User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 625 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 625
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    Following the very successful adaptation of Stieg Larssons millennium trilogy into three very successful Swedish language films, it came as no surprise when Hollywood announced that it would be making an English-language version of the series. Director David Fincher was announced to craft the first book in the series, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. The new version follows very close toFollowing the very successful adaptation of Stieg Larssons millennium trilogy into three very successful Swedish language films, it came as no surprise when Hollywood announced that it would be making an English-language version of the series. Director David Fincher was announced to craft the first book in the series, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. The new version follows very close to the original material with one fairly big exception which I will detail later in the review. Daniel Craig stars as Mikael Blomkvist, who at the opening of the film has recently lost a court case for which he was being sued for libel by a prominent business figure. His career is in ruins and virtually all of his savings gone as a result of the trial and punitive damages. So when he is contacted by an attorney representing the wealthy and powerful Vanger family, he agrees to meet. Although highly reluctant to take a meeting, Mikael takes the four hour train ride north of Stockholm to a cold and remote island to meet with Henrik Vanger (Christopher Plummer). Henrik wishes Mikael to investigate the disappearance of his niece some 40 years earlier, a niece vanished under the familiesâ Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    I am quite frankly gobsmacked at the reviews this film has received. This film was my joint favourite of the year, tying with drive. Me and my girlfriend have read the books within the past year, and sat down to watch the extended version of the Swedish film the night before. To both of us, the difference was like night and day. The pacing in the Swedish version was plodding, and LisbethI am quite frankly gobsmacked at the reviews this film has received. This film was my joint favourite of the year, tying with drive. Me and my girlfriend have read the books within the past year, and sat down to watch the extended version of the Swedish film the night before. To both of us, the difference was like night and day. The pacing in the Swedish version was plodding, and Lisbeth felt far too friendly (as did Henrik Vanger). And despite it being an extended version, so much great stuff from the books was omitted.

    David Fincher did exactly what I wanted; he upped the pace to the point where lines nearly overlap, cramming in tons of content in a shorter space of time. Not only that, Lisbeth was almost perfect, feeling as spiky, cold and unapproachable as she should do (although I personally would give her an internal monologue if I directed the film). Gladly the film followed suit and reflected her personality, meaning that as opposed to the Swedish film, she felt more like the main character she should be.

    My only complaint would be of choosing Daniel Craig as Blomkvist. I personally felt he was quite fatherly and warm, until he was obsessed in his work. Daniel felt a little cold throughout, and exuded a little more confidence than I would've expected. That said, seeing him as Bond does not help my case.

    Anyway, thoroughly enjoyed it; the music, cinematography, pacing, acting and plotline were exactly what I was looking for. Better than the Swedish film if you're looking for a more spiky, frightening, fast-paced take on TGWTDT.
    Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    This movie adaptation was as good as it could be and I have no criticisms in that regard but the problem occurs when it is compared to the novels which is unfair because not every detail can incorporated into the actual movie. This movie was very well done in terms of production and Rooney Mara was phenomenal as Lisbeth Salander. The original swedish verions were also very good but theyThis movie adaptation was as good as it could be and I have no criticisms in that regard but the problem occurs when it is compared to the novels which is unfair because not every detail can incorporated into the actual movie. This movie was very well done in terms of production and Rooney Mara was phenomenal as Lisbeth Salander. The original swedish verions were also very good but they should not take away from what this version has to offer. The two trilogies can be compared and contrasted to no end but each should not be viewed as better or worse based on the other. Apart from these comparative issues, the movie was excellent but not everyone will be able to enjoy the depth that this movie offers without reading the books. I do hope that adaptations of the next two books are made and that they are done just as well as this one was. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" was an extremely interesting and intense film. Though some elements of this film were not necessarily for me, primarily the rape scenes, I was still very able to appreciate its beauty. It is a bit long (about 2 hrs 45 minutes), but the pace and the variety of scenes allowed the movie to flow seamlessly and created a very aesthetic atmosphere. I would"The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" was an extremely interesting and intense film. Though some elements of this film were not necessarily for me, primarily the rape scenes, I was still very able to appreciate its beauty. It is a bit long (about 2 hrs 45 minutes), but the pace and the variety of scenes allowed the movie to flow seamlessly and created a very aesthetic atmosphere. I would recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys a good mystery, since this movie is chock full of them. I see that most of the bad reviews on here are from people complaining that a remake was unnecessary since the original Swedish version came out just recently. Honestly I feel that it was a smart move to make an English remake to appeal to the predominantly English speaking countries. Having not seen the original, I canâ Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is yet another masterful addition to the David Fincher canon. His movies are distinctly unique among modern Hollywood. On one hand, they are highly commercial, slick action pictures; on the other, he imbues his films with layers and layers of intriguing, dark and perverse subtext. All his films are just dense with juicy details and character idiosyncracies. I thought that this film trumped the swedish version because it revealed deeper shades of the characters and their lives (much is unspoken but evident in character behaviour) as well as the overall aesthetic atmosphere, which to me were synonomous with the most intriguing aspects of the book. I thought in terms of plot development and detail, the swedish tv series and subsequent movies had a lot more literate exposition and they included more detail from the plot of the novel, but imho I agree with Fincher and Zaillian's perspective of dialing down extra plot detail in order to have a clear expose of the main themes of the book. Fincher does not shy away from the grim horrors of male domination, in fact the elements of sexual abuse in this film are evoked so clearly, graphically and painfully that it has the capacity to disturb on a profound conscious level. Fincher knows very well that the real plot of these stories deals with rape and sexual torture in our society. Overall the film's aesthetic quality is unsurpassed, Fincher remains one of the few modern hollywood auteurs. His keen eye for visual precision and atmosphere as well as the suberb music of Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross make for a thoroughly mesmerizing adaptation. I believe added viewings of this film are necassary (Like all of Fincher, and great films in general). Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    The US version of the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo proves to be a very well-done film and in my opinion is an improvement over the Swedish version. I know there are a bunch of disgruntled fans of the original Swedish version that don't like this film but I think that it works well and the characterizations are good in their own right. There are some changes to the US version from theThe US version of the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo proves to be a very well-done film and in my opinion is an improvement over the Swedish version. I know there are a bunch of disgruntled fans of the original Swedish version that don't like this film but I think that it works well and the characterizations are good in their own right. There are some changes to the US version from the Swedish version, especially towards the end but in my opinion it flows better than the Swedish version and I found the ending to be much more satisfying than the Swedish versions ending. Also, you simply cannot beat Trent Reznor's and Atticus Ross' score for the film. Rooney Mara is simply outstanding and brings a different interpretation of Lisbeth that I felt was better with the more vulnerable characteristics. Noomi Rapace's more confident an empowered version is also very good and I don't want to take anything away from that either. This film also provides a good opportunity to create better sequels. After the original GWTGT, the next two swedish films were really weak and were disappointing efforts. Hopefully Fincher and company return to bring the other two books to the screen. Expand
  7. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    I was fully prepared to loathe this film. I was very affected by Larsson's written work. (I sent for English publishers editions rather than wait for the douche American conglomerates' one-year-between-volumes of the trilogy separation) I think that the Swedish versions are absolutely what the novels demanded and are sufficient on their merits to have been the only cinematic versions. ThatI was fully prepared to loathe this film. I was very affected by Larsson's written work. (I sent for English publishers editions rather than wait for the douche American conglomerates' one-year-between-volumes of the trilogy separation) I think that the Swedish versions are absolutely what the novels demanded and are sufficient on their merits to have been the only cinematic versions. That said, I left the theater just pleased, and impressed. I hd fears of any overly glamorized, sanitized Hollywood version. Fincher has brought none of that to the screen. This is as stark as it should be. Daniel Craig is very good as Kalle Blomkvist and Rooney Mara is a more damaged Lisbeth. My only serious quibble with this film is Fincher's decision to have Blomkvist be a father and in touch with his daughter and ex-wife. I se nothing added to the character (in fact I think that Larsson intended that Mikael be a self-absorbed workaholic, as Larsson seems to have been). I sincerely hope that this Dragon Tattoo version earns enough to provide backing for an entire trilogy. If that comes to pass, inclusion of the daughter and ex-wife characters promises the possibility of some cheesy plot devices that will ruin the remaining chapters if used. If Fincher avoids that temptation and pitfall, the debate will rage for decades to the delight of film geeks everywhere! Expand
  8. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    As a big fan of the books and the Swedish movies, went to see the Fincher movie with my husband and sister who are equally big fans of the books and Swedish movies. All three of us LOVED this new version. The plot followed the book closely, Rooney Mara and Daniel Craig hopped right out of the book. Fincher improved on the original and was a big hit with the three of us. BRAVO!!!As a big fan of the books and the Swedish movies, went to see the Fincher movie with my husband and sister who are equally big fans of the books and Swedish movies. All three of us LOVED this new version. The plot followed the book closely, Rooney Mara and Daniel Craig hopped right out of the book. Fincher improved on the original and was a big hit with the three of us. BRAVO!!! Haven't seen it??? GO!!! NOW!!! Then post your review. Expand
  9. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    The girl who plays her has sexy pics at http://xxxfever.info username wildnout14 I have to say she is very stunning and a great actor too.................................
  10. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    I was skeptical going into the theatre about how great this film would actually be and almost expecting to be let down, especially considering how much I enjoyed the Swedish version. Noomi Rapace was, in my opinion, the quintessential Lisbeth Salander, and I thought there was no way Rooney Mara could compete. I was, however, quite pleasantly surprised--she actually pulled it off! ThoughI was skeptical going into the theatre about how great this film would actually be and almost expecting to be let down, especially considering how much I enjoyed the Swedish version. Noomi Rapace was, in my opinion, the quintessential Lisbeth Salander, and I thought there was no way Rooney Mara could compete. I was, however, quite pleasantly surprised--she actually pulled it off! Though perhaps her portrayal of a more vulnerable--and dare I say likeable--L.S. may not be very true to the book, I did find myself caring more about her, and I think that this less abrasive depiction will be more appealing to people who have not read the series and therefore know very little about her past. My biggest complaints were actually quite small and therefore don't subtract from my rating, them being that it did run on a bit long after the climax, and that the more, shall we say 'disturbing' scenes, although still quite upsetting, were toned down a bit too much for my liking and were not as potent as they were both in the book and the Swedish film version. All in all, it was incredibly entertaining and I recommend anyone to see it! Expand
  11. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    This movie was amazing it was a great, dark, mysterious film. David fincher knows his stuff. When the trailer came out I knew immediately I was going to see it even though I knew nothing about it. It pulled off its longness really well to, you didnt feel like it was dragging on forever. I don't know why this hasn't been getting as much love as other movies, It was freakin awesome! Go watchThis movie was amazing it was a great, dark, mysterious film. David fincher knows his stuff. When the trailer came out I knew immediately I was going to see it even though I knew nothing about it. It pulled off its longness really well to, you didnt feel like it was dragging on forever. I don't know why this hasn't been getting as much love as other movies, It was freakin awesome! Go watch it! It's pretty close to a perfect movie! Expand
  12. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    Hell yeah this is the type of movie that I like to watch on Christmas. I have never read the book but saw the Swedish version of the film. This was hands down my second favorite movie last year. Rooney, Rooney! See was flat out great. I hope she wins the Oscar for all the stuff she had to learn and for powerhouse performance that made me scared of her. Can't wait for the next two.
  13. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    Funny... as opposed to most people who've seen Girl with the D..T..., I felt it was trite and somewhat stupid. A Silence of the Lambs knock-off. The "out of country" feel calculated to pander to an insular American audience' sense that "they been somewhere else." In other words, if you juice up the beautiful Swedish landscapes with a lot of violence and sadism -- it's a SALE! Lord knows,Funny... as opposed to most people who've seen Girl with the D..T..., I felt it was trite and somewhat stupid. A Silence of the Lambs knock-off. The "out of country" feel calculated to pander to an insular American audience' sense that "they been somewhere else." In other words, if you juice up the beautiful Swedish landscapes with a lot of violence and sadism -- it's a SALE! Lord knows, those Hollywood marketeers know their sheis. Really! Nazis... why didn't they just make them Nazis AND zombies?! And the secret room... wooooooo! I'm sure they got a lot of that in Sweden. The parts of the movie that had any relationship to reality, no one would believe. And of course, the quintessential evil male -- what modern movie would be complete without him? And of course, to pander (there's that word again) to the innate (and base I might add) human tendency towards self-righteous violence -- we must first:
    1. Add unbidden violence on undeserving victim
    2. Next, ensure unbidden violence emanates from stereotyped group
    3. Unleash righteous wrath of "victim" - whom incidentally does things just as bad or worse than original crime - but makes _you_ feel GOOD! ("because he deserved it).
    Thus, you, the public are made worse than an animal, because you know there's always someone to hate who is worse than you.
    And what's with the tattoos anyway? So passe.
    Expand
  14. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    In my oppinion in this year it is one of the best films and I like it ! I think that it can take an Oscar like a best film of the year but , it can't ...
  15. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    I am going to go out on a limb and say this but "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" was the best film in 2011. Daniel Craig showed us a role that he proved that he could play well and the newly talented Rooney Mara was the best part of it. There are movies where you can tell whether or not they put a lot of effort into it and this proves that they did. The story line was phenomenal, theI am going to go out on a limb and say this but "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" was the best film in 2011. Daniel Craig showed us a role that he proved that he could play well and the newly talented Rooney Mara was the best part of it. There are movies where you can tell whether or not they put a lot of effort into it and this proves that they did. The story line was phenomenal, the actors were great, the cinematography really shined and the original score behind it was also as great. In my opinion the best part of the film was the Female Lead, Rooney Mara, who plays Lisbeth Salander in the film and plays it with a passion like no other. Pick it up on DVD on March 20. Expand
  16. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    I loved it! I personally liked it a lot more than the Swedish version (both are brilliant films). A little long. Rooney Mara is brilliant, we'll be hearing about her in the future. The opening credits are super stylish and epic.
  17. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    Brutal, dark, intense, shocking, interesting, and enjoyable, these are just some of the words I would use to describe this movie, it's fantastic but not in the way you'd expect, honestly after watching this I was pretty surprised at what I just watched, let me just tell you this it's earned it's R rating, and that this is definitely one you don't want to end up in the hands of a kid, theBrutal, dark, intense, shocking, interesting, and enjoyable, these are just some of the words I would use to describe this movie, it's fantastic but not in the way you'd expect, honestly after watching this I was pretty surprised at what I just watched, let me just tell you this it's earned it's R rating, and that this is definitely one you don't want to end up in the hands of a kid, the plot is enjoyable, it has a fantastic soundtrack, and Daniel Craig and Rooney Mara both deliver outstanding and exceptional performances, Rooney Mara's performance as Lisabeth in particular was phenomenal, she made her character come to life and made me want to learn everything about Lisabeth, and I hope they make the sequels just so I can, it's an outstanding, intense, and fantastic movie experience that I highly recommend, just be sure your ready for it first. Expand
  18. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Absolutely awesome! Everything about it is just great. Fincher did an outstanding job. I have read all three books and seen the original foreign films and I gotta say Fincher's version is the best. I don't see any reason to hate on this movie just because it was made after the original, if you like the original better that's great, watch it over and over again. As for me, I'll be watchingAbsolutely awesome! Everything about it is just great. Fincher did an outstanding job. I have read all three books and seen the original foreign films and I gotta say Fincher's version is the best. I don't see any reason to hate on this movie just because it was made after the original, if you like the original better that's great, watch it over and over again. As for me, I'll be watching Fincher's version over and over again simply because I enjoyed it alot more. It looked better, it was acted better and the music was freaking fantastic! Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross are geniuses, I think the music may have been my favourite part of the movie. Although it did make a few changes to the story that I'm not entirely happy about, this movie did the book justice and was awesome from beginning to end! Expand
  19. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Outstanding movie. The details of the plot were somewhat modified from the book yet in no way did that diminish the story. Best movie I have seen in quite some time.
  20. Jan 2, 2012
    8
    After a very slow and unfocused first hour(out of the 2.7 hours) the film engages and impresses. Is it better than the original, no. Does it take away from the original, no. It stands on it's own. Mara is fine, but not anything award-worthy.
  21. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    Fincher at his best. This movie is electrifying from the very start. There is an edge to it that is sustained throughout. Reznor sets the tone with a tremendous score, and the acting is superb.
  22. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    This is a good movie . This one is available at http://tinyurl.com/MovieStreamingOnline
    in English, in HQ quality FREE . Plays like youtube .


    This movie is availabe for free in HD at:

    http://tinyurl.com/MovieStreamingOnline


    recommended.
  23. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    Impressive movie has to be on of the most challenging for daniel craig, things like this happen all the time its not a safe world and if you do get free from something like this you always remember it. Unique movie thought...
  24. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have special love for the original Swedish version which I listed as my fourth favorite film of 2010. If that movie didn't exist, I may have very different feelings about this one - for good AND for bad. Rooney Mara is terrific in this role, but I don't think she's necessarily better than Noomi. Noomi had that smoldering, caged heat feeling about her. It was more of a masculine slow burn, whereas Rooney is much more feminine, and her character is a bit less focused. Both are solid in their roles, but I think I prefer Noomi's take on it. The Swedish version focuses much more on the the mystery of Harriet's death, and it's much more process-oriented, which I preferred. The Fincher film glosses over much of the detail of that investigation ,and I feel that if I hadn't seen the original, I might have been a bit lost with regard to the family tree, the unlocking of the old photographs, and the tic toc on the day of the car crash on the bridge. I also liked the original's resolution of the murder mystery storyline much more, with Harriet coming back from Australia - the acting and the sense of relief was palpable and enormously satisfying. Comparatively I didn't feel that Christopher Plummer cared nearly as much to see her. Now, on the other hand, the "theft" sequence with Mara draining bank accounts and her subsequent show of real love for Bloomquist at the end was much more fleshed out - and to a more satisfying degree - in the Fincher film. The bottom line for me is that there's nothing like the first time, and this film simply didn't stack up to the power of original which really did cut like a knife. To me, it's a classic. To compare these two to another pair of films - I loved Let The Right One One, the Swedish original, but Let Me In, the American version, stacked up very well against it. It brought something special to the story - perhaps more so than than Fincher's Dragon Tattoo does. ALL this being said, I certainly was entertained by Fincher's movie and recommend it. Expand
  25. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    The best movie I've seen all year. Mara Rooney deserved top billing! Struck me as much as Saving Private Ryan: fascinating to watch, parts of it were shocking, and I spent a long time thinking about it afterward.
  26. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Just finished the 3 book series and watched the movie tonight. Overall, I thought is was very well done. Of course, there were details and side stories that were left out; however the overall story and relevant material were handled exceptionally well. It was well acted, suspenseful and worth the price of a movie ticket.
  27. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    David Fincher's "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo" is exceptional. I write this having read the novel only one week before. It was amazing to see a master filmmaker lend his vision and excellent craft to a story that I truly enjoyed. Fans of the novel will note that a few side-plots are deleted and unfortunately a very revelatory journey at the end of the story is omitted. But the theDavid Fincher's "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo" is exceptional. I write this having read the novel only one week before. It was amazing to see a master filmmaker lend his vision and excellent craft to a story that I truly enjoyed. Fans of the novel will note that a few side-plots are deleted and unfortunately a very revelatory journey at the end of the story is omitted. But the the detailed character development, thriller, mystery, romance (?), and real-life horror elements are all there.

    For a few days I've been reading deprecatory reviews that said this is a "slicker" version than the original Swedish film. They were correct in that it is more streamlined and wrong in that it is the worse for it. The book is 682 pages, how do you fit that into 2.5 hours? The director and screen-writer have to move plot points along at a brisk pace.

    Immediately after seeing Fincher's version I watched the original Swedish movie online. The difference is night and day. I loved the original movie when I saw it in an art-house theater a few years ago. But now that I've seen Fincher's vision? David Fincher and his Director of Photography bring a true cinematic brilliance to what is at first a whodunnit and then turns out to be a mix of emotional character study and real life horror on many levels.

    Daniel Craig as the male lead is great but maybe not as "real" and haggard as Nyqvist in the original film. But the standout of the whole movie, above and beyond the harrowing script, is Rooney Mara's portrayal of Lisbeth Salander.

    Where Noomi Rapace excellently portrayed Salander in the original film as an aggressive punk, Mara conveys social and emotional scars not just through her appearance (peircings and black leather) but also through her physicality and dialogue. Mara's Salander averts her gaze from the world, but when she looks into your eyes you see pain and fear that will quickly turn to aggression. In the original film Salander's sexuality is an extension of her aggressiveness. Here it's a crack in her armor that makes her human. My only complaint is not in the length of the denouement but how the details go by so quickly. All in all, f@#king brilliant. I want to see it again soon.
    Expand
  28. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have not read the books, nor have I seen the original version of the movie. Therefore, some of my pet peeves about the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo may lie somewhere in the story itself rather than the editing. Don't get me wrong. The movie is great. I immensely look forward to sequels. Rooney Mara's performance alone is enough to want to see the series continue. The entire cast is fantastic, but what seemed to bug me most during the movie is the extended amount of time spent on some elements of the story, like her being a ward of the state, but how much time wasn't spent on explaining the backstory re: Daniel Craig's lawsuit and relationship with Robin Penn. A lot effort was spent building up the need for Christopher Plummer to hire Daniel Craig to solve this mystery, yet very little into connecting Craig and Mara together. For someone so unsociable, she unnaturally connected quickly with Craig. Then, when it was all said and done, the story seemed to wrap up too quickly as compared to the build up. So, while the story was good, the directing was good and the cast was good, the piecing together of the film itself seemed haphazardly done. Was this editing? Was it the story itself? At 2:34 long, I would have expected a better flow, but nonetheless, my high expectations were met and I look forward to more. Expand
  29. drm
    Dec 24, 2011
    8
    I've read some of the reviews on here, whining about the fact that it's a remake of the original movie, or that the book is better...blah blah blah. That is a really unfair attitude to throw on a very well made film. The cinesnobs seem to really have it out for this one. If you're Swedish, I can understand that attitude. I singularly enjoyed not having to read subtitles. David FincherI've read some of the reviews on here, whining about the fact that it's a remake of the original movie, or that the book is better...blah blah blah. That is a really unfair attitude to throw on a very well made film. The cinesnobs seem to really have it out for this one. If you're Swedish, I can understand that attitude. I singularly enjoyed not having to read subtitles. David Fincher did a wonderful directing job, as always. Daniel Craig is too cool for school. Rooney Mara is awesome. Great titles. Good music. I was just so thrilled to not be insulted at the megaplex. I think we all can agree that that is an absolute rarity these days. To the snobs...save your venom for Transformers 4 or Mr. Popper's Penguins 2. Sheesh. Expand
  30. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    God Damn, this film is excellent. Fincher has that signature style that keeps audiences entertained and engaged with the story, characters, and dialogue. I can honestly say that there was nothing that i disliked about TGWTDT. I was a little skeptical about how the soundtrack would turn out, because I'm not a huge Trent Reznor/Atticus Ross fan, but it surprisingly complimented the moviesGod Damn, this film is excellent. Fincher has that signature style that keeps audiences entertained and engaged with the story, characters, and dialogue. I can honestly say that there was nothing that i disliked about TGWTDT. I was a little skeptical about how the soundtrack would turn out, because I'm not a huge Trent Reznor/Atticus Ross fan, but it surprisingly complimented the movies dark and ominous tone in the most subtly effective way possible. The cinematography is nothing short of amazing, along with the lighting, sound, and editing. Fincher has this uncanny ability to keep the camera "calm" in the brutally graphic, high-tension scenes. I could go on and on about how good this film is, but just go see it for yourself. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 22, 2011
    70
    Has much to recommend it - high-end craftsmanship, a singular heroine, a labyrinthine mystery, an intriguing milieu - yet lacks a vital spark.
  2. 70
    David Fincher's American remake of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo adds nothing to the previous adaptation, but it's certainly the more evocative piece of filmmaking.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 22, 2011
    63
    From him (Fincher), we get – what? – a faithful adaptation that brings the dazzle but shortchanges on the daring.