Row 1 Entertainment | Release Date: December 21, 2011
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 61 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
40
Mixed:
14
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
audreythomas25Feb 5, 2016
The filming techniques cross Saving Private Ryan with Zimou's own Hero and other dynastic, martial arts-driven Chinese epics.

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-22be9f-The-Flowers-of-War-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NFWJun 25, 2015
There is no honorable war. It's all terrible. Don't agree, think of it this way: how are the deaths of 300,000 Chinese innocents and the rape of 20,000 Chinese women honorable? It's not. "The Flowers of War" isn't just an effective anti-warThere is no honorable war. It's all terrible. Don't agree, think of it this way: how are the deaths of 300,000 Chinese innocents and the rape of 20,000 Chinese women honorable? It's not. "The Flowers of War" isn't just an effective anti-war film, but a powerful picture on what it means to be human. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
frozenpinkyJul 17, 2012
Don't go into this hoping it's an action flick. This is not a "Hero" or "House of Flying Daggers" martial arts/Wuxia flick. And just because it's a "war movie" doesn't mean it has to be non-stop action. Saving Private Ryan is mostly dramaDon't go into this hoping it's an action flick. This is not a "Hero" or "House of Flying Daggers" martial arts/Wuxia flick. And just because it's a "war movie" doesn't mean it has to be non-stop action. Saving Private Ryan is mostly drama with an under current of action, and so is this. If you want action, watch a Michael Bay movie or a Jason Stathom flick. This is a Zhang Yimou movie (Curse of the Golden Flower, The Road Home...etc) so it's going to mostly be about drama, as it should. It's a film about the relationship between an American mortician (Christian Bale), teenage Chinese school girls, and Chinese prostitutes learning to respect one another during the Japanese invasion of China, and it's done so in a beautiful sort of melodramatic way. Hiding in a church, we take a journey with the characters as they get to know one another under stressful, war-time tension. I was surprised when learning that Christian Bale would be play the American mortician, but he seemed to be more believable than I expected. It's worth a viewing, especially if you're a fan of Zhang Yimou's work. Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LILINICEDec 25, 2011
I have never been deeply moved by a Chinese movie,but the film ,The Flowes of War does it,.It made me a unforgettable impression.The polt and the frame of movie are very excellent .Most important, I was deeply stirred by the sad storyI have never been deeply moved by a Chinese movie,but the film ,The Flowes of War does it,.It made me a unforgettable impression.The polt and the frame of movie are very excellent .Most important, I was deeply stirred by the sad story of 13 FLOWERS .ALSO by the CHINA in the past .As a Chinese,I feel angry and wanna cry .But I can't forget the history of this period .This is a good film ,and it gives me a significant lesson.By the way,I hope you can love it like me. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
horatio2012Jan 11, 2012
I think this film reflects a compelling story of China. The director made â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
stephen-nyJan 12, 2012
Great movie, which tell you a crucial war story from a special point. However, I still can not fee strong logic for those 13 "flowers" to sacrifice their life for others.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
wangJan 14, 2012
æ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GGHJan 28, 2012
The Flowers of War: The story happened in a church where is closest to God, the cruelty of war and the goodness of humanity exhibited... kinetic battle scenes, beautiful photography and impressive performances, sad result but inspiring andThe Flowers of War: The story happened in a church where is closest to God, the cruelty of war and the goodness of humanity exhibited... kinetic battle scenes, beautiful photography and impressive performances, sad result but inspiring and unforgettable! I have to say this is an amazing movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kahnFeb 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a good chinese film.Best director,best Actor,best Screenwriter.I moved by the film deeply!The film expresses braveï¼ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lexi0125Aug 19, 2012
Amazing Amazing Amazing movie. Tear jerker but amazing acting and amazing story line. It has to be one of the best movies I have ever seen. And I am a avid movie goer.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MissEightiesDec 16, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Donner 10 à un film est toujours mal vu. Mais moi je me dis, si j'ai adorée le film, s'il m'a touché, si je n'y ai pas trouvé de longueur et que j'en aurais demandé plus...voilà quelques raison pourquoi je donne 10. Dans ce film dont les images ne sont pas facile à regarder, où les balles traversent les corps et les têtes...certaines scènes démontrent un grand côté artistique, voire la beauté à travers le drame, la scène qui me vient en tête est celle que les filles de joies s'enroulent dans les draps blancs, elles tournent sur elles-mêmes, en même temps, tel une performance de ballet. Lorsque les filles laissent tomber à tour de rôle un miroir qui éclate en fracats par terre au ralenti. Tout au long du film il y a des intrigues et des revirements de situation. Les actrices asiatiques m'ont particulièrement touchées. Vraiment, ce film est magnique. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KostieOct 11, 2013
A great film. Very interesting and moving story. You really get a view on the Nanjing Massacre with the graphic cruelty and horror shown in many scenes.
Wouldn't say it was Bale's best performance. The plot manages to stick on the main theme
A great film. Very interesting and moving story. You really get a view on the Nanjing Massacre with the graphic cruelty and horror shown in many scenes.
Wouldn't say it was Bale's best performance. The plot manages to stick on the main theme which is war, courage, sacrifice..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews