Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Sep 13, 2013
    75
    A pretty uneven film, lurching from comedy to violence to sentiment, but it's best when it sticks in the realm of flat-out farce.
  2. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Sep 12, 2013
    75
    The Family is the rare breed of pitch-black comedy that effectively uses violence for laughs or gasps, depending on the situation.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    A messy brew that is a bit too slack to get all the way to actually being good.
  4. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Sep 12, 2013
    40
    Yes, The Family has skills. They’re like “The Incredibles” — except they’re heroes for sadists and sociopaths only.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Nov 21, 2013
    40
    Though it’s good to see Michelle Pfeiffer married to the mob again, she alone can’t redeem a lumbering farce that takes an unpleasantly sadistic glee in violence, murder and intimidation.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Sep 13, 2013
    25
    After the movie limps along for an hour and a half, Besson suddenly switches gears and does what he does best.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 12, 2013
    20
    It’s too bad we can’t take a hit out on The Family. This unexciting, unfunny would-be action satire is filled with Italian-American stereotypes, decades-old TV-style Mafia cliches, bits of business that never amount to anything and actors so much better than the hoary, one-joke material.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 45
  2. Negative: 6 out of 45
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    It would seem a lot of people just don't "get" this film. It's not quite as loud & stupid as most of the big comedy movies in recent years andIt would seem a lot of people just don't "get" this film. It's not quite as loud & stupid as most of the big comedy movies in recent years and I think the fans of those movies are the same people that don't understand this one. Anyway, I loved it and would watch it again. The family members were very enjoyable and I would actually like to see a sequel. The only part of the movie I didn't like (spoiler incoming immediately) is when the daughter tried to kill herself over the math teacher. 1st of all she talked and acted like a female who has already experienced sex, a lot of sex. Yet it is revealed that the math teacher was her 1st.... and then she wants to kill herself because he didn't fall madly in love with her after hooking up one time? Um, ok then. But besides that I have no complaints. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    THE FAMILY is a very entertaining comedy thriller about a former mob boss and his family who just can’t seem to control their sinful,THE FAMILY is a very entertaining comedy thriller about a former mob boss and his family who just can’t seem to control their sinful, criminal, violent urges. The movie is very well done by all concerned, including talented French writer and director Luc Besson, but the foul language and immorality are over-the-top, or excessive Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    7
    It was the story of an American family who are living under the witness protection in somewhere southern France. This is not an ordinaryIt was the story of an American family who are living under the witness protection in somewhere southern France. This is not an ordinary family where love and care are given the first preferences. They are also funny at a time for their atrocity against the annoying people. Watching it makes you feel good for the moment but it won't last for long. Call it a better commercial movie to enjoy our 2 hours with it.

    Blake is a given fake family name for a family who are under witness protection. This trouble making small family with four members finds hard living alongside their new neighbors. They frequently move around different places with different names. One of those is where this movie takes place. And as usual it ends with what we saw on the opening. That makes us to think a sequel is in a due to clarify the remaining doubts.

    This is not what we expected from the writer, director of hit movies like 'Leon: The Professional' and 'The Fifth Element'. He made many good movies as well average ones and this movie comes under okay type comedy-thriller. It had a good pair of actors, De Niro and Michelle Pfeiffer. But the movie did not deeply explains all the characters that involved in the story. In halfway of the movie you will come to know there's nothing secret behind what opening sequences that created a puzzle of series mysteries.
    Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2014
    6
    Ok, it wasn´t anymore that I expected. It´s a good black humor movie, although it´s almost everything supported in the violence. DeNiro playsOk, it wasn´t anymore that I expected. It´s a good black humor movie, although it´s almost everything supported in the violence. DeNiro plays a really good role. Very good casting. Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2013
    5
    While there's some good acting, it's still not enough to hold this "dark mob comedy together. Overall, it's a forgettable mob movie. Be sureWhile there's some good acting, it's still not enough to hold this "dark mob comedy together. Overall, it's a forgettable mob movie. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2013
    5
    I agree that the characters are really flat and unlikeable, The story is something we have seen a thousand times before, yet some how it'sI agree that the characters are really flat and unlikeable, The story is something we have seen a thousand times before, yet some how it's surprisingly enjoyable to watch. The ending saved it from being a total snooze fest as well.

    The biggest complaint is the needless 2 hour run time and the crappy sub-plot with the daughter of the family. I think it'd have been better if it were shorter and featured less sub-plots that offered nothing to the film.
    Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    My review is going to be very short because this movie doesn't deserve a lot of analysis. This movie was billed as a dark comedy, there is aMy review is going to be very short because this movie doesn't deserve a lot of analysis. This movie was billed as a dark comedy, there is a lot of darkness via the extreme violence and not a chuckle in the whole movie. As far as I was concerned I never smiled, giggled and certainly never laughed. How can you laugh at gratuitous violence to undeserving innocent people. It was so predictable that it held no surprises whatsoever. Don't waste your money. After 10 minutes I wanted to ask for a refund, but my friend had fallen asleep and I did not want to wake him up and tell him we were leaving. So I sat through the whole stinking thing. Basically this movie was not funny at all. Unless you were a ten-year old. And the movie is way too violent for a 10 year old. The theater was fairly crowded but the people were not laughing. This film is pure pornography. Not sexual pornography but violence pornography. If I'm going to watch pornography it's going to have babes with big boobs and guys with big well you know!
    Basically A Diarrhea of Violence
    Expand

See all 45 User Reviews

Trailers