Roadside Attractions | Release Date: July 29, 2011
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 30 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
12
Mixed:
12
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
CitizenCharlieAug 18, 2011
Any audience member who has seen a previous Miranda July film knows what they are in for if they go to another one. July loves silly and awkward conversations which spring out of thin air and make her characters seem quirky. If you loveAny audience member who has seen a previous Miranda July film knows what they are in for if they go to another one. July loves silly and awkward conversations which spring out of thin air and make her characters seem quirky. If you love quirky and oddball then Miranda July is the filmmaker for you. However, July is one of those filmmakers who do not have much a gray area when it comes to reactions. Movie goers either love her or cannot stand her. Julyâ Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
lancekozJan 14, 2012
I liked 'You and Me' (prior film) pretty well, the kids were likable. This film starts out great and quietly warm and quirky and then derails into a sad, sad tale of adult characters who are doing nothing much except act badly in the face ofI liked 'You and Me' (prior film) pretty well, the kids were likable. This film starts out great and quietly warm and quirky and then derails into a sad, sad tale of adult characters who are doing nothing much except act badly in the face of a made-up deadline. The original idea started out quite funny, how could this thing have gone so wrong and needlessly humorless? This writer has obviously found quite a sympathetic audience since the user ratings here are high for a film that mainstream viewers will almost certainly abandon before it's finished. I am usually a fan of slow, quirky, indie films, but there has to be someone in there to like! I'll give it a 3 for an original opening premise and I like the actors, but otherwise, there is no there there. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AoKuroiRaccoonDec 28, 2011
A breathtaking and unbelievably innovating movie, truly some of the most creative and original storylines of modern cinema. Very philosophical, it will make you drop all of your ideas to the floor and rise them back up to the roof. All ofA breathtaking and unbelievably innovating movie, truly some of the most creative and original storylines of modern cinema. Very philosophical, it will make you drop all of your ideas to the floor and rise them back up to the roof. All of this around an adorable love story that will make yourself question what love truly is. Inspires deep reflection and very mind blowing, a movie that will leave you thinking for days. Alongside with a very detailed artistic production, a story to remember. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
MarcDoyleAug 8, 2011
Most everyone seeing this movie in my theater (except me) was laughing at the movie. Not with it - AT it. I was too bored to laugh. Sure, it's a little cute, but it's a massive waste of time. There are better films to see. Go pay money forMost everyone seeing this movie in my theater (except me) was laughing at the movie. Not with it - AT it. I was too bored to laugh. Sure, it's a little cute, but it's a massive waste of time. There are better films to see. Go pay money for them. Even July's last film was far superior to, and more thought-provoking than, this one. I"m a little surprised that the critics were so intrigued by this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SusanSSep 16, 2011
I love Miranda July and her work (after falling in love with You and Me and Everyone We Know), and was nervous going into her second film with such high expectations. About three quarters of the way through the film I was delightfullyI love Miranda July and her work (after falling in love with You and Me and Everyone We Know), and was nervous going into her second film with such high expectations. About three quarters of the way through the film I was delightfully enchanted by the film's quirkiness and turns of plot, but I figured I knew where it was going. And then the movie took a marvelous unexpected leap, and it took my breath away. If you are expecting a film that will give you the story line, this is not the one. But if you want an unconventional look at a generation of adults coming of age in an unconventional way, this is definitely for you. And while I love Miranda July, Hamish Linklater really steals this film. At that moment I was talking about, he takes the film to a whole new level. It was beautiful. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
franiAug 25, 2011
What an awful flim. The most sympathetic character was by far the cat. I grew so tired of looking at Miranda July in her miniskirts in just about each and every scene. Any viewer with half a brain knew she was hopelessly insecure did weWhat an awful flim. The most sympathetic character was by far the cat. I grew so tired of looking at Miranda July in her miniskirts in just about each and every scene. Any viewer with half a brain knew she was hopelessly insecure did we really need to watch her gracelessly flail about in her tights over and over again. The only redeeming factor in this film was the score and the soundtrack very good, rest of the fllm very bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jeremologyySep 8, 2011
Was this as good as her first? No. It would have been almost impossible to be better than her debut, which was one of the best movies of the last decade. This is a spectacular film though, and the writing is superb. I thought it was soWas this as good as her first? No. It would have been almost impossible to be better than her debut, which was one of the best movies of the last decade. This is a spectacular film though, and the writing is superb. I thought it was so intriguing, and beautiful, and I really appreciated the bits of surrealism that were there. This is like a cinematic/visual poem, (which is also what her debut was), so I understand its not being for everyone. I found it pretty remarkable though. Miranda July is very possibly my favorite modern filmmaker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RobinsNestDec 28, 2011
This is one unusual film. I stayed with it, was a little tossed about, lost my sense of time, and was a little confused. It's made up of documentary, reality, fantasy, science fiction, performance art. I very much was enthralled by Ms JulyThis is one unusual film. I stayed with it, was a little tossed about, lost my sense of time, and was a little confused. It's made up of documentary, reality, fantasy, science fiction, performance art. I very much was enthralled by Ms July and Mr Linklater and had to see where they were going. I had much distaste for Mr Warshofsky's character but perhaps i was supposed to. At first I thought I might just fast forward just to see what happens. But the characters moved me. I'm not sure how I really feel only watching it once, but I think it's worth a screening so it receives my lowest recommended rating B-, a 6 here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TTW107Jan 3, 2012
I don't exactly know how to review this because I'm still thinking about the movie and what everything means! I haven't been watching as many movies as I used to but damn this has to be one of the weirdest movies of the past few years. TheI don't exactly know how to review this because I'm still thinking about the movie and what everything means! I haven't been watching as many movies as I used to but damn this has to be one of the weirdest movies of the past few years. The first half has kind of boring dialogue that sorta seem to drag one but, in my opinion, this movie makes up for it in just a 5 minute part or so. I don't want to ruin anything but the part when he actually stops time, that affected me more than anything else in this movie. Overall super strange and I'm not sure why some of the things happened in the movie but it was definitely interesting to say the least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
remm-Jan 26, 2012
maybe i had really high expectations for it, but i kind of felt let down. i think the only character that i actually liked was the cat, and all the other jerk characters screwed that up too. it could have been a lot worse, and really imaybe i had really high expectations for it, but i kind of felt let down. i think the only character that i actually liked was the cat, and all the other jerk characters screwed that up too. it could have been a lot worse, and really i thought the first 20-30 minutes were great, but from there it was a slippery slope down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
RattersJun 3, 2012
I spent the whole of this film waiting for this dopey couple to adopt the cat. I felt upset and angry when the cat was euthanised. I strongly feel that the whole issue of cats in shelters in America (and lets face it its a huge issue) wasI spent the whole of this film waiting for this dopey couple to adopt the cat. I felt upset and angry when the cat was euthanised. I strongly feel that the whole issue of cats in shelters in America (and lets face it its a huge issue) was completely trivialised. I mean what was the point? Why would a director focus so much on the wait that this cat had? The same wait that thousands of cats have every day. Quite frankly I was sickened by this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews