Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Sep 13, 2013
    75
    A pretty uneven film, lurching from comedy to violence to sentiment, but it's best when it sticks in the realm of flat-out farce.
  2. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Sep 12, 2013
    75
    The Family is the rare breed of pitch-black comedy that effectively uses violence for laughs or gasps, depending on the situation.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    A messy brew that is a bit too slack to get all the way to actually being good.
  4. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Sep 12, 2013
    40
    Yes, The Family has skills. They’re like “The Incredibles” — except they’re heroes for sadists and sociopaths only.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Nov 21, 2013
    40
    Though it’s good to see Michelle Pfeiffer married to the mob again, she alone can’t redeem a lumbering farce that takes an unpleasantly sadistic glee in violence, murder and intimidation.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Sep 13, 2013
    25
    After the movie limps along for an hour and a half, Besson suddenly switches gears and does what he does best.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 12, 2013
    20
    It’s too bad we can’t take a hit out on The Family. This unexciting, unfunny would-be action satire is filled with Italian-American stereotypes, decades-old TV-style Mafia cliches, bits of business that never amount to anything and actors so much better than the hoary, one-joke material.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    It would seem a lot of people just don't "get" this film. It's not quite as loud & stupid as most of the big comedy movies in recent years and I think the fans of those movies are the same people that don't understand this one. Anyway, I loved it and would watch it again. The family members were very enjoyable and I would actually like to see a sequel. The only part of the movie I didn't like (spoiler incoming immediately) is when the daughter tried to kill herself over the math teacher. 1st of all she talked and acted like a female who has already experienced sex, a lot of sex. Yet it is revealed that the math teacher was her 1st.... and then she wants to kill herself because he didn't fall madly in love with her after hooking up one time? Um, ok then. But besides that I have no complaints. Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    Great performance by Robert De Niro and Michelle Pfeiffer and one of the best comedy of the year I don't understand the critical bashing RogerEbert.com gave it 3/4 and that's enough for me Collapse
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    Yet another black comedy from Luc Besson. But in contrast to some of his earlier movies, this is actually good. Not overwhelmingly good, but definitely entertaining.
    Robert De Niro returns to the crime genre in style alongside Michelle Pfeiffer in two brilliant performances, however their two children give the best performances in the whole movie. Regrettably I don't know either of the actors names off the top of my head because both of them are reasonably unknown, but they both deserve to be in more stuff (especially John D'Leo as the boy). Every now and again Tommy Lee Jones pops up too. The plot makes sense and holds up, even in the overblown final act. And the action, again even if the overblown final act, is exciting and will keep viewers only watching for explosions entertained.
    Much like most of the other comedies I have watched in my entire life, the main problem is that I didn't laugh much. It's either that this is an unsuccessful black comedy or that I'm an unhappy pedantic who rarely ever smiles, but I did laugh a below average amount of times. Sure I was almost in hysterics at the very clever joke about De Niro being able to express any emotion just by saying and the two agents who are constantly listening in to the families every word have some hilarious conversations. But most of the other jokes only got a smirk or a weak smile out of me.
    However, that does not stop The Family from being a hugely enjoyable black comedy, which delivers excitement and thrills (but fails to satisfy the audience by way of jokes) without forgetting emotion and story arcs. To my surprise I thoroughly enjoyed The Family, and strongly recommend it.
    Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    6
    The movie holds together with Luc Besson's style of directing, even with all its stereotypes. It has its moments of being funny with violence but eventually simply becomes a little ridiculous to fully enjoy. Expand
  5. May 13, 2014
    6
    Getting into the Witness Protection Program was the easy part, staying there is what's hard, in the latest Luc Besson comedy, The Family. With huge star power and a well known Director, this film had all the makings of a classic, unfortunately it has some major plot holes and lacks direction. One moment it seems like you're watching a comedy, that is about to break out, but then in the blink of an eye it's a drama, addressing difficult issues. The big tagline is that the Manzoni family is in hiding, and can't seem to behave themselves, but it's a lot more than that. The FBI has decided to place this Italian, Brooklyn mob family in the south of France. Even if their behavior wasn't outlandish, how is a Brooklyn family supposed to fit into a small village in France? They would naturally stand out like a sore thumb. Besides the obvious plot holes, other things are left out of the equation, the most glaring being the back story behind the families joining the program. While the story is all over the place, the film does feature a truly all-star cast and trust me, they help. If this wasn't De Niro, Jones, and Pheiffer, the film would have completely fallen apart and failed to hold my interest. The fact is that these are some the best actors in the world and they all do a tremendous job of keeping the audiences attention. There isn't much of a story here and it's nowhere near as funny as it was advertised to be, but big names and great performances fill seats in the theaters and that should have been this films hook. I'm not sure if the Family was a drama or some kind of dark comedy that I just didn't get, but aside from the terrific performances from an all-star cast, I was highly disappointed by this film. Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2014
    5
    An unbelievably slow paced movie. There are moments of humor or violence thrown to give this movie a pulse every now and then, but ultimately this is a very dull and lifeless film. The film is at's best when it is focusing on humor. The violence just comes off as sadistic and cruel. John D'leo steals the show. He, Dianna Agron, and the plots surrounding them end up being the best parts of the movie, making the parents (Pfieffer and De Niro) uninteresting. They do not save the movie from ultimately being boring however, and Agron's story ends up turning into just another broken heart story.

    Overall I found this movie to be a boring waste of time. There's not enough humor and much it's violence ends up coming off as unnecessary. There are some interesting bits here and there, but overall the film is lifeless and uninteresting. My recommendation is that you just pass this film by. It falls short in just about every area leaving the film to be stuck in some sort of limbo of mediocrity. I thought this mob family would be more interesting.
    Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    My review is going to be very short because this movie doesn't deserve a lot of analysis. This movie was billed as a dark comedy, there is a lot of darkness via the extreme violence and not a chuckle in the whole movie. As far as I was concerned I never smiled, giggled and certainly never laughed. How can you laugh at gratuitous violence to undeserving innocent people. It was so predictable that it held no surprises whatsoever. Don't waste your money. After 10 minutes I wanted to ask for a refund, but my friend had fallen asleep and I did not want to wake him up and tell him we were leaving. So I sat through the whole stinking thing. Basically this movie was not funny at all. Unless you were a ten-year old. And the movie is way too violent for a 10 year old. The theater was fairly crowded but the people were not laughing. This film is pure pornography. Not sexual pornography but violence pornography. If I'm going to watch pornography it's going to have babes with big boobs and guys with big well you know!
    Basically A Diarrhea of Violence
    Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Trailers