Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on a true story, an Alaska State Trooper partners with a young woman who escaped the clutches of serial killer Robert Hansen to bring the murderer to justice.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 7 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Aug 22, 2013
    63
    Cusack and Cage — who don’t have any scenes together until halfway through — do their best work in years, while erstwhile “High School Musical’’ star Hudgens shows off acting chops missing in “Spring Breakers.’’
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Aug 1, 2013
    60
    This is an unambitious, old-school thriller, nothing more and nothing less.
  3. Reviewed by: Josh Winning
    Aug 1, 2013
    60
    It’s handsomely lensed, and when Cage and Cusack finally go nose-to-nose, the fur does fly.
  4. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Aug 26, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, writer-director Scott Walker's film is a muddled and strangely inert one, generating little of the suspense or anguish its subject requires; despite its high-profile cast.
  5. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Aug 22, 2013
    30
    Although writer-director Scott Walker seems committed to not overly exploiting his lurid subject matter, the movie is just too dreary, disjointed and generically creepy to be persuasive.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Kassel
    Aug 20, 2013
    25
    A vague and forgettable crime thriller that would have benefited from more character development or at least a grounding of the narrative in one central protagonist.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jul 18, 2013
    20
    Fans of Cage and Cusack, previously paired as unlikely allies in Con Air (1997), may be looking forward to a bit of deranged actorly combat once Hansen is cornered in the interrogation room, but it’s here that this hopeless flick comes up especially short.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    Excellent movie, very well directed. I myself could not have picked a better cast of actors or actress to do the parts in this movie. Would love to see Nicolas Cage and John Cusack do future movies. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie i found the story captivating and the acting refreshing i would definatley recommend viewing.
    Big thumbs up
    to both Cage and Cussack job well done.
    Scary stuff it was a true story
    Collapse
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    I am not fan of both Cage and Cusack but in this movie they had great performances, not to say that the whole cast were great. I was surprised by other's low ratings, because I really enjoyed it. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    2
    It's been so long since Nicolas Cage has starred in a straightforward thriller playing a realistic character that "The Frozen Ground" feels like a shock to the system his, and ours. And Cage, without having to play a ghostly motorcyclist or hot rod driver from Hell or sorcerer or sci-fi hero or kinky cop, reminds us that he used to know subtlety. So even if "Frozen Ground" breaks little new ground in the serial-killer thriller genre, there's hope Cage will leave the ham behind before Alaska freezes over. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    2
    There's really no excuse for this film being as bad as it is. Despite tons of on screen talent it's destroyed by poor story telling and paper thin characters. With this subject matter and being based in reality it should be a story that grabs and never lets go. Unfortunately someone feels that shaking the camera is all it takes to hold an audience. The script is wordy to the point of dull and the concept of pacing is non existent. All in all, just a truly poorly executed film. My biggest movie let down so far this year. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2013
    2
    I have been waiting for this movie for 2 yrs. Actually saw N Cage and others at hospital I was working while it was being filmed. All of Alaska knows of this terrible true story.

    Camera work ruined the film- shakey-jerking- sometimes showing the actor for 10 seconds before you can even focus in and they spin the shot somewhere else...often 5 times in a 60 second period !!
    Most scenes are so close up that the chin and hair line is cut off of the picture.
    Wasted opportunity for great Alaska scenery as it was snowing that Nov when they filmed
    All Alaskans will be let down
    Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    0
    Poorly written and acted and slow paced. If I am being brutally honest, It was just a god awful film. Not a single thing was good about it and that's really saying something because I have seen a lot of trash. Don't bother with this one. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers