Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: The First Time is a modern look at the angst, anticipation and hopefulness of young love...Dave is a high school senior who spends most of his time pining away over a girl he can't have. Aubrey, a junior with artistic aspiration, has a hot boyfriend who doesn't quite understand her or seem to care. Dave and Aubrey meet one night at a party. A casual conversation sparks an instant connection, and, over the course of a weekend, things turn magical, romantic, complicated and funny as Aubrey and Dave discover what it's like to fall in love for the first time. (Samuel Goldwyn Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Oct 17, 2012
    83
    In the first 15 minutes, viewers may be rolling their eyes at these kids; by the end, they might be eager to re-watch that opening scene, to get to know them all over again.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Atkinson
    Oct 17, 2012
    80
    Something of a wonder, a palm-size ball of banter and irony and earnestness that never stops rolling and almost never misses the sweet spots.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 18, 2012
    70
    Sure, you've seen this story before, but this version has a freshness nonetheless.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Oct 17, 2012
    50
    Feels slight and pretty ordinary by the end, with no edge or compelling insights, just a reasonable feel for teen attitudes and banter.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Oct 19, 2012
    50
    An inoffensive but bland ode to the talky high school movies of John Hughes and Cameron Crowe.
  6. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Oct 17, 2012
    40
    This teen romance proves perilously short on substance, insight and novelty, unless you count its characters being afflicted with a case of "Juno" mouth.
  7. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Oct 16, 2012
    20
    Let your mind wander during this painfully generic teen-sex dramedy (trust us, it will), and there might be emotions worse than frustration in store.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. I really loved this film. It captured the very essence of "the first time" with your first love. It's not perfect; it's not really good. However, you don't give a Practice makes & you sure as hell don't mind practicing with them! I think this story was told very well & I highly recommend it. It really plastered a smile on my face. Collapse
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie, even though it's more suited to an audience far younger than I. The main reason I watched this was because of the great cast. The talented and sexy Britt Robertson and Molly C Quinn. Then there is a young Aussie actor of considerable talent, James Frecheville who starred in the amazing 'Animal Kingdom'. Being a red blooded male I used to watch 'The Secret Circle' (hey, what's wrong with that?? lol) so Britt was plenty enough reason to see this. I actually recognised a lot of the actors in this well written movie. Another reason to see this was the fact that writer/director Jon Kasdan's previous film was the wonderful 'The Land Of Woman' so I was keen to see if he was truly following in his very famous director fathers footsteps. Father, Lawrence is behind some of the biggest films in Hollywood, such as, 'Return of the Jedi', 'Wyatt Earp' and 'Dreamcatcher'. He has his fathers touch.

    The film is a sort of mild mannered affair about a boy (Dylan O'Brian) and a girl (Britt) who meet at the outskirts of a party, run from the cops and end up in her bedroom. They fall asleep and wake up to parents shouting for Aubrey to get out of bed. Dave jumps out the window and forgets to get her number. He gets given all sorts of silly advice from his friends on how to he should approach her the next time. I'm not going to get in to the whole thing but it follows from that.

    The bottom line is, this was funny, well acted (very well acted in fact), great production for a smaller budget movie and the writing was actually quite sublime, not in that young people won't get it but enough to keep older people interested. I also liked the characters which can make or break a film, imo.

    Highly Recommended

    Score: 7.1/10

    N∆V navq@ymail.com
    Expand

Trailers