The Forgotten

User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 176
  2. Negative: 93 out of 176
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TinaA.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    Are you people insane? This movie was amazing, and one of the best thrillers ever! Ms. Moore was spectacular!
  2. TylerD.
    Jul 4, 2005
    9
    The Forgotten is a really great movie. It made me jump a few times, especially the transport crash and when the people get blown into the sky. Really great movie!
  3. KatieP
    Sep 26, 2004
    10
    Don't listen to these stuck up, pretentious critics. It was a good movie, and very scary at times. I was so scared I couldn't even look at the screen at one point. I recommend you see it if you like this kind of movie.
  4. TK
    Sep 29, 2004
    8
    I am guess I am nuts...but I thought this was a pretty good flick. If you are an X-files you will like it even more. There were some pretty good moments and the story in whole was good. I would say go see it.
  5. RobertJ.
    Mar 23, 2005
    8
    I watched this on my HD 65 inch TV and I have to say I jumped out of my seat a few times. I knew nothing about the film not even a preview. Anyone remotely interested in ET visitations will love it. Its much better than people saying about it. We could be lab rats right now, there is that hint of this could be true. Similar to movies like the exorcist. Religious people were very disturbed I watched this on my HD 65 inch TV and I have to say I jumped out of my seat a few times. I knew nothing about the film not even a preview. Anyone remotely interested in ET visitations will love it. Its much better than people saying about it. We could be lab rats right now, there is that hint of this could be true. Similar to movies like the exorcist. Religious people were very disturbed when that came out. The non science fiction people should not see this as it will have zero appeal. Expand
  6. wooo.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    Better than the sixth sense. Gripping all the way through.
  7. TonyM.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    I Like This Movie It Waz Good I Think That Juliann Morre Did A Great Job At This Movie (srry Dont how to spell her name) But Overall I Think This Waz A Great Movie Because It Teaches U Stuff That U Have Not Realized Before And So Thats Why I Think This Is A Good Movie.
  8. PharrellH.
    Sep 23, 2004
    7
    Ultimately this is a worthwhile effort, although the resolution is both predictable and unsatisfying to say the least. There are several key moments during the course of the first hour or so when the audience will be jolted, making this a great date/popcorn flick or rental upon dvd release. Credit the director and editor for those. Julianne Moore and West are believable as VERY static Ultimately this is a worthwhile effort, although the resolution is both predictable and unsatisfying to say the least. There are several key moments during the course of the first hour or so when the audience will be jolted, making this a great date/popcorn flick or rental upon dvd release. Credit the director and editor for those. Julianne Moore and West are believable as VERY static characters, while Sinise, Woodard, and Edwards are given smaller bit parts in a movie with nothing but bit parts. Just wished there was more to the plot, or what little presented here was more carefully fleshed out. Expand
  9. Jack
    Sep 26, 2004
    10
    Great plot, great acting, great movie.
  10. JoeB.
    Feb 13, 2005
    8
    The movie definitely deserves more than it's gotten. It was pretty suspenseful with a different story.
  11. JonathanZ.
    Jul 18, 2005
    8
    A movie enjoyed best when you don't know anything about how it will turn out. Too bad the critics (professional and amateur) are giving away the danger. I suspected several people before the film disclosed the villains. And by the way, what's wrong with a deus ex machina once in a while? It was good enough for the ancient Greeks, and their stories certainly stand above most of A movie enjoyed best when you don't know anything about how it will turn out. Too bad the critics (professional and amateur) are giving away the danger. I suspected several people before the film disclosed the villains. And by the way, what's wrong with a deus ex machina once in a while? It was good enough for the ancient Greeks, and their stories certainly stand above most of the garbage our culture produces. Expand
  12. AutumnL.
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Awesome Movie. Great Plot, great effects, and excellent acting. If you don't go see it you are missing one of the best movie experiences of the year. It is that good.
  13. SandyF.
    Sep 25, 2004
    10
    When I saw the ending I was blown out of my seat. I think most people who rate the film fail to see the film by itself without comparing it to other films. The implications in the film require intelligence to understand. The film makes you work...quite hard in a good way to understand its hidden meanings.
  14. JodeG.
    Sep 26, 2004
    9
    Before i saw this film i was worried that it was gonna be crap. I had quickly glanced a lot of really bad reviews and was sure it was going to have an ending that just ruined anything that lead up to it. However....that was not the case. I feel critics who dismissed this movie went into it expecting one thing and when the film took a turn into another genre, they cried foul. Some superb Before i saw this film i was worried that it was gonna be crap. I had quickly glanced a lot of really bad reviews and was sure it was going to have an ending that just ruined anything that lead up to it. However....that was not the case. I feel critics who dismissed this movie went into it expecting one thing and when the film took a turn into another genre, they cried foul. Some superb acting, great special effects, intense action and some seriously scary moments make for a kick-ass movie experience. Different than anything out there, The Forgotten is definately worth a watch. Expand
  15. PeterJ.
    Feb 17, 2005
    7
    This movie is nowhere near as bad as the critics and users say it is. While the ending was not very good (which those making the movie knew it wasn't so they added an alternative ending,) the rest of the movie was very suspensful and had me on edge up until the ending. I also agree that the car crash sceen was excellent! I don't want to ruin it but there is another worthwhile This movie is nowhere near as bad as the critics and users say it is. While the ending was not very good (which those making the movie knew it wasn't so they added an alternative ending,) the rest of the movie was very suspensful and had me on edge up until the ending. I also agree that the car crash sceen was excellent! I don't want to ruin it but there is another worthwhile seen that may jolt some out of their seats! Good movie overall. Bad ending. Expand
  16. [Anonymous]
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    Better than the sixth sense.
  17. MarkB.
    Nov 13, 2004
    7
    There just isn't enough space, here or elsewhere, to adequately praise Julianne Moore. In films like Safe, Far from Heaven and The Hours, she corners the market on portrayals of suburban wives and mothers whose outward security and placidity eventually gives way to hidden fears and desires that polite society doesn't allow to be discussed much less dealt with. (It's There just isn't enough space, here or elsewhere, to adequately praise Julianne Moore. In films like Safe, Far from Heaven and The Hours, she corners the market on portrayals of suburban wives and mothers whose outward security and placidity eventually gives way to hidden fears and desires that polite society doesn't allow to be discussed much less dealt with. (It's interesting that the offscreen Moore seems to have such a happy, totally uncomplicated family life.) Though I'm sure its makers weren't ambitious enough to intend it to be, The Forgotten, a modest, trendily conspiracy-minded thriller, is an interesting addition to the above list of delineations of Moore's most recognizable screen character. She plays a mom whose beloved son almost literally disappears into thin air before the movie begins; other similarly afflicted parents she meets have not only taken their tragic losses in stride, but seem to have completely forgotten that their children ever even existed. Moore not only won't forget, but her behavior--which most of us would consider for the most part absolutely normal and understandable for a grieving parent who has been denied closure--is viewed by the others (and by society) as completely inappropriate and bizarre. There are definitely all sort of potentially provocative subtexts here, but writer Gerard DiPego (Phenomenon) and director Joseph Ruben don't take the opportunities. Although this movie could be described as "The 2004 M. Night Shyamalan Movie That M. Night DIDN'T Make", Ruben is no auteur like the brains behind The Village. A competent, workmanlike thriller director who, along with Jonathan Demme, John Waters, Joe Camp, Michael Schultz and Bob Clark (what a motley crew THAT is!) is one of the very few 2004 directors to have been working since the 1970s, Ruben is primarily interested in goosing you from behind and yelling "BOO!" And that he does very effectively; an out-of-nowhere shock that Steven Spielberg delivered so effectively in Jaws, but did once and only once, is repeated several times here. (Judging from the reaction of the audience I saw this with, I've no doubt that the theater ushers who clean up the spilled popcorn and drinks between showings really earned their pay with this one.) Maybe this is why (some Metacritic voters to the contrary) The Forgotten, despite its seemingly out-of-nowhere ending that really isn't, hasn't aroused the extreme anger among some moviegoers that Shyamalan's far more ambitious, accomplished and elegant The Village has. Through it all, Moore delivers yet another perfectly tuned characterization that beautifully portrays all the necessary emotional peaks and valleys of her character's journey without ever seeming false, over the top or straining for effect. All in all, with Moore, The Forgotten is more than the sum of its parts; without Moore, it would be far, far less. Expand
  18. MarkB.
    Nov 13, 2004
    7
    There just isn't enough space, here or elsewhere, to adequately praise Julianne Moore. In films like Safe, Far from Heaven and The Hours, she corners the market on portrayals of suburban wives and mothers whose outward security and placidity eventually gives way to hidden fears and desires that polite society doesn't allow to be discussed much less dealt with. (It's There just isn't enough space, here or elsewhere, to adequately praise Julianne Moore. In films like Safe, Far from Heaven and The Hours, she corners the market on portrayals of suburban wives and mothers whose outward security and placidity eventually gives way to hidden fears and desires that polite society doesn't allow to be discussed much less dealt with. (It's interesting that the offscreen Moore seems to have such a happy, totally uncomplicated family life.) Though I'm sure its makers weren't ambitious enough to intend it to be, The Forgotten, a modest, trendily conspiracy-minded thriller, is an interesting addition to the above list of delineations of Moore's most recognizable screen character. She plays a mom whose beloved son almost literally disappears into thin air before the movie begins; other similarly afflicted parents she meets have not only taken their tragic losses in stride, but seem to have completely forgotten that their children ever even existed. Moore not only won't forget, but her behavior--which most of us would consider for the most part absolutely normal and understandable for a grieving parent who has been denied closure--is viewed by the others (and by society) as completely inappropriate and bizarre. There are definitely all sort of potentially provocative subtexts here, but writer Gerard DiPego (Phenomenon) and director Joseph Ruben don't take the opportunities. Although this movie could be described as "The 2004 M. Night Shyamalan Movie That M. Night DIDN'T Make", Ruben is no auteur like the brains behind The Village. A competent, workmanlike thriller director who, along with Jonathan Demme, John Waters, Joe Camp, Michael Schultz and Bob Clark (what a motley crew THAT is!) is one of the very few 2004 directors to have been working since the 1970s, Ruben is primarily interested in goosing you from behind and yelling "BOO!" And that he does very effectively; an out-of-nowhere shock that Steven Spielberg delivered so effectively in Jaws, but did once and only once, is repeated several times here. (Judging from the reaction of the audience I saw this with, I've no doubt that the theater ushers who clean up the spilled popcorn and drinks between showings really earned their pay with this one.) Maybe this is why (some Metacritic voters to the contrary) The Forgotten, despite its seemingly out-of-nowhere ending that really isn't, hasn't aroused the extreme anger among some moviegoers that Shyamalan's far more ambitious, accomplished and elegant The Village has. Through it all, Moore delivers yet another perfectly tuned characterization that beautifully portrays all the necessary emotional peaks and valleys of her character's journey without ever seeming false, over the top or straining for effect. All in all, with Moore, The Forgotten is more than the sum of its parts; without Moore, it would be far, far less. Expand
  19. JenS
    Dec 18, 2004
    8
    This movie totally spooked me out- in a good way. Yes, there are some plot holes, and some very weird scenes, but it was the kind of movie that makes you think about it long after you've seen it.
  20. IanB
    Feb 22, 2005
    8
    This was a lot better than it is being portrayed. While it is disappointing that you won't be able experience the visuals in the theatre anymore, it is still worth a rental. It has an exciting and different plot - I was so worried it was going to break down into a run-of-the-mill devil movie that is so common. Instead it will present a completely different twist. Maybe it is because This was a lot better than it is being portrayed. While it is disappointing that you won't be able experience the visuals in the theatre anymore, it is still worth a rental. It has an exciting and different plot - I was so worried it was going to break down into a run-of-the-mill devil movie that is so common. Instead it will present a completely different twist. Maybe it is because of this that some people don't like it. It definately makes you think more than your average horror flick. It has some horror parts but really is much more a thriller. Expand
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 34
  2. Negative: 8 out of 34
  1. 40
    The resolution is as surprise-free as it is improbably sunny.
  2. A thriller of carefully cultivated murk. It's enigmatic in the worst sense, in that every explanation for what's going on holds less water than the last.
  3. Ultimately only Moore, with her eyes always half-damp and voice half-cracked and body language half-mad, keeps the movie on the ground, when it too often threatens to fly into the thin air, where the audience would laugh it off the screen.