Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 20, 2011
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 680 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
577
Mixed:
65
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
VanHatinApr 1, 2012
Holy overrated dog sh*t batman!!! I don't get it!! I sat through the first 55 minutes of this excruciatingly, boring and emotionless crap. What movie did all these people see??? I know professional critics get paid off by the studios toHoly overrated dog sh*t batman!!! I don't get it!! I sat through the first 55 minutes of this excruciatingly, boring and emotionless crap. What movie did all these people see??? I know professional critics get paid off by the studios to give good reviews but do users also get money??? As of now there are 312 positive reviews for this lame movie? I need some cash so please give me the name and number of the studio head that paid all of you off to give this atrocity positive reviews. Everyone out there, SAVE YOUR MONEY AND TIME!!! AWFUL!!! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
JluisMar 5, 2012
I approached the Tattooed Girl phenomena with a rare privilege: first I saw the 6 episode original swedish Millennium miniseries that inspired Fincher et al. And like so many I was completely absorbed by this girl and basically the wholeI approached the Tattooed Girl phenomena with a rare privilege: first I saw the 6 episode original swedish Millennium miniseries that inspired Fincher et al. And like so many I was completely absorbed by this girl and basically the whole cast. The story really comes together and the center is the Millennium magazine. So why did the Americans have to do a remake? Mara doesn't add a single bit to Rapace's excellent portrayal of the disturbed heroin and an oscar nomination to boot? Does Craig make a better Blomkvist? No. Perhaps the bleak winter up in northern sweden was better represented (the series shows a climactic perfect sweden which is quite laughable). I won't be holding my breath to see part 2 and 3 which are in the works because they already exist: you just have to read the subtitles (they really do speak swedish there don't they...) Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
MalthusDec 29, 2011
The movie that didn't need to be made. I agree with the reviewers who've said that this movie is a poor clone. Rooney Mara (sorry, I'm sure I'll like you in your next movie-- as long as it's not as Lisbeth) just made me wince; every scene sheThe movie that didn't need to be made. I agree with the reviewers who've said that this movie is a poor clone. Rooney Mara (sorry, I'm sure I'll like you in your next movie-- as long as it's not as Lisbeth) just made me wince; every scene she was expected to improve on Noomi Rapace's performance -- a fools errand. Daniel Craig just looked silly with his glasses hanging off his face, trying his best to look bookishly smart. I like both these actors, but the original set the bar; why mess with something that worked just fine? (Well, the obvious answer is that you can make money just by producing an English version of this popular work; never mind if it's artistically a bad choice.) As Dr. Evil told his (not so evil) son Scotty; "You're semi-evil. You're quasi-evil. You're the margarine of evil. You're the Diet Coke of evil. Just one calorie, not evil enough." That's how I felt after seeing this; the real deal was already made. Expand
2 of 14 users found this helpful212
All this user's reviews
1
HaristoDec 22, 2011
Pointless remake. lamest part is the original swedish version is actually far better than this thing. I like the original trilogy, this isn't ''bad'' but I feel ripped off... why should I pay 10 bucks on theather to watch a movie I alreadyPointless remake. lamest part is the original swedish version is actually far better than this thing. I like the original trilogy, this isn't ''bad'' but I feel ripped off... why should I pay 10 bucks on theather to watch a movie I already own on Blu Ray at home, which can be watched over nine thousand times with infinite peeps for only 15 bucks. Expand
2 of 19 users found this helpful217
All this user's reviews
1
JamesStealDec 25, 2011
They should rename this film "The Girl who looks like a Bay Area Tranny". In Hollywood she fights off the bad guys, in reality she would be fighting off her crystal meth addiction. If she were a gorgeous brunette I would probably rate thisThey should rename this film "The Girl who looks like a Bay Area Tranny". In Hollywood she fights off the bad guys, in reality she would be fighting off her crystal meth addiction. If she were a gorgeous brunette I would probably rate this movie higher. Expand
1 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
3
randomstupidSep 26, 2012
I couldn't find much to like about this film, the cinematography was poor / borderline amateurish, the acting was mixed, ALL the themes were depressing (i could forgive this i guess), i had no interest in discovering 'who dunnit' as it feltI couldn't find much to like about this film, the cinematography was poor / borderline amateurish, the acting was mixed, ALL the themes were depressing (i could forgive this i guess), i had no interest in discovering 'who dunnit' as it felt like there was no engagement with the viewer, the lighting made the sets seem staged, plus a lot more.

I thought the use of sexual violence was interesting but felt it had little to do with the plot - i have not read the book so can't comment on its relevance. The 'dragon tattoo girl' seemed pathetic in these situations and was hoping she'd stick up for herself sooner as her character seemed to suggest she would.

Ended up playing Carcassonne half-way through with a friend as we both felt the movie wasn't really going anywhere (i lost).
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
MikeRGJan 21, 2012
I'll reiterate what others have said: this is a totally unnecessary remake of a much better Swedish film. Daniel Craig is a bore, the girl is merely adequate and this version is nowhere near as creepy as the Swedish version, which isI'll reiterate what others have said: this is a totally unnecessary remake of a much better Swedish film. Daniel Craig is a bore, the girl is merely adequate and this version is nowhere near as creepy as the Swedish version, which is available via streaming on Netflix. Director Fincher did much better in this genre with Se7en and Zodiac. Skip it! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
EdeltraudDec 26, 2011
Edeltraud Dec 25, 2011 10 This may be an obnoxious observation, but if one of the themes is female empowerment why isn't the name of the movie "the woman with the dragon tattoo". Lis is in her 20's and an independent person ( despiteEdeltraud Dec 25, 2011 10 This may be an obnoxious observation, but if one of the themes is female empowerment why isn't the name of the movie "the woman with the dragon tattoo". Lis is in her 20's and an independent person ( despite guardianship). Clearly, she is exploited by the author and not respected as an adult. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
2
QuarriDec 28, 2011
do you want to be entertained? then don't see this movie.
do you want to think? don't see this movie.
the Acting: it was good. everyone was believable The music: bad. It was used so little that when it was used I went "oh music, maybe
do you want to be entertained? then don't see this movie.
do you want to think? don't see this movie.

the Acting: it was good. everyone was believable

The music: bad. It was used so little that when it was used I went "oh music, maybe something will happen now" and it did every time.

the Plot: the movie is about a guy doing research. I have not read the books but I suspect they are about the girl with the dragon tatoo. the movie is not about her. It feels like it should be but it is about Daniel Craig and he does do anything but research the entire movie.

there are 3 tense moments in the movie. they are not exciting and they play out exactly as would be expected. The reaction of the theatre was discomfort. everyone distracted themselves by talking to each other during these sense. they distract from the movie not add to it. which doesn't work when those scenes are all that happens during the 2.5h film
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
3
frontsquatsDec 30, 2011
The only people rating this movie over 40% are those that have not seen the Swedish version. Do yourself a favor and watch that one rather than this crappy version.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
0
slotownfolkJan 7, 2012
I joined Metacritic to comment on this film. Count on Hollywood to botch a genuine classic - the Swedish original. I would have given it a lower rating except that people who have not either read the book(s) or seen the previous version(s)I joined Metacritic to comment on this film. Count on Hollywood to botch a genuine classic - the Swedish original. I would have given it a lower rating except that people who have not either read the book(s) or seen the previous version(s) might like David Fincher's current flick. HOWEVER (where do I start), the current cast is OK, but not up to comparison - especially Fincher's Rooney Mara as super-sleuth Lisbeth Salandar vs. the amazing portrayal by Swedish actress, Noomi Rapace. And the relationship between LS and her male counterpart, Mikael Blomkvist, seemed pretty superficial - not the intense mysterious personality of the original heroine. All that aside, here are my biggest beefs with the plot: (1) the court-appointed guardian of Lisbeth, Nils Bjurman, was cast showing a soft side - totally in contrast to the evil, sadistic villain we grew to hate in the book. (2) In the rape revenge scene, how was the tied-up Nils Bjurman supposed to use the wire cutters left him by Lisbeth to free himself - with his knees? (3) Why does the ultra-careful, think-of-everything Lisbeth toss her jewelry in a sink and blond wig out the train window, exposing herself to capture after you know what (if you read the book)? And finally, (4) the ending - since Fincher ignored the actual story plot - didn't make any sense connecting the many, many dots in this incredibly intriguing story. If you really want to see a better version, see the original on DVD - either sub-titled or with English dubbing (which wasn't bad). I'm glad I have all three Swedish films in my library - absolute classics! But pass on Hollywood's unfortunate flop. Expand
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews
1
DraxexJan 14, 2012
I was really disappointed by Fincher's remake. It pales in comparison to the Swedish version. I guess it would be acceptable if you haven't already been spoiled by the superiority of the original.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
HDeezyFeb 8, 2012
This film is utterly unsatisfying.
Not even slightly entertaining, some of the performances were utterly laughable, and the script was horrifyingly bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
tscarpFeb 9, 2012
I will tell you that I didn't read the book so I cannot make any comparison with the movie. The movie though is totally disappointing: bad acting, slow pace, annoying and totally unjustified sex scenes... Also I'm wondering why did they needI will tell you that I didn't read the book so I cannot make any comparison with the movie. The movie though is totally disappointing: bad acting, slow pace, annoying and totally unjustified sex scenes... Also I'm wondering why did they need to remake an already boring swedish movie with british and american actors playing swedish characters? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
boops11Mar 25, 2012
Too much un-needed explicit sex, and rape scenes if it weren't for the gratuitous sex scenes it would have been an enjoyable movie. The plot was good, acting was good. Had to fast forward many scenes, especially the rape scene and the oralToo much un-needed explicit sex, and rape scenes if it weren't for the gratuitous sex scenes it would have been an enjoyable movie. The plot was good, acting was good. Had to fast forward many scenes, especially the rape scene and the oral sex scene. I don't know why they choose to put the trash in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
KookaNov 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was really disappointed with the movie, Lizbeth is the story her skills & life is the essence of the story & they butchered her part. There was nothing to show her computer hacking / programming super abilities which are essential in her role & her life.
They used the general plot of the story & neglect the essence of it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CharlemagneApr 23, 2016
Another vapid Americanization, which as usual loses all character of the foreign original. Even American remakes of earlier American movies seem to have become like this. Hollywood is just punching in their time card and getting paid, anotherAnother vapid Americanization, which as usual loses all character of the foreign original. Even American remakes of earlier American movies seem to have become like this. Hollywood is just punching in their time card and getting paid, another day at the movie assembly plant producing meaningless products. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
iplayandwatchMar 22, 2016
really very bad. riddled with logical errors and b.s but you wont care because its so detached and boring.
for example there is a 30 second rape scene that's supposed to be scary and bad! oh no rape!! BUT she asks him if she needs to have
really very bad. riddled with logical errors and b.s but you wont care because its so detached and boring.
for example there is a 30 second rape scene that's supposed to be scary and bad! oh no rape!! BUT she asks him if she needs to have sex with him every time she needs money beforehand. so why would he rape her. also she is chained brutally raped in the guys house who she knows and then just released... so why didn't she goto the police? if she couldn't why chain her if he had to chain her why release her? and that's just a 30 second scene. the revenge scene is even worse. the dialogue is written by a moron. example. go ask my sister about that---where is your sister--- oh if you try to ask her about it shell tell u to **** off!! wtf????

bad movie... just bad. so stupid it'll make you cry
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews