Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 5, 2014
    100
    Director Josh Boone does a wonderful job of celebrating the sentimentality without shying away from the tough moments. The pacing, music and editing are all first-rate.
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 5, 2014
    91
    The Fault in Our Stars beautifully captures the hesitancy, shyness masked by outward confidence, feelings of unworthiness and quiet intensity of teenagers in love.
  3. Reviewed by: Diane Garrett
    Jun 3, 2014
    90
    The Fault in Our Stars may not show the true messiness of cancer, but it does grapple with death and the ability to survive great loss. Maybe that's enough truth for one movie.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 4, 2014
    88
    The movie is well-written, well-acted, acerbic, funny and wisely observed. Fans of the book will be glad to hear it is faithful to Green's tale.
  5. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 5, 2014
    83
    The details are what matters, and the script by Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber, adapted from the well-loved novel by John Green, is very smart and fairly unsentimental, which works to the material's advantage.
  6. Reviewed by: Kimber Myers
    Jun 4, 2014
    83
    The Fault in Our Stars wins points for being more complex and stylish than most similar films feel they need to be. Most movies with this target audience are maudlin and manipulative, but Boone's film never feels like it's trying too hard to win our tears—or our laughter.
  7. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Jun 16, 2014
    80
    Despite a few missteps this is a spirited, touching romance and Shailene Woodley’s best performance yet. Divergent fans after a weepie need look no further.
  8. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jun 10, 2014
    80
    Though supported by Woodley’s subtle narration, The Fault in Our Stars is relentlessly outward. That’s part of the book’s inspiring touch, and even if some of the supporting cast comes off as merely functional onscreen, the core of the tragedy comes to life in a heartbreaking way.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    When the time comes for suffering, the pain of watching her is mingled with the pleasure of a performance that transcends contrivance. This young actress is the real, heart-piercing thing.
  10. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    Hazel and Augustus will live in film lore because of the young actors who play them.
  11. Reviewed by: Tom Shone
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    The film works on only one level, but so completely on that level that the rest doesn’t seem to matter: Woodley and Egort have terrific chemistry.
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    The layered, tuned-in adaptation by Michael H. Weber and Scott Neustadter avoids calculated sentiment.
  13. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    While The Fault In Our Stars is more pastel watercolor than hard-edged drama, it’s still hugely warm and winning, thanks in large part to Boone’s unfussy, wistful direction.
  14. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Jun 3, 2014
    79
    The film has enough charm and humor to keep it appealing to a wide audience, and dumbing things down doesn’t feel particularly smart or canny, and proves to be a minor distraction to an otherwise majorly entertaining feature.
  15. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jun 4, 2014
    78
    Elgort’s performance is more mannered than Woodley’s open-faced, direct line to the heart, but it works.
  16. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jun 6, 2014
    75
    Maybe it's generational: In a movie about teens, it's the teens who should rule. And they do. With certainty. With laughter. And with tears - buckets and buckets.
  17. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 6, 2014
    75
    The ultimate feel-good movie about feeling bad. And within those limits, it succeeds all too well.
  18. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    The acting is top-notch, the characters are three-dimensional, and the dialogue is sharp and witty.
  19. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    Best of all, the film never makes its characters into stoic or tragic heroes, choosing instead to highlight what makes them human — their hopes, their fears, their anger, the way they learn to live with knowing they’re going to die.
  20. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    Green made the wise choice to be funny in telling his sad story.
  21. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    It's nothing you'd ever want to put yourself through twice, and yet it's effective in the moment. Shrewdly prefabricated and yet lovingly assembled, it is, in short, the most beautifully made cynical thing I've ever seen.
  22. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    A wise, warm, funny and touching romantic drama.
  23. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jun 4, 2014
    75
    Good movies are made out of great books all the time, and to fault Fault for not living up to its inspiration isn’t much more fair than dismissing the novel on the grounds that it sounds, superficially, like "Love Story" for millennials. As with infinities, some successes are just bigger than others.
  24. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jun 4, 2014
    75
    You get compassion and intelligence instead of cracker-barrel homilies. And you get mesmerizing performances.
  25. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 4, 2014
    75
    I couldn't help wondering what kind of spiky unpredictability a "Say Anything" - era John Cusack would have brought to the character — with or without the requisite Peter Gabriel song.
  26. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jun 6, 2014
    70
    What sustains the film through the rockier times are its challenging themes, offering real issues for the young protagonists to wrestle with, rather than whether anyone will be carded trying to buy beer.
  27. 70
    The film does, however, have the best weapon in the world against the perception of slickness: an actress without a smidgen of actressiness.
  28. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 4, 2014
    70
    The Fault in Our Stars is manipulative as can be, pulling out all the stops — kids with cancer — in its attempt to bring the tears. And you know what? It works.
  29. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Jun 3, 2014
    70
    The greatest strengths of the film clearly come from Green’s novel, which resolutely refuses to become a cliched cancer drama, creating instead two vibrant, believable young characters.
  30. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Jun 3, 2014
    70
    Director Josh Boone is hardly the most distinctive cinematic stylist, but he’s smart enough to let his scenes linger for a few beats longer than most mainstream directors would, and seems to trust his actors to carry their own dramatic weight.
  31. Reviewed by: Jeff Baker
    Jun 6, 2014
    67
    The fault is not in the stars -- they're fine -- it's in the way they're put through what amounts to emotional overkill.
  32. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 4, 2014
    67
    Boone’s unobtrusive style takes cues from the subdued nature of the material, but there’s little about the movie that makes the filmmaking stand out. Instead, it derives its chief strengths from a series of efforts to take the drama seriously, mainly embodied by Woodley’s onscreen investment in it.
  33. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 5, 2014
    63
    Intelligent and earnest, The Fault in Our Stars works well enough to keep a doubter from feeling mugged by sentiment.
  34. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jun 4, 2014
    63
    Shailene Woodley, already a subtle and rangy actress, easily carries the film as Hazel.
  35. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jun 17, 2014
    60
    Woodley and Dern breathe a ghost into the machine. Willem Dafoe has fun, albeit not too much, in a brief, vital role as a creepy writer. Most crucially, the words that survived from Green’s novel did so for a reason.
  36. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 3, 2014
    60
    The Fault in Our Stars doesn't quite capture the discreetly twisted humor, or the muted anger, of Green's book, and its problems can be attributed to a constellation of little annoyances rather than any one serious, North Star–size flaw.
  37. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 5, 2014
    58
    I expected, even wanted to cry at The Fault in Our Stars, or at least choke up a little. Yet the transparent eagerness of this movie to break hearts, through means not entirely justifying that end, always pulled me back.
  38. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 10, 2014
    50
    For all the film’s best intentions — and a finely tuned performance from the ever-better Woodley — for me The Fault in Our Stars never entirely found its way out of Sparks territory.
  39. Reviewed by: Geoff Pevere
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    Fault is at heart a full-throttle, by-the-numbers tearjerker.
  40. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    Woodley is an ace at handling laughter through tears — "my favorite emotion," as a character in "Steel Magnolias" once said. She improves with each new film, even when the films themselves aren't much.
  41. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    The film version of the best-selling novel The Fault in Our Stars feels emotionally inert, despite its many moments that are meant to put a lump in our throats.
  42. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    Though it is a tragic love story, it is also a perfect and irresistible fantasy.
  43. 50
    Sweet, cute to the point of cutesy.
  44. Reviewed by: David Lee Dallas
    Jun 4, 2014
    50
    It takes few chances, frequently using sass as a smokescreen, hiding what's unoriginal and cheaply sentimental about this story behind a veil of witticisms about oblivion and "cancer perks."
  45. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 5, 2014
    38
    This movie is so tone-deaf it would only make sense in Vincent van Gogh’s missing ear.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 217 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 64
  2. Negative: 9 out of 64
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    5
    I have never been surrounded by so many teenage girls before until I sat down to watch this film. During an early screening of the alluring teenage film adaptation of John Green’s novel The Fault In Our Stars, I was surely the minority of the sexes. To be honest, I don’t think I knew exactly how outnumbered I was until the film’s tragic scenes unfolded, delivering a current of waterworks and overwhelmingly loud wails of screaming, crying and sniffling, predominantly from female audience members. This early screening of the film was jam-packed, and had me sitting only a row away from the massive screen. If Josh Boone’s film adaptation of The Fault In Our Stars taught me anything, it’s to never underestimate the power of teenage girls and their ability to pack theaters and show their support for films and books they love.

    The Fault In Our Stars is guilty of possessing a number of faults, but its biggest sin lies in its persistence to aspire to be greater than it actually is. It succeeds when it exposes us to the tragic relationship between its protagonists and the loved ones around them, and fails when it aspires to find new territory of plot and redemption for characters that are already born with unlimited amounts of pathos.

    Hazel Grace Lancaster (Shailene Woodley) is as much a teenage girl as any other living in the United States. Her love of reality television, reading and curiosity of the taboo is just as strong as other girls within America. The only difference: Hazel Grace has terminal cancer. The Fault In Our Stars should be a film about cancer and how it effects the people surrounded by it (think 50/50), but it becomes overwhelming with its fascination to overly glamorize the telling of a tainted love story, therefore becoming a love story about people with cancer (think A Walk To Remember).

    From the beginning, love, life and happiness are overshadowed by impending doom, and that is perhaps the problem with the film. No matter how much you fall in love with Hazel Grace or Augustus Waters (Ansel Elgort), their fates are sealed. Green’s novel may have been about telling a heart-breaking love story between young teens, but much like Hazel’s fascination with her favourite book and the open endedness of a certain literary character, Hazel’s happiness is less about coming to terms with death, and more about the continuation of the life of her loved ones. The interactions with the people who will survive and live well beyond Hazel’s existence are never given their due diligence on-screen, especially her mother (played delicately by Laura Dern), always being pushed aside by the love story that will ultimately end in unhappiness and tears.

    There is sure to be a reason why Green’s novel has becomes such a pop culture sensation. The film is said to be a somewhat loyal adaptation, brimming with very clever metaphors of life and death through dialogue and foreshadowing. It does a masterful job of **** the most average looking parks, backyards and parking lots, and makes great use of its supporting actors. Sadly, the two actors that have the most screen time are the two weakest components of the film. Woodley, who is slowly following in the footsteps of Emma Stone and Jennifer Lawrence, seems to play Hazel Grace less, and herself more. With the exception of her chopping off her hair and having an oxygen tank follow her around everywhere she goes, Woodley only taps the surface of her character Hazel Grace, barely gracing audiences with the brilliance radiating with the promise of such a philosophically pessimistic character.

    Elgort, who comes off as a character who is easy to fall in love with, shows much of his charm and promise as a young actor. Elgort as Waters shimmers with potential, delivering a performance of a person who may be a little too cherry and perfect, given sad circumstances.

    Green had said to gain the inspiration of the novel by working as a student chaplain at a children’s hospital. Drawn to the exuberant life of its terminally ill patients, Green is quoted as saying he wanted to write a book about people who were constantly being dehumanized, while showcasing the abundance of humanity in people with a terminal illness. The film does an excellent job of making audiences believe that love is what keeps Hazel and Augustus alive. Love becomes the answer, but only for so long before the inevitability of death at the end of a terminal illness takes hold. There is a point where love exists, and people fade in the film, and although the relationships that held strong are bonded by love, hope of an improbably oblivion becomes the films main concern.

    The Fault In Our Stars can be self-assured as being a quality film made for an audience that would be content with half-assed filmmaking. The production quality and storytelling is top-notch, even if its is constantly emotionally manipulating.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 7, 2014
    1
    I walked into the theater not really knowing what the movie was about. Within the first 10 or so minutes a basically knew how it was going to end. It has the worst dialogue imaginable full of stupid metaphors and whiny arguments. Keep the the money you would spend watching this movies and see something that's not an overrated pile of garbage. Full Review »
  3. Jun 18, 2014
    0
    This movie is total garbage. Yet another show of how our society's movies are completely rated on how close to Twilight they are. Why is it that good movies are given low scores while **** movies are overrated and praised by only a few people. This is another overrated piece of trash that will not be remembered past 2014. Full Review »