User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 136
  2. Negative: 22 out of 136

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 12, 2010
    6
    the reason i am giving this a six is because it doesn't show the same potential that the other 2 did. it provides a fair amount of action and suspense. however there is not as much character development and the other 2 especially the first movie provides more convincing acting
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Before I start, let me state that I have never seen a single Fast and the Furious movie until this one. So, from what I've heard, this movie has very little relation to the other movies because of new characters, so that was a good thing for me becuase I was able to follow the plot very easily, and enjoy the movie overall. Still, I wish the race at the end was a bit longer. Oh well, it was still a good movie nontheless. Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    Why is this movie so great? Well 4 reasons:

    1. Tokyo is a city built for racing, at night; ho **** fking ****
    2. Cars...dayum
    3. Girls, yum yumm. Naughty anime girls ;)
    4. Han is a fking champ. He's a boss. All star right there.
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    7
    Not a great movie, but an enjoyable movie. i like most of the characters and the story was ok. i like the fast and furious series for the cars and this movie showcased some great street cars and good racing scenes
  5. May 21, 2011
    6
    Drifting is NOT my thing. I like road racing, but I decided to see the movie when it came on cable, simply because it was a FATF movie. My favorite part was the very first race with the Viper, everything else was just barely enjoyable.
  6. May 10, 2011
    6
    Not a stellar movie, but it was fun while it lasted. Luckily I saw it after the fact and not in theaters. The drifting was cool, and I'm a sucker for Japan so this sort of fell into a passing fling for me.
  7. Nov 27, 2011
    6
    This Fast and Furious film was fun but not as good as the others. It had some good action but not as exciting as the previous films. It still has some fun parts
  8. Dec 18, 2011
    9
    Despite not having Vin Diesel, Paul Walker, Jordana Brewster, or Michelle Rodriguez, it's less dramatic than the first two, more sexy, even more awesome cars, and full of the action you expect and has a better car-racing concept than 2 Fast 2 Furious.
  9. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift is the least popular of the Fast and Furious franchise but it's also the most underrated. While I thought the country accent was a little overblown and some of the cgi looked a little too obvious, the movie was really good. The plot is fresh and exciting, the acting is spot on, and the cars are great. That's honestly one of my only gripes with 2 Fast 2 Furious is that, while really entertaining, it got away from the car element quite a bit. This movie brought back the cool car factor that made the first film so special. Overall, while it wasn't as good as the first two, it was still a great movie in its own right and one that can stand alone without the others. Expand
  10. Feb 29, 2012
    3
    What happens when none of your main cast want to commit themselves full-time to a sequel in a franchise? You say **** you!" and go ahead with the film anyway, of course! Tokyo Drift couldn't feel more out of place in the Fast and the Furious cash-cow farm if it were dressed in army fatigues and marched out on the front lines of the Vietnam war - the very fact that Paul Walker of all people left this script well-enough alone speaks volumes for the obnoxious tripe held within its pages. Our hero, the ridiculously accented, age confused yuppie, is so dopey and stupid in his delivery and very presence on the screen that it makes you think just how dangerous to the brain inhaling so much exhaust fume really is. When you are being out-acted by ****ing Bow Wow (whose presence in Tokyo is a mystery so intriguing that that he could have his own spin-off) it's time to just walk away from Hollywood in shame. Considering Lucas Black has only had four small-time parts in the six years since this travesty, it seems someone else shared my thoughts. Okay, so let's give the movie a chance and dissect the plot for a minute. Black is a high-school student (at 24 years old, somehow) who races cars, and in order to avoid being convicted of reckless driving charges, he moves to Tokyo. HOLY ****ING **** Now, it's not like the stories of the other films in the series were oscar-winning masterpieces, but this third instalment is so small in its scope that itââ Expand
  11. Jun 4, 2013
    5
    While the drift aspect of the film was a nice change up and the racing scenes were well put together, I absolutely hated the plot. I mean 20+ year old actors playing high school kids involved with the Yakuza, What a joke. The dialogue is so bad at times that it's laughable, Especially near the end of the film.

    Overall, The racing scenes keep you interested and made the film more
    enjoyable then I thought it would be. It wasn't that bad but the film failed to live up to it's potential. Worth giving a shot, Just don't go into it with high hopes. Still enjoyed it more then 2 Fast 2 Furious, That movie was just plain awful. Expand
  12. Mar 8, 2014
    4
    It's just the same mindless car chases that we have already seen in the two previous installments. The plot is messy, the film is noisy, and it has nowhere new to go.
  13. Nov 9, 2012
    3
    Why? Money. How? As quickly and easily as possible. The result? A terrible script, wooden characters, and pathetic cinematography.
  14. May 30, 2013
    0
    If you like races then this is the movie for you. If your actually smart, then you know that Tokyo Drift is not worth watching at all. It loses all signs of an even remotely good cast, and can only provide messy scenes to make up for it.
  15. Oct 24, 2013
    2
    Eye-popping driving sequences coupled with a limp story and flat performances make this Drift an adequate follow-up to the previous Fast and Furious installments. Strictly for the racing crowd and fans of the first two films. A number of questions spring to mind when considering The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift. Can the movies possibly get any faster or more furious? What exactly is the Tokyo Drift? And does Al Gore know what we can do to stop it? Expand
  16. Jul 11, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie had the potential, but it unfortunatly greatly missed what it could've been. I found it very dissapointing as well because Han died and I really liked him and the movie should've been more like its prodecessors, suspenseful, entertaining and hilarious, which all failed to appear. Expand
  17. Dec 14, 2013
    3
    The plot never really takes off and the characters seem unnecessary. Even the scope is small and racing scenes derivative. But it's still somewhat entertaining to watch.
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 9 out of 31
  1. It's not much of a movie, but a hell of a ride. So what if the movie dumbs down Japanese culture to a bad yakuza movie and features Japanese characters who can barely speak Japanese? The cars are the stars here. Everything else is lost in translation.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Pumping high-performance gas back into the series after a second lap sputter, third entry stays in high gear most of the way with several exhilarating racing sequences, and benefits greatly from the evocative Japanese setting.
  3. 38
    It's all about eye candy and the quick tease. It's not over fast enough.