The Girl Who Played with Fire

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 82
  2. Negative: 3 out of 82

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 21, 2011
    7
    Second part of Stieg Larsson's "Girl Who" trilogy.
    Not as good sequel to the brilliant first film but once again great casting & well acted & Noomi Rapace is outstanding.
    It's beautifully shot once again & one or two wincing moments but nowhere near as dark & mysterious as the first film.
  2. Nov 5, 2010
    8
    Ever since I read the infamous "Girl with the Dragon Tatoo" I have been hooked on this amazing trilogy. Overall I give the film a positive review (aside from the tacky dubbed English version) there's something noteworthy to be said about the acting and the action-packed special effects. Those unfamiliar with the series or the first film may have trouble following along at first, but I'mEver since I read the infamous "Girl with the Dragon Tatoo" I have been hooked on this amazing trilogy. Overall I give the film a positive review (aside from the tacky dubbed English version) there's something noteworthy to be said about the acting and the action-packed special effects. Those unfamiliar with the series or the first film may have trouble following along at first, but I'm confident that this will appeal to almost anyone that doesn't mind subtitles. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2010
    8
    This trilogy is a really good one. I love the girl with the dragon tattoo. I think both are just great and I can't Decide which movie is better. I don't Like reading subs a=because reading subs are just like reading a book but I didn't mind reading it for this movie. I think this is one of the year best film. I can't wait until the usa version is made. I hope they make it just like thisThis trilogy is a really good one. I love the girl with the dragon tattoo. I think both are just great and I can't Decide which movie is better. I don't Like reading subs a=because reading subs are just like reading a book but I didn't mind reading it for this movie. I think this is one of the year best film. I can't wait until the usa version is made. I hope they make it just like this one or better. Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    Adaptasi film dari novel kedua dalam trilogi Millenium karya penulis asal Swedia, Stieg Larsson, The Girl who Played with Fire, menemui sebuah perubahan besar-besaran ketika sutradara Niels Arden Oplev, yang sukses mengarahkan The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, digantikan posisinya oleh Daniel Alfredson. Tidak hanya dari sisi pengarahan, naskah cerita yang awalnya ditangani oleh duet NikolajAdaptasi film dari novel kedua dalam trilogi Millenium karya penulis asal Swedia, Stieg Larsson, The Girl who Played with Fire, menemui sebuah perubahan besar-besaran ketika sutradara Niels Arden Oplev, yang sukses mengarahkan The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, digantikan posisinya oleh Daniel Alfredson. Tidak hanya dari sisi pengarahan, naskah cerita yang awalnya ditangani oleh duet Nikolaj Arcel dan Rasmus Heisterberg kini ditangani oleh seorang penulis naskah baru, Jonas Frykberg. Apakah hal ini memiliki pengaruh terhadap kualitas The Girl who Played with Fire jika dibandingkan dengan The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo? Sangat!

    Perubahan yang paling dapat dirasakan adalah The Girl who Played with Fire memiliki intensitas cerita yang berjalan lebih dramatis. Kurangnya interaksi antara dua karakter utama juga menyebabkan film ini memiliki daya tarik yang kurang kuat jika dibandingkan dengan film pendahulunya. Kualitas The Girl who Played with Fire cenderung menurun? Mungkin saja. Namun tidak ada yang akan menyangkal bahwa film sekuel ini masih sama menegangkannya dengan penambahan banyak adegan action di dalam jalan ceritanya.

    Jika The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo mengenalkan penontonnya pada salah satu karakter heroine paling menarik di sepanjang sejarah perfilman, Lisbeth Salander (Noomi Rapace), dan petualangannya yang menyinggung masa lalu jurnalis Mikael Blomkvist (Michael Nyqvist), kini The Girl who Played with Fire seperti memutar roda tersebut dan menempatkan Mikael untuk menyelesaikan misteri pembunuhan yang melibatkan masa lalu Lisbeth ketika sedang berada dalam masa terapi jiwanya.

    Permasalahan dimulai ketika salah satu jurnalis majalah Millenium dan kekasihnya menjadi korban sebuah pembunuhan. Ini menarik perhatian Mikael karena jurnalis tersebut bersama kekasihnya sedang berusaha menyelesaikan sebuah tulisan yang akan menyingkap mengenai skandal seks beberapa petinggi polisi dengan para gadis di bawah umur. Nama Lisbeth Salander, yang baru saja kembali ke Stockholm setelah setahun berada di luar negeri, mulai disebut-sebut terlibat setelah sebuah senjata api ditemukan di apartemen sang jurnalis dengan sidik jarinya berada di senjata api tersebut.

    Tuduhan kepada Lisbeth semakin menajam setelah pengawasnya, Nils Erik Bjurman (Peter Andersson), juga ditemukan tewas beberapa hari setelahnya. Semua orang, termasuk Mikael, kini berusaha menemukan tempat keberadaan Lisbeth. Lisbeth sendiri setelah mengetahui bahwa dirinya sedang berada dalam sebuah kasus yang sama sekali tidak ia lakukan, perlahan-lahan mulai mengumpulkan bukti untuk mengetahui siapa yang melakukan hal tersebut pada dirinya. Sebuah tindakan yang kemudian akan menyingkap mengenai masa lalu yang kelam dari seorang Lisbeth Salander.

    Dramatisasi yang paling jelas dapat dirasakan tentu saja berasal dari sisi cerita yang lebih menggali masa lalu kelam Lisbeth Salander di sepanjang jalan cerita. Hal ini sebenarnya tidak buruk, bahkan memberikan kesempatan kepada para penonton untuk mengenal heroine ini dengan lebih baik. Hanya saja, jika mereka telah mengikuti The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo dan mengharapkan lebih banyak aksi dari duet Lisbeth dan Mikael tentu akan merasa sedikit kecewa. Apalagi di sepanjang jalan cerita, Lisbeth dan Mikael sama sekali tidak berinteraksi, kecuali satu kali lewat sebuah pesan yang dituliskan oleh Lisbeth di laptop Mikael. Hal ini seperti mengurangi kepadatan jalan cerita yang telah tercipta pada film pertama seri Millenium ini.

    Sutradara Daniel Afredson juga sepertinya terjebak dengan jalur drama yang dituliskan oleh Jonas Frykberg ini dengan memberikan tone cerita yang lebih lamban. Menampilkan lebih banyak karakter yang telibat di dalam jalan cerita dengan menghadirkan jumlah adegan action yang lebih sedikit daripada sebelumnya, membuat The Girl who Played with Fire terkesan tanggung dalam tampilannya sebagai sebuah drama action yang jelas akan membuat film ini cenderung terkesan sedikit membosankan bagi beberapa orang. Walau begitu, bukan berarti kualitas film ini menurun drastis, apalagi dengan penampilan Noomi Rapace yang semakin terikat dengan karakternya, Lisbeth Salander.

    Setelah memperkenalkan sisi yang misterius yang tangguh di film pertamanya, Rapace terlihat mampu untuk memperlihatkan sisi sensitivitas dirinya ketika karakter yang ia perankan harus berurusan dengan masa lalunya yang kelam dan sepertinya bukan sesuatu yang sangat diinginkan. Walau secara keseluruhan The Girl who Played with Fire menyajikan adegan action yang lebih minim, namun Rapace beberapa kali sempat terlibat dalam adegan yang mengharuskannya menggunakan kemampuan fisiknya. Dan ini ia lakukan dengan sangat baik dan semakin memperkokoh imej heroine Lisbeth Salander yang ia bawakan.

    Karakter Mikael Blomkvist yang diperankan oleh aktor Michael Nyqvist, yang pada The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo tampil sama menonjolnya dengan karakter Lisbeth Salander, di film ini tampaknya harus sedikit mengalah karena harus membagi jalan cerit
    Expand
  5. Lyn
    Sep 4, 2010
    8
    Faithful to the book, this film offers tense, gritty thrills. It also suffers, as does the novel, from the fact that Lisbeth and Mikael don't have the direct interaction they had in "Dragon Tattoo." Very much feels like part 2 of a trilogy, but leaves me enthused for film no. 3. I love the fact that these characters have physical flaws . . . can you imagine Jennifer Aniston appearing onFaithful to the book, this film offers tense, gritty thrills. It also suffers, as does the novel, from the fact that Lisbeth and Mikael don't have the direct interaction they had in "Dragon Tattoo." Very much feels like part 2 of a trilogy, but leaves me enthused for film no. 3. I love the fact that these characters have physical flaws . . . can you imagine Jennifer Aniston appearing on film with even one enlarged pore? Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2010
    7
    A great production for a masterful thriller full of twists and gripping suspense. Rapace and Nyqvist act as if the roles had been made for them and just leaves wanting to see more of this (luckily there is one more).
  7. Nov 2, 2010
    7
    Whereas the first installment was a clear-cut, easy to follow thriller that kept you guessing, The Girl Who Played with Fire, while entertaining, is a bit murky where the plot is involved. I'm still not entirely sure if I "get" how the beginning of the movie actually ties to the end of it. Fans of the series will love it, fans of the first one will think it's alright, and people completelyWhereas the first installment was a clear-cut, easy to follow thriller that kept you guessing, The Girl Who Played with Fire, while entertaining, is a bit murky where the plot is involved. I'm still not entirely sure if I "get" how the beginning of the movie actually ties to the end of it. Fans of the series will love it, fans of the first one will think it's alright, and people completely unfamiliar with any of the Millennium series should probably just avoid it. Expand
  8. Jan 13, 2011
    7
    Not as good as The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, but as the first one is a masterpiece thats understandable. The acting is still great but its the story that slightly lets this one down. Its a bit all over the place and not as easy to follow. However anything which expanded the story of the first movie makes this worth watching.
  9. Nov 25, 2012
    7
    Unbelievable that this is the sequel of the disappointing 'The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo'. As both Lisbeth and Mikael have a personal connection to the case, it's way more interesting than the first movie. It's even more brutal but here it doesn't seem so gratuitous as in number 1. Good screenplay, good direction and mainly good actors (I still don't like Mikael Nyqvist). It revamps mostUnbelievable that this is the sequel of the disappointing 'The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo'. As both Lisbeth and Mikael have a personal connection to the case, it's way more interesting than the first movie. It's even more brutal but here it doesn't seem so gratuitous as in number 1. Good screenplay, good direction and mainly good actors (I still don't like Mikael Nyqvist). It revamps most of the mistakes and is one really interesting crime story, that perfectly fits as the middle of 3 continuous movies. The end is no total cliffhanger because we get kind of a solution, but everything is open for the final part and that's how it should be. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. 88
    The Girl Who Played With Fire is very good, but a step down from "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo," if only because that film and its casting were so fresh and unexpected.
  2. I found The Girl Who Played With Fire more gripping than "Dragon Tattoo," because this one doesn't just play with thriller conventions -- it puts them to work.
  3. Though the thriller is in the hands of a different filmmaking team this time led by Swedish director Daniel Alfredson and screenwriter Jonas Frykberg, they've kept the searing intelligence and ruthless bent.