User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 64
  2. Negative: 19 out of 64

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    1
    If aliens exist, for sure, they are insulted with this film.
    Can not scare or make the viewer believe (at least most of them) as they suggest.
    A The Fourth Kind can be horrible, but does not come close of this ****
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    Hello from Germany.

    This film is shot class, matching the original materials are very well done.
    On the whole, the film is well done and prompts the viewer to think.
    My theory is roughly the same, and I rejoice to such information.

    Dear greetings from Germany
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    0
    Disappointing to no end. After "Paranormal Activity" I watch paranormal movies with new eyes, as for this movie, its terrible. What I hated most about this movie is the fact that the movie is SO bold, it says that the movie consists of ACTUAL FOOTAGE that PROVES THE EXISTENCE OF PARANORMAL ALIENS!! What the hell??? The movie can get violent at times, and its supposed to be real footage, and its rated PG-13!! Are you serious with this s**t? If its real footage, and your going to show the supposed real violent proof, make it rated R! And the people are supposedly real people, they say that they needed to change their names to protect their identities, BUT WE CAN SEE THEIR FACES!! Change their names all you want but we see who they are. I called bulls**t. Yeah, it's pretty terrible. I was looking forward to this movie and I was just DISAPPOINTED. If you like alien movies, don't watch this film, if you like paranormal movies, don't watch this film, if you like sci-fi, don't watch this film, if you like good movies, don't watch this film. Its pretty terrible. I can't recommend this film to ANYONE. Expand
  4. Mar 3, 2013
    5
    The whole movie is completely unbelievable. The supposed actual footage is totally fake. You would have to be stupid to believe any of this actually happened. Although it's very insulting to your intelligence, you can't help but get a little creeped out while your watching it.
  5. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    Personally, I enjoyed the film. The viewer partial to UFO fiction or interested in the paranormal will get more out of it than the casual viewer will. Fans of Fire In The Sky and Whitley Streiber's book "Communion" will love it. Highlights for me are the (fake) "found footage" sections which work tremendously well, less is more is used to great effect - similar to The Blair Witch in that regard.
  6. May 29, 2012
    1
    This film was pretty bad. It was interesting enough for me to look up the actual events. Here is a headline: there aren't any. The whole damn thing is a hoax. The so called people who were abducted were ruled as intoxicated and wandered out into the woods never to be seen again. I'm thinking the director thought we would be stupid enough to believe the "actual" footage was real. Here's a headline: the actual footage is fake too. The actress that plays the "real" Dr. Tyler during the interviews is a freakn' ACTRESS. She isn't credited but IMDB blew that out of the water. Needless to say, this movie is kaka and I wont be watching anything else from this director. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie comes out at the beginning and out right says that it's real. Now if you do a little research you learn that it's not so much true. However if you go into it and just roll with it and let the movie take you it turns into a pretty solid found footage movie. And the actors in the found the footage did a great job especially the found footage DR. Overall if you are a fan of found footage you will probably enjoy this movie or if you go in knowing little to nothing about this movie like I did you will have fun with it. Expand
  8. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    Bottom Line: Two-star alien film fails to impress, rarely thrills. Admittedly creepy, but also pretty crappy.

    Occasional use of the â
  9. Oct 4, 2011
    4
    Oren Pelli's "The Fourth Kind" is not a movie that will scare your guts off, not even till the last moment (like "Blair Witch Project" or "Paranormal Activity"). Instead it will make you wonder how dumb is the director to direct such idiotic movie.
  10. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    Horrifying. The first time I watched this film, I felt chills and tingles go down the back of my neck. As a hardcore fan of the Sci-Fi genre, I was completely engrossed with this film. Some scenes are mirrored and occasionally display a dual-frame mode with actors on one frame and the "real" victims being hypnotised in the other. The score is eerie and is very befitting of the emotions at hand throughout the film. If you have any interest in extraterrestrials or abduction, this is a fine exhibition into that realm! However, once you realize that the "real" footage is all bull, this film becomes less horrifying. Expand
  11. Dec 19, 2010
    2
    this movie wasn't good at all. it was kind of scary the first time but then i watch it again and it was so stupid. They say this movie based on true events but they dont tell you what events it is based on. No part of this movie is believable. If this movie was real they still didnt do a good job with the story. They was so many missing parts and so many questions. One of the worst based on true story or true events horror stories ever created. Don't watch this movie. Expand
  12. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Personally I loved this film, why? Because it is just scary and the scenes from archive are just so real and it kept me on the edge of my seat. Actors played their roles very well and for me this film has got no disadvantages. So I give this film my highest rating. Expand
  13. Sep 3, 2010
    5
    The movie is an oddball mixture of genuine scares and inept filmmaking. At points the movie is embarrassingly goofy, but for a few moments there my hair was definitely standing on end. The best bits, I think, are the scenes were the doctor interviews her patients (via hypnosis) and draws out all the things they had tried to forget. Very convincing performances by the actors portraying the patients, for the most part. Jovovich is a competent actress but miscast here, given her spandex-zombie-asskicking background. Expand
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    40
    A couple of modestly effective shocks lie in store.
  2. Combines purported raw case study footage with dramatic "recreations" to unsuccessful effect.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    40
    Even the most gullible auds will be challenged to buy into the picture, billed as "based on the actual case studies" and, in any case, rendered rather boring by writer-director Olatunde Osunsanmi ("The Cavern").