Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 25, 2012
    60
    Unfortunately, stretching things out dilutes the charms of Segel and Blunt, which are considerable.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 30, 2012
    50
    Apatow hates leaving anything on the cutting room floor. You could excise entire chunks of The Five-Year Engagement - the donut experiments at college, a couple of wise soliloquies, most of the stuff involving Violet's sister (Alison Brie) - and never miss a beat.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Apr 27, 2012
    50
    Where "Forgetting Sarah Marshall" frolicked on the beach, this amiable but underachieving comedy just sort of blobs on the couch.
  4. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Apr 26, 2012
    50
    A lot more cutting would have made this movie much funnier – but it should have taken place in the editing room, not on the screen.
  5. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 26, 2012
    50
    In many ways, "Engagement" reflects both the best and worst of Stoller and Segel's creative collaborations.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Apr 26, 2012
    50
    The story starts out well, then becomes contrived and goes on too long.
  7. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Apr 26, 2012
    50
    Comedy means different things to different people, but I'm pretty sure that most everyone agrees that it's best when it's quick and funny. The Five-Year Engagement is neither.
  8. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Apr 19, 2012
    50
    It puts Emily Blunt in a wedding dress, which will appease the hopeless romantics in the house, even while making the institution of marriage seem ridiculously obsolete.
  9. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Apr 26, 2012
    40
    Five-Year has comic bloat. Virtually every character gets their own moment of stand up, but in most cases, the bits aren't funny enough to warrant the screen time.
  10. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 25, 2012
    40
    It's the sheer lack of investment one feels for the couple that truly sabotages the film.
  11. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Apr 24, 2012
    40
    There is exactly one unexpected moment in the otherwise drearily predictable The Five-Year Engagement that, though little more than a throwaway line, at least adds a bit of political reality to puncture Nicholas Stoller's limp, hermetic comedy of deferred nuptials.
  12. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Apr 24, 2012
    40
    This is the same old safe, sappy movie that shows up on TBS every weekend.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
  1. May 14, 2012
    3
    Blunt and Segel are both very good. I see them both being very successful in both comedy and drama. They are both in the select category ofBlunt and Segel are both very good. I see them both being very successful in both comedy and drama. They are both in the select category of actors who act with their entire faces. Many of the supporting actors were quite good as well. Sadly, the film wastes their considerable talent. The film is just too full of raunch with no good explanation why. Too few truly funny scenes and way too many ugly, raunchy, awkward scenes which added nothing to a good story idea, only made the movie too long. Full Review »
  2. May 2, 2012
    7
    I found myself laughing HARD at many lines and situations throughout this film. It's not the most original story, but I love the way theI found myself laughing HARD at many lines and situations throughout this film. It's not the most original story, but I love the way the writers and directors really put out for laughs. They dwell on the funny and the pervers, and it pays off. The lead actors are solid, but the variety and skill of the very broad supporting cast truly made the film. So yes, I definitely recommend the film - just don't expect Wedding Crashers, Old School, or even Forgetting Sarah Marshall. Just go in ready to laugh at some off-center humor. Full Review »
  3. Jun 8, 2015
    8
    writer-director Nicholas Stoller and co-writer/star Jason Segel make a great team, the script's humor is charming and even though it's notwriter-director Nicholas Stoller and co-writer/star Jason Segel make a great team, the script's humor is charming and even though it's not original we've have sort had the feeling we have seen the same romantic comedy, they make it work! The dialogue is funny and heart felt it takes a cliche'd formula and turn into and a good comedic one. Segel and Blunt have sparkling chemistry you know that their trying their best and have a charming relationship off screen. This comedy that producer Judd Apatow produced is not a "Apatow" raunchy comedy which is fine. My problems with the film is that It should have been shorter. Grade A- Full Review »