the actors names off the top of my head because both of them are reasonably unknown, but they both deserve to be in more stuff (especially John D'Leo as the boy). Every now and again Tommy Lee Jones pops up too. The plot makes sense and holds up, even in the overblown final act. And the action, again even if the overblown final act, is exciting and will keep viewers only watching for explosions entertained.
Much like most of the other comedies I have watched in my entire life, the main problem is that I didn't laugh much. It's either that this is an unsuccessful black comedy or that I'm an unhappy pedantic who rarely ever smiles, but I did laugh a below average amount of times. Sure I was almost in hysterics at the very clever joke about De Niro being able to express any emotion just by saying and the two agents who are constantly listening in to the families every word have some hilarious conversations. But most of the other jokes only got a smirk or a weak smile out of me.
However, that does not stop The Family from being a hugely enjoyable black comedy, which delivers excitement and thrills (but fails to satisfy the audience by way of jokes) without forgetting emotion and story arcs. To my surprise I thoroughly enjoyed The Family, and strongly recommend it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonSep 13, 2013
The Family doesn’t represent Besson at his best, but here the filmmaker once again proves that he is a storyteller who knows how to produce European pop-art cinema that is far more delightful (and, in many ways, more intelligent) than youThe Family doesn’t represent Besson at his best, but here the filmmaker once again proves that he is a storyteller who knows how to produce European pop-art cinema that is far more delightful (and, in many ways, more intelligent) than you might expect, based on the film’s sitcom-style description. There are certainly worse ways to spend two hours at the theater than by watching De Niro play an old Mobster in a self-reflexive action/comedy (emphasis on the comedy) made by an eccentric French autuer. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
Dimitris01Oct 22, 2013
The first half is mediocre but the second one is better. The film doesn't have the usual stupid jokes, each character is given his/her own subplot, the performances are good and the ending is satisfying. Moreover Dianna Agron is gorgeous.The first half is mediocre but the second one is better. The film doesn't have the usual stupid jokes, each character is given his/her own subplot, the performances are good and the ending is satisfying. Moreover Dianna Agron is gorgeous.
argonautis.eu
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews