User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 112
  2. Negative: 20 out of 112
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 2, 2012
    7
    I found myself laughing HARD at many lines and situations throughout this film. It's not the most original story, but I love the way the writers and directors really put out for laughs. They dwell on the funny and the pervers, and it pays off. The lead actors are solid, but the variety and skill of the very broad supporting cast truly made the film. So yes, I definitely recommend theI found myself laughing HARD at many lines and situations throughout this film. It's not the most original story, but I love the way the writers and directors really put out for laughs. They dwell on the funny and the pervers, and it pays off. The lead actors are solid, but the variety and skill of the very broad supporting cast truly made the film. So yes, I definitely recommend the film - just don't expect Wedding Crashers, Old School, or even Forgetting Sarah Marshall. Just go in ready to laugh at some off-center humor. Expand
  2. May 11, 2012
    10
    Jason Segel's films all suffer from the same two problems: editing and raunch. It keeps his movies from being classic chick flick comedies and relegates them to the status of mild chucklers soon forgotten. The funny gets lost in a sea of pointless footage. Since women are a primary audience for films like this, I think it's better to err on the side of less raunchy humor. No woman everJason Segel's films all suffer from the same two problems: editing and raunch. It keeps his movies from being classic chick flick comedies and relegates them to the status of mild chucklers soon forgotten. The funny gets lost in a sea of pointless footage. Since women are a primary audience for films like this, I think it's better to err on the side of less raunchy humor. No woman ever left a movie yet saying, "I wish there had been more raunchy humor." Watch Love, Actually to get the feel of how to do this. It may just be the difference between what constitutes raunchy to a male producer... and if so, maybe hire woman editors. Expand
  3. May 14, 2012
    7
    I heard very many mixed reviews of this movie so i became very intrigued. I decided to finally see it and i found myself walking out of the theater with a smile on my face. Its one of those films you become very attached to, and you actually feel what the characters are feeling. I thoroughly enjoyed this film. The only issue i found with it is it was overly long. It dragged on at differentI heard very many mixed reviews of this movie so i became very intrigued. I decided to finally see it and i found myself walking out of the theater with a smile on my face. Its one of those films you become very attached to, and you actually feel what the characters are feeling. I thoroughly enjoyed this film. The only issue i found with it is it was overly long. It dragged on at different points throughout but overall it was a good film. I'm actually a pretty big Jason Segel fan, hes a very good actor, and also a veryy good writer as well. I am also a big Emily Blunt fan too so it was definitely a great cast in my opinion, all in all this film was great and it will leave you with a smile on your face, not to spoil anything, but everybody knows how these films end. Great writing, great cast, laugh out loud comedy, drags a bit through the middle and leading towards the end but overally this is a good film. 7/10 Expand
  4. May 5, 2012
    8
    This move was HILARIOUS! So much better than "Bridesmaids". Extremely well written, a little awkward and slow at times, but overall great cast and great script! GO SEE IT! One of the better movies of the year.
  5. May 4, 2012
    9
    The excellent performances overcome a mostly predictable plot. Nevertheless there are some very funny scenes which make the film light and breezy and of course , enjoyable.
  6. Apr 28, 2012
    9
    I this movie was HILARIOUS!!! they could have done a little better when it came to casting, however.... I do recommend you see it. you will be laughing ur booty off!!!!!! -THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! -Me
  7. May 5, 2012
    9
    This was an extremely funny movie. Jason Segel's writing was brilliant and his acting matched it. Emily Blunt was delightful. Not quite as funny as Bridesmaids, but close. The movie may have been a little long but it was so funny that I didn't care. A must see.
  8. May 6, 2012
    7
    Blunt and Segel play a charming couple that you root for throughout the film. Their dynamics were always spot on and I never once viewed their interactions as "acting". Very sincere. Unfortunately, the secondary characters were either over shadowed or were not up to par either comically or emotionally. Not believable. I was surprised by the amount I enjoyed this picture as am not a majorBlunt and Segel play a charming couple that you root for throughout the film. Their dynamics were always spot on and I never once viewed their interactions as "acting". Very sincere. Unfortunately, the secondary characters were either over shadowed or were not up to par either comically or emotionally. Not believable. I was surprised by the amount I enjoyed this picture as am not a major fan of Apatow. As a rule I try to stay away from anything he has his hands in. Overall, funny, romcom that dudes can like. Expand
  9. May 19, 2012
    10
    Works on nearly every level. It's clever, funny and self aware. Segel has the ability to draw us in, make us feel something deeper than we're accustomed to. I like that. I like that a whole lot.
  10. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    Finally, a romantic comedy which does not take the same ol story template and puts whatever pretty boy face on the cover. very original writing and mature. EG. how many romantic comedies to you watch where their career actually has any influence on the story?
  11. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    The Five-Year Engagement is definitely unique, that's for sure. It's a romantic comedy that's not really all that romantic or funny. It's not really entertaining at all but it is well made with solid acting and a great cast. While it doesn't have much in the way of entertainment value, there's something very pure and real about the story being told that I think anyone could relate to. ItThe Five-Year Engagement is definitely unique, that's for sure. It's a romantic comedy that's not really all that romantic or funny. It's not really entertaining at all but it is well made with solid acting and a great cast. While it doesn't have much in the way of entertainment value, there's something very pure and real about the story being told that I think anyone could relate to. It almost felt like a modern-day satyr play in cinema form with the way the tragedies of life were very subtle and almost brushed aside but yet still powerful regarding the plot development. And while this certainly wasn't my favorite Jason Segel movie, it's still worth watching; It just wasn't really what I expected. Emily Blunt is stunning as usual. How she doesn't get more mainstream recognition for her beauty, acting ability, and versatility is beyond me. Also, the minor cast members and cameos really stood out and almost stole the show. Chris Pratt and Alison Brie were absolutely hilarious as were, well, just about everybody else. Honestly, Segel and Blunt might have been the least funny characters in the film. I think that's part of why they stood out so much though as relatable protagonists. Expand
  12. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    Does a lot of coasting at a lengthy 130 minutes, but Segel and Stoller's show makes up for the drag by breaking up the filler with heartfelt humor and hilarity.
  13. Jan 11, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Five-Year Engagement is surprisingly a decent movie.I`t had a bunch of funny lines. Personally I loved when they made fun of him for moving from San Fran to Michigan, cause really who would want to be a Chef in Michigan when you was one in San Fran. Expand
  14. Jan 9, 2013
    8
    The rare romantic comedy that is a real movie, rather than a series of genre conventions. And it doesn't shrink on the comedy in deference to the romance. There were also a healthy dose of melancholy sequences to make everything more real.
  15. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    This is a funny movie with a lot of heart. Segel and Blunt have great chemistry which leads to some very funny and heartfelt moments. The film maybe a tad long, but overall a very fun time.
  16. Oct 27, 2014
    7
    The failure of this film to capture the imagination of the american public can be attributed primarily to the american public's inability to tolerate films of any subtlety, preferring overt comedies and overt dramas to mixed bunches such as these. A good film, and self-explanatory.
  17. Jun 8, 2015
    8
    writer-director Nicholas Stoller and co-writer/star Jason Segel make a great team, the script's humor is charming and even though it's not original we've have sort had the feeling we have seen the same romantic comedy, they make it work! The dialogue is funny and heart felt it takes a cliche'd formula and turn into and a good comedic one. Segel and Blunt have sparkling chemistry you knowwriter-director Nicholas Stoller and co-writer/star Jason Segel make a great team, the script's humor is charming and even though it's not original we've have sort had the feeling we have seen the same romantic comedy, they make it work! The dialogue is funny and heart felt it takes a cliche'd formula and turn into and a good comedic one. Segel and Blunt have sparkling chemistry you know that their trying their best and have a charming relationship off screen. This comedy that producer Judd Apatow produced is not a "Apatow" raunchy comedy which is fine. My problems with the film is that It should have been shorter. Grade A- Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 21, 2012
    80
    As for Violet, Emily Blunt brings to the role genuine sympathy, and she continues to thaw out the ice-queen hauteur of her earlier movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Simon Braund
    Jun 17, 2012
    80
    Another solid hit from Planet Apatow - charming, funny and remarkably in tune with real life.
  3. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Apr 30, 2012
    70
    It's a seize-the-day movie, even though the day is a long time coming. [7 May 2012, p.80]