User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 622 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 622
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    5
    There is no need to see this film if you have already seen the original film. The changes made do not justify sitting through 2 hours and 40 minutes of mostly dead frame that you know what is coming up. If you have not seen the original films, then I recommend going but be prepared for a film that is at least 40 minutes too long. After an hour and a half, I was looking at my watch. FincherThere is no need to see this film if you have already seen the original film. The changes made do not justify sitting through 2 hours and 40 minutes of mostly dead frame that you know what is coming up. If you have not seen the original films, then I recommend going but be prepared for a film that is at least 40 minutes too long. After an hour and a half, I was looking at my watch. Fincher did nothing to improve upon the original except to wrap everything up quickly at the end. Once Plummer disappeared. the pace really slowed and so did my hopes. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    5
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo of Fincher was doomed from the beginning to be compare with the Swedish version. The problem is that after this comparison the American production was totally degraded. Although the story is very attractive and scary, this is not a point for this movie, because there other one has it too; then we have the plot, here the development of the actions happen in aThe Girl with the Dragon Tattoo of Fincher was doomed from the beginning to be compare with the Swedish version. The problem is that after this comparison the American production was totally degraded. Although the story is very attractive and scary, this is not a point for this movie, because there other one has it too; then we have the plot, here the development of the actions happen in a darker atmosphere, but everything is less emotional and more carnal than the film of Niels Arden Oplev; in other words this picture is the Hollywood alter ego. And as an ultra-commercial movie have parts left over, which were shown implicit by the Swedish one (an extraordinary film is the one in which the viewer has to interpret or deduce some parts of the plot). Finally we have the contrast of the protagonists: Daniel Craig gives a weak performance, the one of Michael Nyqvist is a lot more convincing as Blomkvist. About Lisbeth Salander, which is a much more difficult role, I think Rooney Mara capture it more than Noomi Rapace, and that interpretation pulls this movie up. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    Initially one would think it was too soon to remake the original Swedish version of the movie, unless there are people out there who find reading English subtitles objectionable. This film was definitely in English, presenting the typical Hollywood paradox of how to indicate that the characters are really of another linguistic background. This has been a problem since the first war moviesInitially one would think it was too soon to remake the original Swedish version of the movie, unless there are people out there who find reading English subtitles objectionable. This film was definitely in English, presenting the typical Hollywood paradox of how to indicate that the characters are really of another linguistic background. This has been a problem since the first war movies where the Nazis are speaking English, usually with a German accent, and occasionally cursing in German. In this movie, the Swedish persona is communicated partly with the British accents of Daniel Craig and Joely Richardson and an occasional toast of Skol! Stellan Skarsgard, in the pivotal role of Martin Vanger, is one of the few speaking English with a Swedish accent. Americans Robin Wright and Rooney Mara have the added challenge of reciting their lines with a vaguely British accent to indicate they are Swedish. The bad guy in the gruesome rape scene is a Dutchman speaking English, and Christopher Plummer is actually Canadian, but speaks with such slow, deliberate elegance, you think he's Swedish. It gets complicated. Background signs and coffee mugs are all in Swedish, since the film was shot in Sweden. But having decided to remake the movie, the film is there to be watched (or rented), and it does compare well to the intensity and drama of the original Swedish production. Some of the story details have been changed, to no purpose, for the alterations neither downgrade nor enhance the quality of the narrative. The best reason to see this film is to watch the performance of Rooney Mara, a newcomer, who in a previous life shows up in Internet photos looking like a sweet and innocent child with long, dark hair. She has transformed herself inside out, practically changing her skin to become Lisbeth Salander. If you saw the original, you won't even remember Noomi Rapace in the same role, because Rooney Mara's intensity just wipes out all previous recollections. The artful cinematography aptly describes the bleak, desolate landscape of a Swedish winter. But the main drawback is the same one that flawed the previous version--the brutality of the rape scene is too graphic and too realistic. Cinema is art, and graphic brutality does nothing for the artistic vision being so carefully constructed on the screen. This kind of explicit rendering puts the film on the same level as inferior-quality films that do not aspire to be high art. It's a huge blotch in the middle of the film. The torture chamber at the end is also problematic. Somehow these plot elements have to be suggested rather than depicted, and I'm not sure how that would be done. But then I'm not getting paid barrels of cash to make this movie. And yes, it was a faux pas to release Dragon Tattoo just a few days before Christmas, but fortunately, the box office receipts recovered nicely from that marketing mistake. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2011
    6
    I have read all three books and seen all three foreign films. It is difficult not to draw comparison to the book and original film. A book is always better than the film made of it. The "Girl;" trilogy is no exception. The book clearly defines and fleshes out the characters and continues to add / remove layers of personality as it goes forth. Hollywood must have thought that very few wouldI have read all three books and seen all three foreign films. It is difficult not to draw comparison to the book and original film. A book is always better than the film made of it. The "Girl;" trilogy is no exception. The book clearly defines and fleshes out the characters and continues to add / remove layers of personality as it goes forth. Hollywood must have thought that very few would have seen the original film, that makes some sense,nor read the book, that makes no sense as they removed key parts from the book and miscast two characters. The story itself is often confusing as are the characters, who is related to who, how, motivations, etc. etc. But this is the MacGuffin; in the end, it doesn't matter; what makes the book thrilling, can't put down is Lisbeth. She is why we keep reading and watching. Ms Mara is mysterious, provocative, frenetic, sensual, enigmatic, and "is" Lisbeth; she is every bit as good as Ms Rapace. She drives the book and film. Bloomkvist must be cast perfectly to help us empathize with Lisbeth. Mr Craig is unable to do that. He is not vulnerable nor cold enough; he appears to be under water, finding difficulty with his role. Ms Wright is also miscast; she is not the sensual, yet strong, then vulnerable, force in Blomkvist or Millennium's life. The role is way under written from the book to be hardly existent. She is a strong presence in the book and key to how / why Bloomkvist does what he does. The movie leaves out a pivotal relationship, Lisbeth's girlfriend and instead throws us a gratuitous sex scene with no bearing on anything. In the book there is mistaken identity and revenge surrounding this missing character. Of course Hollywood tones down the sexual violence and shortens the film and this hurts it over all. The original movie while not an "A" is far superior but it's worth it to see this one for Ms Mara. On my scale the original is a B+ (8); this version is barely recommended, which is a B- on my scale so just a 6 here and only to see Lisbeth Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    6
    Unsatisfying. David Fincher who was at the top of his game with The Social Network runs all over the place with this piece and never manages to maintain a real focus on what the focus point of the film is about. There are just too many subplots that supposedly drive what should be the main focus which is the serial killer that gets just lost in the translation. Seven and The Zodiac didUnsatisfying. David Fincher who was at the top of his game with The Social Network runs all over the place with this piece and never manages to maintain a real focus on what the focus point of the film is about. There are just too many subplots that supposedly drive what should be the main focus which is the serial killer that gets just lost in the translation. Seven and The Zodiac did this much better. Rooney Mara is quite good but her performance certainly did not merit an Oscar Nomination. Daniel Craig is a standout as is Stellan Skarsgaard and Joely Richardson. The music seemed retrofitted and at times competed with the film and became glaring and just noise. The cinematography which seems to be used to underscore the mood of the film lacks a certain crisp quality that would enhance the whole process. There is so much here that could have made an incredible film and yet all we get are loose threads. There's nothing that creates a bond between the characters and the audience. It's almost as if the author created all these little sub plots just to deliberately derail the focus of the story and actually succeeds. Hanna was a better film than this with Saorise giving a much better performance in that vehicle than Rooney Mara does in this one. Like any of us really believe that Rooney Mara was driving that motorcycle. Dainel Craig gives credence to the investigative reporter and underplays enough to make him convincing. Three quarters through the film it's pretty clear that Stellan is the villian. The only piece that was surprising is that Harriett never died and was actually still alive yet there is little detail given to that subplot. Fincher's direction is very even but empty. The screenplay is just all over the place. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2014
    4
    It has moments of grimness and Rooney Mara scenes that desperate teenagers will love but The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo has unbearable pacing and a scattered plot that doesn't really make sense.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    6
    I was a little disappointed with this. I'm a huge Fincher fan, recently The Social Network really surprised me considering it's dull subject matter, and I was constantly on the edge of my seat.

    This however, I found fairly dull. The payoffs were pretty week, the casting rather dry. I found the score lacking at times, and far more of it was predictable than should've been. The
    I was a little disappointed with this. I'm a huge Fincher fan, recently The Social Network really surprised me considering it's dull subject matter, and I was constantly on the edge of my seat.

    This however, I found fairly dull. The payoffs were pretty week, the casting rather dry. I found the score lacking at times, and far more of it was predictable than should've been. The relationship was poorly developed, and it's not something I'd recommend to either Hollywood fans, or fans of good cinema. It wasn't a bad movie at all, but it just wasn't particularly remarkable in any way.
    Expand
  8. Dec 24, 2011
    6
    I really don't know what to think of this film. It was great in itself, but I can't help but compare it to the Swedish version, which I thought personally was slightly better. I guess most of my disappointment stems from the fact that it doesn't feel that much different besides how Lisbeth is portrayed and shaped. Lisbeth in the Fincher film seems more shattered, while Lisbeth in theI really don't know what to think of this film. It was great in itself, but I can't help but compare it to the Swedish version, which I thought personally was slightly better. I guess most of my disappointment stems from the fact that it doesn't feel that much different besides how Lisbeth is portrayed and shaped. Lisbeth in the Fincher film seems more shattered, while Lisbeth in the Swedish version seems more determined. Expand
  9. Jan 6, 2012
    4
    If you have seen the original, and I recommend it very highly you will find this American remake laughable. While it is loudly distracting with bass heavy music, and a highly expensive overdone opening, it is never so disappointing as when they take a strong representation of blind justice and insult you by rewriting her as subservient and submissive in order to actually appeal to you asIf you have seen the original, and I recommend it very highly you will find this American remake laughable. While it is loudly distracting with bass heavy music, and a highly expensive overdone opening, it is never so disappointing as when they take a strong representation of blind justice and insult you by rewriting her as subservient and submissive in order to actually appeal to you as a watcher. As if the book's and original film's version of this character's character were too impossible to grasp. It is a Disneyland version of a very good book and original film Thpppp. Big fat raspberry. A visual 8, a storyline 1. Collapse
  10. Dec 27, 2011
    5
    A mess. Worth seeing, perhaps, for the spectacle of Rooney Mara killing off Lisbeth Salander - death by overacting. The very worst moment of the movie - watch carefully for it - comes when Daniel Craig offers L.S. the chance to pursue a serial killer of women: watch Rooney Mara's reaction. The movie dies there, if in fact it ever was alive (yes, possibly it was, all the way through theA mess. Worth seeing, perhaps, for the spectacle of Rooney Mara killing off Lisbeth Salander - death by overacting. The very worst moment of the movie - watch carefully for it - comes when Daniel Craig offers L.S. the chance to pursue a serial killer of women: watch Rooney Mara's reaction. The movie dies there, if in fact it ever was alive (yes, possibly it was, all the way through the opening credits). Actually, I did thoroughly enjoy myself exactly once: during the previews, at the end of the preview for Rock of Ages, when the words "Coming Soon" appeared and someone in the audience shouted, con brio, "We want it now!!" That wasn't bad acting. Expand
  11. Jan 6, 2013
    6
    Well, it's complicated thriller far enough! The naked cruelty limits the sensitive audience while the tightly prescribed story keeps you deep breathing.
  12. Dec 25, 2011
    4
    I think the Fincher film is a reasonable effort but I found an interesting analysis of the original Swedish version at www.4thdimensionfilms.wordpress.com.

    It is a more succinct review.
  13. Apr 12, 2012
    5
    I loved that some of the cast went for scandinavian lilts to their accents, and some of them didn't. She's great, but the whole thing is such obvious trash, that the director's good taste and desire for realism makes the whole thing a bummer instead of a juicy guilty pleasure. Definitely a miss, despite the craft on display.
  14. Dec 20, 2011
    6
    I'd been looking forward to seeing David Fincher's remake of THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO, since it was announced he was doing it. Unfortunately I came away extremely disappointed. The original was much better. This American remake was frankly boring, and had I not seen the original, I wouldn't have any idea what was going on plot wise.
  15. Dec 22, 2011
    5
    There is plenty of sex in the American version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo which Liz and I saw last night at the AMC Van Ness at the first screening of this long awaited film.
    I must admit to being vaguely disappointed. Perhaps it is due to the fact I over hyped myself the past six months. Or the fact I have read all three books in the trilogy and seen each of the three Swedish
    There is plenty of sex in the American version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo which Liz and I saw last night at the AMC Van Ness at the first screening of this long awaited film.
    I must admit to being vaguely disappointed. Perhaps it is due to the fact I over hyped myself the past six months. Or the fact I have read all three books in the trilogy and seen each of the three Swedish films several times. Finally, I am susceptible to films spoken in another language. The story moves along at a brisk pace, the sound track by Trent Razor contributes to the atmosphere of this dark story involving, at its heart, a serial killer. The photography, set mostly in Sweden, is excellent
    I am unsure why the critics are so generally enthusiastic. The film is OK. But after all the self induced hyped I can only, sadly, award it a three or even 2.5 stars on the four scale.
    The David Fincher production appears to be more choppy than its Swedish original which flowed at a steadier pace. Perhaps it is the opening credits which Liz says remind her of a James Bond send-up. This opening sets the tenor for the movie, high energy and somewhat disjointed.
    Mara Rooney is getting all sort of positive buzz for her work as hacker queen Lisabeth Salander. Sheâ
    Expand
  16. Apr 21, 2012
    5
    I must admit I was disappointed with Mara's performance as Lisbeth. Lisbeth is a complicated character with complex emotions who suffers from constant inner turmoil. I was looking forward to seeing an actress's attempt to convey such complex behavior. And after all this is a story driven by a female lead character. Unfortunately I can't even recall seeing any versatility or depth inI must admit I was disappointed with Mara's performance as Lisbeth. Lisbeth is a complicated character with complex emotions who suffers from constant inner turmoil. I was looking forward to seeing an actress's attempt to convey such complex behavior. And after all this is a story driven by a female lead character. Unfortunately I can't even recall seeing any versatility or depth in Mara's performance. She had only one facial expression, that of contempt for anyone who was present. And her delivery of lines was not memorable in the least bit. I believe what made this movie successful was the director's ability to put Mara into situations that were interesting. In conclusion, don't watch this movie if you expect an inspiring or moving portrayal of Ms. Salander. *Definitely give the English dubbed version of the Swedish movie a try, the voice acting is excellent, and quickly you can't even notice that its dubbed. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 22, 2011
    70
    Has much to recommend it - high-end craftsmanship, a singular heroine, a labyrinthine mystery, an intriguing milieu - yet lacks a vital spark.
  2. 70
    David Fincher's American remake of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo adds nothing to the previous adaptation, but it's certainly the more evocative piece of filmmaking.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 22, 2011
    63
    From him (Fincher), we get – what? – a faithful adaptation that brings the dazzle but shortchanges on the daring.