Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: August 15, 1986
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 92 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
81
Mixed:
8
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
makemenuconfigApr 15, 2012
The atmosphere, the characters, the story, the music, the performances, the special effects. They all combine neatly into this perfect mixture of character story horror drama. Trully a masterpiece.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergJun 5, 2011
One of my all time favorites from the 1980s horror cycle. A scientist's genes are mixed with that of a common house fly and soon he begins to transform into a giant half man, half fly creature. In the meantime he is helped through his deeplyOne of my all time favorites from the 1980s horror cycle. A scientist's genes are mixed with that of a common house fly and soon he begins to transform into a giant half man, half fly creature. In the meantime he is helped through his deeply horrifying problem by his loving girlfriend. I love the effects, which still look realistic here in 2011 and the music is amazing and sounds more like an operatic piece than a horror soundtrack. All in all, I LOVE THIS FILM! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
aaronpaul121Oct 3, 2012
Though it is not one of the best horror films, it is definitely one of the classics..........................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
lgnburrisDec 7, 2011
Can't believe I hadn't seen this before now. I understand why it is considered a classic, great acting, great story, great direction and a very gruesome monster.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24May 31, 2013
As with other Cronenberg ventures, "The Fly" is filthy and an appalling shockfest, but it's also an uncommonly affecting and sobering tragedy with a star-making performance from Jeff Goldblum.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Skullgirlsfan13May 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. it's been awhile since I seen this film, I remember having real fond memories of it, and now I decided to watch it again after these years. I just saw it again and I still have good thoughts about it. I remember before I ever watched this move that I was scared to even watch this, but after years then of conquering my fear of this film I watched then. This is getting confusing. I think this is one of the most classic sci-fi films out there; note how I didn't say that it was the best though, and I just love this movie. The main reason why I love this movie is just how gross this movie is, usually that's a negative comment, but here's the exception. The performances in this are okay, Jeff is his usual Jeff self: always studering and making every scene as dramatic as possible. I can't even remember the other characters actually, only what they did. The effects are done well, and are even pretty good by today's standards. I like practical effects, even though at times you can clearly tell there fake, but that doesn't matter it shows just how hard people can work on these type of effects. I feel that the romantic storyline is somewhat odd in this grotesque piece of cinema, but at the end it just feels so right, and makes the fact that a man trying to become a advanced life form sympathetic. Maybe that was exaggerated a bit there. Overall, I really believe that this film is worth watching, just stomach through it and you won't forget it, literally. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DavidN.Dec 28, 2007
Cronenberg's masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kmApr 26, 2009
Never gets old. Classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GavinCJul 27, 2009
It's not every day that you watch a film that makes you cringe due to its level of gore without being a load of rubbish but this film achieves it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndySSep 14, 2007
One of the three best American movies of the '80s.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
imthenoobFeb 19, 2014
A tad bit fast paced but it's one of those films that you can't help but love. Goldblum was great and the make up/special effects are awesome and are far better than most special effects done today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Longo12Feb 26, 2014
I would never call this a perfect movie but it is very entertaining and what more could I ask for? A must watch for any horror and gore fan! They certainly don't make movies like this one anymore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4May 31, 2015
The Fly is one of the most intriguing horror films that I have seen from any time. The performances are great from both Geena Davis and Jeff Goldblum which can be a rarity in horror films. The film only gets better and better as it goes andThe Fly is one of the most intriguing horror films that I have seen from any time. The performances are great from both Geena Davis and Jeff Goldblum which can be a rarity in horror films. The film only gets better and better as it goes and the ending is outstanding. It is so interesting to watch Goldblum's transformation throughout the movie and the makeup is so well done, I don't think it could've looked any better if it was done today which is a big compliment to give any film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
UltimateBubFeb 18, 2015
I don't think "The Fly" is a perfect movie, but it's really damn close. For its genre, "The Fly" is everything you could ask for. Entertaining, scary, exciting... I even found some scenes funny. Even when the special effects are clearlyI don't think "The Fly" is a perfect movie, but it's really damn close. For its genre, "The Fly" is everything you could ask for. Entertaining, scary, exciting... I even found some scenes funny. Even when the special effects are clearly outdated, the makeup looks very cool and realistic, even by today's standards. And the movie is so focused, it doesn't waste any time with subplots or whatever. It's a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mathewreviewerNov 18, 2016
Wow, this was actually pretty disturbing, but it is not Cronenberg's best in my opinion. He could do better with this movie after what we discovered he could do, like in Videodrome and Scanners a couple of years before this movie came out.
So, 8/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
csjApr 15, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Fly is truly one of the best movies of the 1980s and its merits are numerous: Jeff Goldblum's portrayal of a man's descent into madness is both tragic and harrowing; its imaginative premise allows it to explore the philosophical question of what separates man from animal; it fleshes out its characters so well that by its conclusion the viewer's sympathies to the characters shift almost completely. It is both nuanced and shocking whenever the story demands. In the hands of a lesser director the movie could have simply been another stereotypical '80s horror creature feature, but Cronenberg elevates it to something much more high concept and exhilarating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews