User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 147
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    This was one of the best movies I've seen in a long time and it really thought me to treat women with more respect. The characters were really fantastic and Elisha Cuthbert played the role so well. I highly recommend watching this film.
  2. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    This should be the model by which all other teenage comedies are judged by. This is one of the funniest and coolest movies I have ever seen! It's that old classic tale about the loser kid in school who becomes popular when he stars dating the hot girl who moves in next door...and oh by the way...that girl just happens to be a porn star! Emile Hirsch is amazing in this movie. Not to giveThis should be the model by which all other teenage comedies are judged by. This is one of the funniest and coolest movies I have ever seen! It's that old classic tale about the loser kid in school who becomes popular when he stars dating the hot girl who moves in next door...and oh by the way...that girl just happens to be a porn star! Emile Hirsch is amazing in this movie. Not to give anything away, but there is one scene near the end where he's at an awards dinner, he's been looking forward to, that's just classic! Timothy Olyphant is amazing as always, I think he went to the John Malcovich school of how to be the perfect movie villain. I loved this movie and you will too! Expand
  3. AlexT.
    Apr 10, 2004
    7
    Without the beauty of Elisha Cuthbert, this poorly scripted film would have been a waste of my time.
  4. AndreD.
    Apr 7, 2004
    7
    A familiar but occasionally surprising format sees porn come to the prom. Stiff moral fibre, true love and teen spirit unite for some sweet-ass laughs. Somehow it shouldn't have worked, but it just about pulled it off!
  5. Burger
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    There is really only one reason to watch this movie, and it only applies to you if you are a heterosexual male or a lesbian. if you dont know what im talking about, its that elisha cuthbert is really freaking hot.
  6. skyman88
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    This movie is great. The acting is good, the soundtrach is insanely good and is worth seeing the movie for alone, and Elisha Cuthbert is beautiful. I couldnt' ask fo rmore in a movie, I own this movie and have watched a dozen times in the last year.
  7. CorinnaW.
    Jan 3, 2007
    9
    I LOVE this film!! I watched it expecting it to be just another teen movie, similar to "The Perfect Man", etc. But it is truly one of a kind and after watching it you truly feel satisfied and you get that warm feeling that only comes from watching a really great film. The music used is amazing, and Hirsch and Cuthbert are the only people who could have played the roles so well. From the I LOVE this film!! I watched it expecting it to be just another teen movie, similar to "The Perfect Man", etc. But it is truly one of a kind and after watching it you truly feel satisfied and you get that warm feeling that only comes from watching a really great film. The music used is amazing, and Hirsch and Cuthbert are the only people who could have played the roles so well. From the way the film was advertised, one would think it was sleazy and tacky but it is infact a beautiful love story. Ok, so towards the middle of the film the plot really gets lost but it discovers itself towards the end. Cuthbert is just stunning, and the fact that Hirsch does not have a " perfect" body helps the audience empathise with that feeling you only get when you are mad on someone who is totally out of your leage. A truly wonderful film that is sadly not very well known..and one that everyone should watch! Expand
  8. KimH.
    Dec 31, 2004
    7
    I wasn't expecting much, maybe a couple of John Hughes hours, but I thought that it was fun and a little bit sweet. Maybe that says more about me than the movie, but you'll never think of Adam Roaf (Joan of Arcadia) the same way. Elisha Cuthbert is dazzling as well.
  9. MikeM.
    Apr 23, 2004
    10
    I think it's fair to say this is the most underrated movie of the year by far.
  10. jordang.
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    I LOVED THIS MOVIE IT WAS HILARIOUS.
  11. FinE
    Nov 30, 2006
    8
    Entertaining if not great. While Elisha Cuthbert does not come off as a true porn star, her charm and acting talents have been underrated. This lady has superb talent and a great future -- cf. 24, etc.
  12. [Anonymous]
    Dec 30, 2004
    10
    This movie is a very cool film, and i like it lot, and Emile is vry cute.
  13. BobW.
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    Acceptable plot wrapped in an interesting cast of characters who manage to touch a subject and come out without stepping on too many feet. I find it to be wild often random but still something brings me back to the girl next door and it makes it an amazing film.
  14. Matt
    Apr 28, 2004
    10
    I like boobs, i like girls, i like porn. PERFECT 10!
  15. LanceT.
    Jun 28, 2004
    9
    Great movie elisha cuthbert is really hot. dint know such a beautiful actress actually existed! movie was great as a whole and really funny!
  16. Bence
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    This film is gourgeous!!!! This is in the "must see" category! And Elisha Cuthbert is beautiful.
  17. KennyH.
    Dec 12, 2006
    9
    This movie was just awesome. Really funny, and a great feel good ending.
  18. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    Wonderfully entertaining for the average teenager. That's it. Despite big-name stars, I found this gem to be lacking in depth but the comedy was enough to keep me entertained for the duration.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Clint Morris
    60
    It's got everything the genre calls for – boppy music, cute boys, cute girls, lots of sexual lingo, and most importantly, laughs.
  2. Sharp, vivacious comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    60
    A tickle-and-tease teen sex comedy that plays like a late-night channel-surf through soft-core sitcoms, "American Pie" wannabes and '80s Brat Pack romances.