The Gift

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 118

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 13, 2014
    7
    The Gift is engrossing, well-scripted, and beautifully shot until the final quarter. Then, the movie gets very movie-ish and preposterous with an unsatisfying ending. But the performances alone in this star-studded cast are what make this movie, especially Blanchett's emotionally moving portrayal of a woman secluded from society because of her psychic powers. Ultimately, I recommend seeingThe Gift is engrossing, well-scripted, and beautifully shot until the final quarter. Then, the movie gets very movie-ish and preposterous with an unsatisfying ending. But the performances alone in this star-studded cast are what make this movie, especially Blanchett's emotionally moving portrayal of a woman secluded from society because of her psychic powers. Ultimately, I recommend seeing The Gift; it's a fine piece of filmmaking. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2016
    8
    Excellent!! Can't believe this is the first time I've got around to watching it, but it was worth it.

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-3077-The-Gift
  3. armandos.
    Feb 10, 2005
    8
    I liked this movie, even though i do not believe in precognition. Blanchett was wonderful and Reeves even gives a good performance-whoa-what a suprise-he should just play bad guys the rest of his career! Well directed by Raimi.
  4. BrianC.
    Apr 23, 2004
    7
    The movie wasn't too bad, it was better than it was worse. I think we all know that the best part was seeing Katie Holmes naked. It was about time, thank you to Raimi.
  5. BrianC.
    Apr 23, 2004
    7
    The movie wasn't too bad, it was better than it was worse. I think we all know that the best part was seeing Katie Holmes naked. It was about time, thank you to Raimi.
  6. MaryZ.
    Feb 9, 2001
    9
    Blanchett deserves an oscar nod for her performance in this hair raising thriller.
  7. CTN1
    Apr 17, 2001
    10
    The only reason I liked this movie was it had a nice shot at Katie Holme's ....s. Good Casting.
  8. Conny
    Sep 23, 2001
    10
    Cate Blanchett's performance is so amazing!!
  9. M.Hunt
    Jan 25, 2001
    7
    This mediocre TV Movie-esque film was saved by its stellar cast, and the refreshing style of the film-maker. The story stays with you long after the credits roll.
  10. EricaB.
    Jan 25, 2001
    9
    If this movie is a prelude to what 2001 is going to be like at the box office then viewers are in for one helluva year.
  11. PatC.
    Jan 7, 2004
    8
    Blanchett has a way of driving a plot in a way one can't recall seeing before.
  12. JeremyW.
    Sep 4, 2006
    8
    I found the story captivating, once it began rolling, although the Southern depravity was an appalling, if true-life-life, vehicle that at once repelled, and yet attracted sympathy. Giovanni Ribisi was my favorite character in the film. The plot was a little thin, but the cast really made this film.
  13. KatieK.
    Aug 16, 2001
    10
    Sam Raimi is amazing. Spooky southern setting, an amazing cast...Wonderful!
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. TNT RoughCut
    Reviewed by: Andy Klein
    40
    In terms of cleverly hidden exposition, this ain't "The Sixth Sense."
  2. Baltimore Sun
    Reviewed by: Chris Kaltenbach
    50
    Outside of a strong (and largely misused) cast and an abundance of moody atmosphere, there's precious little to recommend this exploitative mess.
  3. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    75
    A solidly crafted, suspensefully written, powerfully acted little juggernaut.