The Godfather: Part II

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 511 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 511

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    Its easily the greatest sequel of all time, The Godfather 2 does a good job at living up to the previous film. Despite its greatness, It doesnt have as much originality that the first film had but its still great.
  2. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Seriously? Only a "Generally favorable reviews" from critics? Really? The Godfather Part II is an absolute masterpiece. It keeps all of the great elements from the first movie (the drama, fantastic cast, great script, and unforgettable quotes), and also adds new elements that are great (a new story with Michael that is fantastic, tragic moments, and plenty of twists). I really am not doingSeriously? Only a "Generally favorable reviews" from critics? Really? The Godfather Part II is an absolute masterpiece. It keeps all of the great elements from the first movie (the drama, fantastic cast, great script, and unforgettable quotes), and also adds new elements that are great (a new story with Michael that is fantastic, tragic moments, and plenty of twists). I really am not doing this movie justice, just go see it! Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    8
    I liked it and though it was a good sequel that did well enough to at least live up slightly to the first film. However the parts with Michael are rather boring and dont do enough to keep you interested through out the film. Vito's flashback sequences are amazing though and provide great backstory to his character. Acting is amazing as well. The plot is good too.
  4. RexG.
    May 13, 2006
    9
    Without Marlon Brando in the original I would have probably given it a 10 but he's just lacking in this movie. Al Pacino acts good but isn't as convincing as "his father". Robert De Niro however was a great choice for the young Don Vito. Not quite as good as the original for the reasons mentioned above but still an outstanding movie.
  5. MikeP.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    To put it simply: The Godfather Part II is one of the finest pieces of cinema to ever be crafted. How anyone can rate this film below an 8 is just totally beyond me. The cinematography is brilliant. The characters are highly textured. The dual story lines being parallel throughout the film is an excellent device in which to tell the stories of Vito and Michael Corleone. Mario Puzo and To put it simply: The Godfather Part II is one of the finest pieces of cinema to ever be crafted. How anyone can rate this film below an 8 is just totally beyond me. The cinematography is brilliant. The characters are highly textured. The dual story lines being parallel throughout the film is an excellent device in which to tell the stories of Vito and Michael Corleone. Mario Puzo and Francis Ford Coppola have created a masterpiece. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    A true masterpiece. Unlike the original, there are no dull moments. The present story is wonderful, but it's the flashbacks that I found to be brilliant. Excellent movie.
  7. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    One of those movies you are supposed to see but never get around to. I got around to it. Do beleive the hype - It's great. Great story, great cast, great film
  8. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This movie is SPECTACULAR! I can't decide if it's better than the first one. Everyone gives exceptional performances and the dialogue is so well written it almost seems real. The plot is so interesting and totally sucks you in, you can't even tell it's over 3 hours. Robert De Niro's, Vito Corleone, I almost (not quite though) is as good as Marlon Brando's. Which I think was an amazingThis movie is SPECTACULAR! I can't decide if it's better than the first one. Everyone gives exceptional performances and the dialogue is so well written it almost seems real. The plot is so interesting and totally sucks you in, you can't even tell it's over 3 hours. Robert De Niro's, Vito Corleone, I almost (not quite though) is as good as Marlon Brando's. Which I think was an amazing achievement. It is possibly the greatest movie ever made. Expand
  9. May 4, 2014
    10
    By continuing Michael Corleone's story AND traveling back to Vito's timeline, this film is one of the only sequels that can match its predecessor. This and The Dark Knight alone.
  10. Mar 13, 2016
    10
    A companion piece in the truest sense of the term, The Godfather Part II garnered as much adulation as its predecessor, if not more. Receiving twelve Academy Award nominations, and again winning Best Picture (and this time Best Director for Coppola as well), the second installment has been rightfully hailed as the best sequel of all time.

    The Godfather Part II is a more ambitious
    A companion piece in the truest sense of the term, The Godfather Part II garnered as much adulation as its predecessor, if not more. Receiving twelve Academy Award nominations, and again winning Best Picture (and this time Best Director for Coppola as well), the second installment has been rightfully hailed as the best sequel of all time.

    The Godfather Part II is a more ambitious production than the original since it attempts not only to tell a pair of completely disconnected stories, but to do so in parallel. The less time consuming of the two presents the early life of Vito Corleone (played by Robert DeNiro) in Sicily and New York, and shows how he came into power. The other tale picks up approximately a decade after the conclusion of The Godfather, and shows the means by which Michael Corleone (Al Pacino), now secure in his position, attempts to expand the family empire into Las Vegas and Cuba.

    Plot and counterplot develop, and Michael becomes the focal point of a web of betrayal and deceit, turned against by those he had sought to protect. Assassination attempts and government probes target Michael, but he fights back using every scintilla of ingenuity he possesses and sacrificing much of his humanity in the process.

    For a man constantly battling to keep his family together, a mournful irony of The Godfather Part II is that Michael's efforts succeed only in fragmenting it. If the end of the first film was numbing, this one is shattering. The flashback preceding the final scene presents a stark differentiation of how things once were from what they have become.

    The traditional elements of the Tragedy introduced in The Godfather reach their maturity in Part II. Much of the humanity remaining to Michael at the outset is leeched from him with each deception and setback. Late scenes with a resentful Fredo (John Cazale) and a bitter Kay (Diane Keaton) emphasize the price for Michael of continuing his father's dominion. His flaw is his imperceptiveness and, as is the case for any hero in a story of this nature, its effects are crippling.

    Primarily due to the scope of events, Part II is not as tightly-scripted as Part I. While most of the first film takes place in New York (with a few excursions elsewhere), here the settings vary: Sicily, Ellis Island, New York, Nevada, Cuba, Miami, Washington DC. In letting their characters escape the confines of the "old neighborhood", Coppola and Puzo lessen the intimacy of certain interpersonal conflicts.

    Visually, many of Michael's scenes have a more gloomy appearance this time around. Especially during the latter portions of the film, the don is shown in severely underexposed settings, appearing as a silhouette. His is a voice from the darkness - a photographic mirror of what's happening beneath the surface.

    As the beginning of Part II echoes the opening of The Godfather, so too does the end. Because of the manner in which circumstances are handled and considering the people involved, the impact here is more forceful. The tragic flaw has accomplished its poisonous, inevitable designs. Coppola punctuates both movies with a gut-twisting exclamation point.

    Combined, The Godfather and The Godfather Part II represent the apex of American movie-making and the ultimate gangster story. Few sequels have expanded upon the original with the faithfulness and detail of this one. Beneath the surface veneer of an ethnic period piece, The Godfather is not so much about crime lords as it is about prices paid in the currency of the soul for decisions made and avoided. It is that quality which establishes this saga as timeless.
    Expand
  11. Mar 22, 2016
    10
    A companion piece in the truest sense of the term, The Godfather Part II garnered as much adulation as its predecessor, if not more. Receiving twelve Academy Award nominations, and again winning Best Picture (and this time Best Director for Coppola as well), the second installment has been rightfully hailed as the best sequel of all time.

    The Godfather Part II is a more ambitious
    A companion piece in the truest sense of the term, The Godfather Part II garnered as much adulation as its predecessor, if not more. Receiving twelve Academy Award nominations, and again winning Best Picture (and this time Best Director for Coppola as well), the second installment has been rightfully hailed as the best sequel of all time.

    The Godfather Part II is a more ambitious production than the original since it attempts not only to tell a pair of completely disconnected stories, but to do so in parallel. The less time consuming of the two presents the early life of Vito Corleone (played by Robert DeNiro) in Sicily and New York, and shows how he came into power. The other tale picks up approximately a decade after the conclusion of The Godfather, and shows the means by which Michael Corleone (Al Pacino), now secure in his position, attempts to expand the family empire into Las Vegas and Cuba.

    Michael lives his life and runs his business by two of his father's creeds: "A man who doesn't spend time with his family can never be a real man" and "Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer." There are times, however, when those precepts fail as guiding principles, such as when a betrayal occurs from within the family. Broken trust arising from so intimate a source can be devastating.

    In The Godfather, family was more important than anything to Don Vito Corleone. Michael has inherited his father's values and as Part II opens, he is surrounded by the Corleone clan as they gather for his son's first communion. A symmetry between the first and second films is established here - both open with a family assemblage, and each quickly establishes where the power lies as the don "holds court."

    The traditional elements of the Tragedy introduced in The Godfather reach their maturity in Part II. Much of the humanity remaining to Michael at the outset is leeched from him with each deception and setback. Late scenes with a resentful Fredo (John Cazale) and a bitter Kay (Diane Keaton) emphasize the price for Michael of continuing his father's dominion. His flaw is his imperceptiveness and, as is the case for any hero in a story of this nature, its effects are crippling.

    Primarily due to the scope of events, Part II is not as tightly-scripted as Part I. While most of the first film takes place in New York (with a few excursions elsewhere), here the settings vary: Sicily, Ellis Island, New York, Nevada, Cuba, Miami, Washington DC. In letting their characters escape the confines of the "old neighborhood", Coppola and Puzo lessen the intimacy of certain interpersonal conflicts.

    Visually, many of Michael's scenes have a more gloomy appearance this time around. Especially during the latter portions of the film, the don is shown in severely underexposed settings, appearing as a silhouette. His is a voice from the darkness - a photographic mirror of what's happening beneath the surface.

    As the beginning of Part II echoes the opening of The Godfather, so too does the end. Because of the manner in which circumstances are handled and considering the people involved, the impact here is more forceful. The tragic flaw has accomplished its poisonous, inevitable designs. Coppola punctuates both movies with a gut-twisting exclamation point.

    Combined, The Godfather and The Godfather Part II represent the apex of American movie-making and the ultimate gangster story. Few sequels have expanded upon the original with the faithfulness and detail of this one. Beneath the surface veneer of an ethnic period piece, The Godfather is not so much about crime lords as it is about prices paid in the currency of the soul for decisions made and avoided. It is that quality which establishes this saga as timeless.
    Expand
  12. May 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers. The Godfather is one of my favourite ever films, and i'm glad to say that The Godfather Part II manages to match the first chapter in the story of Corleone family. The best thing about this movie, for me, was the flashback sequences to Vito's early years, how he ended up living in America, how he got started in the mafia, how he made his first (I presume it was his first) kill, how he set up his most important element: Family. The absence of Marlon Brando is evident here, but its made up for as we have Robert De Niro playing the young Don Corleone. There is a vast difference between Michael and his deceased father, Vito. Vito immensly loved his family and it was evident that family was the most important thing to him. To Michael, that is not true. Note how he smacks Kay across the face, how he refuses to let her see his children, how he orders the execution of his brother Fredo. The final scene, where we got a flashback to the family at the table for Vitos surprise party, is quite a well executed scene, and it was interesting to see the familys reaction to Michael joining the Marines and that it was Sonny who introduced the despicable wife beater Carlo to Connie. Honestly, this film was pretty brilliant, but I, myself prefer the first film. This is definately one of the best sequels though Collapse
  13. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    O.K., my first response to this is that it is immensely underrated. As The Godfather's Metascore was a perfect 100, The Godfather Part II deserved at least an 85. It's the Godfather Part III that's the bad one, not II! The acting was about 2/3 as good as the original. Al Pacino took the leading role and made it shine, though not nearly like Marlon Brando did. The supporting cast was veryO.K., my first response to this is that it is immensely underrated. As The Godfather's Metascore was a perfect 100, The Godfather Part II deserved at least an 85. It's the Godfather Part III that's the bad one, not II! The acting was about 2/3 as good as the original. Al Pacino took the leading role and made it shine, though not nearly like Marlon Brando did. The supporting cast was very good, although it was Robert DeNiro who swept the movie, winning him his first Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor. Expand
  14. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie i liked the orginal better but this was just amazing its the only movie i have seen that serves as a sequil and a prequil the only thing i did not like about this movie is micheal corleano being the godfather he is great as a godfather dont get me wrong but i just liked him when he was entering the family
  15. AmK
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    It
  16. Riren
    Mar 5, 2007
    7
    More brazenly violent, even in its opening, and more sensational in the nature of the mafia's corruption, but hardly a superior film to the original. Where the original had horrible and bloody events, they were earned - here, they just happen. This one really is slow, and many times things just happen, rather than build on each other. Like any good sequel, it takes advantage of the More brazenly violent, even in its opening, and more sensational in the nature of the mafia's corruption, but hardly a superior film to the original. Where the original had horrible and bloody events, they were earned - here, they just happen. This one really is slow, and many times things just happen, rather than build on each other. Like any good sequel, it takes advantage of the existing plot, and most of the references and allusions are good. The cast isn't quite up to the par set by the original, for while it has all of the menace, it possesses little of the charm, and no one provides a "Brando quality" performance. Even Hagen isn't quite what he used to be. There's also no experience comparable to Pacino's character development in the first picture. It packs several very memorable moments, but it's not up to the task, and is too long to justify what it accomplishes. Expand
  17. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    The best film of the trilogy. It's boring in some parts, but it's without doubt one of the best films ever made. A HUGE well done to Francis Ford Coppola!!!!
  18. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Como su predecesor, una genialidad de Coppola. Creo que supera a la primera. Impresionantes actuaciones de dos grandes estrellas del cine como Al Pacino y Robert de Niro. Intensa historia y buenos giros. Perfecta.
  19. Jan 22, 2015
    9
    It's not a perfect film. It lacks the innovative ideas of the Godfather and it has a hard time juggling multiple storylines. The Michael-Kay subplot is very rushed and the film doesn't quite have the thrill and the mystery of the first film. But it succeeds in being an immensely powerful character study. Al Pacino, even better in this one, is remarkable as a malicious figure of quietIt's not a perfect film. It lacks the innovative ideas of the Godfather and it has a hard time juggling multiple storylines. The Michael-Kay subplot is very rushed and the film doesn't quite have the thrill and the mystery of the first film. But it succeeds in being an immensely powerful character study. Al Pacino, even better in this one, is remarkable as a malicious figure of quiet authority waiting and longing for the right time to strike his prey. Works very well for the most part but it's not quiet the achievement the first film was. But there's no shame in that. Expand
  20. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    The Godfather Part II is a 1974 American crime epic produced and directed by Francis Ford Coppola from a screenplay co-written with Mario Puzo, starring Al Pacino and Robert De Niro. Partially based on Puzo's 1969 novel The Godfather, the film is both sequel and prequel to The Godfather, presenting parallel dramas: one picks up the 1958 story of Michael Corleone (Pacino), the new Don ofThe Godfather Part II is a 1974 American crime epic produced and directed by Francis Ford Coppola from a screenplay co-written with Mario Puzo, starring Al Pacino and Robert De Niro. Partially based on Puzo's 1969 novel The Godfather, the film is both sequel and prequel to The Godfather, presenting parallel dramas: one picks up the 1958 story of Michael Corleone (Pacino), the new Don of the Corleone crime family, protecting the family business in the aftermath of an attempt on his life; the prequel covers the journey of his father, Vito Corleone (De Niro), from his Sicilian childhood to the founding of his family enterprise in New York City. Expand
  21. RobertM.
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    The best sequel to any movie. Pure Genius.
  22. EricF.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Fantastic, every bit as great as the original. The plot and characters are interesting and complex, portrayed by an amazing cast. The dialogue sports so many quotable lines, and the whole thing is visually stunning with the set decoration, costume design and cinametography. Fantastic!.
  23. EddieM.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Brilliant companion piece to the original. Quite stupendous stuff - proves that other worlds really do exist through the magic of cinema. Pacino & De Niro give to of the greatest performances ever committed to celluloid.
  24. MichaelM.
    Oct 23, 2004
    10
    "The Godfather Part II" is probably the best sequel ever made in the history and probably future of movies. In my opinion the second chapter of the extraordinary 1930's Mafia saga has better acting than the original "The Godfather", but it doesn't have as good as fluency as the original Godfather had. Probably the stand out performance in this movie is Robert DeNiro's "The Godfather Part II" is probably the best sequel ever made in the history and probably future of movies. In my opinion the second chapter of the extraordinary 1930's Mafia saga has better acting than the original "The Godfather", but it doesn't have as good as fluency as the original Godfather had. Probably the stand out performance in this movie is Robert DeNiro's breathtaking portrayal as young Vito Corleone (young Marlon Brando) and how he struggled in crime in America. Definetly more violent than the first, but sort of drags for a minute or two. Too bad James Caan isn't in this one, I liked his character! Marlon Brando is not in this one (because he died at the end of the first one). If you look very closely you will see the actor that plays Johnny Ola is none other than Dominic Chianse (the actor who portrays the role as the funny, bitter, and mean moboss Uncle Junior, in the hit television program on HBO "The Sopranos"). If you haven't already, watch this!!! Don't watch it untill you've seen the first one. (1/31/03) Expand
  25. PatC.
    May 10, 2004
    9
    The essential material for the trilogy is in this film. Part 1 showed gangsters who have lost their humanity. This Part portrays the causes and incidents which led to that loss. Does not stand alone as well as when viewed in the compilation trilogy.
  26. jefff.
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    One of the best movies ever made a true masterpiece.
  27. GeraldN
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    Godfather pts 1 & 2 are two of the best movies ever made. Don't watch pt 3 though, it's horrible and it only detracts from the series as a whole (much like The Matrix pt 2 & 3). The NY Times gave this a 40? A 40!?! He probably gave "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants" a 100.
  28. Pedro
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    The REAL rating for this is 83, in case anyone really wants to know. So it DOES have universal acclaim. I don't know who's doing the math over there! Anyway, that critic who gave the movie a 40 obviously doesn't know what the hell he's talking about.
  29. MarvinT
    Aug 7, 2008
    9
    A masterpiece with a few flaws.
  30. LauraE.
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Perfecta, no necesita más comentarios.
  31. GerardM.
    Jul 23, 2004
    10
    How the critics rate this film at a 61 average is beyond me. Surely the only sequel to outshine the original, the Godfather part 2 is one of the most exceptional films ever made. The gradual canabalism of Michael is offset beautifully by the rise to fame (or infamy) of his father in old New York. The plot is intricate and masterful in its ability not only to tell a story but also to relay How the critics rate this film at a 61 average is beyond me. Surely the only sequel to outshine the original, the Godfather part 2 is one of the most exceptional films ever made. The gradual canabalism of Michael is offset beautifully by the rise to fame (or infamy) of his father in old New York. The plot is intricate and masterful in its ability not only to tell a story but also to relay a message to the audience. De Niro and Pacino are superb, however the performance of Duval is a masterclass in understated acting. Another important aspect of the film is the incredible music that is powerful, dramatic and touching. Rota's original score rightfully winning an oscar. In essence this film wrapped up the Corleone story very well and a third installment was a mistake more driven by money than desire. Expand
  32. MikeS.
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    A 61? huh? its the best movies ever made.....?
  33. DanD.
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    To me it is more interesting and esier to follow than the original godfather.
  34. StewartB.
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    For that reviewer to rate a movie highly considered as one of the greatest of all time a 40, is just an absolute travesty. I did however, like the film, love it. The best sequel to date in my opinion, and a fantastic ending. If only the third movie were left on the cutting room floor, or was just a bonus epilogue movie than the real thing....but otherwise I loved the Godfather series, and For that reviewer to rate a movie highly considered as one of the greatest of all time a 40, is just an absolute travesty. I did however, like the film, love it. The best sequel to date in my opinion, and a fantastic ending. If only the third movie were left on the cutting room floor, or was just a bonus epilogue movie than the real thing....but otherwise I loved the Godfather series, and every bit of this movie as well as the first one. Expand
  35. AnaK.
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    The fact that any reviewer could give this movie a 40 is lost on me. This movie was put together with a superb plot and superb acting. Al Pacino continues to excel at his role as Michael Corleone. Marlon Brando's absence is made up for marvelously by Robert De Niro, who recreates the voice of the godfather perfectly. It is the best sequel i have ever seen. It doesn't match the The fact that any reviewer could give this movie a 40 is lost on me. This movie was put together with a superb plot and superb acting. Al Pacino continues to excel at his role as Michael Corleone. Marlon Brando's absence is made up for marvelously by Robert De Niro, who recreates the voice of the godfather perfectly. It is the best sequel i have ever seen. It doesn't match the incredible perfection of the original, but it comes as close as any movie could. The two parallel storylines make the story of the godfather complete. This is an amazing movie Expand
  36. ErikH.
    May 3, 2007
    9
    How does a movie not garner "Universal Acclaim" when half the reviews are perfect? This isn't as outstanding as the film that precedes it (but what could be?), but it is still an outstanding film and near-essential viewing for anyone interested in great direction and acting.
  37. LexingtonD.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    This movie is, in fact, better than the Godfather I, but there's a caveat: it does not function without its predecessor. On its own, the movie is without flaw, but the story is simply not enough without the presumption of its being a sequel; having said that, being as Part I is a perfect film that must be seen this should not be an issue for any viewers. Perhaps my critical opinion This movie is, in fact, better than the Godfather I, but there's a caveat: it does not function without its predecessor. On its own, the movie is without flaw, but the story is simply not enough without the presumption of its being a sequel; having said that, being as Part I is a perfect film that must be seen this should not be an issue for any viewers. Perhaps my critical opinion of it being better simply reflects a flawless continuation of a flawless film, but I do generally feel Part II is equal to, if not superior to, Part I. It's hard to outdo perfection. Expand
  38. NickT
    Jan 21, 2009
    9
    a very good film buy it still is a little too long and a little confusing but overall its a great film. Not as good as the first but its still a great classic SECOND BEST FILM EVER!
  39. MudassarB.
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    The Greatest Movie of all time bar none. Al Pacino gives the greatest performance I have ever seen on film.
  40. Epixsavior
    Feb 26, 2005
    8
    the only reason it got a 61 or anything less than a metacritic score of 100 is because they only post 6 reviews, and probably couldn't find or legally obtain the rest of the nations critical reviews for that time period. besides, i don't think that many people who have access to the 30+ years of research archives actually want to look through 30+ years of archives for one review the only reason it got a 61 or anything less than a metacritic score of 100 is because they only post 6 reviews, and probably couldn't find or legally obtain the rest of the nations critical reviews for that time period. besides, i don't think that many people who have access to the 30+ years of research archives actually want to look through 30+ years of archives for one review to help a website that isn't directly tied to thier compnay/magazine/newspaper,etc.... I only give this movie an 8 because it went on a bit too long for me, and i only saw it once so i am scoring on how well i was origianlly impressed Expand
  41. JoeJ.
    May 25, 2005
    10
    What was Vincent Camby drinking when he wrote his review of Godfather Part II. I've seen it dozens of times and I can't turn it off once I start watching. Every bit as good as The Godfather, which is the greatest movie of all time.
  42. matta.
    May 27, 2005
    10
    Is anyone else besides me shocked and appalled that this only has a 71?! The first two Godfather films are two of the best ever made, and this film might even be better than the first one. Al Pacino and DE Niro have really never been better.
  43. DonaldE
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    I have viewed this amazing picture no less than three dozen times and have yet to grown tired of it. It is a captivating, moving, and gripping piece, brilliantly directed and exquisitely written. The cast is nothing less than awesome. An epic story that pulls you in and you can't let go! Intrigue, drama, and sparkling action. Not one dull moment. I am no movie critic but this film, I have viewed this amazing picture no less than three dozen times and have yet to grown tired of it. It is a captivating, moving, and gripping piece, brilliantly directed and exquisitely written. The cast is nothing less than awesome. An epic story that pulls you in and you can't let go! Intrigue, drama, and sparkling action. Not one dull moment. I am no movie critic but this film, and it's predecessor, Godfather I, rank in my book as the greatest films ever made. Expand
  44. wallacef
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Brilliant sequel, a matchto the original.
  45. andrewd
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Nearly equal to original, but more lengthy and detailed. violence attributes to the effect the mafia has on society, even today.
  46. ShaneB
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    Personally, this gets my vote for 'The Greatest Film Ever Made'. I felt that the only flaw with the original Godfather was that it dragged out a bit towards the end. However, dispite The Godfather: Part II being 25 minutes longer then the original Godfather, this doesn't happen in The Godfather: Part II. In fact, if anything, I wanted this film to go on for longer. The main Personally, this gets my vote for 'The Greatest Film Ever Made'. I felt that the only flaw with the original Godfather was that it dragged out a bit towards the end. However, dispite The Godfather: Part II being 25 minutes longer then the original Godfather, this doesn't happen in The Godfather: Part II. In fact, if anything, I wanted this film to go on for longer. The main reason it doesn't drag out dispite it's lenght is because of the transitional two storylines. The main story dealing with Micheal Corleones reign as the Don of the powerful Corleone family. Micheal is clearly a changed man since he took over the family after the death of his father, Vito Corleone, three years earlier. Becoming more and more ruthless, his wife Kay has realised that Micheal has become a vicous, cold and calcuative criminal. Towards the end, she also realises that there is no way back for Micheal and that even though he has gained the world, he has ultimately lost his soul. The other storyline deals with Vito Corleones rise to power(who is protrayed in an Academy-Award winning performance by Robert De Niro). After his family are slaughtered by a local mob boss in Sicily, he flees to America to start a new life. There, he befriends a young man named Genco, who gets Vito a job as a baker with his father. He later becomes friends with two other thugs, Peter Clemenza and Salvatore Tessio, who introduce him to a life of crime. However, they are being squeezed by a local mob boss, Don Fanuci, who orders them to pay protection. Instead of paying however, Vito kills Fanuci, and Vito himself starts his own family. The Godfather: Part II is a stunning film with fantastic performances from Al Pacino, Robert De Niro, Robert Duvell, Diane Keaton, John Cazale, Lee Strasberg and Micheal V. Gazzo, beautiful Cinematography and very well directed by Francis Ford Copella. Expand
  47. May 25, 2012
    8
    The first movie is way better than this one. It is still a great movie. Al Pacino's performance was still amazing. The plot is still great. Everything is still great, but maybe the first movie is an incredibly difficult act for it to follow.....
  48. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am sorry but how can you give to this movie a scone seventy one? :O I'm think that is the most shameful thing I have ever saw when it comes about movies reviews. Godfather Part II is a piece of art... maybe it's not excellent as Godfather Part I but it's not far away from it. The score for Part II should be around Ninety, and it would be if you have any common sen-ce. I really respected this page when it comes about movie critics, I respected it TILL NOW. Now I see that you have your mistakes, and you made A BIG ONE. I just cannot accept the "fact" that some childish harry potter have scored more than godfather part II, I mean that's just ridiculous... and when I saw this, I decided to never come on this page again. CIAO Expand
  49. Apr 5, 2013
    8
    Suspensful, engaging, gripping story, beautifully directed and superb performance by Al Pacino. He really suited Michael's role and did a great job in this film. However, this has the same problem as the original film, only made worse. The first film was long, but this one is half an hour longer, yet a lot less happens in it. Of course, one has to account for the fact that there are twoSuspensful, engaging, gripping story, beautifully directed and superb performance by Al Pacino. He really suited Michael's role and did a great job in this film. However, this has the same problem as the original film, only made worse. The first film was long, but this one is half an hour longer, yet a lot less happens in it. Of course, one has to account for the fact that there are two stories going on here; one of Vito as a young man and one of Michael, but even still, I think there could have been more events and more of a link between the two stories. Overall though, this is a great movie; not as good as the first but definitely worth watching and certainly not a disapointment. Expand
  50. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    This film its as good as Godfather :Part 1. I dont understant how a man who is working in the New York Times gives Godfather 40/100. If i was NTW director i would lay off him.
  51. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    Looking at the negative reviews saying they should have stopped at 1 clearly haven't read the bloody BOOK. Do your research, the book includes the entirety of 1 and 2. That said, 3 is such a complete failure that it's sad. It's the equivalent of the worst of the Star Wars prequels and Indiana Jones 4. But to say Godfather 2 is a terrible movie compared to the first is absolutely crazy. 1Looking at the negative reviews saying they should have stopped at 1 clearly haven't read the bloody BOOK. Do your research, the book includes the entirety of 1 and 2. That said, 3 is such a complete failure that it's sad. It's the equivalent of the worst of the Star Wars prequels and Indiana Jones 4. But to say Godfather 2 is a terrible movie compared to the first is absolutely crazy. 1 does not exist without 2, even though 2 isn't AS good, it certainly deserves no less than a low positive or a very high mixed. It's not "Master of Disguise" or "Deuce Bigalo 2". When I see reviewers mark a film so poorly and then rank other films that are throwaway crap, it easily shows how stupid they are. Hate the story, find it a little confusing all you want, even at its worse, this film is better than almost everything made today. It's certainly an infinite amount better than 3. Expand
  52. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Easily the greatest sequel of all time. While it is a little too similar to the first film, The built in prequel and the overall growth of Michael in the film shows just how great it really is.
  53. May 16, 2015
    8
    Intriguing and empowering epic, however lacks the energy of the first film and at times can be quite boring, however the the final 25 minutes of this movie is worth it in the end.
  54. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Well I gotta say I always liked Godfather II better than part I.It's amazing how characters are portrayed in this part really perfect.I loved I'st part too it was 3'rd that was dissapointing.
  55. Jan 19, 2012
    8
    Did I enjoy it? Yes I did...but for some reason it didn't fulfill my expectations. It doesn't have anything to do with Marlon Brando's absence (for that was logical...) but with the way the plot develops. I would have love to seen more of Robert Duval's character. T here are parts that are unclear, and towards the end it becomes evident that Michael doesn't trust the famous consigliere butDid I enjoy it? Yes I did...but for some reason it didn't fulfill my expectations. It doesn't have anything to do with Marlon Brando's absence (for that was logical...) but with the way the plot develops. I would have love to seen more of Robert Duval's character. T here are parts that are unclear, and towards the end it becomes evident that Michael doesn't trust the famous consigliere but that is not totally justified, so there is a need for clarification. I am not sure if the length of the movie justifies its quality...it was at times slow...so I believe with that length it could have been better. I did still enjoy it...but no more than what I enjoy The Godfather I and definitely less than The Godfather III (which greatly surprised me!) Expand
  56. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    Arguably better than its predecessor, Part II brilliantly juxtaposes the rise of the father with the fall of the son and is one of the finest showcases of cinema's great character studies, not to mention Carmine Coppola's haunting score.
  57. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    The Godfather Part II is considered by many to be the greatest sequel ever made and one of the greatest films of all time. This sequel easily matches with the original film's quality. The characters are brilliantly portrayed by the cast once again, with Al Pacino giving what is perhaps one of the best performances in acting history; Robert De Niro isn't far behind and also gives a veryThe Godfather Part II is considered by many to be the greatest sequel ever made and one of the greatest films of all time. This sequel easily matches with the original film's quality. The characters are brilliantly portrayed by the cast once again, with Al Pacino giving what is perhaps one of the best performances in acting history; Robert De Niro isn't far behind and also gives a very strong performance. The story is excellent and uniquely told, and concludes in one of the most affecting endings of all time. In addition to the original music, the film contains a new score which is absolutely gorgeous. Along with the first Godfather, this is my favorite film ever. If you've seen the original, then don't miss Francis Ford Coppola's masterpiece of a sequel. Expand
  58. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is three hours and twenty two minutes long but an hour passes like 15 minutes.It is incredibly entertaining and one of the best gangster movie ever made.
    The plot is tricky featuring two parallel storylines,one of young Vito Corleone fighting with life's dark events,providing for his family,building a Don status and seeking revenge for the killing of his family while other depicts the Michael Corleone and his falling empire,family and life.
    Al Pacino is stand out in the movie cast.You just see the expressions and his eyes it can tell you the whole story.
    He has completely transformed to a ruthless,heartless and cold gangster but never stopped loving his family.
    The scene where Kay(Diane Keaton) tells him about that she aborted their child,Al is flawless and most realistic how his eyes pops out and how he knocks her down.He deserved the oscar for best actor.
    Robert De Niro is impeccable.What do you expect when two of the greatest actors play two of the greatest characters.
    De Niro portrays the character with similar talent as Marlon Brando did.
    The way he speaks with same husky voice also his sicilian.
    His principles,taking care of things,returning the favor and rise to mafia is just marvellous.
    The best scenes are where he follows Fannuci at Festa to his house and kills him other one ,obviously where he stabs Don Ciccio and says "My father's name was Antonio Andolini... and this is for you" is just brilliant.
    Diane Keaton portays her character with utter excellence.
    Robert Duvall is as great as he was in the previous movie,the sophisticated lawyer ,caring brother and a good man.
    John Cazale character is bigger in this one and he is first class in the scene where he yells his heart out and in the whole movie.
    Michael Vincente Gazzo's performance is most realistic.
    The screenplay,style and violence is top notch.
    Again.Coppola's direction is mesmerizing.
    Overall,this is one of the best movie and not to be missed.
    Expand
  59. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    Just absolutely masterful. I have no idea how the metascore here is so low, especially considering the film is critically acclaimed. The acting, once again, is superb and Coppola is fantastic as the director. There isn't much to say beyond the fact that this film is one of the best ever.
  60. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    While I do consider it an outstanding movie, I don't love the original
    The Godfather and its prequel/sequel is actually a bit of a step back,
    in my opinion. The 200 minutes are a lot too long and get boring, even as I anticipatorily watched the movie on two consecutive evenings, and neither of the cross-cut story parts was as interesting and thrilling as the one the original movie had
    While I do consider it an outstanding movie, I don't love the original
    The Godfather and its prequel/sequel is actually a bit of a step back,
    in my opinion. The 200 minutes are a lot too long and get boring, even
    as I anticipatorily watched the movie on two consecutive evenings, and
    neither of the cross-cut story parts was as interesting and thrilling
    as the one the original movie had to offer. That isn't to say that The
    Godfather Part II skimps on entertaining and rememberable scenes; in
    fact, the movie's best moments may even be more rememberable than The
    Godfather's. However, a lot of the scenes in between are just too long
    and not really necessary what would have been needed a lot more were
    additional explanation scenes as the panoply of characters grows even
    bigger through the story being set in two different times and the
    dialogues give more focus to being pointed and quotable instead of
    making what happens fully clear. This is indubitably important, don't
    let me be misunderstood, but the huge plot that Mario Puzo has devised
    for The Godfather is simply too complex and convoluted to be easily
    grasped without having read the source material. Nevertheless, The
    Godfather Part II is a cinematic masterpiece that is sovereign and
    seminal on so many different layers, such as the beautifully
    picturesque cinematography, the smooth editing, the meticulously
    conceived set design, the innovative and unforgettable score by Nino
    Rota, and the tremendous acting cast that is reflected in the five
    Oscar nominations for acting (a tied record). Thus, The Godfather Part
    II is an undeniably excellent motion picture that merely suffers from
    the director's attempt to put too much in just one movie.
    Expand
  61. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    Just as its predecessor, this is a masterpiece movie. Simply perfect. Amazing plot and almost perfect technical realization. 100% recommended, especially if you like its genre.

    Plot: 8.5
    Technical realization: 7.9
  62. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    A distinctively well-paced and sumptuously plotted drama with unforgettable performances from Pacino and De Niro, "The Godfather Part II" is an objectively perfect sequel to the 1972 classic.
  63. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Its still strong on all levels, but part II doesn't have the same effect that The Godfather did.
  64. Jan 25, 2014
    8
    The second chapter in the life of Vito Corleone best known as The Godfather.
    At just over 200 minutes I think it's safe to say that The Godfather Part Two isn't a movie for a rainy Friday afternoon, it's definitely less gripping than the first but that doesn't mean to say that it isn't interesting. Actually it's the opposite. Francis Ford Coppola keeps everything slick and cool but still
    The second chapter in the life of Vito Corleone best known as The Godfather.
    At just over 200 minutes I think it's safe to say that The Godfather Part Two isn't a movie for a rainy Friday afternoon, it's definitely less gripping than the first but that doesn't mean to say that it isn't interesting. Actually it's the opposite. Francis Ford Coppola keeps everything slick and cool but still intelligent, some scenes are more compelling than others. Particularly the tense confrontation between two brothers. With no Marlon Brando to give the film at least one guaranteed brilliant performance, you might worry that the actors are not strong enough to portray the legendary characters well. Luckily Pacino and De Niro are both excellent and provide the movie two Oscar worthy performances, which don't even rival Brando from the first film but are still very good.
    Overall I don't think that The Godfather Part Two was as enjoyable or as gut wrenching as the first, but due to many excellent performances and another chilling yet satisfying ending I still find it to be a timeless piece of cinema.
    Expand
  65. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    Francis Ford Coppola's Godfather Part II, a golden cinema from the era of 1970s. Exaggerating? Over-Praised? Nope. If one looks back at that wonderful decade of cinema, he or she would see 'Colossal' films like Taxi Driver, Apocalypse Now, Annie Hall, Means Streets, Jaws, Chinatown, The Godfather (Its Predecessor) and many more. But, I think, the film which captures 6 Academy Awards (BestFrancis Ford Coppola's Godfather Part II, a golden cinema from the era of 1970s. Exaggerating? Over-Praised? Nope. If one looks back at that wonderful decade of cinema, he or she would see 'Colossal' films like Taxi Driver, Apocalypse Now, Annie Hall, Means Streets, Jaws, Chinatown, The Godfather (Its Predecessor) and many more. But, I think, the film which captures 6 Academy Awards (Best Picture, Best Director, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Original Score, Best Art-Direction and Best Actor in a Supporting Role) surpasses them all, and that film is The Godfather Part II.

    To begin with it's acting would be a pleasure to me. "Sun rising to shine the world" That would be the expression to depict it's masterful acting. Well supported by it's supporting players and that include Robert Duvall (extremely impressive), John Cazale, Lee Strasberg and Michael V. Gazzo. Al Pacino plays the cold Michael Corleone, who's delivery entertained me with some kind of realism. Just rightfully perfect, I could conclude that he's transformed or easily put, Al gives a perfect performance which deserved an Oscar for best performance of the year. Just somewhere in that corner of brilliance, one could see a composed acting of Robert Deniro as young Vito Corleone. It is like pure cloud gathering all around him, truly an unforgettable contribution. In summary, it could be commented that this piece is a well acted motion picture.

    The element which grasped my attention is Coppola's method of slow or methodical filmmaking which captures the beauty of this cinema. Beautifully shot from start to finish, it is a breathtaking sight of grandeur.

    This film is a cleverly written piece too. Completed with inspiring dialogue, attractive epic storytelling and it could be easily 'snatched'that it is masterful.

    Many would disagree with me because I'm going to, or will always name this picture as 'The Greatest Film Ever Made'. The Godfather is an offer you can't refuse but The Godfather Part II is an offer you MUST NOT refuse.

    Facebook (http://facebook.com/alex.desmall) Twitter (@Alex_DeSmall) (http://www.rottentomatoes.com/member/AlexDesmall)
    Expand
  66. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    Muy injusta la nota que le han puesto a esta maravillosa segunda parte. Es mi favorita de la trilogía de The Godfather, interesante y a la vez grandilocuente de como la historia que se divide en dos, una es la vida de cuando Vito aun no era el patriarca de los Corleone y por otra la trama donde ocurre los hechos del presente es decir en los 50, un Michael mas frió y calculador que en laMuy injusta la nota que le han puesto a esta maravillosa segunda parte. Es mi favorita de la trilogía de The Godfather, interesante y a la vez grandilocuente de como la historia que se divide en dos, una es la vida de cuando Vito aun no era el patriarca de los Corleone y por otra la trama donde ocurre los hechos del presente es decir en los 50, un Michael mas frió y calculador que en la primera parte, traiciones y conspiraciones en contra su vida, la presión del senado y del fbi es lo que debe enfrentar en esta segunda parte, incluso si la traición es... mejor vean la película. Agrego algo mas aparte de su impecable guion, es su banda sonora con el tema The Immigrant que se convierte en el broche que lo caracteriza. Expand
  67. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    It has less character development than its predecessor, other than Vito Corleone, beautifully acted by Robert De Niro, whose learning of a new language truly deserves an Oscar. Al Pacino has a more sufficient role, and more dynamic, as the crime boss struggling with his crime life and family life, whose every choice is both hard and difficult to make. The rest of the ensemble makes all theIt has less character development than its predecessor, other than Vito Corleone, beautifully acted by Robert De Niro, whose learning of a new language truly deserves an Oscar. Al Pacino has a more sufficient role, and more dynamic, as the crime boss struggling with his crime life and family life, whose every choice is both hard and difficult to make. The rest of the ensemble makes all the violence sophisticated and interesting, mostly due to the complexity of it. And lets not forget John Cazale, although his career was short, he was an amazing actor, who actually gave me sympathy rather than scorn and a desire to see him killed. A formidable sequel, though it doesn't surpass the original. Expand
  68. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    Yes, it may be the second movie in the Godfather trilogy, but to call The Godfather Part II a sequel is an insult to the movie, to Francis Ford Coppola, Mario Puzo, and Marlon Brando. Think of it as a "continuation" of the first. Although it has a 200 minute runtime, the well-made story, multi-layered characters, and Oscar-winning performances make the film breeze by. Modern directors canYes, it may be the second movie in the Godfather trilogy, but to call The Godfather Part II a sequel is an insult to the movie, to Francis Ford Coppola, Mario Puzo, and Marlon Brando. Think of it as a "continuation" of the first. Although it has a 200 minute runtime, the well-made story, multi-layered characters, and Oscar-winning performances make the film breeze by. Modern directors can learn from films like this; instead of changing the shot every 5 seconds to a new angle, sometimes it is much better to just leave the camera in one spot and let the actors act. While there are more prologues and footnotes and flashbacks and flash-forwards, the movie still maintains a consistent pace and tone, the mark of a truly great picture. Expand
  69. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    the godfather part 2 is not as good as the first godfather,but it didin't mean that isn't an universal acclaim,simply it is the best continuation ever made.
  70. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    Godfather part 2 just takes us on a tour of want the greatest movie of all time's sequel brings which is phenomenon do not miss it man I wish I was a gangster after watching this movie
  71. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    Part II is perhaps the greatest American film of all time, at least in my opinion, upstaging Citizen Kane and even its predecessor. If Part I was to Coppola what The Grapes of Wrath was to Steinbeck, then Part II is his East of Eden. It recreates all that was so brilliant about the first but fine-tunes it in a manner so that it happens on a scale much larger and much more ambitious, with aPart II is perhaps the greatest American film of all time, at least in my opinion, upstaging Citizen Kane and even its predecessor. If Part I was to Coppola what The Grapes of Wrath was to Steinbeck, then Part II is his East of Eden. It recreates all that was so brilliant about the first but fine-tunes it in a manner so that it happens on a scale much larger and much more ambitious, with a wide scope traversing decades and continents that intersects the past with the present in its ferocious exploration on how organised crime shapes those who operate at its highest levels. Returning cast members up their game, especially John Cazale, Diane Keaton and Talia Shire, and Coppola replenishes the ranks with a stellar supporting cast that includes memorable turns from Robert De Niro and Michael V. Gazzo. But no-one can detract from Al Pacino, who tops the brilliance of his first outing as Michael Corleone with a mesmerising, electric tour de force of Macbethian portents that gives this film its heart and its gut: both are as crucial to the film's impact as the other. Where Part I was more cerebral and restrained in its meditation on matters of morality, Part II opens the floodgates to unleash a blistering and merciless cascade of betrayal, savagery, bitterness, passion, vengeance and irreconcilable guilt and greed as corrosive as the other, eventually leaving us with something that is tragic, elegiac and searingly true. The morally-corrosive properties of power may be a tried and tired theme of cinema by now, but the unflinching manner that Part II slides it under the microscope and squints as far as the eye can reach has never been replicated - and quite probably never could. Expand
  72. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    The Godfather: Part II is one of those rare sequels that match the original; Anchored by impeccable casting and a riveting story, Coppola's second instalment into the cult phenomenon trilogy succeeds in garnering critical praise and becoming the first and only sequel to win the coveted Best Picture award. Al Pacino is at his apex here.
  73. chw
    Jul 18, 2014
    10
    Part II was not as good as the first Godfather, but the The Godfather: Part II is just as excellent with the story, the acting (portrayed by Al Pacino, Robert De Niro, Robert Duvall, Talia Shire, and Diane Keaton), and directed by legendary director Francis Ford Coppola.
  74. May 1, 2014
    10
    If the Godfather has a 100 metascore then the Godfather II should have a metascore of 99. Hands down the greatest sequel ever made as well as the best acted film ever made, surpassing even the first one. Pacino gives his greatest performance
  75. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    A companion piece in the truest sense of the term, The Godfather Part II garnered as much adulation as its predecessor, if not more. Receiving twelve Academy Award nominations, and again winning Best Picture (and this time Best Director for Coppola as well), the second installment has been rightfully hailed as the best sequel of all time.

    The Godfather Part II is a more ambitious
    A companion piece in the truest sense of the term, The Godfather Part II garnered as much adulation as its predecessor, if not more. Receiving twelve Academy Award nominations, and again winning Best Picture (and this time Best Director for Coppola as well), the second installment has been rightfully hailed as the best sequel of all time.

    The Godfather Part II is a more ambitious production than the original since it attempts not only to tell a pair of completely disconnected stories, but to do so in parallel. The less time consuming of the two presents the early life of Vito Corleone (played by Robert DeNiro) in Sicily and New York, and shows how he came into power. The other tale picks up approximately a decade after the conclusion of The Godfather, and shows the means by which Michael Corleone (Al Pacino), now secure in his position, attempts to expand the family empire into Las Vegas and Cuba.

    Plot and counterplot develop, and Michael becomes the focal point of a web of betrayal and deceit, turned against by those he had sought to protect. Assassination attempts and government probes target Michael, but he fights back using every scintilla of ingenuity he possesses and sacrificing much of his humanity in the process.

    The traditional elements of the Tragedy introduced in The Godfather reach their maturity in Part II. Much of the humanity remaining to Michael at the outset is leeched from him with each deception and setback. Late scenes with a resentful Fredo (John Cazale) and a bitter Kay (Diane Keaton) emphasize the price for Michael of continuing his father's dominion. His flaw is his imperceptiveness and, as is the case for any hero in a story of this nature, its effects are crippling.

    Primarily due to the scope of events, Part II is not as tightly-scripted as Part I. While most of the first film takes place in New York (with a few excursions elsewhere), here the settings vary: Sicily, Ellis Island, New York, Nevada, Cuba, Miami, Washington DC. In letting their characters escape the confines of the "old neighborhood", Coppola and Puzo lessen the intimacy of certain interpersonal conflicts.

    Visually, many of Michael's scenes have a more gloomy appearance this time around. Especially during the latter portions of the film, the don is shown in severely underexposed settings, appearing as a silhouette. His is a voice from the darkness - a photographic mirror of what's happening beneath the surface.

    As the beginning of Part II echoes the opening of The Godfather, so too does the end. Because of the manner in which circumstances are handled and considering the people involved, the impact here is more forceful. The tragic flaw has accomplished its poisonous, inevitable designs. Coppola punctuates both movies with a gut-twisting exclamation point.

    Combined, The Godfather and The Godfather Part II represent the apex of American movie-making and the ultimate gangster story. Few sequels have expanded upon the original with the faithfulness and detail of this one. Beneath the surface veneer of an ethnic period piece, The Godfather is not so much about crime lords as it is about prices paid in the currency of the soul for decisions made and avoided. It is that quality which establishes this saga as timeless.
    Expand
  76. May 9, 2015
    10
    A companion piece in the truest sense of the term, The Godfather Part II garnered as much adulation as its predecessor, if not more. Receiving twelve Academy Award nominations, and again winning Best Picture (and this time Best Director for Coppola as well), the second installment has been rightfully hailed as the best sequel of all time.

    The Godfather Part II is a more ambitious
    A companion piece in the truest sense of the term, The Godfather Part II garnered as much adulation as its predecessor, if not more. Receiving twelve Academy Award nominations, and again winning Best Picture (and this time Best Director for Coppola as well), the second installment has been rightfully hailed as the best sequel of all time.

    The Godfather Part II is a more ambitious production than the original since it attempts not only to tell a pair of completely disconnected stories, but to do so in parallel. The less time consuming of the two presents the early life of Vito Corleone (played by Robert DeNiro) in Sicily and New York, and shows how he came into power. The other tale picks up approximately a decade after the conclusion of The Godfather, and shows the means by which Michael Corleone (Al Pacino), now secure in his position, attempts to expand the family empire into Las Vegas and Cuba.

    Michael lives his life and runs his business by two of his father's creeds: "A man who doesn't spend time with his family can never be a real man" and "Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer." There are times, however, when those precepts fail as guiding principles, such as when a betrayal occurs from within the family. Broken trust arising from so intimate a source can be devastating.

    Plot and counterplot develop, and Michael becomes the focal point of a web of betrayal and deceit, turned against by those he had sought to protect. Assassination attempts and government probes target Michael, but he fights back using every scintilla of ingenuity he possesses and sacrificing much of his humanity in the process.

    For a man constantly battling to keep his family together, a mournful irony of The Godfather Part II is that Michael's efforts succeed only in fragmenting it. If the end of the first film was numbing, this one is shattering. The flashback preceding the final scene presents a stark differentiation of how things once were from what they have become.

    The traditional elements of the Tragedy introduced in The Godfather reach their maturity in Part II. Much of the humanity remaining to Michael at the outset is leeched from him with each deception and setback. Late scenes with a resentful Fredo (John Cazale) and a bitter Kay (Diane Keaton) emphasize the price for Michael of continuing his father's dominion. His flaw is his imperceptiveness and, as is the case for any hero in a story of this nature, its effects are crippling.

    Primarily due to the scope of events, Part II is not as tightly-scripted as Part I. While most of the first film takes place in New York (with a few excursions elsewhere), here the settings vary: Sicily, Ellis Island, New York, Nevada, Cuba, Miami, Washington DC. In letting their characters escape the confines of the "old neighborhood", Coppola and Puzo lessen the intimacy of certain interpersonal conflicts.

    Visually, many of Michael's scenes have a more gloomy appearance this time around. Especially during the latter portions of the film, the don is shown in severely underexposed settings, appearing as a silhouette. His is a voice from the darkness - a photographic mirror of what's happening beneath the surface.

    As the beginning of Part II echoes the opening of The Godfather, so too does the end. Because of the manner in which circumstances are handled and considering the people involved, the impact here is more forceful. The tragic flaw has accomplished its poisonous, inevitable designs. Coppola punctuates both movies with a gut-twisting exclamation point.

    Combined, The Godfather and The Godfather Part II represent the apex of American movie-making and the ultimate gangster story. Few sequels have expanded upon the original with the faithfulness and detail of this one. Beneath the surface veneer of an ethnic period piece, The Godfather is not so much about crime lords as it is about prices paid in the currency of the soul for decisions made and avoided. It is that quality which establishes this saga as timeless.
    Expand
  77. Aug 23, 2015
    10
    A masterpiece. One of the best trails I've seen and I guess I'm gonna see in the rest of my life. The great process of directing and acting will lead to such a great movie.
  78. Aug 18, 2015
    9
    The family rises... Wow! I never thought this would happen. The sequel of the BEST movie of all time would become one of the best acclaimed movies of all time. What Al Pacino did in the role of 'Michael' was unbelievable, but what Robert De Niro did with the role of 'Vito Corleone' stands up to Marlon Brando alone. That performance was... no further comment. The way Francis Ford CoppolaThe family rises... Wow! I never thought this would happen. The sequel of the BEST movie of all time would become one of the best acclaimed movies of all time. What Al Pacino did in the role of 'Michael' was unbelievable, but what Robert De Niro did with the role of 'Vito Corleone' stands up to Marlon Brando alone. That performance was... no further comment. The way Francis Ford Coppola put the two Don's stories together was pure genius alone. The only reason this movie will not get a perfect score is because it's predecessor: 'The Godfather: Part I' was better and still today is the best movie of all time. Hats of and applause... 9/10. Excellent Movie! Expand
  79. Aug 30, 2015
    10
    The Godfather Part II is a truly incredible piece of cinema. While I am not one of the many who sees this as superior to the original, this film is still easily one of the best in American cinema, and the best sequel of all time. It is superbly acted, written and directed and is a very worthwhile successor to the original.
  80. Apr 17, 2016
    9
    Its easily the greatest sequel of all time, The Godfather Part 2 does a good job at living up to the previous film. Despite its greatness, It doesn't have as much originality that the first film had but its still great.
  81. Jan 23, 2016
    9
    A great sequel, but not with absolute correctness the first movie had. As this movie delivers its way to theaters in 1974, people thought it was a big deal until now.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: John H. Dorr
    Dec 18, 2014
    90
    It is neither a very happy or driving picture. But it is intellectually daring and marks an important breakthrough in the growing up of the Hollywood film.
  2. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Feb 18, 2014
    100
    The plotting is elliptical and the sweep intoxicates, but the contrast between De Niro’s meditative Vito and Pacino’s soul-starved eyes brings piercing focus to Coppola’s resonating study of corrupting power.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Feb 18, 2014
    100
    This is quite simply one of the saddest movies ever made, a tale of loss, grief and absolute loneliness, an unflinching stare into the darkest moral abyss.