The Final Destination

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 202 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 202
  2. Negative: 87 out of 202

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. TTT
    Aug 19, 2011
    6
    The good of this film is the incredible effects and the violence by characteristic of the genus.Some creative element, but a very badass movie...
  2. PeterB.
    Sep 2, 2009
    4
    I think this was, by far, the worst of the "Final Destination" franchise movies. I hope it does live up it's title. There was hardly any redeaming characteristics to any of the characters who were in death's way to care what happened to them except for George (poor Williams) and perhaps Nick's girlfriend, Lori (who does get the most inventive death, and to me, personally I think this was, by far, the worst of the "Final Destination" franchise movies. I hope it does live up it's title. There was hardly any redeaming characteristics to any of the characters who were in death's way to care what happened to them except for George (poor Williams) and perhaps Nick's girlfriend, Lori (who does get the most inventive death, and to me, personally most scariest of the deaths, but even that is revealed as being in a premonition). Agreed with other 'expert' reviews that the 3-D added nothing. The direction was poor, at best, and the writing was horrendous and very tepid (a 3rd grader could have written it). The acting was equally horrendous, with the lead Bobby Campo the worst (his character of Nick had the worst to non-existent reaction to the original premonition I've seen of the four movies in this franchise). What a waste of my money, too bad I didn't have a premonition about that. Expand
  3. christians
    Sep 12, 2009
    5
    I think that this movie wasn't that bad. It may not be Final Destination 2 it's not that bad either. but this movie does have a poor script and Direct to DVD quality actors.
  4. Blake
    Sep 27, 2009
    5
    Terrible actors, and a poor script, but the deaths always make these movies worth it. Also, it was kind of hard to watch in 3D but I got used to it.
  5. Aug 27, 2010
    4
    3D could not save this movie, despite the sometimes neat effects, this movie was poor. The film franchise was slowly turning in to "death porn" and every film seemed to dumb itself down. The death scenes were strained, if not a slight boring, with the car-wash scene providing the only false sense of dread in this film, if you want to watch this just to see people die in weird ways, then3D could not save this movie, despite the sometimes neat effects, this movie was poor. The film franchise was slowly turning in to "death porn" and every film seemed to dumb itself down. The death scenes were strained, if not a slight boring, with the car-wash scene providing the only false sense of dread in this film, if you want to watch this just to see people die in weird ways, then this is for you, if otherwise, then avoid this movie. Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2012
    4
    Just about bordering on a bad film, but again, if you're into wonderfully thought-through death scenes, watch it by all means. Yes, disappointing acting makes this the worst film in the 'Final Destination' series, but it still achieves a unique status.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    4
    The worst of the franchise. The film itself is a nightmare, the acting is bad, and some of the deaths are greatly exaggerated, if you feel for something in this film is that it ends as soon as possible. Save yourself some parts that make the film reasonable.
  8. May 5, 2012
    4
    A few clever deaths, but nothing really good to say about it. It struggles to do anything different from its predecessors.
  9. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    At least It was entertaining and the final destinations of the teens were creative an original. It's just that the opening scene was so unbelievable and cheesy fake. Just like most of the deaths. Despite some of the bad acting, the main reason It was decent was that it kept my full attention the whole time and I actually cared about some of the characters. The ending was far too typicalAt least It was entertaining and the final destinations of the teens were creative an original. It's just that the opening scene was so unbelievable and cheesy fake. Just like most of the deaths. Despite some of the bad acting, the main reason It was decent was that it kept my full attention the whole time and I actually cared about some of the characters. The ending was far too typical and utterly predictable though. Expand
  10. Jun 11, 2013
    5
    the film was ok. It had strange deaths, some of the m were hilarious and i really din't like the ending. Wow that was a bad scene
  11. Oct 20, 2013
    5
    The original Final Destination came out in 2000, and revolved around a group of kids getting killed one by one after their friend had a premonition of a disaster, causing them to avert it, they were said to have 'cheated death'. This film is no different. This film follows the same formula as all the other films.. Disaster-Survival-Death-Warn the others-Death. However, this film seems toThe original Final Destination came out in 2000, and revolved around a group of kids getting killed one by one after their friend had a premonition of a disaster, causing them to avert it, they were said to have 'cheated death'. This film is no different. This film follows the same formula as all the other films.. Disaster-Survival-Death-Warn the others-Death. However, this film seems to get the worst reviews of them all. Sure this movie is filled with inconsistencies and waiters for actors, also featuring some ludicrous deaths, but you have to remember that this film is not to be taken too seriously, as it has much like the Chucky films, taken a more comedic route than the original two. In this film, kids escape a major wreck at a race track, causing everyone to die. Then one by one, they die in stupid ways, such as getting their organs getting sucked out of their a** by a pool filter and getting cubed by a fence. In the end, this is an alright popcorn flick to watch with some friends, then forget about. 5/10. Expand
  12. Dec 8, 2014
    5
    This film feels a bit like a remake as there are a few death scenes which were unoriginal from the previous films. Nonetheless, it still works well as both a thriller and horror movie by making you feel disturbed. The ending is not so good as it is like Final Destination 3, which leaves no survivors.
  13. Jul 21, 2015
    4
    Okay, maybe I learned recently but the final destination movies this has been the worst , but compensated in some scenes they were super- strong , affecting their sensitivity, this film saga had fallen downhill
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 8 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    30
    With an array of gory mayhem only marginally enhanced by 3-D and a plot as developed as a text message, The Final Destination may finally sound the death knell for New Line's near-immortal horror franchise.
  2. The characters aren't fully formed enough to care about, the humor is baseball-bat dull, and the story - such as it is - is never treated as anything more than a half-hearted means to get the audiences from one spectacular snuffing to the next.
  3. 25
    The whole movie is just one increasingly dull roll downhill. The same could be said for this once-fresh franchise.