Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 6, 2009
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 81 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
30
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
MattBrady99Jan 31, 2016
One of the most insulting, misleading and false movie I've ever seen. I never liked the "base on a true story" thing that's in every found footage film, but The Fourth Kind pissed me off so much that I couldn't finish it, because the movieOne of the most insulting, misleading and false movie I've ever seen. I never liked the "base on a true story" thing that's in every found footage film, but The Fourth Kind pissed me off so much that I couldn't finish it, because the movie sloppily adverse itself as a "real life story" of these strange encounters that never happened. The dialogue is laughable, the acting was unconvincing and everything in this movie failed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
UrbanlistenerNov 23, 2015
I have to say I kind of enjoyed this film because yes it is a bit like the X-files, but still, it's an original film, it's well-made in that documentary kind of film, there some truly disturbing moments and mostly, it is genuinely interestingI have to say I kind of enjoyed this film because yes it is a bit like the X-files, but still, it's an original film, it's well-made in that documentary kind of film, there some truly disturbing moments and mostly, it is genuinely interesting as a whole. Not your average horror flick, I really understand why some people would hate it, but for me, it worked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
horcrux2007Nov 14, 2015
It's always a bit fun when a found footage movie affirms to be real footage and sticks with that claim throughout the film. You get to play along with the filmmakers and hopefully get a satisfying horror flick out of it. Movies likeIt's always a bit fun when a found footage movie affirms to be real footage and sticks with that claim throughout the film. You get to play along with the filmmakers and hopefully get a satisfying horror flick out of it. Movies like Paranormal Activity and The Blair Witch Project did this well, but some movies are a bit too ardent about their authenticity and come off as silly. The Fourth Kind fits somewhere in the ladder category. In The Fourth Kind, the town of Nome, Alaska is plagued by mysterious disappearances, murders and suicides in the early 2000's. A psychologist, Abbey Taylor, head hypnosis sessions with various patients whose stories seem to have distinct similarities, and Abbey realizes that she might be tormented by the same thing that afflicts her patients. The film mostly mixes found footage with dramatized versions of the footage, sometimes showing the "real" and dramatized portions side-by-side. For the most part, it's just aggravating. You'll hear the same dialog from two different actors at the same time on occasion, which begs the question why they didn't either go all-in with the found footage. The found footage scenes are the most intense parts of the films. Not necessarily scary, but they are visceral enough to be memorable. The dramatized scenes are melodramatic and dull. Surprisingly, the movie would have been much better if it was completely found footage. The Fourth Kind has some effective stretches here and there, but it's mostly a half-baked affair. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
chepod8Jun 14, 2015
El tema sobre las abducciones probablemente sea de los más difíciles de tratar y plasmar de una manera tan sutil, pero aquí uno termina con varias sugestiones sobre lo que sucede en nuestro universo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
khutchMar 18, 2014
If aliens exist, for sure, they are insulted with this film.
Can not scare or make the viewer believe (at least most of them) as they suggest.
A The Fourth Kind can be horrible, but does not come close of this ****
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MaZzIMo24Dec 18, 2013
Hello from Germany.

This film is shot class, matching the original materials are very well done. On the whole, the film is well done and prompts the viewer to think. My theory is roughly the same, and I rejoice to such information.
Hello from Germany.

This film is shot class, matching the original materials are very well done.
On the whole, the film is well done and prompts the viewer to think.
My theory is roughly the same, and I rejoice to such information.

Dear greetings from Germany
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
UtopianStuffJul 4, 2013
Disappointing to no end. After "Paranormal Activity" I watch paranormal movies with new eyes, as for this movie, its terrible. What I hated most about this movie is the fact that the movie is SO bold, it says that the movie consists of ACTUALDisappointing to no end. After "Paranormal Activity" I watch paranormal movies with new eyes, as for this movie, its terrible. What I hated most about this movie is the fact that the movie is SO bold, it says that the movie consists of ACTUAL FOOTAGE that PROVES THE EXISTENCE OF PARANORMAL ALIENS!! What the hell??? The movie can get violent at times, and its supposed to be real footage, and its rated PG-13!! Are you serious with this s**t? If its real footage, and your going to show the supposed real violent proof, make it rated R! And the people are supposedly real people, they say that they needed to change their names to protect their identities, BUT WE CAN SEE THEIR FACES!! Change their names all you want but we see who they are. I called bulls**t. Yeah, it's pretty terrible. I was looking forward to this movie and I was just DISAPPOINTED. If you like alien movies, don't watch this film, if you like paranormal movies, don't watch this film, if you like sci-fi, don't watch this film, if you like good movies, don't watch this film. Its pretty terrible. I can't recommend this film to ANYONE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
mds03Mar 3, 2013
The whole movie is completely unbelievable. The supposed actual footage is totally fake. You would have to be stupid to believe any of this actually happened. Although it's very insulting to your intelligence, you can't help but get a littleThe whole movie is completely unbelievable. The supposed actual footage is totally fake. You would have to be stupid to believe any of this actually happened. Although it's very insulting to your intelligence, you can't help but get a little creeped out while your watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AlienSpaceBatsJun 3, 2012
Personally, I enjoyed the film. The viewer partial to UFO fiction or interested in the paranormal will get more out of it than the casual viewer will. Fans of Fire In The Sky and Whitley Streiber's book "Communion" will love it. HighlightsPersonally, I enjoyed the film. The viewer partial to UFO fiction or interested in the paranormal will get more out of it than the casual viewer will. Fans of Fire In The Sky and Whitley Streiber's book "Communion" will love it. Highlights for me are the (fake) "found footage" sections which work tremendously well, less is more is used to great effect - similar to The Blair Witch in that regard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
FullmetalMay 29, 2012
This film was pretty bad. It was interesting enough for me to look up the actual events. Here is a headline: there aren't any. The whole damn thing is a hoax. The so called people who were abducted were ruled as intoxicated and wandered outThis film was pretty bad. It was interesting enough for me to look up the actual events. Here is a headline: there aren't any. The whole damn thing is a hoax. The so called people who were abducted were ruled as intoxicated and wandered out into the woods never to be seen again. I'm thinking the director thought we would be stupid enough to believe the "actual" footage was real. Here's a headline: the actual footage is fake too. The actress that plays the "real" Dr. Tyler during the interviews is a freakn' ACTRESS. She isn't credited but IMDB blew that out of the water. Needless to say, this movie is kaka and I wont be watching anything else from this director. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
moviegrabbagMar 5, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie comes out at the beginning and out right says that it's real. Now if you do a little research you learn that it's not so much true. However if you go into it and just roll with it and let the movie take you it turns into a pretty solid found footage movie. And the actors in the found the footage did a great job especially the found footage DR. Overall if you are a fan of found footage you will probably enjoy this movie or if you go in knowing little to nothing about this movie like I did you will have fun with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
Bottom Line: Two-star alien film fails to impress, rarely thrills. Admittedly creepy, but also pretty crappy.

Occasional use of the â
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Oct 4, 2011
Oren Pelli's "The Fourth Kind" is not a movie that will scare your guts off, not even till the last moment (like "Blair Witch Project" or "Paranormal Activity"). Instead it will make you wonder how dumb is the director to direct such idiotic movie.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Khunter4382Sep 20, 2011
Horrifying. The first time I watched this film, I felt chills and tingles go down the back of my neck. As a hardcore fan of the Sci-Fi genre, I was completely engrossed with this film. Some scenes are mirrored and occasionally display aHorrifying. The first time I watched this film, I felt chills and tingles go down the back of my neck. As a hardcore fan of the Sci-Fi genre, I was completely engrossed with this film. Some scenes are mirrored and occasionally display a dual-frame mode with actors on one frame and the "real" victims being hypnotised in the other. The score is eerie and is very befitting of the emotions at hand throughout the film. If you have any interest in extraterrestrials or abduction, this is a fine exhibition into that realm! However, once you realize that the "real" footage is all bull, this film becomes less horrifying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
iamtrent424Dec 19, 2010
this movie wasn't good at all. it was kind of scary the first time but then i watch it again and it was so stupid. They say this movie based on true events but they dont tell you what events it is based on. No part of this movie isthis movie wasn't good at all. it was kind of scary the first time but then i watch it again and it was so stupid. They say this movie based on true events but they dont tell you what events it is based on. No part of this movie is believable. If this movie was real they still didnt do a good job with the story. They was so many missing parts and so many questions. One of the worst based on true story or true events horror stories ever created. Don't watch this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Falling_HammerSep 14, 2010
This review contains spoilers. Personally I loved this film, why? Because it is just scary and the scenes from archive are just so real and it kept me on the edge of my seat. Actors played their roles very well and for me this film has got no disadvantages. So I give this film my highest rating. Collapse
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
feardrinkerSep 3, 2010
The movie is an oddball mixture of genuine scares and inept filmmaking. At points the movie is embarrassingly goofy, but for a few moments there my hair was definitely standing on end. The best bits, I think, are the scenes were the doctorThe movie is an oddball mixture of genuine scares and inept filmmaking. At points the movie is embarrassingly goofy, but for a few moments there my hair was definitely standing on end. The best bits, I think, are the scenes were the doctor interviews her patients (via hypnosis) and draws out all the things they had tried to forget. Very convincing performances by the actors portraying the patients, for the most part. Jovovich is a competent actress but miscast here, given her spandex-zombie-asskicking background. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
KevinFNov 17, 2009
Hey, it's like this stuff actually happened! No; this movie is obnoxious and spends time trying to prove to you this is real while avoiding a plot build up. I gave it a one for some good CGI effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BarryLNov 16, 2009
Terrifying if you go into this cold with no prior knowledge. An average experience if you know of the tricks. We went in cold and really enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PoppyHallNov 10, 2009
I was so scared! I loved this movie. It had me on the edge of my seat and afterward I felt very unsettled. It had a very creepy feel, and the performances - even the small ones - were fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Nov 6, 2009
An owl is "the most imaginable evil on Earth" and smells like "putrid cinnamon", according to one of Dr. Abigail Tyler's patients, whose description of an alien lifeform sounds so absurd, you start to half-believe that the sleep An owl is "the most imaginable evil on Earth" and smells like "putrid cinnamon", according to one of Dr. Abigail Tyler's patients, whose description of an alien lifeform sounds so absurd, you start to half-believe that the sleep hypnosis videotapes are indeed real. Truth must be stranger than fiction, the moviegoer thinks, because what screenwriter in his right mind would use an animal so utterly unscary, so closely related to the Harry Potter movies(and books), unless he was forced to, due to the historical record which precludes his own extra-terrestrial inventions. A feral flamingo, perhaps? A penguin, even. Accepting the documentary footage as a non-fiction element, a starting point for Milla Jonovich(as the real-life Dr. Abigail Tyler) and her co-stars to recreate the events seen on video and heard on audio, makes or breaks "The Fourth Kind"(a bastardization of the narrative/doc hybrid form used in Shari Springer Berman and Robert Pulcini's "American Splendor"), since the moviegoer is made self-aware that his/her suspension of disbelief is a decision that the filmmaker has already predetermined for the audience. Non-compliance with the alien abduction storyline as fact might be beside the point anyway, since the duped and unduped should be equally bored by the sheer hokiness of the archival segments interspersed throughout this relatively glossy docu-drama. Admittedly, the application of an existing academic institution's name in the graphics during a sit-down interview conducted by a writer with the "real-life" Dr. Tyler, gives the first-hand account an outward aspect of authenticity, as does the "name omitted" device "The Fourth Kind" uses during the doctor's sessions with her doomed patients(the same technique to preserve anonymity should have applied whenever the owl gets a mention.), but it all seems so pointless, so laborious, this fabrication, when the film is so lacking in suspense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
waltersNov 6, 2009
Milla Jovovich is an Amazing Actress, She can do any Genre she wants. I Loved this movie despite all the bad reviews, and gets us to wonder if Aliens are out there?.?
0 of 0 users found this helpful