Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 11, 1972
9.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2129 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,990
Mixed:
56
Negative:
83
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
WilliamD.Jan 16, 2010
Godfather isn't a terrible movie. On the contrary, its a movie with a ton of unrealized potential that executes with the grain.
5 of 20 users found this helpful
0
RyanN.Sep 2, 2006
I HATE this movie. What a load of boring drivel. From the beginning to the end, this film neither exited or engaged me. The characters seemed utterly false, the story utterly mundane. There have been far better ganster films - the I HATE this movie. What a load of boring drivel. From the beginning to the end, this film neither exited or engaged me. The characters seemed utterly false, the story utterly mundane. There have been far better ganster films - the untouchables, donnie brasco, hell - even bugsy malone is better than this. And the worst thing is, everyone seems to love it. Why? WHY? The best movie ever? This, better than Pulp Fiction? This, better than LA Confidential? This, better than Scarface? this is a bandwagon "best film ever" and each of you knows that you are lying and following the trend. Oh, and the length of the film was just the icing. It should have ended about 3 times before it did finally end. Expand
5 of 22 users found this helpful
0
BlaP.Jun 9, 2008
very very over rated movie and could not get into it i would give it a 7 but beacsue its supposed to be the best movie of all time and kinda sucked it get 0 points from me
8 of 36 users found this helpful
3
GG.Jan 3, 2007
Brando is awful in this, he mumbles so he doesn't have to do an accent.
5 of 24 users found this helpful
0
JamesKMay 1, 2007
Did not care for it. It insists upon itself.
11 of 53 users found this helpful
0
TomZ.Jan 3, 2007
HORRIBLE FILM!! so boring, this metascore is clearly rigged, it is impossible for 100, as that means absolutely everyone rated it perfect! Grrr.
4 of 20 users found this helpful
3
NickPJan 11, 2009
Too overrated.either the the revievers were paid to give it good scores or they were threatened by the mob.
4 of 20 users found this helpful
3
JoeFJan 17, 2010
Masterpiece of $&!%. The ratio of 10 ratings is a excellent example of how dependent peoples minds are on the status quo. If you were to watch this movie without ever hearing about it you would most likely find it to be a well scripted dull Masterpiece of $&!%. The ratio of 10 ratings is a excellent example of how dependent peoples minds are on the status quo. If you were to watch this movie without ever hearing about it you would most likely find it to be a well scripted dull movie and nothing more. Expand
6 of 33 users found this helpful
0
ZachS.Feb 5, 2007
Wow. That's all I have to say, this film was just horribly overrated.... I mean it's not a bad film or anything, but it is too boring and none of the characters are really likable.
2 of 12 users found this helpful
0
RyanJ.Jul 18, 2007
I don't know where all of you get off. "Oh I like The Godfather.. you know, and The Beatles, and bread, and water, and breathing" please can we get out of the mentality that we have to venerate this movie. Sure. Watch it once. Recall I don't know where all of you get off. "Oh I like The Godfather.. you know, and The Beatles, and bread, and water, and breathing" please can we get out of the mentality that we have to venerate this movie. Sure. Watch it once. Recall that the baby boomer generation will revere it until they die off. I say at that point we don't show this movie to kids born in the 21st century. next! Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful
0
DavidC.Sep 25, 2007
Ok if by 100 you mean its worth seeing if you get paid $100 dollars but I would not even see it again for that much worse time of my life and the only reason i didn't leave is because it was raining out side. This movie was the worse I Ok if by 100 you mean its worth seeing if you get paid $100 dollars but I would not even see it again for that much worse time of my life and the only reason i didn't leave is because it was raining out side. This movie was the worse I hope critics get shot for saying other wise. Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful
1
JimBobJonesJan 9, 2008
The most overrated and boring thing i have ever seen. It was just a bunch of stuff that happened for three hours. No point, no meaning, no feeling. Get off the bandwaggon!
2 of 13 users found this helpful
0
OverRatedAug 13, 2008
Completely over rated ... nuff said.
2 of 13 users found this helpful
0
AlexanderT.Jul 12, 2006
This movie sucks.
2 of 13 users found this helpful
0
AlexanderT.Sep 4, 2007
This movie sucks.
2 of 14 users found this helpful
0
SeanM.Nov 12, 2003
Excuse me, how did this movie get a 100, the metacritic calculation failed to factor in the last entry which would inevitably knock down the score to a 99. I personally have never seen the movie but I am just pointing out the fact that the Excuse me, how did this movie get a 100, the metacritic calculation failed to factor in the last entry which would inevitably knock down the score to a 99. I personally have never seen the movie but I am just pointing out the fact that the critism of the movie is very bias towards it being perfect and classic. [Ed: Sean, take a look at the scoring explained page re: normalization.] Expand
2 of 16 users found this helpful
0
steventroubleJan 11, 2013
This is the only movie I've ever watched that has put me to sleep. I imagine that the entire movie could have been put into about 1/8th the time and still have retained all of its meaning.
4 of 34 users found this helpful430
All this user's reviews
0
MovieGuy811Feb 21, 2016
This movie doesn't have any lightsabers in tit and no Optimus Prime. VERY BORING there isn't even Jar Jar Binks? Like what the heck! THIS IS THE ABSOULTE WORST MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!!
2 of 27 users found this helpful225
All this user's reviews
1
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
I would say The Godfather is very overrated. It has terribly tedious delivery, and is basically just three hours of guys in suits sitting at a table talking about business.
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews